Our faculty and staff

Faculty and associates of the Department have conducted research and/or offered courses in other areas in epidemiology, including aging, digestive diseases epidemiology, genetic epidemiology, physical activity, nutritional epidemiology, pharmacoepidemiology, and social epidemiology, and have advised students in other areas as well. This diversity enriches the training of our students and also enables the Department to be more supportive of the activities of other departments and centers in the School and elsewhere in the University.

Epidemiology faculty, students and alumni are supported by a skilled and dedicated staff that contribute to areas such as student services, professional development, information technology and research.

The Faculty Interest Matrix provides a comprehensive, multilevel snapshot of all research and tenure track faculty interests.
Adaora AdimoraProfessoradimora@med.unc.edu
Allison AielloProfessoraaiello@unc.edu
Lorraine AlexanderClinical Associate Professorlorraine_alexander@unc.edu
Christy AveryAssistant Professorchristy_avery@unc.edu
Christopher BaggettResearch Assistant Professorchrisb@unc.edu
Ralph S. BaricProfessorrbaric@email.unc.edu
John BaronResearch Professorjabaron@med.unc.edu
Patricia BastaClinical Assistant Professorpatricia_basta@unc.edu
Jeannette BensenResearch Associate Professorjeannette_bensen@med.unc.edu
M. Alan BrookhartProfessormabrook@email.unc.edu
Myron CohenProfessor Epidemiologymyron_cohen@med.unc.edu
Stephen ColeProfessorcole@unc.edu
Julie DanielsAssociate Professorjulie_daniels@unc.edu
Tania DesrosiersResearch Assistant Professorta_desrosiers@unc.edu
Kathleen DorseyResearch Assistant Professorkathleen_conway@med.unc.edu
Andrew EdmondsResearch Instructoraedmonds@email.unc.edu
Jess EdwardsResearch Assistant Professorjkedwar@email.unc.edu
Michael EmchProfessoremch@unc.edu
Larry EngelAssociate ProfessorLarry.Engel@unc.edu
Stephanie EngelAssociate ProfessorStephanie.Engel@unc.edu
Kelly EvensonResearch Professorkelly_evenson@unc.edu
Nora FranceschiniResearch Associate Professornoraf@unc.edu
Marilie GammonProfessorgammon@unc.edu
Yvonne GolightlyResearch Assistant Professorgolight@email.unc.edu
Misa GraffResearch Assistant Professormigraff@email.unc.edu
Rachel GrahamResearch Assistant Professorrlgraham@email.unc.edu
Gerardo HeissKenan Distinguished Professorgerardo_heiss@unc.edu
Michele Jonsson-FunkResearch Associate Professormfunk@unc.edu
Anna Kucharska-NewtonResearch Assistant Professoranna_newton@unc.edu
Bradley LaytonResearch Assistant Professorblayton@unc.edu
Laura LoehrResearch Assistant Professorlloehr@email.unc.edu
Jennifer LundAssistant Professorjlund@email.unc.edu
David M. MargolisProfessordmargo@med.unc.edu
Steve MarshallProfessorsmarshall@unc.edu
Steven MeshnickProfessor and Director of Graduate Studiesmeshnick@email.unc.edu
Anne Marie MeyerResearch Assistant Professormeyera@email.unc.edu
Sonia NapravnikResearch Assistant Professorsonia_napravnik@med.unc.edu
Hazel NicholsAssistant Professorhazel.nichols@unc.edu
Kari NorthProfessorkari_north@unc.edu
Andrew Olshan Department Chair
Barbara Sorenson Hulka Distinguished Professor in Cancer Epidemiology
andy_olshan@unc.edu
Brian PenceAssociate Professorbpence@unc.edu
Audrey PettiforAssociate Professorapettif@email.unc.edu
Charles PooleAssociate Professorcpoole@unc.edu
Kimberly PowersAssistant Professorpowersk@email.unc.edu
David RichardsonAssociate Professordavid.richardson@unc.edu
Whitney RobinsonAssistant Professorwhitney_robinson@unc.edu
Wayne RosamondProfessorwayne_rosamond@unc.edu
Nora RosenbergResearch Assistant Professornrosenbe@email.unc.edu
Robert S. SandlerDistinguished Professorrobert_sandler@med.unc.edu
Victor SchoenbachAssociate Professorvjs@unc.edu
Timothy SheahanResearch Assistant Professorsheahan@email.unc.edu
Amy SimsResearch Assistant Professorsims0018@email.unc.edu
Jennifer SmithAssociate Professorjsssmith@email.unc.edu
Lola Virginia StammAssociate Professorlstamm@email.unc.edu
June StevensDistinguished Professorjune_stevens@unc.edu
Til StürmerProfessorsturmer@unc.edu
Xuezheng SunResearch Assistant Professoramysun@email.unc.edu
Jim ThomasAssociate Professorjim.thomas@unc.edu
Melissa TroesterAssociate Professortroester@email.unc.edu
Annelies Van RieProfessorvanrie@email.unc.edu
Anissa VinesResearch Assistant Professoravines@email.unc.edu
David Jay WeberProfessor of Medicine and Pediatricsdweber1@email.unc.edu
Sharon Stucker WeirResearch Assistant Professorsharon_weir@unc.edu
Daniel WestreichAssociate Professorwestreic@email.unc.edu
Eric WhitselResearch Associate Professoreric_whitsel@unc.edu
Steve WingAssociate Professorsteve_wing@unc.edu
Karin YeattsClinical Associate ProfessorKarin_Yeatts@unc.edu
Kristin YoungResearch Assistant Professorkristin.young@unc.edu
Paula BellProject Directorpbell@email.unc.edu
Stephanie BlairSocial/Clinical Research Assistantseblair@email.unc.edu
Kathy BorronSocial/Clinical Research Assistantborron@email.unc.edu
Chyrise BradleyProject Coordinatorchyrise@unc.edu
Andrea CardenSocial/Clinical Research Assistantamcarden@email.unc.edu
Andrea Des MaraisProject Manageradesmara@email.unc.edu
Stephanie DoctorResearch Techniciansdoctor@email.unc.edu
Christian DouglasBiostatisticiancedougla@email.unc.edu
Whitney EwingResearch Associatewewing@email.unc.edu
Lisa GralinskiResearch Associatelgralins@email.unc.edu
Katherine HarmsenSocial/Clinical Research Specialistharmsen@email.unc.edu
Phyllis JohnsonSocial Clinical Research Specialistphyllis_johnson@unc.edu
Sara JonesProject Managersara.jones@unc.edu
Marti KepnerSocial/Clinical Research Assistantmkepner@email.unc.edu
Erin KirkResearch Specialistekirk@email.unc.edu
Joy KloetzerSocial/Clinical Research Assistantkloetzer@email.unc.edu
Patricia LeonardSocial/Clinical Research Assistantpleonard@unc.edu
Lisa LindesmithResearch Specialistlisal@unc.edu
Amy LowmanProject Directoralowman@email.unc.edu
Stephanie MarcetResearch Specialistsmarcet@email.unc.edu
Heena MehtaResearch Specialistheena_mehta@med.unc.edu
Diane ReamsResearch Associatebreams@email.unc.edu
Allan Rene de CotretResearch Specialistajrene@email.unc.edu
Julie Ann RusyniakSocial/Clinical Research Assistantrusyniak@email.unc.edu
Alexandra SchaeferResearch Associateaschaefe@email.unc.edu
Trevor ScobeyResearch Techniciantrevor.scobey@unc.edu
Aimee Julien SuarezResearch Associateajuliens@email.unc.edu
Jesica SwanstromResearch Specialistjswanst@email.unc.edu
Kyaw ThwaiResearch Technicianthwai@email.unc.edu
Yujie WangBiostatisticianyujie@email.unc.edu
Tamara Teague WatsonSocial/Clinical Research Assistantttwatson@email.unc.edu
Ande WestResearch Specialistwestande@email.unc.edu
Douglas WidmanResearch Associatedgwidman@med.unc.edu
Alison WoomertProject Directoralison_woomert@unc.edu
Ellen YoungResearch Associateyounge@email.unc.edu
Boyd Yount, Jr.Research Specialistbyount@email.unc.edu
Lauren ZallaResearch Associatezalla@unc.edu
Angela BengtsonPostdoctoral Scholarabengtso@live.unc.edu
Brittany BoglePostdoctoral Scholarbbogle@email.unc.edu
Jessie BuckleyPostdoctoral Scholarjessbuck@email.unc.edu
Anne ButlerPostdoctoral Research Fellowanne.butler@unc.edu
Adam CockrellPostdoctoral Scholaradam_cockrell@unc.edu
Lydia FeinsteinPostdoctoral Scholarlfeinst@email.unc.edu
Heather HighlandPostdoctoral Scholarheather.highland@unc.edu
Jin-Liern HongPostdoctoral Scholarjlhongtw@email.unc.edu
Anne JusticePostdoctoral Scholaranne.justice@unc.edu
Alex KeilPostdoctoral Scholarakeil@unc.edu
Jacob KocherPostdoctoral Scholarjacob.kocher@unc.edu
Sarah LeistPostdoctoral Scholarleist@email.unc.edu
Vineet MenacheryPostdoctoral Scholarvineet@email.unc.edu
Raul Mendez GiraldezPostdoctoral Scholarrmendez@email.unc.edu
Priya PaltaPostdoctoral Scholarpalta@email.unc.edu
Jessica PlantePostdoctoral Scholarjaplante@email.unc.edu
Alison SingerPostdoctoral Scholaralison_singer@unc.edu
Michelle SnyderPostdoctoral Scholarmlmeyer@unc.edu