The faculty in the Department of Health Policy and Management represent some of the top experts and authorities in the field (see a list of faculty interests and expertise). Known not only for a robust research program and first-rate teaching abilities, the faculty also represents a diversity of educational backgrounds and experience.

The staff of the Department of Health Policy and Management provide support for faculty and students in a number of critical areas, including student services, professional development and information technology.

Full-Time Faculty

Ethan Basch, MD, MScProfessorebasch@email.unc.edu
Antonia Bennett, PhDAssociate Professoravbenn@unc.edu
Darrell Burrell, PhDAssociate Professordburrell@email.unc.edu
Leah Frerichs, PhDAssociate Professorleahf@email.unc.edu
Bill Gentry, MPAAssociate Professor and Director of CPDM certificate programwgentry@email.unc.edu
Sandra B. Greene, DrPHProfessor of the PracticeSandraB_Greene@unc.edu
Kristen Hassmiller Lich, PhDAssociate Professorklich@unc.edu
Lindsey Haynes-Maslow, PhD, MHAAssociate Professorlhaynes6@email.unc.edu
Susan Helm-Murtagh, DrPH, MMAssistant Professorsusan.helm-murtagh@unc.edu
Mark Holmes, PhDProfessormark_holmes@unc.edu
Erin Kent, PhDAssociate Professor and Associate ChairErin.Kent@unc.edu
Jessica Lee, DDS, PhDProfessorjessica_lee@unc.edu
Valerie Lewis, PhDAssociate Professorlewisv@email.unc.edu
Benjamin Mason Meier, JD, LLM, PhDProfessorbmeier@unc.edu
Jonathan Oberlander, PhDProfessoroberland@med.unc.edu
George H. Pink, PhDHumana Distinguished Professorgpink@email.unc.edu
Arrianna Marie Planey, PhD, MAAssistant Professoramplaney@email.unc.edu
Kristin Reiter, PhDProfessor and Associate Chairreiter@email.unc.edu
Mya L. Roberson, MSPH, PhDAssistant ProfessorMya_Roberson@unc.edu
Christopher M. Shea, PhDAssociate Professorcshea@email.unc.edu
Jeffrey Simms, MSPHAssistant Professor, Director of Student Life and Alumni Relationsjsimms@email.unc.edu
Rebecca Slifkin, PhDProfessorbecky_slifkin@unc.edu
Lisa P. Spees, PhDAssistant Professorlspees21@email.unc.edu
Sally Clark Stearns, PhDProfessorsally_stearns@unc.edu
Angela M. Stover, PhDAssistant Professorstoveram@email.unc.edu
Melanie Studer, PhD, MSHAAssistant Professor, Director of Undergraduate Studies, and Assistant Dean for Undergraduate ProgramsMelanie_Studer@unc.edu
Sean Y. Sylvia, PhDAssistant Professorsean_sylvia@unc.edu
Elizabeth R. Tomlinson, PhD, BSNAssistant ProfessorElizabeth.Tomlinson@unc.edu
Justin Trogdon, PhDProfessor and Director, PhD programtrogdonj@email.unc.edu
Karl Umble, PhD, MPHAssociate Professorumble@email.unc.edu
Karen Volmar, JD, MPH, FACHEAssociate Professor and Director of MHA and MSPH Programskaren.volmar@unc.edu
Morris Weinberger, PhDVergil N. Slee Distinguished Professor of Healthcare Quality Management and Chairmweinber@email.unc.edu
Stephanie B. Wheeler, PhD, MPHProfessorwqstepha@email.unc.edu
John Wiesman, DrPH, MPHProfessor of the Practice and Director, Executive Doctoral Program in Health Leadershipjohn.wiesman@unc.edu
Ciara Zachary, MPH, PhDAssistant Professor and Health Policy Concentration Lead, Master of Public Health Programzciara@email.unc.edu

Adjunct and Part-Time Faculty

Stuart H. Altman, PhDAdjunct Professoraltman@brandeis.edu
Oscar R. Aylor, MSHA, FACHEAdjunct Assistant Professoraylor@campbell.edu
Suzanne M. Babich, DrPH, MSAdjunct Professorsmbabich@iu.edu
Edward L. Baker Jr., MD, MPHAdjunct Professorelbaker@ad.unc.edu
David J. Ballard, MD, FACP, MSPH, PhD, MBAAdjunct Professordavid.joseph.ballard@gmail.com
Deborah E. Bender, PhD, MPHAdjunct Professordbender@email.unc.edu
Sarah A. Birken, PhDAdjunct Associate Professorsbirken@wakehealth.edu
Diane Bloom, PhDAdjunct Assistant Professorbloom.diane@gmail.com
Hayden B. Bosworth, PhDAdjunct Professorhayden.bosworth@duke.edu
Fred T. Brown, Jr., MPH, LFACHEAdjunct ProfessorFredtbrown02@gmail.com
Tom Caffey, MBA, MBB, CQEAdjunct Assistant ProfessorThomas.Caffey@unchealth.unc.edu
Timothy Jay Carney, PhD, MPH, MBAAdjunct Assistant Professortcarney@unc.edu
William R. Carpenter, PhDAdjunct Associate Professorbill.carpenter@unc.edu
Daniel R. Carter, MBAAdjunct Assistant Professordrcarter@email.unc.edu
Rachel A. Caspar, MAAdjunct Assistant Professorcaspar@rti.org
Young Moon Chae, PhDAdjunct Professorymchae@gmail.com
Dorothy Cilenti, DrPHProfessorcilenti@email.unc.edu
Kauline Cipriani, PhDAdjunct Associate Professorcipriank@unc.edu
J. Steven Cline, DDS, MPHAdjunct Associate Professorscline@n3cn.org
Mandy Cohen, MD, MPHAdjunct ProfessorMandy.cohen@dhhs.nc.gov
Samuel Cykert, MDAdjunct Professorsamuel_cykert@med.unc.edu
Edward A. Dauer, MDAdjunct Professoredauer@miami.edu
Travis Day, MBAAdjunct Assistant Professortravis.day@unc.edu
Leah McCall Devlin, DDSProfessor of the Practiceleah_devlin@unc.edu
Peggye Dilworth-Anderson, PhDProfessorPeggye_Dilworth-Anderson@unc.edu
Michaela A. Dinan, PhDAdjunct Assistant Professormichaela.dinan@duke.edu
Marisa Domino, PhDAdjunct Professordomino@unc.edu
Spencer Dorn, MD, MPH, MHAAdjunct Associate Professorsdorn@med.unc.edu
Chester Douglass, DMD, PhDAdjunct Professorchester_douglass@hsdm.harvard.edu
Karine Dubé, DrPHAdjunct Assistant Professorkarine_dube@med.unc.edu
Randall Egsegian, PhDAdjunct Instructoregsegian@email.unc.edu
Shellie D. Ellis, MA, PhDAdjunct Assistant Professorsellis4@kumc.edu
Franklin Farmer, MBA, CSSBB, MT(ASCP)Adjunct Instructorffarmer@unch.unc.edu
Erin P. FraherAdjunct Associate Professorerin_fraher@unc.edu
Steven A. GarfinkelAdjunct ProfessorSGarfinkel@air.org
Laura I. Gerald, MD, MPHAdjunct Assistant Professorlaura@kbr.org
Robert J. Greczyn, MPHGillings Visiting Professorgreczb@gmail.com
Eric K. Griffin, MPA, CEMAdjunct Instructorgriffine@email.unc.edu
Shayla C. Higginbotham, BSPH, MHA, PMPAdjunct Assistant Professorshayla@email.unc.edu
Susan Hogue, PharmD, MPHAdjunct Assistant Professorshogue@rti.org
E. Wayne Holden, PhDAdjunct Professorwholden@rti.org
Donald A. Holzworth, MSAdjunct Professordholzwor@email.unc.edu
Rick K. Homan, PhDAdjunct Associate Professorrhoman@email.unc.edu
Amy Ising, MSISAdjunct Instructorising@ad.unc.edu
George L. Jackson, PhD, MHAAdjunct Professorgljackso@email.unc.edu
Samuel S. Jackson, JDAdjunct Professorssjackso@email.unc.edu
Dio Kavalieratos, PhDAdjunct Assistant Professordiok@pitt.edu
Saad Khan, DrPHAdjunct Assistant Professorsaadk@email.unc.edu
Lisa M. Koonin, DrPH, MN, MPHAdjunct Assistant Professorlkoonin1@gmail.com
Joan H. KrauseAdjunct Professorjhkrause@email.unc.edu
Jennifer Elston Lafata, PhDAdjunct Professorjel@email.unc.edu
Sheila Leatherman, CBE, Hon FRCPProfessor of Global Health Policysleathe@email.unc.edu
Jay S. LevyLecturerjslevy@email.unc.edu
Kathleen N. Lohr, PhDAdjunct Professorklohr@rti.org
Lara M.J. Lorenzetti, PhDAdjunct Assistant Professorllorenz@live.unc.edu
Matthew L. Maciejewski, PhDAdjunct Professormlm34@duke.edu
Larry Mandelkehr, MBA, CPHQAdjunct Associate Professorlkm@unc.edu
Michael Markowitz, MD, MBA, MSPHAdjunct Associate Professormarkowit@email.unc.edu
Gene W. Matthews, JDAdjunct Professorgwmatthe@email.unc.edu
Lukasz Mazur, PhDAdjunct Assistant Professorlmazur@email.unc.edu
Lauren McCormack, PhD, MSPHAdjunct Associate Professorlmac@rti.org
Anne M. McGeorge, CPAAdjunct Instructoramcgeorge2017@gmail.com
Aimee M. McHale, JD, MSPHAdjunct Assistant Professorammchale@email.unc.edu
Aaron McKethan, PhDAssistant Adjunct Professoramckethan@gmail.com
Lori McLeod, PhDAdjunct Associate Professorlmcleod@rti.org
Kathleen L. Miller, PhDAdjunct Assistant Professorkmille.unc@gmail.com
Paj Nandi, MPHAdjunct Assistant Professorpaj.nandi@gmail.com
Nicole Bates, DrPHAdjunct Assistant Professor, Health Policy and Management
Advisory Council Member, UNC Gillings School of Global Public Health
Nkbates@yahoo.com
Matthew E. Nielsen, MD, MSAdjunct Associate Professormnielsen@med.unc.edu
Stephen Orton, PhDAdjunct Assistant Professorsorton@unc.edu
John O’Donnell, MPP, PhDAdjunct ProfessorJohn.odonnell@bms.com
Michael J. Park, PhD, MPHAdjunct Assistant Professornmj7@cdc.gov
Robert "Chip" Patterson, Jr., MBAAdjunct Instructorrmpatter@email.unc.edu
Krista Perreira, PhDAdjunct Professorperreira@email.unc.edu
Joseph G. Piemont, JDAdjunct Professorjgpiemont@gmail.com
Gene Pinder, MSJAdjunct Assistant Professorgpinder7@gmail.com
Janet E. Porter, MBA, PhDAdjunct Professorjanetporterphd@gmail.com
Jim Porto, Jr., PhD, MPAAdjunct Assistant Professorjim_porto@unc.edu
David D. Potenziani, PhDAdjunct Assistant Professordpotenziani@IntraHealth.org
Patricia Pozella, DrPHAdjunct Instructorpozella@email.unc.edu
Andrea D. Radford, DrPH, MHAAdjunct Assistant Professoraradford@caresharehealth.org
Thomas C. Ricketts, PhDAdjunct Professortom_ricketts@unc.edu
Julie Sakowski, PhDAdjunct Associate ProfessorDr.Sakowski@gmail.com
Cleo A. Samuel-Ryals, PhDAdjunct Associate Professorcleo_samuel@unc.edu
Marjorie Satinsky, MA, MBAAdjunct Instructormargie@satinskyconsulting.com
Richard S. Saver, JDAdjunct Professorsaver@email.unc.edu
Lucy A. Savitz, PhD, MBAAdjunct Associate ProfessorLucy.A.Savitz@kpchr.org
Adam Searing, JDAdjunct Assistant Professorgs68@georgetown.edu
Frederick W. Sexton, MPHAdjunct Instructoradministrator@prepsuccess.com
Asheley Cockrell Skinner, PhDAdjunct Associate Professorasheley.skinner@duke.edu
Betsy Sleath, PhDAdjunct Professorbetsy_sleath@unc.edu
Paula Song, PhDAdjunct Professorpsong@unc.edu
Kevin W. Sowers, MSN, RN, FAANAdjunct ProfessorKevin.sowers@duke.edu
Karyn B. Stitzenberg, MD, MPHAdjunct Assistant Professorkaryn_stitzenberg@med.unc.edu
Michael Stobbe, DrPHAdjunct Assistant Professormikestobbe@gmail.com
Jeffery Strickler, DHA, RNAdjunct InstructorJeffery.Strickler@unchealth.unc.edu
Jeffrey W. Swanson, PhDAdjunct Professorjeffrey.swanson@duke.edu
Harsha Thirumurthy, PhDAdjunct Associate Professorhthirumu@upenn.edu
Margaret S. Thomas, MHAAssistant Professormarci@unc.edu
Gina Upchurch, MPHAdjunct Instructorgina@seniorpharmassist.org
J. Bennet Waters, DHAAdjunct Assistant Professorjbwaters@unc.edu
Jane A. Weintraub, DDS, MPHAdjunct Professor and Alumni Distinguished Professor, Dental Ecologyjane_weintraub@dentistry.unc.edu
Rebecca Wells, PhDAdjunct Professorrswells@email.unc.edu
S. Dewayne West, CEMLecturersdwest@email.unc.edu
William A. Aldridge II, PhDAdjunct Assistant Professorwill.aldridge@unc.edu
Aaron S. Williams, MBAAdjunct Professorawilliams@rti.org
Eric Wolak, MSN, MHA, RN, NEA-BCAdjunct Instructoreswolak@gmail.com
Cameron R. Wolfe, MBBS, MPHAdjunct Instructorcamwolfe@email.unc.edu
Leah L. Zullig, PhDProfessorleah.zullig@duke.edu

Retired and Emeritus Faculty

Deborah E. Bender, PhD, MPHProfessor Emeritusdbender@email.unc.edu
Edward F. Brooks, DrPHProfessor Emeritusbrookse@email.unc.edu
Laurel Files, PhDProfessor EmeritusLaurel_Files@unc.edu
Bruce Fried, PhDProfessor Emeritusbruce_fried@unc.edu
Sagar Jain, PhDProfessor Emeritusjain1@email.unc.edu
Arnold Kaluzny, PhDProfessor Emerituskaluzny@live.unc.edu
Joseph Morrissey, PhDProfessor Emeritusjoe_morrissey@unc.edu
John E. Paul, PhD, MSPHProfessor Emerituspaulj@email.unc.edu
Richard Gary Rozier, DDSProfessor Emeritusgary_rozier@unc.edu
Pam Silberman, JD, DrPHProfessor Emerituspsilberm@email.unc.edu
James Veney, PhDProfessor Emeritusjimveney@cableone.net
B. Alex White, DDS, DrPHAssociate Professoralex_white@unc.edu
William N. Zelman, PhDProfessor Emerituswzelman@unc.edu

Staff

Yolonda N. Childs, MS, MPAAcademic Coordinator, BSPH and Residential MHA Programchildsyo@unc.edu
Stephanie Forman, JDExecutive and Special Projects Assistantsforman1@email.unc.edu
Terri Gault, MACDirector of Finance & Administrationterrigault@unc.edu
Valerie HookerAcademic Program Support Coordinatorvhooker@email.unc.edu
Stacie JonesAccounting Technicianstacie_jones@unc.edu
Danielle LehnerAcademic Program Support Coordinatorlehner@email.unc.edu
Cathy M. PadgettCareer Services Coordinatorcathy_padgett@unc.edu
Kim SielerAcademic Coordinator, Doctoral and Executive MHA Degree Programkrsieler@email.unc.edu
Jake Stallard, MEd, MBAAssociate Director for Masters Programs & Academic Initiativesjake_stallard@unc.edu
John Wise, MA, MDivTechnical Support Analystjcwise@unc.edu
Ying Xu, MPAAccounting Technicianyingxu@email.unc.edu