Welcome to Student Affairs!

Student Affairs at the Gillings School of Global Public Health provides an array of services and resources to prospective, admitted and current students. We aim to enhance student development by providing a supportive and safe environment in which you can achieve academic, social and professional success.

We coordinate major schoolwide programs such as orientations, a student activities fair, a career and internship fair and professional development workshops. We work to recruit excellent students; coordinate diversity outreach programs to expose high school, undergraduate students and professionals to the field of public health; and offer career services for current students and recent alumni.

Getting involved is easy at the Gillings School. We have more than 20 active student organizations. These organizations focus on global issues, diversity initiatives, community advocacy and healthy lifestyles. Our student organizations sponsor educational, philanthropic and just-plain-fun events including:

  • Gillings X, a series of TEDx-like talks by students about global health issues;
  • The Gillings Games, a fall mini-Olympics that allow students to get acquainted while exercising together;
  • Journal clubs, lectures and tailgating socials, among other events.

Dean and Directors

Charletta Sims-Evans

Charletta Sims-Evans

Charletta Sims Evans
Associate Dean for Students
simsevan@email.unc.edu


Greg Bocchino

Greg Bocchino

Greg Bocchino
Director of Student Services
bocchino@email.unc.edu


Johnston King

Johnston King
Director of Admissions
jking3@email.unc.edu


Admissions

Johnston King

Johnston King
Director of Admission
jking3@email.unc.edu


Kristen Hurdle
Admissions Coordinator
919-843-2755
kdhurdle@email.unc.edu


Marquita Brazier

Marquita Brazier

Marquita Brazier
Admissions Recruiter
919-842-2893
mbrazier@email.unc.edu


Andrew Huggins
Admissions Coordinator
919-843-2706
andrewhuggins@unc.edu


Course Management and Class Scheduling

Daniel Collins
Registrar
daniel.collins@unc.edu


Events Management

Natiaya Neal

Natiaya Neal

Natiaya Neal
Student Affairs Events Manager
nneal@email.unc.edu


Business Services

Deshana Hunte-Cabasan

Deshana Cabasan-Hunte

Deshana Cabasan-Hunte
Business Services Coordinator
deshana.cabasan-hunte@unc.edu


Diversity Programs and Recruitment

Trinnette Cooper

Trinnette Cooper

Trinnette Cooper
Diversity Coordinator
coopert@email.unc.edu


Awards and Funding

Jenna Keith

Jenna Keith

Jenna Keith
Awards and Funding Coordinator
jmkeith@email.unc.edu


Career Services

Camille Mason

Camille Mason

Camille Mason
Career Services Coordinator
cgmason@email.unc.edu


BSPH, PhD and other Master’s Students (Non-MPH)

Biostatistics

Melissa Hobgood

Melissa Hobgood

Melissa Hobgood
Academic Coordinator
mhobgood@bios.unc.edu


Epidemiology

Valerie Hudock

Valerie Hudock

Valerie Hudock
Academic Coordinator
vhudock@email.unc.edu


Environmental Sciences and Engineering

Jennifer Moore

Jennifer Moore

Jennifer Moore
Academic Coordinator
jenjoyce@email.unc.edu


Health Behavior
Maternal and Child Health

Cindy Reilly

Cindy Reilly

Cindy Reilly
Academic Coordinator
cindy_reilly@unc.edu


Health Policy and Management

Lynnette Jones

Lynnette Jones

Lynnette Jones
Academic Coordinator, master’s students
lynnette_jones@unc.edu


Kim Sieler 
Academic Coordinator, doctoral students
krsieler@email.unc.edu

Nutrition

Jonathan Earnest

Jonathan Earnest

Jonathan Earnest
Lead Academic Coordinator
earnestj@email.unc.edu


Residential MPH Students

Environmental Health Solutions
Health Equity, Social Justice and Human Rights
Health Policy
Public Health Data Science

Adia Ware

Adia Ware

Adia Ware
Lead Academic Coordinator
aware@unc.edu


Applied Epidemiology
Global Health
Health Behavior
Maternal, Child and Family Health

Melonie Clarke

Melonie Clarke

Melonie Clarke
Academic Coordinator
mclarke1@email.unc.edu


Leadership in Practice
Population Health for Clinicians

Joe Jacobs

Joe Jacobs

Joe Jacobs
Academic Coordinator
mjj0216@email.unc.edu


Nutrition (non-RD)
Nutrition Registered Dietitian (RD)

Jonathan Earnest

Jonathan Earnest

Jonathan Earnest (interim)
Lead Academic Coordinator
earnestj@email.unc.edu


Dual Degree Students

Karla Townley-Tilson

Karla Townley-Tilson

Karla Townley-Tilson
Associate Director, Residential MPH
kttilson@unc.edu


Public Health Leadership (returning MPH students)
Leadership in Practice (UNC-Asheville)

Cindy Reilly

Cindy Reilly

Cindy Reilly
Academic Coordinator
cindy_reilly@unc.edu


Online MPH Students

Health Policy
Leadership in Practice

Joe Jacobs

Joe Jacobs

Joe Jacobs
Academic Coordinator
mjj0216@email.unc.edu


Nutrition (non-RD)
Nutrition Registered Dietitian (RD)

Jonathan Earnest

Jonathan Earnest

Jonathan Earnest
Lead Academic Coordinator
earnestj@email.unc.edu


Certificate Students

Community Preparedness and Disaster Management

Kim Sieler 
Academic Coordinator
krsieler@email.unc.edu

Public Health Leadership

Cindy Reilly

Cindy Reilly

Cindy Reilly
Academic Coordinator
cindy_reilly@unc.edu

Recent News