Epidemiology Faculty and Staff

Faculty and associates of the Department have conducted research and/or offered courses in other areas in epidemiology, including aging, digestive diseases epidemiology, genetic epidemiology, physical activity, nutritional epidemiology, pharmacoepidemiology, and social epidemiology, and have advised students in other areas as well. This diversity enriches the training of our students and also enables the Department to be more supportive of the activities of other departments and centers in the School and elsewhere in the University.

Epidemiology faculty, students and alumni are supported by a skilled and dedicated staff that contribute to areas such as student services, professional development, information technology and research.

The Faculty Interest Matrix provides a comprehensive, multilevel snapshot of all research and tenure track faculty interests.
Adaora AdimoraProfessoradimora@med.unc.edu
Allison AielloProfessoraaiello@unc.edu
Lorraine AlexanderClinical Associate Professorlorraine_alexander@unc.edu
Christy AveryAssistant Professorchristy_avery@unc.edu
Christopher BaggettResearch Assistant Professorchrisb@unc.edu
Ralph BaricProfessorrbaric@email.unc.edu
John BaronResearch Professorjabaron@med.unc.edu
Patricia BastaClinical Assistant Professorpatricia_basta@unc.edu
Jeannette BensenResearch Associate Professorjeannette_bensen@med.unc.edu
M. Alan BrookhartProfessormabrook@email.unc.edu
Myron CohenProfessor Epidemiologymyron_cohen@med.unc.edu
Stephen ColeProfessorcole@unc.edu
Julie DanielsProfessorjulie_daniels@unc.edu
Tania DesrosiersResearch Assistant Professorta_desrosiers@unc.edu
Kathleen DorseyResearch Assistant Professorkathleen_conway@med.unc.edu
Andrew EdmondsResearch Instructoraedmonds@email.unc.edu
Jess EdwardsResearch Assistant Professorjkedwar@email.unc.edu
Michael EmchProfessoremch@unc.edu
Larry EngelAssociate ProfessorLarry.Engel@unc.edu
Stephanie EngelAssociate ProfessorStephanie.Engel@unc.edu
Kelly EvensonResearch Professorkelly_evenson@unc.edu
Nora FranceschiniResearch Associate Professornoraf@unc.edu
Marilie GammonProfessorgammon@unc.edu
Yvonne GolightlyAssistant Professorgolight@email.unc.edu
Emily GowerAssociate Professoregower@unc.edu
Misa Graff
Research Assistant Professormigraff@email.unc.edu
Rachel GrahamResearch Assistant Professorrlgraham@email.unc.edu
Lisa GralinskiResearch Assistant Professorlgralins@email.unc.edu
Gerardo HeissKenan Distinguished Professorgerardo_heiss@unc.edu
Michele Jonsson-FunkResearch Associate Professormfunk@unc.edu
Alex KeilResearch Assistant Professorakeil@unc.edu
Anna Kucharska-NewtonResearch Assistant Professoranna_newton@unc.edu
Bradley LaytonResearch Assistant Professorblayton@unc.edu
Laura LoehrResearch Assistant Professorlloehr@email.unc.edu
Jennifer LundAssistant Professorjlund@email.unc.edu
David MargolisProfessordmargo@med.unc.edu
Steve MarshallProfessorsmarshall@unc.edu
Joanna "Asia" MaselkoAssociate Professorjmaselko@unc.edu
Steven MeshnickProfessor and Director of Graduate Studiesmeshnick@email.unc.edu
Anne Marie MeyerResearch Assistant Professormeyera@email.unc.edu
Sonia NapravnikResearch Associate Professorsonia_napravnik@med.unc.edu
Hazel NicholsAssistant Professorhazel.nichols@unc.edu
Kari NorthProfessorkari_north@unc.edu
Andrew Olshan Department Chair
Barbara Sorenson Hulka Distinguished Professor in Cancer Epidemiology
andy_olshan@unc.edu
Brian PenceAssociate Professorbpence@unc.edu
Audrey PettiforProfessorapettif@email.unc.edu
Charles PooleAssociate Professorcpoole@unc.edu
Kimberly PowersAssistant Professorpowersk@email.unc.edu
Shabbar RanapurwalaResearch Assistant Professorsirana@email.unc.edu
David RichardsonAssociate Professordavid.richardson@unc.edu
Whitney RobinsonAssociate Professorwhitney_robinson@unc.edu
Wayne RosamondProfessorwayne_rosamond@unc.edu
Robert SandlerDistinguished Professorrobert_sandler@med.unc.edu
Victor SchoenbachAssociate Professorvjs@unc.edu
Timothy SheahanResearch Assistant Professorsheahan@email.unc.edu
Anna Maria Siega-RizProfessoram_siegariz@unc.edu
Amy SimsResearch Associate Professorsims0018@email.unc.edu
Jennifer SmithProfessorjsssmith@email.unc.edu
Lola StammAssociate Professorlstamm@email.unc.edu
June StevensDistinguished Professorjune_stevens@unc.edu
Til StürmerProfessorsturmer@unc.edu
Xuezheng SunResearch Assistant Professoramysun@email.unc.edu
Jim ThomasAssociate Professorjim.thomas@unc.edu
Melissa TroesterProfessortroester@email.unc.edu
Annelies Van RieProfessorvanrie@email.unc.edu
Anissa VinesResearch Assistant Professoravines@email.unc.edu
David WeberProfessor of Medicine and Pediatricsdweber1@email.unc.edu
Sharon Stucker WeirResearch Assistant Professorsharon_weir@unc.edu
Daniel WestreichAssociate Professorwestreic@email.unc.edu
Eric WhitselResearch Associate Professoreric_whitsel@unc.edu
Karin YeattsClinical Associate ProfessorKarin_Yeatts@unc.edu
Kristin YoungResearch Assistant Professorkristin.young@unc.edu
Anna BakerProject Coordinatoranna_baker@unc.edu
Sara Jones BerkeleyProject Managersara.jones@unc.edu
Stephanie BlairSocial/Clinical Research Assistantseblair@email.unc.edu
Kathy BorronSocial/Clinical Research Assistantborron@email.unc.edu
Chyrise BradleyResearch Director chyrise@unc.edu
Paul Brewer-JensenResearch Specialistpbj@email.unc.edu
Taylor ClarkSocial/Clinical Research Assistanttclark81@email.unc.edu
Adam CockrellResearch Associateadam_cockrell@unc.edu
Andrea Des MaraisProject Manageradesmara@email.unc.edu
Elena DiRosaProject Coordinatorelena5@email.unc.edu
Sarah
Doughty
Project Coordinatorsdoughty@email.unc.edu
Kathryn EarnhardtSocial/Clinical Research Assistantkatiee@live.unc.edu
Phyllis JohnsonSocial Clinical Research Specialistphyllis_johnson@unc.edu
Marti KepnerSocial/Clinical Research Assistantmkepner@email.unc.edu
Linda KimaruResearch Associatelinda01@email.unc.edu
Erin KirkResearch Specialistekirk@email.unc.edu
Joy KloetzerSocial/Clinical Research Assistantkloetzer@email.unc.edu
Lisa LindesmithResearch Specialistlisal@unc.edu
Amy LowmanProject Directoralowman@email.unc.edu
Laurie MettamProject Managerlhmettam@email.unc.edu
Julie RusyniakProject Coordinatorrusyniak@email.unc.edu
Alexandra SchaeferResearch Associateaschaefe@email.unc.edu
Trevor ScobeyResearch Techniciantrevor.scobey@unc.edu
Aimee Julien SuarezResearch Associateajuliens@email.unc.edu
Jesica SwanstromResearch Specialistjswanst@email.unc.edu
Kyaw ThwaiResearch Technicianthwai@email.unc.edu
Yujie WangBiostatisticianyujie@email.unc.edu
Tamara Teague WatsonSocial/Clinical Research Assistantttwatson@email.unc.edu
Ande WestResearch Specialistwestande@email.unc.edu
Jordan WhiteSocial/Clinical Research Assistantjwhite41@email.unc.edu
Alison WoomertProject Directoralison_woomert@unc.edu
Ellen YoungResearch Associateyounge@email.unc.edu
Boyd Yount, Jr.Research Specialistbyount@email.unc.edu
Brittany BoglePostdoctoral Scholarbbogle@email.unc.edu
Shannon GellertPostdoctoral Scholarkapuaola@email.unc.edu
Ryan HicksonPostdoctoral Scholarryan.hickson@unc.edu
Heather HighlandPostdoctoral Scholarheather.highland@unc.edu
Katelyn HollidayPostdoctoral Scholarkhausman@email.unc.edu
Jin-Liern HongPostdoctoral Scholarjlhongtw@email.unc.edu
Kara JensenPostdoctoral Scholarkajen8@email.unc.edu
Jacob KocherPostdoctoral Scholarjacob.kocher@unc.edu
Sarah LeistPostdoctoral Scholarleist@email.unc.edu
Chantel MartinPostdoctoral Scholarchantelmartin@unc.edu
Raul Mendez GiraldezPostdoctoral Scholarrmendez@email.unc.edu
Priya PaltaPostdoctoral Scholarpalta@email.unc.edu
Anna PorterPostdoctoral Scholarakporter@email.unc.edu
Alison SingerPostdoctoral Scholaralison_singer@unc.edu