Welcome to the Office of Student Affairs!

The Gillings School of Global Public Health’s Office of Student Affairs (OSA) provides an array of services and resources to prospective, admitted and current students. We aim to enhance student development by providing a supportive and safe environment in which you can achieve academic, social and professional success.

We coordinate major schoolwide programs such as orientations, a student activities fair, a career and internship fair and professional development workshops. We work to recruit excellent students; coordinate diversity outreach programs to expose high school, undergraduate students and professionals to the field of public health; and offer career services for current students and recent alumni.

Getting involved is easy at the Gillings School. We have more than 20 active student organizations. These organizations focus on global issues, diversity initiatives, community advocacy and healthy lifestyles. Our student organizations sponsor educational, philanthropic and just-plain-fun events including:

  • Gillings X, a series of TEDx-like talks by students about global health issues;
  • The Gillings Games, a fall mini-Olympics that allow students to get acquainted while exercising together;
  • Journal clubs, lectures and tailgating socials, among other events.

Dean and Directors

Charletta Sims-Evans

Charletta Sims-Evans

Charletta Sims Evans
Associate Dean for Students
simsevan@email.unc.edu


Greg Bocchino

Greg Bocchino

Greg Bocchino
Director of Student Services
bocchino@email.unc.edu


Johnston King

Johnston King
Director of Admissions
jking3@email.unc.edu


 

Admissions

Johnston King

Johnston King
Director of Admission
jking3@email.unc.edu


Carrie Goldsmith

Carrie Goldsmith

Carrie Goldsmith
Admissions Coordinator
carrie_aldrich@unc.edu


Kristen Hurdle
Admissions Coordinator
kdhurdle@email.unc.edu


Vacant
Admissions Recruiter


Course Management and Class Scheduling

Vacant
Registrar


Events Management

Natiaya Neal

Natiaya Neal

Natiaya Neal
Student Affairs Events Manager
nneal@email.unc.edu


Business Services

Vacant
Business Services Coordinator


Diversity Programs and Recruitment

Trinnette Cooper

Trinnette Cooper

Trinnette Cooper
Diversity Coordinator
coopert@email.unc.edu


Awards and Funding

Vacant
Awards and Funding Coordinator


Career Services

Camille Mason

Camille Mason

Camille Mason
Career Services Coordinator
cgmason@email.unc.edu


BSPH, PhD and other Master’s Students (Non-MPH)

Biostatistics

Melissa Hobgood

Melissa Hobgood

Melissa Hobgood
Academic Coordinator
mhobgood@bios.unc.edu


Epidemiology

Valerie Hudock
Academic Coordinator
vhudock@email.unc.edu


Environmental Sciences and Engineering

Jennifer Moore
Academic Coordinator
jenjoyce@email.unc.edu


Health Behavior, Maternal and Child Health, Public Health Leadership Program

Cindy Reilly

Cindy Reilly

Cindy Reilly
Academic Coordinator
cindy_reilly@unc.edu


Health Policy and Management

Lynnette Jones
Academic Coordinator
lynnette_jones@unc.edu


Kim Sieler 
Academic Coordinator
krsieler@email.unc.edu

Nutrition

Jonathan Earnest

Jonathan Earnest

Jonathan Earnest
Lead Academic Coordinator
earnestj@email.unc.edu


Residential MPH Students

Adia Ware
Lead Academic Coordinator
aware@unc.edu


Melonie Clark

Melonie Clark

Melonie Clark
Academic Coordinator
mclarke1@email.unc.edu


Online MPH Students

Vacant
Academic Coordinator

Recent News