The faculty in the Department of Health Policy and Management represent some of the top experts and authorities in the field (see a list of faculty interests and expertise). Known not only for a robust research program and first-rate teaching abilities, the faculty also represents a diversity of educational backgrounds and experience.

The staff of the Department of Health Policy and Management provide support for faculty and students in a number of critical areas, including student services, professional development and information technology.

Faculty
Adjunct, Part-Time & Emeritus Faculty
Staff
Ethan Basch Professor ebasch@email.unc.edu
Antonia Bennett Associate Professor avbenn@unc.edu
Sarah Birken Assistant Professor sarah1@email.unc.edu
Alyssa Mansfield Damon Assistant Professor damon@unc.edu
Leah McCall Devlin Professor of the Practice leah_devlin@unc.edu
Marisa Domino Professor domino@unc.edu
Leah Frerichs Assistant Professor leahf@email.unc.edu
Bruce Fried Associate Professor bruce_fried@unc.edu
Bill Gentry Assistant Professor wgentry@email.unc.edu
Sandra B Greene Professor of the Practice SandraB_Greene@unc.edu
Dean Harris Associate Professor Dean_Harris@unc.edu
Kristen Hassmiller Lich Associate Professor klich@unc.edu
Susan Helm-Murtagh Assistant Professor helmmurt@email.unc.edu
Mark Holmes Professor mark_holmes@unc.edu
Sheila Leatherman Research Professor sleathe@email.unc.edu
Valerie Lewis
Associate Professor lewisv@email.unc.edu
Jessica Y. Lee Professor leej@dentistry.unc.edu
Jonathan Oberlander Professor oberland@med.unc.edu
John E. Paul Professor
paulj@email.unc.edu
George H. Pink Humana Distinguished Professor gpink@email.unc.edu
Byron J. Powell Assistant Professor bjpowell@unc.edu
Kristin Reiter Professor reiter@email.unc.edu
Cleo Samuel Assistant Professor cleo_samuel@unc.edu
Christopher Shea Associate Professor cshea@email.unc.edu
Pam Silberman Professor of the Practice
pam_silberman@unc.edu
Jeffrey Simms Assistant Professor jsimms@email.unc.edu
Rebecca Slifkin Professor becky_slifkin@unc.edu
Steven Sloate Assistant Professor sloate@email.unc.edu
Paula Song Associate Professor psong@unc.edu
Sally Clark Stearns Professor sally_stearns@unc.edu
Angela Stover Assistant Professor stoveram@email.unc.edu
Sean Y. Sylvia Assistant Professor sean_sylvia@unc.edu
Justin Trogdon Associate Professor trogdonj@email.unc.edu
Karl Umble Assistant Professor
umble@email.unc.edu
Morris Weinberger Chair and Distinguished Professor mweinber@email.unc.edu
Stephanie B. Wheeler Associate Professor stephanie_wheeler@unc.edu
Benjamin Alex White Associate Professor alex_white@unc.edu

Content for this page provided by the Department of Health Policy and Management. For questions or comments about the information on this page, contact the webmaster.

Adjunct and Part-Time Faculty

Stuart H. Altman Adjunct Professor altman@brandeis.edu
Oscar Aylor Adjunct Assistant Professor aylor@campbell.edu
Suzanne M. Babich Adjunct Professor smbabich@iu.edu
David J. Ballard Adjunct Professor david.joseph.ballard@gmail.com
Edward L. Baker, Jr. Adjunct Professor elbaker@ad.unc.edu
Diane Bloom Adjunct Assistant Professor bloom.diane@gmail.com
Hayden B. Bosworth Adjunct Professor hayden.bosworth@duke.edu
Tom Caffey
Adjunct Assistant Professor Thomas.Caffey@unchealth.unc.edu
Bill Carpenter Adjunct Associate Professor bill.carpenter@unc.edu
Daniel R. Carter Adjunct Assistant Professor drcarter@email.unc.edu
Rachel A. Caspar Adjunct Assistant Professor caspar@rti.org
Young Moon Chae Adjunct Professor ymchae@gmail.com
Dorothy Cilenti Adjunct Assistant Professor cilenti@email.unc.edu
J. Steven Cline Adjunct Associate Professor scline@n3cn.org
Samuel Cykert Adjunct Professor samuel_cykert@med.unc.edu
Edward A. Dauer Adjunct
edauer@miami.edu
Travis Day Adjunct Associate Professor travis_day@kenan-flagler.unc.edu
Peggye Dilworth-Anderson Professor Peggye_Dilworth-Anderson@unc.edu
Michaela A. Dinan Adjunct Assistant Professor michaela.dinan@duke.edu
Spencer Dorn Adjunct Associate Professor sdorn@med.unc.edu
Randall Egsegian Adjunct Instructor egsegian@email.unc.edu
Shellie D. Ellis Adjunct Assistant Professor sellis4@kumc.edu
Franklin Farmer Adjunct Instructor ffarmer@unch.unc.edu
Erin P. Fraher Adjunct Assistant Professor erin_fraher@unc.edu
Steven A. Garfinkel Adjunct Professor SGarfinkel@air.org
Laura I. Gerald Adjunct Assistant Professor laura@kbr.org
Robert Greczyn Gillings Visiting Professor greczb@gmail.com
Eric Griffin Adjunct Instructor griffine@email.unc.edu
Susan Hogue Adjunct Assistant Professor shogue@rti.org
E. Wayne Holden Adjunct Professor wholden@rti.org
Donald A. Holzworth Adjunct Professor dholzwor@email.unc.edu
Rick Homan Adjunct Associate Professor rhoman@email.unc.edu
Amy Ising
Adjunct Instructor ising@ad.unc.edu
Samuel S. Jackson Adjunct Professor ssjackso@email.unc.edu
Dio Kavalieratos Adjunct Assistant Professor diok@pitt.edu
Lisa Koonin Adjunct Assistant Professor lmk1@cdc.gov
Joan Krause Adjunct Professor jhkrause@email.unc.edu
Jennifer Elston Lafata Adjunct Professor jel@email.unc.edu
Jay Levy Lecturer jslevy@email.unc.edu
Kathleen N. Lohr Adjunct Professor klohr@rti.org
Lara M. J. Lorenzetti Adjunct Assistant Professor llorenz@live.unc.edu
Matthew L. Maciejewski Adjunct Professor mlm34@duke.edu
Larry Mandelkehr Adjunct Associate Professor lkm@unc.edu
Barbara A. Mark Adjunct Professor bmark@email.unc.edu
Michael Markowitz Adjunct Associate Professor markowit@email.unc.edu
Gene W. Matthews Adjunct Professor gwmatthe@email.unc.edu
Lukasz Mazur Adjunct Assistant Professor lmazur@email.unc.edu
Lauren McCormack Adjunct Associate Professor lmac@rti.org
Anne M. McGeorge Adjunct Instructor amcgeorge2017@gmail.com
Aimee M. McHale Adjunct Assistant Professor
 ammchale@email.unc.edu
Aaron McKethan Adjunct Assistant Professor amckethan@gmail.com
Lori McLeod Adjunct Associate Professor lmcleod@rti.org
Benjamin Meier Adjunct Associate Professor bmeier@unc.edu
Kathleen L. Miller Adjunct Assistant Professor kmille.unc@gmail.com
Matthew E. Nielsen Adjunct Assistant Professor mnielsen@med.unc.edu
John O’Donnell Adjunct Professor John.odonnell@bms.com
Stephen Orton Adjunct Assistant Professor sorton@email.unc.edu
Michael J. Park Adjunct Assistant Professor nmj7@cdc.gov
Robert “Chip” Patterson, Jr. Adjunct Instructor rmpatter@email.unc.edu
Krista Perreira Adjunct Professor perreira@email.unc.edu
Joseph G. Piemont Adjunct Professor jgpiemont@gmail.com
Gene Pinder Adjunct Assistant Professor
gpinder7@gmail.com
Janet Porter Adjunct Professor janetporterphd@gmail.com 
James Porto, Jr. Adjunct Assistant Professor jim_porto@unc.edu
David Potenziani Adjunct Assistant Professor dpotenziani@IntraHealth.org
Patti Pozella Adjunct Instructor pozella@email.unc.edu
Andrea Radford Adjunct Assistant Professor aradford@caresharehealth.org
Thomas C. Ricketts Adjunct Professor ricketts@schsr.unc.edu
Richard Gary Rozier Research Professor gary_rozier@unc.edu
Julie Sakowksi Adjunct Associate Professor Dr.Sakowski@gmail.com
Marjorie Satinsky Adjunct Instructor margie@satinskyconsulting.com
Richard S. Saver Adjunct Professor saver@email.unc.edu
Lucy A. Savitz Adjunct Associate Professor Lucy.A.Savitz@kpchr.org
Adam Searing Adjunct Associate Professor gs68@georgetown.edu
Richard Scoville Adjunct Associate Professor richard_scoville@unc.edu
Fred Sexton Adjunct Instructor administrator@prepsuccess.com
Asheley Cockrell Skinner Adjunct Associate Professor asheley.skinner@duke.edu
Betsy Sleath Adjunct Professor betsy_sleath@unc.edu
Kevin Sowers Adjunct Professor Kevin.sowers@duke.edu
Karyn B. Stitzenberg Associate Professor karyn_stitzenberg@med.unc.edu
Michael Stobbe Adjunct Assistant Professor mikestobbe@gmail.com
Jeffery Strickler Adjunct Instructor Jeffery.Strickler@unchealth.unc.edu
Jeffrey Swanson Adjunct Professor jeffrey.swanson@duke.edu
Harsha Thirumurthy Adjunct Associate Professor harsha@unc.edu
Margaret Thomas Clinical Assistant Professor mthomn16@email.unc.edu
J. Bennet Waters Clinical Assistant Professor jbwaters@unc.edu
Wendee Wechsberg Adjunct Professor wmw@rti.org
Jane Weintraub Adjunct Professor jane_weintraub@dentistry.unc.edu
Rebecca Wells Adjunct Professor rswells@email.unc.edu
S. Dewayne West Lecturer sdwest@email.unc.edu
John Wiesman Adjunct Assistant Professor johnunc@comcast.net
Aaron S. Williams
Adjunct Professor awilliams@rti.org
Eric Wolak Adjunct Instructor eswolak@gmail.com
Cameron Wolfe Adjunct Instructor camwolfe@email.unc.edu
Leah L. Zullig Adjunct Assistant Professor leah.zullig@duke.edu

 

Emeritus and Retired Faculty

Deborah E. Bender Emeritus & Adjunct Professor
dbender@email.unc.edu xxxxxxx
Edward F. Brooks Emeritus Professor brookse@email.unc.edu
Laurel A Files Emeritus Professor Laurel_Files@unc.edu
Sagar Jain Emeritus Professor jain1@email.unc.edu
Arnold D. Kaluzny Emeritus Professor kaluzny@live.unc.edu
Kerry Kilpatrick Emeritus Professor Kerry_Kilpatrick@unc.edu
Peggy Leatt Emeritus Professor leatt@email.unc.edu
Joseph Morrissey Emeritus Professor joe_morrissey@unc.edu
James Veney Emeritus Professor veney@unc.edu
William N. Zelman Emeritus Professor wzelman@unc.edu
HPM Staff
x
Paul Barrett Systems Programmer/Specialist paul_barrett@unc.edu
Nancy Beach Technical Support Analyst
nbeach@email.unc.edu
Karen Capps Human Resources Manager
Karen_Capps@unc.edu
Stephanie Forman
Assistant to the Chair
sforman1@email.unc.edu
Terri Gault Administrative Director terrigault@unc.edu
Valerie Hooker Administrative Assistant vhooker@email.unc.edu
Lynnette Jones Student Services Manager/Registrar Lynnette_Jones@unc.edu
Stacie Jones Accounting Technician stacie_jones@unc.edu
Tina Lathia Accounting Technician lathia@email.unc.edu
Cathy M Padgett Career Services Coordinator cathy_padgett@unc.edu
Kim Sieler Assistant Registrar krsieler@email.unc.edu
Jacqueline M. Siler Assistant Registrar jsiler@email.unc.edu

Recent News