Course Information

All course information can be found in the UNC Course Catalog.

Additional courses may be added on a semester basis at the discretion of the department. See the UNC Registrar’s Directory of Classes page for more information.

Student Resources

HPM Student Groups

Executive Advisory Committee Student Members

The Executive Advisory Committee advises the Chair about: 1) issues across faculty ranks and tracks, educational programs, and committees; 2) budget and resource allocation, and 3) strategic and operational issues. The membership consists of the Department Chair, Associate Chair(s), Directors of our academic programs, Director of HPM Office of Student Life and Alumni Relations, HPM Business Manager; Academic Coordinators, at-large faculty members appointed by the Chair for 3-year terms; one student each representing our undergraduate, masters, and doctoral degrees (3 total), student program assistant supporting the Faculty Equity Collaborative. Faculty are voting members.

The committee meets twice monthly for 60-90 minutes. Time commitment totals 3-4 hours/month (two 60-minute meetings/month plus 1-2 hours/month outside meetings).

Student representatives, 2022-2023

Doctoral: Karl Johnson

Undergraduate: Phoebe Pak

Masters: TBA

DEI: Aaron Carpenter

Faculty Meeting Student Representatives

Executive Doctoral: Evelyn Abayaah-Issah, MS

Undergraduate: Emma Nipp

Masters: TBA

DEI: Aaron Carpenter

Healthcare Executives Student Association (HESA)

Healthcare Executives Student Association, an affiliate of the American College of Healthcare Executives, the Medical Group Management Association, and the Healthcare Financial Management Association

This organization provides diverse opportunities for personal, professional and leadership development to prepare students for success in the healthcare industry.

Officers, 2022/2023:

ACHE National Organization site

MGMA National Organization site

HFMA National Organization site


AcademyHealth, UNC Student Chapter

The mission of the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill Student Chapter of AcademyHealth is to establish a student organization associated with the Academy to promote and facilitate the professional development of students interested in all aspects of health services research and health policy.

Officers, 2022/2023:

  • TBA

Facebook page
AcademyHealth National Organization site

Master’s Student Council

Health Policy and Management Master’s Student Council

HPM Master’s Student Council is an organization composed of students, for students, and therefore to be effective requires participation and commitment by students. Student Council provides an excellent way to get involved with other students, faculty, professionals, and members of the UNC-Chapel Hill community. It comprises a number of different committees including Academic Standards, Fundraising/Social, Community Service, Orientation, Admissions, and Professional Development.

Officers, 2022/2023:

Women in Healthcare Leadership

Officers, 2022/2023:

  • TBA

UNC Institute for Healthcare Improvement Open School Chapter 

The purpose of the Open School is “to provide a collaborative venue for professional health sciences students to gain fundamental knowledge and skills in healthcare quality and process improvement.”

UNC IHI website

IHI Open School site

Contact Information

Office of Student Affairs
Contact your academic coordinator.

BSPH, MSPH and Resident MHA:
Academic Coordinator: Yolonda N. Childs

Doctoral and Executive MHA:
Academic Coordinator: Kim Sieler

Assistant to Chair: Stephanie Forman
Looking for someone else?

Mailing Address
135 Dauer Drive
1101 McGavran-Greenberg Hall, CB #7411
Chapel Hill, NC 27599-7411