Three Gillings students named 2024 Community Engagement Fellows

May 17, 2024
The Community Engagement Fellowship program at UNC-Chapel Hill awards a maximum of eight fellowships of up to $2,500 each year for engaged scholarship projects that are responsive to community priorities and have an academic connection.

Carolina Alumni Association honors Southerland and Koch

May 16, 2024
Drs. Janet Southerland and Gary Koch received Carolina Alumni Awards for their exceptional contributions to their respective fields and profound impact on the lives of countless students and colleagues.

Doctoral student solves tough puzzles

May 15, 2024
With public health projects or his own medical issues, Mark Radin overcomes difficult challenges.

Gillings School’s 84th commencement celebrates Class of 2024

May 14, 2024
U.S. Surgeon General Vivek H. Murthy joined the Gillings School in celebrating 676 graduating students of the Class of 2024. "The truth is that you are needed in the world now more than ever,” Dr. Murthy said in his speech.

Genetic discoveries in mice shed light on vulnerability to Ebola virus disease

May 10, 2024
The Gillings School-led research team is hopeful that these new results in mice will be valuable in the quest to find effective treatment and prevention strategies for Ebola virus infection in humans.

Gillings alum Angeli Achrekar is UNC-Chapel Hill's 2024 Hooding Ceremony speaker

May 9, 2024
Gillings School alum Angeli Achrekar ('13 DrPH) is the deputy executive director of the programme branch at the Joint United Nations Programme on HIV/AIDS and an assistant secretary-general of the United Nations.

UNC Asheville - UNC Gillings MPH program to graduate first class

May 9, 2024
This May, the first graduating class of the UNC Asheville - UNC Gillings Master of Public Health program will receive a jointly conferred degree.

4 Gillings community members honored with 2024 awards for mentorship, teaching, research and service

April 29, 2024
Four members of the Gillings School community were selected to receive the School’s most prestigious awards: Dr. Stephen Cole (Larsh Award), Dr. Joseph Ibrahim (McGavran Award), Dr. Joe Brown (Greenberg Award) and Traci L. Baird (Barr Award).

The Abstract: April 29, 2024

Gillings faculty receive high honors, grants and national recognition.

Gillings School honors 5 faculty members for teaching innovation

April 29, 2024
Students at the Gillings School have selected five faculty members to honor for teaching innovation in the classroom, including Drs. Bahjat Qaqish, Amanda Northcross, Yesenia Merino, Caroline Chandler and Jan Lee Santos.

Visit our communications and marketing team page.
Contact with any media inquiries or general questions.

Communications and Marketing Office
125 Rosenau Hall
CB #7400
135 Dauer Drive
Chapel Hill, NC 27599-7400