TODO
Human Resources at the Gillings School

About Us

The mission of the School’s human resources (HR) office is to provide counsel and guidance and to lead initiatives on behalf of the School. We serve as an adviser to School personnel on HR policies, procedures and systems including Appointments, Promotions and Tenure (APT); recruitment and hiring; performance management; employee relations; as well as many other areas. We also serve as the liaison between the School and various offices around campus (Provost’s Office, Office of Human Resources, Equal Opportunity Office, Office of University Counsel, Office of Postdoctoral Affairs, as well as other UNC-Chapel Hill offices) on personnel issues.

Important Links

Support Resources for Gillings School Staff
UNC-Chapel Hill Office of Human Resources
Payroll and Benefits Information
New Employee Orientation Information

Other Links of Interest

EEO/ADA:  http://equalopportunity-ada.unc.edu/
International Student and Scholar Services:  http://oisss.unc.edu/
Online Help Requests: http://help.unc.edu/help/olhr/
ONYEN Services: https://onyen.unc.edu/cgi-bin/unc_id/services
Ombuds Office:  http://www.ombuds.unc.edu/
Post Doc Office: http://research.unc.edu/offices/postdoctoral-affairs/
Training and Development:  http://hr.unc.edu/organization-and-professional-development/

Contact Us

Stephen Regan Assistant Dean for HR 135 Dauer Drive 205 Rosenau Hall, CB #7400 (919) 962-9920 regansj@email.unc.edu
  • Oversees all human resource functions for the Gillings School, including oversight of nine major academic departments and central units
  • Provides counsel on all HR policies and matters, including recruitment and hiring, payroll, employee relations and performance appraisals
  • Interfaces with University contacts on HR-related issues
  • Acts as the Equal Employment Opportunity/Compliance officer for the Gillings School
Abbey McLennan HR Team Lead 211 Rosenau Hall (919) 962-2820 amclenna@email.unc.edu
Linda Mitchell HR Team Lead 210 Rosenau Hall (919) 966-7831 lgmitche@email.unc.edu
LaSonya Whitworth HR Specialist / International Scholar Liaison 206 Rosenau Hall (919) 966-3255 lwhitwor@email.unc.edu
  • Process petitions and applications for international scholars
  • Liaise with International Student and Scholar Services
  • Oversee submission of all work-authorization required documentation to ISSS
  • Provide backup for other HR consultants

Biostatistics HR Contact

Vera Bennett HR Consultant 3108-D McGavran-Greenberg Hall (919) 966-7293 vera_bennett@unc.edu

Epidemiology / CEHS HR Contact

Sharon Sullivan HR Consultant 2101-C McGavran-Greenberg Hall (919) 966-7460 sharon_sullivan@unc.edu

Health Behavior / Maternal and Child Health CAU HR Contact

Annette Raines HR Consultant 209 Rosenau Hall (919) 966-3526 annette_raines@unc.edu

Nutrition / CAU HR Contact

Janet Scearce HR Consultant 208 Rosenau Hall (919) 966-5527 jscearce@email.unc.edu

Health Policy and Management / Public Health Leadership / NCIPH HR Contact

Karen Capps HR Consultant 212 Rosenau Hall (919) 966-7394 kcapps@email.unc.edu

Environmental Sciences and Engineering HR Contact

Melissa Halstead HR Consultant 206 Rosenau Hall (919) 962-3288 melissa.halstead@unc.edu

Recent News