Fall 2022 Update: In accordance with University’s operations, Gillings Student Affairs will continue to meet with students by phone and Zoom appointment until further notice. For all inquiries, please email Student Affairs at SPH-OSA@unc.edu. If this is an urgent matter, please call (919) 966-2499. If you are experiencing symptoms related to COVID-19, follow up with Campus Health.

Welcome to Student Affairs!

Student Affairs at the Gillings School of Global Public Health provides an array of services and resources to prospective, admitted and current students. We aim to enhance student development by providing a supportive and safe environment in which you can achieve academic, social and professional success.

We coordinate major schoolwide programs such as orientations, a student activities fair, a career and internship fair and professional development workshops. We work to recruit excellent students and offer career services for current students and recent alumni.

Getting involved is easy at the Gillings School. We have more than 20 active student organizations. These organizations focus on global issues, diversity initiatives, community advocacy and healthy lifestyles. Our student organizations sponsor educational, philanthropic and just-plain-fun events including:

  • Gillings X, a series of TEDx-like talks by students about global health issues;
  • The Gillings Games, a fall mini-Olympics that allow students to get acquainted while exercising together;
  • Journal clubs, lectures and tailgating socials, among other events.

Dean and Directors

Charletta Sims Evans

Charletta Sims Evans

Charletta Sims Evans
Associate Dean for Student Affairs
simsevan@email.unc.edu


Greg Bocchino

Greg Bocchino

Greg Bocchino
Senior Executive Director of Academic Advising and Student Affairs
bocchino@email.unc.edu


Jonathan Earnest

Jonathan Earnest

Jonathan Earnest
Director of Admissions
earnestj@email.unc.edu


Admissions

Jonathan Earnest

Jonathan Earnest

Jonathan Earnest
Director of Admissions
earnestj@email.unc.edu


Crystal Isler

Crystal Isler
Assistant Director of Admissions
islerc@email.unc.edu


Kristen Drust Hurdle

Kristen Drust Hurdle

Kristen Hurdle
Admissions Coordinator
919-843-2755
kdhurdle@email.unc.edu


Andrew Huggins

Andrew Huggins

Andrew Huggins
Admissions Coordinator
919-843-2706
andrewhuggins@unc.edu


Jenna Keith

Jenna Keith

Jenna Keith
Admissions Coordinator
jmkeith@email.unc.edu


Course Management and Class Scheduling

Daniel Collins
Registrar
daniel.collins@unc.edu


Events Management

Tiffany Edouard
Student Affairs Events Manager
Tse7@email.unc.edu


Business Services

Deshana Hunte-Cabasan

Deshana Cabasan-Hunte

Deshana Cabasan-Hunte
Business Services Coordinator
deshana@unc.edu


Awards and Funding

Sarah Kitchens

Sarah Kitchens
Awards and Funding Coordinator
sarah_kitchens@unc.edu


Career Services

Lidia Colato

Lidia Colato
lidiatha@email.unc.edu
Career Services Coordinator


Derek Just

Derek Just
derekj@email.unc.edu
Alumni Career Services Coordinator


BSPH, PhD and other Master’s Students (Non-MPH)

Biostatistics

Melissa Hobgood

Melissa Hobgood

Melissa Hobgood
Academic Coordinator
mhobgood@bios.unc.edu


Epidemiology

Bretney Waller
919-966-2499
bnwaller@unc.edu


Environmental Sciences and Engineering

Jennifer Moore

Jennifer Moore

Jennifer Moore
Academic Coordinator
jenjoyce@email.unc.edu


Health Behavior
Maternal and Child Health

Sheneetra Wilson

Sheneetra Wilson

Sheneetra Wilson
Academic Coordinator
wilson5@unc.edu


Health Policy and Management

Vacant
Academic Coordinator
SPH-OSA@unc.edu


Kim Sieler

Kim Sieler

Kim Sieler 
Academic Coordinator, Doctoral and Executive MHA Degree Program, Health Policy and Management
krsieler@email.unc.edu


Nutrition

U'Ronda Higgs

U’Ronda Higgs

U’Ronda Higgs
Lead Academic Coordinator, BSPH, MS and PhD, Nutrition
uhiggs@email.unc.edu
919-962-7869


Residential MPH Students

Environmental Health Solutions
Health Equity, Social Justice and Human Rights
Health Policy
Population Health for Clinicians
Public Health Data Science

Adia Ware

Adia Ware

Adia Ware
Lead Academic Coordinator
aware@unc.edu


Leadership in Practice

Joe Jacobs

Joe Jacobs

Joe Jacobs
Academic Coordinator
mjj0216@email.unc.edu


Nutrition (non-RD)
Nutrition Registered Dietitian (RD)

U'Ronda Higgs

U’Ronda Higgs

U’Ronda Higgs
Lead Academic Coordinator, BSPH, MS and PhD, Nutrition
uhiggs@email.unc.edu
919-962-7869


Dual Degree Students

Karla Townley-Tilson

Karla Townley-Tilson

Karla Townley-Tilson
Associate Director, Residential MPH
kttilson@unc.edu


Public Health Leadership (returning MPH students)
Leadership in Practice (UNC-Asheville)

Sheneetra Wilson

Sheneetra Wilson

Sheneetra Wilson
Academic Coordinator
wilson5@unc.edu


Online MPH Students

Health Policy
Leadership in Practice

Joe Jacobs

Joe Jacobs

Joe Jacobs
Academic Coordinator
mjj0216@email.unc.edu


Nutrition (non-RD)
Nutrition Registered Dietitian (RD)

Interim Gillings Student Affairs
Lead Academic Coordinator
SPH-OSA@unc.edu


MPH Program in Asheville

Joe Jacobs

Joe Jacobs

Joe Jacobs
Academic Coordinator
mjj0216@email.unc.edu

Shaneka Haynes
Place-Based Health – Asheville

Student Services Director
shanekah@unc.edu