The faculty in the Department of Health Policy and Management represent some of the top experts and authorities in the field (see a list of faculty interests and expertise). Known not only for a robust research program and first-rate teaching abilities, the faculty also represents a diversity of educational backgrounds and experience.

The staff of the Department of Health Policy and Management provide support for faculty and students in a number of critical areas, including student services, professional development and information technology.

Full-Time Faculty
Adjunct & Part-Time Faculty
Retired & Emeritus Faculty
Staff

Full-Time Faculty

Ethan BaschProfessorebasch@email.unc.edu
Antonia BennettAssociate Professoravbenn@unc.edu
Sarah BirkenAssistant Professorsarah1@email.unc.edu
Alyssa Mansfield DamonAssistant Professordamon@unc.edu
Leah McCall DevlinProfessor of the Practiceleah_devlin@unc.edu
Marisa DominoProfessordomino@unc.edu
Leah FrerichsAssistant Professorleahf@email.unc.edu
Bruce FriedAssociate Professorbruce_fried@unc.edu
Bill GentryAssociate Professorwgentry@email.unc.edu
Sandra B GreeneProfessor of the PracticeSandraB_Greene@unc.edu
Kristen Hassmiller LichAssociate Professorklich@unc.edu
Susan Helm-MurtaghAssistant Professorhelmmurt@email.unc.edu
Mark HolmesProfessormark_holmes@unc.edu
Erin KentAssociate Professoreekent@email.unc.edu
Sheila LeathermanResearch Professorsleathe@email.unc.edu
Valerie Lewis
Associate Professorlewisv@email.unc.edu
Jessica Y. LeeProfessorleej@dentistry.unc.edu
Jonathan OberlanderProfessoroberland@med.unc.edu
George H. PinkHumana Distinguished Professorgpink@email.unc.edu
Kristin ReiterProfessorreiter@email.unc.edu
Cleo SamuelAssistant Professorcleo_samuel@unc.edu
Christopher SheaAssociate Professorcshea@email.unc.edu
Pam SilbermanProfessor of the Practice
pam_silberman@unc.edu
Jeffrey Simms Assistant Professorjsimms@email.unc.edu
Rebecca SlifkinProfessorbecky_slifkin@unc.edu
Steven SloateAssistant Professorsloate@email.unc.edu
Paula SongAssociate Professorpsong@unc.edu
Sally Clark StearnsProfessorsally_stearns@unc.edu
Angela StoverAssistant Professorstoveram@email.unc.edu
Melanie StuderAssistant Professormelanie_Studer@unc.edu
Sean Y. SylviaAssistant Professorsean_sylvia@unc.edu
Justin TrogdonProfessortrogdonj@email.unc.edu
Karl UmbleAssistant Professor
umble@email.unc.edu
Morris WeinbergerChair and Distinguished Professormweinber@email.unc.edu
Stephanie B. WheelerProfessorstephanie_wheeler@unc.edu
Benjamin Alex WhiteAssociate Professoralex_white@unc.edu

Adjunct & Part-Time Faculty

Stuart H. AltmanAdjunct Professoraltman@brandeis.edu
Oscar AylorAdjunct Assistant Professoraylor@campbell.edu
Suzanne M. BabichAdjunct Professorsmbabich@iu.edu
David J. BallardAdjunct Professordavid.joseph.ballard@gmail.com
Edward L. Baker, Jr.Adjunct Professorelbaker@ad.unc.edu
Diane BloomAdjunct Assistant Professorbloom.diane@gmail.com
Hayden B. BosworthAdjunct Professorhayden.bosworth@duke.edu
Fred T. Brown, Jr.
Adjunct ProfessorFredtbrown02@gmail.com
Tom Caffey
Adjunct Assistant ProfessorThomas.Caffey@unchealth.unc.edu
Timothy Jay Carney
Adjunct Assistant Professortcarney@msm.edu
Bill CarpenterAdjunct Associate Professorbill.carpenter@unc.edu
Daniel R. CarterAdjunct Assistant Professordrcarter@email.unc.edu
Rachel A. CasparAdjunct Assistant Professorcaspar@rti.org
Young Moon ChaeAdjunct Professorymchae@gmail.com
Dorothy CilentiAdjunct Assistant Professorcilenti@email.unc.edu
Kauline Cipriani
Adjunct Associate Professorcipriank@unc.edu
J. Steven ClineAdjunct Associate Professorscline@n3cn.org
Mandy CohenAdjunct ProfessorMandy.cohen@dhhs.nc.gov
Samuel CykertAdjunct Professorsamuel_cykert@med.unc.edu
Edward A. DauerAdjunct Professor
edauer@miami.edu
Travis DayAdjunct Associate Professortravis_day@kenan-flagler.unc.edu
Peggye Dilworth-AndersonProfessorPeggye_Dilworth-Anderson@unc.edu
Michaela A. DinanAdjunct Assistant Professormichaela.dinan@duke.edu
Spencer DornAdjunct Associate Professorsdorn@med.unc.edu
Chester Douglass
Adjunct Professorchester_ douglass@hsdm.harvard.edu
Randall EgsegianAdjunct Instructoregsegian@email.unc.edu
Shellie D. EllisAdjunct Assistant Professorsellis4@kumc.edu
Franklin FarmerAdjunct Instructorffarmer@unch.unc.edu
Erin P. FraherAdjunct Associate Professorerin_fraher@unc.edu
Steven A. GarfinkelAdjunct ProfessorSGarfinkel@air.org
Laura I. GeraldAdjunct Assistant Professorlaura@kbr.org
Robert GreczynGillings Visiting Professorgreczb@gmail.com
Eric GriffinAdjunct Instructorgriffine@email.unc.edu
Susan HogueAdjunct Assistant Professorshogue@rti.org
E. Wayne HoldenAdjunct Professorwholden@rti.org
Donald A. HolzworthAdjunct Professordholzwor@email.unc.edu
Rick HomanAdjunct Associate Professorrhoman@email.unc.edu
Amy Ising
Adjunct Instructorising@ad.unc.edu
Samuel S. JacksonAdjunct Professorssjackso@email.unc.edu
Dio KavalieratosAdjunct Assistant Professordiok@pitt.edu
Lisa KooninAdjunct Assistant Professorlkoonin1@gmail.com
Joan KrauseAdjunct Professorjhkrause@email.unc.edu
Jennifer Elston LafataAdjunct Professorjel@email.unc.edu
Jay LevyLecturerjslevy@email.unc.edu
Kathleen N. LohrAdjunct Professorklohr@rti.org
Lara M. J. LorenzettiAdjunct Assistant Professorllorenz@live.unc.edu
Matthew L. MaciejewskiAdjunct Professormlm34@duke.edu
Larry MandelkehrAdjunct Associate Professorlkm@unc.edu
Barbara A. MarkAdjunct Professorbmark@email.unc.edu
Michael MarkowitzAdjunct Associate Professormarkowit@email.unc.edu
Gene W. MatthewsAdjunct Professorgwmatthe@email.unc.edu
Lukasz MazurAdjunct Assistant Professorlmazur@email.unc.edu
Lauren McCormackAdjunct Associate Professorlmac@rti.org
Anne M. McGeorgeAdjunct Instructoramcgeorge2017@gmail.com
Aimee M. McHale Adjunct Assistant Professor
ammchale@email.unc.edu
Aaron McKethanAdjunct Assistant Professoramckethan@gmail.com
Lori McLeodAdjunct Associate Professorlmcleod@rti.org
Benjamin MeierAdjunct Associate Professorbmeier@unc.edu
Kathleen L. MillerAdjunct Assistant Professorkmille.unc@gmail.com
Matthew E. NielsenAdjunct Associate Professormnielsen@med.unc.edu
John O'DonnellAdjunct ProfessorJohn.odonnell@bms.com
Stephen OrtonAdjunct Assistant Professorsorton@email.unc.edu
Michael J. ParkAdjunct Assistant Professornmj7@cdc.gov
Robert "Chip" Patterson, Jr.Adjunct Instructorrmpatter@email.unc.edu
Krista PerreiraAdjunct Professorperreira@email.unc.edu
Joseph G. PiemontAdjunct Professorjgpiemont@gmail.com
Gene PinderAdjunct Assistant Professor
gpinder7@gmail.com
Janet PorterAdjunct Professorjanetporterphd@gmail.com
James Porto, Jr.Adjunct Assistant Professorjim_porto@unc.edu
David PotenzianiAdjunct Assistant Professordpotenziani@IntraHealth.org
Patti PozellaAdjunct Instructorpozella@email.unc.edu
Andrea RadfordAdjunct Assistant Professoraradford@caresharehealth.org
Thomas C. RickettsAdjunct Professorricketts@schsr.unc.edu
Julie SakowksiAdjunct Associate ProfessorDr.Sakowski@gmail.com
Marjorie SatinskyAdjunct Instructormargie@satinskyconsulting.com
Richard S. SaverAdjunct Professorsaver@email.unc.edu
Lucy A. SavitzAdjunct Associate ProfessorLucy.A.Savitz@kpchr.org
Adam SearingAdjunct Associate Professorgs68@georgetown.edu
Richard ScovilleAdjunct Associate Professorrichard_scoville@unc.edu
Fred SextonAdjunct Instructoradministrator@prepsuccess.com
Asheley Cockrell SkinnerAdjunct Associate Professorasheley.skinner@duke.edu
Betsy SleathAdjunct Professorbetsy_sleath@unc.edu
Kevin SowersAdjunct ProfessorKevin.sowers@duke.edu
John StaleyAdjunct Assistant Professor johnstaley@unc.edu
Karyn B. StitzenbergAssociate Professorkaryn_stitzenberg@med.unc.edu
Michael StobbeAdjunct Assistant Professormikestobbe@gmail.com
Jeffery StricklerAdjunct InstructorJeffery.Strickler@unchealth.unc.edu
Jeffrey SwansonAdjunct Professorjeffrey.swanson@duke.edu
Harsha ThirumurthyAdjunct Associate Professorharsha@unc.edu
Margaret ThomasClinical Assistant Professormthomn16@email.unc.edu
J. Bennet WatersClinical Assistant Professorjbwaters@unc.edu
Wendee WechsbergAdjunct Professorwmw@rti.org
Jane WeintraubAdjunct Professorjane_weintraub@dentistry.unc.edu
Rebecca WellsAdjunct Professorrswells@email.unc.edu
S. Dewayne WestLecturersdwest@email.unc.edu
John WiesmanAdjunct Assistant Professorjohnunc@comcast.net
Aaron S. Williams
Adjunct Professorawilliams@rti.org
Eric WolakAdjunct Instructoreswolak@gmail.com
Cameron WolfeAdjunct Instructorcamwolfe@email.unc.edu
Leah L. ZulligAdjunct Associate Professorleah.zullig@duke.edu

Emeritus & Retired Faculty

Deborah E. BenderEmeritus & Adjunct Professor
dbender@email.unc.edu xxxxxxx
Edward F. BrooksEmeritus Professorbrookse@email.unc.edu
Laurel A FilesEmeritus ProfessorLaurel_Files@unc.edu
Dean HarrisAssociate ProfessorDean_Harris@unc.edu
Sagar JainEmeritus Professorjain1@email.unc.edu
Arnold D. KaluznyEmeritus Professorkaluzny@live.unc.edu
Kerry KilpatrickEmeritus ProfessorKerry_Kilpatrick@unc.edu
Joseph MorrisseyEmeritus Professorjoe_morrissey@unc.edu
Richard Gary RozierEmeritus Professorgary_rozier@unc.edu
James VeneyEmeritus Professorjimveney@cableone.net
William N. ZelmanEmeritus Professorwzelman@unc.edu

Staff

Paul BarrettSystems Programmer/Specialistpaul_barrett@unc.edu
Nancy BeachTechnical Support Analyst
nbeach@email.unc.edu
Karen CappsHuman Resources Consultant
Karen_Capps@unc.edu
Stephanie Forman
Executive Assistant
sforman1@email.unc.edu
Terri GaultAdministrative Directorterrigault@unc.edu
Valerie HookerAcademic Program Support Coordinatorvhooker@email.unc.edu
Lynnette JonesAcademic CoordinatorLynnette_Jones@unc.edu
Stacie JonesAccounting Technicianstacie_jones@unc.edu
Tina LathiaAccounting Technicianlathia@email.unc.edu
Teresa McKeemanAdministrative Support Specialisttessmck@email.unc.edu
Cathy M PadgettCareer Services Coordinatorcathy_padgett@unc.edu
Kim SielerAcademic Coordinatorkrsieler@email.unc.edu
Jacqueline M. SilerAcademic Program Support Coordinatorjsiler@email.unc.edu

Recent News