Department of Health Policy and Management

Faculty and Staff

The faculty in the Department of Health Policy and Management represent some of the top experts and authorities in the field (see a list of faculty interests and expertise). Known not only for a robust research program and first-rate teaching abilities, the faculty also represents a diversity of educational backgrounds and experience.

The staff of the Department of Health Policy and Management provide support for faculty and students in a number of critical areas, including student services, professional development and information technology.

Full-Time Faculty

Ethan Basch, MD, MScProfessorebasch@email.unc.edu
Antonia Bennett, PhDAssociate Professoravbenn@unc.edu
Alyssa Mansfield Damon, PhD, MHA, MPHAssistant Professordamon@unc.edu
Leah McCall Devlin, DDSProfessor of the Practiceleah_devlin@unc.edu
Marisa Domino, PhDProfessor and Director, PhD Programdomino@unc.edu
Leah Frerichs, PhDAssistant Professorleahf@email.unc.edu
Bruce Fried, PhDAssociate Professorbruce_fried@unc.edu
Bill Gentry, MPAAssociate Professorwgentry@email.unc.edu
Sandra B. Greene, DrPHProfessor of the PracticeSandraB_Greene@unc.edu
Kristen Hassmiller Lich, PhDAssociate Professorklich@unc.edu
Mark Holmes, PhDProfessormark_holmes@unc.edu
Erin Kent, PhDAssociate ProfessorErin.Kent@unc.edu
Sheila Leatherman, CBE, Hon FRCPProfessor of Global Health Policysleathe@email.unc.edu
Jessica Lee, DDS, PhDProfessorjessica_lee@unc.edu
Valerie Lewis, PhDAssociate Professorlewisv@email.unc.edu
Jonathan Oberlander, PhDProfessoroberland@med.unc.edu
George H. Pink, PhDHumana Distinguished Professorgpink@email.unc.edu
Arrianna M. Planey, MA, PhDAssistant Professoramplaney@email.unc.edu
Kristin Reiter, PhDProfessor and Associate Chairreiter@email.unc.edu
Cleo A. Samuel, PhDAssociate Professorcleo_samuel@unc.edu
Christopher M. Shea, PhDAssociate Professorcshea@email.unc.edu
Pam Silberman, JD, DrPHProfessor and Director, Executive Doctoral Program in Health Leadershippsilberm@email.unc.edu
Jeffrey Simms, MSPHAssistant Professor and Director of Student Life and Alumni Relationsjsimms@email.unc.edu
Rebecca Slifkin, PhDProfessor and Associate Chairbecky_slifkin@unc.edu
Steven Sloate, MBAAssistant ProfessorSloate@email.unc.edu
Lisa P. Spees, PhDAssistant Professorlspees21@email.unc.edu
Sally Clark Stearns, PhDProfessorsally_stearns@unc.edu
Angela M. Stover, PhDAssistant Professorstoveram@email.unc.edu
Melanie Studer, MHSA, PhDAssistant Professor and BSPH Program DirectorMelanie_Studer@unc.edu
Sean Y. Sylvia, PhDAssistant Professorsean_sylvia@unc.edu
Justin Trogdon, PhDProfessortrogdonj@email.unc.edu
Karl Umble, PhD, MPHAssociate Professorumble@email.unc.edu
Karen Volmar, JD, MPH FACHEAssociate Professorkaren.volmar@unc.edu
Morris Weinberger, PhDVergil N. Slee Distinguished Professor of Healthcare Quality Management and Chairmweinber@email.unc.edu
Stephanie B. Wheeler, PhD, MPHProfessorwqstepha@email.unc.edu
B. Alex White, DDS, DrPHAssociate Professoralex_white@unc.edu
Ciara Zachary, MPH, PhDAssistant Professorzciara@email.unc.edu

Adjunct and Part-Time Faculty

Stuart H. Altman, PhDAdjunct Professoraltman@brandeis.edu
Oscar R. Aylor, MSHA, FACHEAdjunct Assistant Professoraylor@campbell.edu
Suzanne M. Babich, DrPH, MSAdjunct Professorsmbabich@iu.edu
Edward L. Baker Jr., MD, MPHAdjunct Professorelbaker@ad.unc.edu
David J. Ballard, MD, MSPH, PhD, FACPAdjunct Professordavid.joseph.ballard@gmail.com
Deborah E. Bender, PhD, MPHAdjunct Professordbender@email.unc.edu
Sarah A. Birken, PhDAdjunct Associate Professorsbirken@wakehealth.edu
Diane Bloom, PhDAdjunct Assistant Professorbloom.diane@gmail.com
Hayden B. Bosworth, PhDAdjunct Professorhayden.bosworth@duke.edu
Fred T. Brown, Jr., MPH, LFACHEAdjunct ProfessorFredtbrown02@gmail.com
Tom Caffey, MBA, MBB, CQEAdjunct Assistant ProfessorThomas.Caffey@unchealth.unc.edu
Timothy Jay Carney, PhD, MPH, MBAAdjunct Assistant Professortcarney@msm.edu
William R. Carpenter, PhDAdjunct Associate Professorbill.carpenter@unc.edu
Daniel R. Carter, MBAAdjunct Assistant Professordrcarter@email.unc.edu
Rachel A. Caspar, MAAdjunct Assistant Professorcaspar@rti.org
Young Moon Chae, PhDAdjunct Professorymchae@gmail.com
Dorothy Cilenti, DrPHAssociate Professorcilenti@email.unc.edu
Kauline Cipriani, PhDAdjunct Associate Professorcipriank@unc.edu
J. Steven Cline, DDS, MPHAdjunct Associate Professorscline@n3cn.org
Mandy Cohen, MD, MPHAdjunct ProfessorMandy.cohen@dhhs.nc.gov
Samuel Cykert, MDAdjunct Professorsamuel_cykert@med.unc.edu
Edward A. Dauer, MDAdjunct Professoredauer@miami.edu
Travis Day, MBAAdjunct Assistant Professortravis.day@unc.edu
Michaela A. Dinan, PhDAdjunct Assistant Professormichaela.dinan@duke.edu
Spencer Dorn, MD, MPH, MHAAdjunct Associate Professorsdorn@med.unc.edu
Chester Douglass, DMD, PhDAdjunct Professorchester_douglass@hsdm.harvard.edu
Randall Egsegian, PhDAdjunct Instructoregsegian@email.unc.edu
Shellie D. Ellis, MA, PhDAdjunct Assistant Professorsellis4@kumc.edu
Franklin Farmer, MBA, CSSBB, MT(ASCP)Adjunct Instructorffarmer@unch.unc.edu
Erin P. FraherAdjunct Associate Professorerin_fraher@unc.edu
Steven A. GarfinkelAdjunct ProfessorSGarfinkel@air.org
Laura I. Gerald, MD, MPHAdjunct Assistant Professorlaura@kbr.org
Robert J. Greczyn, MPHGillings Visiting Professorgreczb@gmail.com
Eric K. Griffin, MPA, CEMAdjunct Instructorgriffine@email.unc.edu
Susan Helm-Murtagh, DrPH, MMAssistant Professorsusan.helm-murtagh@unc.edu
Susan Hogue, PharmD, MPHAdjunct Assistant Professorshogue@rti.org
E. Wayne Holden, PhDAdjunct Professorwholden@rti.org
Donald A. Holzworth, MSAdjunct Professordholzwor@email.unc.edu
Rick K. Homan, PhDAdjunct Associate Professorrhoman@email.unc.edu
Amy Ising, MSISAdjunct Instructorising@ad.unc.edu
George L. Jackson, PhD, MHAAdjunct Professorgljackso@email.unc.edu
Samuel S. Jackson, JDAdjunct Professorssjackso@email.unc.edu
Dio Kavalieratos, PhDAdjunct Assistant Professordiok@pitt.edu
Saad Khan, DrPHAdjunct Assistant Professorsaadk@email.unc.edu
Lisa M. Koonin, DrPH, MN, MPHAdjunct Assistant Professorlkoonin1@gmail.com
Joan H. KrauseAdjunct Professorjhkrause@email.unc.edu
Jennifer Elston Lafata, PhDAdjunct Professorjel@email.unc.edu
Jay S. LevyLecturerjslevy@email.unc.edu
Kathleen N. Lohr, PhDAdjunct Professorklohr@rti.org
Lara M.J. Lorenzetti, PhDAdjunct Assistant Professorllorenz@live.unc.edu
Matthew L. Maciejewski, PhDAdjunct Professormlm34@duke.edu
Larry Mandelkehr, MBA, CPHQAdjunct Associate Professorlkm@unc.edu
Michael Markowitz, MD, MBA, MSPHAdjunct Associate Professormarkowit@email.unc.edu
Gene W. Matthews, JDAdjunct Professorgwmatthe@email.unc.edu
Lukasz Mazur, PhDAdjunct Assistant Professorlmazur@email.unc.edu
Lauren McCormack, PhD, MSPHAdjunct Associate Professorlmac@rti.org
Anne M. McGeorge, CPAAdjunct Instructoramcgeorge2017@gmail.com
Aimee M. McHale, JD, MSPHAdjunct Assistant Professorammchale@email.unc.edu
Aaron McKethan, PhDAssistant Adjunct Professoramckethan@gmail.com
Lori McLeod, PhDAdjunct Associate Professorlmcleod@rti.org
Benjamin Mason Meier, JD, LLM, PhDAdjunct Associate Professorbmeier@unc.edu
Kathleen L. Miller, PhDAdjunct Assistant Professorkmille.unc@gmail.com
Matthew E. Nielsen, MD, MSAdjunct Associate Professormnielsen@med.unc.edu
Stephen Orton, PhDAdjunct Assistant Professorsorton@unc.edu
John O’Donnell, MPP, PhDAdjunct ProfessorJohn.odonnell@bms.com
Michael J. Park, PhD, MPHAdjunct Assistant Professornmj7@cdc.gov
Robert "Chip" Patterson, Jr., MBAAdjunct Instructorrmpatter@email.unc.edu
Krista Perreira, PhDAdjunct Professorperreira@email.unc.edu
Joseph G. Piemont, JDAdjunct Professorjgpiemont@gmail.com
Gene Pinder, MSJAdjunct Assistant Professorgpinder7@gmail.com
Janet E. Porter, MBA, PhDAdjunct Professorjanetporterphd@gmail.com
Jim Porto, Jr., PhD, MPAAdjunct Assistant Professorjim_porto@unc.edu
David D. Potenziani, PhDAdjunct Assistant Professordpotenziani@IntraHealth.org
Patricia Pozella, DrPHAdjunct Instructorpozella@email.unc.edu
Andrea D. Radford, DrPH, MHAAdjunct Assistant Professoraradford@caresharehealth.org
Thomas C. Ricketts, PhDAdjunct Professortom_ricketts@unc.edu
Julie Sakowski, PhDAdjunct Associate ProfessorDr.Sakowski@gmail.com
Marjorie Satinsky, MA, MBAAdjunct Instructormargie@satinskyconsulting.com
Richard S. Saver, JDAdjunct Professorsaver@email.unc.edu
Lucy A. Savitz, PhD, MBAAdjunct Associate ProfessorLucy.A.Savitz@kpchr.org
Richard Scoville, PhDAdjunct Associate Professorrichard_scoville@unc.edu
Adam Searing, JDAdjunct Assistant Professorgs68@georgetown.edu
Frederick W. Sexton, MPHAdjunct Instructoradministrator@prepsuccess.com
Asheley Cockrell Skinner, PhDAdjunct Associate Professorasheley.skinner@duke.edu
Betsy Sleath, PhDAdjunct Professorbetsy_sleath@unc.edu
Paula Song, PhDAdjunct Professorpsong@unc.edu
Kevin W. Sowers, MSNAdjunct ProfessorKevin.sowers@duke.edu
John A. Staley, PhDAdjunct Assistant Professorjohnstaley@unc.edu
Karyn B. Stitzenberg, MD, MPHAdjunct Assistant Professorkaryn_stitzenberg@med.unc.edu
Michael Stobbe, DrPHAdjunct Assistant Professormikestobbe@gmail.com
Jeffery Strickler, DHA, RNAdjunct InstructorJeffery.Strickler@unchealth.unc.edu
Jeffrey W. Swanson, PhDAdjunct Professorjeffrey.swanson@duke.edu
Harsha Thirumurthy, PhDAdjunct Associate Professorhthirumu@upenn.edu
Margaret S. Thomas, MHAAssistant Professormarci@unc.edu
J. Bennet Waters, DHAAssistant Professorjbwaters@unc.edu
Wendee Wechsberg, PhDAdjunct Professorwmw@rti.org
Jane A. Weintraub, DDS, MPHAdjunct Professorjane_weintraub@dentistry.unc.edu
Rebecca Wells, PhDAdjunct Professorrswells@email.unc.edu
S. Dewayne West, CEMLecturersdwest@email.unc.edu
John Wiesman, DrPH, MPHAdjunct Assistant Professorjohnunc@comcast.net
Aaron S. Williams, MBAAdjunct Professorawilliams@rti.org
Eric Wolak, MSN, MHA, RN, NEA-BCAdjunct Instructoreswolak@gmail.com
Cameron R. Wolfe, MBBS, MPHAdjunct Instructorcamwolfe@email.unc.edu
Leah L. Zullig, PhDAdjunct Associate Professorleah.zullig@duke.edu

Retired and Emeritus Faculty

Deborah E. Bender, PhD, MPHProfessor Emeritusdbender@email.unc.edu
Edward F. Brooks, DrPHProfessor Emeritusbrookse@email.unc.edu
Laurel Files, PhDProfessor EmeritusLaurel_Files@unc.edu
Sagar Jain, PhDProfessor Emeritusjain1@email.unc.edu
Arnold Kaluzny, PhDProfessor Emerituskaluzny@live.unc.edu
Kerry Kilpatrick, PhDProfessor EmeritusKerry_Kilpatrick@unc.edu
Joseph Morrissey, PhDProfessor Emeritusjoe_morrissey@unc.edu
John E. Paul, PhD, MSPHProfessor Emerituspaulj@email.unc.edu
Richard Gary Rozier, DDSProfessor Emeritusgary_rozier@unc.edu
James Veney, PhDProfessor Emeritusjimveney@cableone.net
William N. Zelman, PhDProfessor Emerituswzelman@unc.edu

Staff

Paul BarrettSystems Programmer/Specialistpaul_barrett@unc.edu
Nancy BeachTechnical Support Analystnbeach@unc.edu
Karen CappsHuman Resources ConsultantKaren_Capps@unc.edu
Stephanie FormanExecutive Assistantsforman1@email.unc.edu
Terri GaultAdministrative Directorterrigault@unc.edu
Valerie HookerAcademic Program Support Coordinatorvhooker@email.unc.edu
Stacie JonesAccounting Technicianstacie_jones@unc.edu
Tina LathiaAccounting Technicianlathia@email.unc.edu
Teresa McKeemanAdministrative Support Specialisttessmck@email.unc.edu
Cathy M. PadgettCareer Services Coordinatorcathy_padgett@unc.edu
Kim SielerAcademic Coordinator, Doctoral and Executive MHA Degree Programkrsieler@email.unc.edu
Jacqueline M. SilerAcademic Program Support Coordinatorjsiler@email.unc.edu