Our faculty and staff

The Department’s current faculties consist of 24 tenure/tenure track faculty, 9 clinical faculty, 25 research track faculty and 116 adjunct faculty members. Faculty and associates of the Department have conducted research and/or offered courses in other areas in epidemiology, including aging, digestive diseases epidemiology, genetic epidemiology, physical activity, nutritional epidemiology, pharmacoepidemiology, and social epidemiology, and have advised students in other areas as well. This diversity enriches the training of our students and also enables the Department to be more supportive of the activities of other departments and centers in the School and elsewhere in the University.

Epidemiology faculty, students and alumni are supported by a skilled and dedicated staff that contribute to areas such as student services, professional development, information technology and research.

Allison Aiello Professor aaiello@unc.edu
Lorraine Alexander Clinical Associate Professor lorraine_alexander@unc.edu
Christy Avery Assistant Professor christy_avery@unc.edu
Ralph S Baric Professor rbaric@email.unc.edu
John Baron Research Professor jabaron@med.unc.edu
Jeannette Bensen Research Assistant Professor jeannette_bensen@med.unc.edu
M. Alan Brookhart Associate Professor mabrook@email.unc.edu
Carla Cerami Research Assistant Professor ccerami@unc.edu
Myron Cohen Professor Epidemiology myron_cohen@med.unc.edu
Stephen Cole Professor and Director of Graduate Studies cole@unc.edu
Julie Daniels Associate Professor julie_daniels@unc.edu
Kathleen Dorsey Research Assistant Professor kathleen_conway@med.unc.edu
Andrew Edmonds Research Instructor aedmonds@email.unc.edu
Michael Emch Professor emch@unc.edu
Larry Engel Associate Professor Larry.Engel@unc.edu
Stephanie Engel Associate Professor Stephanie.Engel@unc.edu
Kelly Evenson Research Professor kelly_evenson@unc.edu
Nora Franceschini Research Assistant Professor noraf@unc.edu
Marilie Gammon Professor gammon@unc.edu
Yvonne Golightly Research Assistant Professor golight@email.unc.edu
Gerardo Heiss Kenan Distinguished Professor gerardo_heiss@unc.edu
Michele Jonsson-Funk Research Assistant Professor mfunk@unc.edu
Anna Kucharska-Newton Research Assistant Professor anna_newton@unc.edu
Laura Loehr Research Assistant Professor lloehr@email.unc.edu
Jennifer Lund Assistant Professor jlund@email.unc.edu
David M. Margolis Professor dmargo@med.unc.edu
Steve Marshall Professor smarshall@unc.edu
Steven Meshnick Professor meshnick@email.unc.edu
Anne Marie Meyer Research Assistant Professor meyera@email.unc.edu
William Miller Associate Professor bill_miller@unc.edu
Sonia Napravnik Research Assistant Professor sonia_napravnik@med.unc.edu
Hazel Nichols Assistant Professor hazel.nichols@unc.edu
Kari North Associate Professor kari_north@unc.edu
Andrew Olshan Department Chair andy_olshan@unc.edu
Brian Pence Assistant Professor bpence@unc.edu
Audrey Pettifor Associate Professor apettif@email.unc.edu
Charles Poole Associate Professor cpoole@unc.edu
Kimberly Powers Assistant Professor powersk@email.unc.edu
David Richardson Associate Professor david.richardson@unc.edu
Whitney Robinson Assistant Professor whitney_robinson@unc.edu
Wayne Rosamond Professor wayne_rosamond@unc.edu
Robert S. Sandler Distinguished Professor robert_sandler@med.unc.edu
Victor Schoenbach Associate Professor vjs@unc.edu
Anna Maria Siega-Riz Professor am_siegariz@unc.edu
Amy Sims Research Assistant Professor sims0018@email.unc.edu
Jennifer Smith Research Associate Professor jsssmith@email.unc.edu
Lola Virginia Stamm Associate Professor lstamm@email.unc.edu
June Stevens Distinguished Professor june_stevens@unc.edu
Til Stürmer Professor sturmer@unc.edu
Jim Thomas Associate Professor jim.thomas@unc.edu
Melissa Troester Associate Professor troester@email.unc.edu
Annelies Van Rie Associate Professor vanrie@email.unc.edu
Anissa Vines Research Assistant Professor avines@email.unc.edu
David Jay Weber Professor of Medicine and Pediatrics dweber1@email.unc.edu
Sharon Stucker Weir Research Assistant Professor sharon_weir@unc.edu
Daniel Westreich Assistant Professor westreic@email.unc.edu
Eric Whitsel Research Associate Professor eric_whitsel@unc.edu
Steve Wing Associate Professor steve_wing@unc.edu
Karin Yeatts Research Assistant Professor Karin_Yeatts@unc.edu

To obtain more details you can search by adjunct name or research topic area
by clicking here.

Name Title Affiliation
Adaora A. Adimora MD, MPH Adjunct Professor UNC-Infectious Disease
Timothy E. Aldrich PhD, MPH Adjunct Associate Professor Independent
Naomar M. Almeido-Filho MD, PhD Adjunct Professor Universidad Federal De Bahia
Elizabeth B. Andrews PhD, MPH Adjunct Associate Professor RTI Health Solutions
Robert E. Aubert PhD, MSPH Adjunct Associate Professor Research and Evaluation Analytics, LLC
Donna D. Baird PhD, MPH Adjunct Professor NIEHS
Rukmini B. Balu PhD, MBA Adjunct Assistant Professor Duke University
John C. Barefoot PhD, MA Adjunct Associate Professor Duke University
James D. Beck PhD, MS Adjunct Professor UNC-Dental Ecology
Sylvia Becker-Dreps MD, MPH Adjunct Assistant Professor UNC-Family Medicine
Douglas A. Bell PhD, MS Adjunct Professor NIEHS
Dan G. Blazer MD, PhD Adjunct Professor Duke University
Wendy R. Brewster MD, PhD Adjunct Associate Professor Center for Women’s Health Research
Jane H. Brice MD, MPH Adjunct Assistant Professor UNC-Emergency Medicine
Gregory L. Burke MD, MS Adjunct Professor Wake Forest University
Leigh F. Callahan PhD Adjunct Associate Professor UNC-Medicine
Timothy S. Carey MD, MPH Clinical Professor UNC-Cecil G. Sheps Center for Health Services Research
Lori Carter-Edwards PhD, MPH Adjunct Assistant Professor UNC-Center for Health Promotion Disease Prevention
Carri H. Casteel PhD, MPH Adjunct Associate Professor University of Iowa
Willard Cates MD, MPH Adjunct Professor Family Health International
Patricia P. Chang MD, MHS Adjunct Associate Professor UNC-Cardiology
Honglei Chen PhD, MSc Adjunct Associate Professor NIEHS
Benjamin H Chi MD, MSc Adjunct Associate Professor UNC-OB/GYN
Dennis A. Clements MD, PhD Adjunct Professor Duke University
Joe Steven Cline DDS, MPH Adjunct Associate Professor NC DHHS
Remy R. Coeytaux MD, PhD Adjunct Assistant Professor Duke University
Thomas B. Cole MD, MPH Adjunct Associate Professor Independent
Joseph A. Cook MD, MPH Adjunct Professor Independent
Glinda S. Cooper PhD, MS Adjunct Professor US EPA
Joan C. Cornoni-Huntley PhD, MPH Adjunct Professor Independent
Martin M. Crane PhD, MS Adjunct Associate Professor GlaxoSmithKline
Kourtney J. Davis PhD, MSPH Adjunct Assistant Professor GlaxoSmithKline
Evan S. Dellon MD, MPH Adjunct Assistant Professor UNC-Gastroenterology and Hepatology
John M. Dement PhD Adjunct Professor Duke University
Lisa A. DeRoo PhD, MPH Adjunct Assistant Professor NIEHS
Nancy L. Dole PhD, MSPH Adjunct Associate Professor UNC-Carolina Population Center
Eric F. Donaldson PhD Adjunct Assistant Professor FDA-Division of Antiviral Products
Bruce B. Duncan MD, MPH Adjunct Associate Professor Federal University of Rio Grande do Sul
Mohamed E. El Hag Ahmed PhD Adjunct Assistant Professor United Arab Emirates University
Jeffrey P. Engel MD Adjunct Professor Council of State and Territorial Epidemiologists
Sara A. Ephross PhD, MSPH Adjunct Associate Professor GlaxoSmithKline
Joseph J. Eron, Jr. MD Adjunct Professor UNC-Infectious Diseases
Paul J. Feldblum PhD Adjunct Associate Professor Family Health International
Aaron T. Fleischauer PhD, MSPH Adjunct Assistant Professor NC DHHS
Robert H. Fletcher MD, MSc Adjunct Professor Independent
Suzanne W. Fletcher MD, MSc Adjunct Professor Independent
Joanne M. Garrett PhD, MSPH Adjunct Professor UNC-Center for Women’s Health Research
Bradley N. Gaynes MD, MPH Adjunct Professor UNC-Psychiatry
Cynthia J. Girman DrPH, MS Adjunct Associate Professor Merck
Paul A. Godley MD, PhD, MS Adjunct Professor UNC-Hematology/Oncology
Raymond S. Greenberg MD, PhD Adjunct Professor Medical University of South Carolina
Laura C. Hanson MD, MPH Adjunct Professor UNC-Geriatric Medicine
Russell P. Harris MD, MPH Adjunct Professor UNC-General Medicine and Clinical Epidemiology
Katherine E. Hartmann MD, PhD Adjunct Associate Professor Vanderbilt University
Louise M. Henderson PhD, MSPH Adjunct Assistant Professor UNC-Radiology
Jane A. Hoppin ScD, SM Adjunct Assistant Professor NIEHS
Jennifer A. Horney PhD, MPH Adjunct Assistant Professor Texas A&M
Amy I. Ising MS Adjunct Instructor UNC-Emergency Medicine
Sherman A. James PhD Adjunct Professor Duke University
Esther C. Janowsky MD, PhD Adjunct Assistant Professor Independent
C. David Jenkins PhD, MA Adjunct Professor Independent
Joanne M. Jordan MD, MPH Adjunct Professor UNC-Thurston Arthritis Research Center
Jonathan J. Juliano MD, MSPH Adjunct Assistant Professor UNC-Infectious Diseases
Jay S. Kaufman PhD Adjunct Professor McGill University
Ulrich Keil Dr. med, PhD Adjunct Professor University of Munster
Barbara P. Kowalcyk PhD, MA Adjunct Assistant Professor Center for Foodborne Illness Research & Prevention
Stephen B. Kritchevsky PhD Adjunct Professor Wake Forest University
Peter A. Leone MD Adjunct Professor UNC-Infectious Diseases
Jay F. Levine DVM, MPH Adjunct Professor NC State University
Duanping Liao MD, PhD Adjunct Associate Professor Pennsylvania State
Hester J. Lipscomb PhD, MPH Adjunct Associate Professor Duke University
Stephanie J. London MD, PhD Adjunct Professor NIEHS
Matthew P. Longnecker MD, ScD Adjunct Professor NIEHS
Dana P. Loomis PhD, MSPH Adjunct Professor University of Nebraska
Thomas J. Luben PhD, MSPH Adjunct Assistant Professor US EPA
Pia D MacDonald Adjunct Associate Professor Social & Scientific Systems Inc.
Christina D. Mack PhD, MSPH Adjunct Assistant Professor Quintiles
William C. Maier PhD, MPH Adjunct Assistant Professor MAPI
Mark W. Massing MD, PhD Adjunct Associate Professor The Carolinas Center for Medical Excellence
Timothy D. Mastro MD Adjunct Professor Family Health International 360
William F. McDonnell MD, MPH Adjunct Associate Professor Independent
Ann M. McNeill PhD, MPH Adjunct Assistant Professor Merck
Melinda S. Meade PhD Adjunct Professor Independent
Pauline Mendola PhD, MS Adjunct Professor NIH
Prema Menezes PhD, MHS Adjunct Assistant Professor UNC-Infectious Diseases
Lynne C. Messer PhD, MPH Adjunct Assistant Professor College of Urban and Public Affairs
David P. Miller ScD, SM Adjunct Assistant Professor UCB
Keri L. Monda PhD, MS Adjunct Assistant Professor Amgen
Patricia G. Moorman PhD, MSPH Adjunct Associate Professor Duke University
Miriam C. Morey PhD, MA Adjunct Assistant Professor Duke University
Kenneth A. Mundt PhD Adjunct Professor ENVIRON
Lucas M. Neas MSE, ScD Adjunct Associate Professor US EPA
Warren P. Newton MD, MPH Adjunct Professor UNC-Family Medicine
Matthew E. Nielsen MD, MSCR Adjunct Assistant Professor UNC-Surgery
Padmaja Patnaik PhD, MS Adjunct Assistant Professor Merck
David B. Peden MD, MS Adjunct Professor UNC-Center for Environmental Medicine Asthma and Lung Biology
Miquel S. Porta MD, MPH Adjunct Professor Universidad Autonoma de Barcelona
Scott K. Proescholdbell MPH Adjunct Assistant Professor NC DHHS
David F. Ransohoff MD Clinical Professor UNC-Gastroenterology & Hepatology
Daniel A. Rodriguez PhD Adjunct Associate Professor UNC-City & Regional Planning
Walter J. Rogan MD, MPH Adjunct Professor NIEHS
M.E. Bonnie Rogers DrPH, MPH Clinical Associate Professor UNC-Public Health Leadership Program
Kathryn M. Rose PhD, MSPH Adjunct Associate Professor Social & Scientific Systems, Inc.
Michael J. Rosenberg MD, MPH Adjunct Professor Health Decisions, Inc
Dale P. Sandler PhD, MPH Adjunct Professor NIEHS
Vilma S. Santana MD, PhD Adjunct Assistant Professor Universidad Federal De Bahia
William B. Saunders PhD, MPH Adjunct Assistant Professor Saunders Research, LLC
Joellen M. Schildkraut PhD, MPH Adjunct Associate Professor Duke University
Maria I. Schmidt MD, PhD Adjunct Associate Professor Univ Federal Rio Grande do Sul
Jane C. Schroeder DVM, PhD Adjunct Assistant Professor NIEHS
Pamela J. Schwingl PhD, MS Adjunct Assistant Professor Social & Scientific Systems Inc.
Arlene C. Sena-Soberano MD, MPH Adjunct Associate Professor UNC-Infectious Diseases
Nicholas J. Shaheen MD, MPH Adjunct Professor UNC-Gastroenterology & Hepatology
Sumitra Shantakumar PhD, MPH Adjunct Assistant Professor GlaxoSmithKline
Ilene C. Siegler PhD, MPH Adjunct Professor Duke University
Ross J. Simpson, Jr. MD, PhD Clinical Professor UNC-Cardiology
Gary D. Slade BDSc, DDPH Adjunct Professor UNC-Dental Ecology
Betsy L. Sleath PhD, MS Adjunct Professor UNC-Eshelman School of Pharmacy
David C. Sokal MD Adjunct Associate Professor Independent
John W. Stamm DDS, DDPH Adjunct Professor UNC-Dental Ecology
Paul E. Stang PhD, MS Adjunct Associate Professor Galt Associates Inc.
Markus J. Steiner PhD, MSPH Adjunct Assistant Professor Family Health International
Ronald P. Strauss DMD, PhD Clinical Professor UNC-Office of Provost Academic Affairs
Jeffrey S.A. Stringer MD Adjunct Professor UNC-OB/GYN
Patrick F. Sullivan MD Adjunct Professor UNC-Genetics
Jack A. Taylor MD, PhD Adjunct Professor NIEHS
Steve M Taylor MD, MPH Adjunct Assistant Professor Duke University
John M. Thorp, Jr. MD Adjunct Professor UNC-OB/GYN
Hugh H. Tilson MD, DrPH Adjunct Professor UNC-Public Health Leadership Program
Vani Vannappagari PhD, MPH Adjunct Assistant Professor GlaxoSmithKline
Emily E. Vavalle PhD, MS Adjunct Assistant Professor UNC Hospitals
Anthony J Viera MD, MPH Adjunct Associate Professor UNC-Family Medicine
Andres Villaveces MD, PhD Adjunct Assistant Professor The World Bank
Timothy J. Wade PhD, MPH Adjunct Assistant Professor US EPA
Emmanuel B. Walter MD, MPH Adjunct Associate Professor Duke University
Clarice R. Weinberg PhD Adjunct Professor NIEHS
Suzanne L. West PhD, MPH Adjunct Associate Professor RTI International
Alice D. White PhD, MSPH Adjunct Associate Professor UNC-Epidemiology
Timothy C. Wilcosky PhD, MS Adjunct Associate Professor Independent
Allen J. Wilcox MD, PhD Adjunct Professor NIEHS
Redford B. Williams MD Adjunct Professor Duke University
Rachel E. Williams PhD, MS Adjunct Assistant Professor GlaxoSmithKline
David A. Wohl MD Adjunct Associate Professor UNC-Infectious Diseases
Christopher W. Woods MD, MPH Adjunct Assistant Professor Duke University
Bonnie C. Yankaskas PhD, MA Adjunct Professor UNC-Radiology
Sheryl I. Zimmerman PhD, MSW Adjunct Professor UNC-Social Work
Courtney Andrews Accounting Technician courtney_andrews@unc.edu
Lisa Bradley Administrative Support Associate lisa_bradley@unc.edu
Chandra Caldwell Grants Manager ccaldwel@email.unc.edu
Brenda Clark Administrative Support Associate bdclark@email.unc.edu
Nancy Colvin Assistant to the Chair for Graduate Studies ncolvin@unc.edu
Michael Garrison Accounting Technician mwgarris@email.unc.edu
Spencer Gee Tech Support Specialist sgee@unc.edu
Robert Goetze Applications Analyst rgoetze@unc.edu
Dick Howard Systems Programmer/Specialist dick_howard@unc.edu
T. Terrill Hudgins Tech Support Specialist terry_hudgins@unc.edu
David Hunt Accounting Technician djhunt@email.unc.edu
Laura Jin Tech Support Assistant xjin@live.unc.edu
David Kleckner IT Director David_Kleckner@unc.edu
Kimberly Ludwig Applications Specialist Kim_Ludwig@unc.edu
Jennifer Moore Accounting Technician jennifer_moore@unc.edu
Victoria Moore Business Manager victoria_moore@unc.edu
Virginia Pate Applications Analyst vpate@email.unc.edu
Rebecca Rohde Applications Analyst rohde@email.unc.edu
Yaming Shao Applications Analyst yaming_shao@unc.edu
Sharon Sullivan HR Consultant sharon_sullivan@unc.edu
Chiu Kit Tse Applications Specialist jessica_tse@unc.edu
Molly Wen Applications Specialist molly_wen@unc.edu
Luke Williamson Tech Support Assistant lukewa@live.unc.edu
Kathy Wisniewski Applications Analyst kathy_wisniewski@unc.edu
Carmen Woody Student Services Specialist carmen_woody@unc.edu
Patricia Basta Research Associate patricia_basta@unc.edu
Paula Bell Project Director pbell@email.unc.edu
Stephanie Blair Social/Clinical Research Assistant seblair@email.unc.edu
Kathy Borron Social/Clinical Research Assistant borron@email.unc.edu
Chyrise Bradley Project Coordinator chyrise@unc.edu
Kathryn Carrier Project Director kathryn_carrier@unc.edu
Crystal Daniel Social/Clinical Research Assistant cdaniel1@email.unc.edu
Hendrik Dejong Research Specialist hdejong@email.unc.edu
Andrea Des Marais Project Coordinator adesmara@email.unc.edu
Tania Desrosiers Social/Clinical Research Specialist ta_desrosiers@unc.edu
Rachel Graham Research Associate rlgraham@email.unc.edu
Lisa Gralinski Research Associate lgralins@email.unc.edu
Katherine Harmsen Social/Clinical Research Specialist harmsen@email.unc.edu
Marcus Hawley Social/Clinical Research Asst. mahawley@email.unc.edu
Phyllis Johnson Social Clinical Research Specialist phyllis_johnson@unc.edu
Monique Justice Social/Clinical Research Assistant Monique.Justice@unc.edu
Sylvie Kabisa Biostatistics Research Manager tchumtch@email.unc.edu
Marti Kepner Social/Clinical Research Assistant mkepner@email.unc.edu
Erin Kirk Research Specialist ekirk@email.unc.edu
Joy Kloetzer Social/Clinical Research Assistant kloetzer@email.unc.edu
Patricia Leonard Social/Clinical Research Assistant pleonard@unc.edu
Lisa Lindesmith Research Specialist lisal@unc.edu
Amy Lowman Project Director alowman@email.unc.edu
Heena Mehta Research Specialist heena_mehta@med.unc.edu
Laurie Mettam Analytic Coordinator lhmettam@email.unc.edu
Melissa Polier Social/Clinical Research Assistant polier@email.unc.edu
Allan Rene de Cotret Research Specialist ajrene@email.unc.edu
Scott Royal Research Specialist srroyal@email.unc.edu
Julie Ann Rusyniak Social/Clinical Research Assistant rusyniak@email.unc.edu
Alexandra Schaefer Research Associate aschaefe@email.unc.edu
Trevor Scobey Research Technician trevor.scobey@unc.edu
Jesica Swanstrom Research Specialist jswanst@email.unc.edu
Samuel Tchwenko Epidemiologist tchwenko@email.unc.edu
Kyaw Thwai Research Technician thwai@email.unc.edu
Elyssa Trani Social/Clinical Research Assistant elyssa_trani@unc.edu
Mamie Ann Turner Social/Clinical Research Assistant mamie.turner@unc.edu
Tamara Teague Watson Social/Clinical Research Assistant ttwatson@email.unc.edu
Ande West Research Specialist westande@email.unc.edu
Quinn Williams Project Director niquinn@email.unc.edu
Alison Woomert Project Director alison_woomert@unc.edu
Boyd Yount, Jr Research Specialist byount@email.unc.edu