Faculty and associates of the Department have conducted research and/or offered courses in other areas in epidemiology, including aging, digestive diseases epidemiology, genetic epidemiology, physical activity, nutritional epidemiology, pharmacoepidemiology, and social epidemiology, and have advised students in other areas as well. This diversity enriches the training of our students and also enables the Department to be more supportive of the activities of other departments and centers in the School and elsewhere in the University.

Epidemiology faculty, students and alumni are supported by a skilled and dedicated staff that contribute to areas such as student services, professional development, information technology and research.

Faculty

Adaora Adimora, MDProfessoradimora@med.unc.edu
Allison E. Aiello, PhDProfessor and Social Epidemiology Program Leaderaaiello@unc.edu
Lorraine Alexander, DrPHAssociate Professorlorraine_alexander@unc.edu
Christy Avery, PhDAssociate Professorchristy_avery@unc.edu
Ralph S. Baric, PhDWilliam R. Kenan, Jr. Distinguished Professorrbaric@email.unc.edu
John A. Baron, MDProfessorjabaron@med.unc.edu
Patricia Basta, PhDAssistant Professorpatricia_basta@unc.edu
Sylvia Becker-Dreps, MD, MPHAssociate Professorsbd@email.unc.edu
Jeannette Bensen, PhDAssociate Professorjeannette_bensen@med.unc.edu
Myron Cohen, MDProfessormyron_cohen@med.unc.edu
Stephen R. Cole, PhDProfessorcole@unc.edu
Julie L. Daniels, PhDProfessorjulie_daniels@unc.edu
Tania Desrosiers, PhDAssistant Professorta_desrosiers@unc.edu
Kathleen Dorsey, PhDAssociate Professorkathleen_conway@med.unc.edu
Andrew Edmonds, PhDAssistant Professoraedmonds@email.unc.edu
Jessie K. Edwards, PhDAssistant Professorjessedwards@unc.edu
Michael Emch, PhDProfessoremch@email.unc.edu
Lawrence S. Engel, PhDAssociate Professorlarry.engel@unc.edu
Stephanie M. Engel, PhDProfessorStephanie.Engel@unc.edu
Kelly R. Evenson, PhDProfessorkelly_evenson@unc.edu
Nora Franceschini, MD MPH FAHAProfessornoraf@unc.edu
Yvonne Golightly, PhDAssistant Professorgolight@email.unc.edu
Satish Gopal, MD, MPHAssociate Professorsatish_gopal@med.unc.edu
Emily W. Gower, PhDAssociate Professoregower@unc.edu
Misa Graff, PhDAssistant Professormigraff@email.unc.edu
Rachel Graham, PhDAssistant Professorrlgraham@email.unc.edu
Lisa Gralinski, PhDAssistant Professorlgralins@email.unc.edu
Gerardo Heiss, PhDW.R. Kenan, Jr. Distinguished Professorgerardo_heiss@unc.edu
Michele Jonsson-Funk, PhDAssociate Professormfunk@unc.edu
Alexander Keil, PhDAssistant Professorakeil@unc.edu
Anna Kucharska-NewtonAssistant Professoranna_newton@unc.edu
Laura Loehr, MD PhD MSAssistant Professorlloehr@email.unc.edu
Jennifer L. Lund, PhDAssociate Professorjennifer.lund@unc.edu
David M. Margolis, MDProfessordmargo@med.unc.edu
Steve Marshall, PhDProfessorsmarshall@unc.edu
Joanna "Asia" Maselko, ScDAssociate Professorjmaselko@unc.edu
Steven Meshnick, MD, PhDProfessormeshnick@unc.edu
Sonia Napravnik, PhDAssociate Professorsonia_napravnik@med.unc.edu
Becky Naumann, PhDAssistant ProfessorRNaumann@unc.edu
Hazel B. Nichols, PhDAssociate Professorhazel.nichols@unc.edu
Kari North, PhDProfessorkari_north@unc.edu
Andrew Olshan, PhDBarbara Sorenson Hulka Distinguished Professor in Cancer Epidemiologyandy_olshan@unc.edu
Brian Wells Pence, PhDProfessorbpence@unc.edu
Audrey Pettifor, PhDProfessorapettif@email.unc.edu
Charles Poole, ScDAssociate Professorcpoole@unc.edu
Kimberly Powers, PhDAssociate Professorpowersk@email.unc.edu
Shabbar I. Ranapurwala, PhDAssistant Professorsirana@email.unc.edu
David Richardson, PhDAssociate Professordavid.richardson@unc.edu
Whitney R. Robinson, PhDAssociate Professorwhitney_robinson@unc.edu
Wayne Rosamond, PhDProfessorwayne_rosamond@unc.edu
Robert S. Sandler, MDProfessorrsandler@med.unc.edu
Timothy Sheahan, PhDAssistant Professorsheahan@email.unc.edu
Amy Sims, PhDAssociate Professorsims0018@email.unc.edu
Jennifer S. Smith, PhDProfessorjsssmith@email.unc.edu
June Stevens, PhDDistinguished Professorjune_stevens@unc.edu
Til Stürmer, MD, MPH, PhDNancy A. Dreyer Distinguished Professor and Chairsturmer@unc.edu
James Thomas, MPH, PhDAssociate Professorjim.thomas@unc.edu
Melissa Troester, PhDProfessortroester@email.unc.edu
Anissa I. Vines, PhDAssistant Professoravines@email.unc.edu
David Jay Weber, MDProfessordweber1@email.unc.edu
Sharon Stucker Weir, PhDAssistant Professorsharon_weir@unc.edu
Daniel WestreichAssociate Professorwestreic@email.unc.edu
Eric Whitsel, MDAssociate Professoreric_whitsel@unc.edu
Karin B. Yeatts, PhDAssociate Professor and MPH Concentration Lead, Applied EpidemiologyKarin_Yeatts@unc.edu
Kristin Young, PhDAssistant Professorkristin.young@unc.edu

Emeritus Faculty

Frieda Behets, PhDProfessor EmeritusFrieda_Behets@unc.edu
Barbara HulkaKenan Professor EmeritusBarbara_Hulka@unc.edu
Michel Ibrahim, PhDDean and Professor Emeritusmichel_ibrahim@unc.edu
Victor Schoenbach, PhDProfessor Emeritus
John SeedProfessor Emeritusrseed@email.unc.edu
Carl ShyProfessor Emerituscarl_shy@unc.edu

Adjunct Faculty


Staff

Andrea Bankoski, MPHIT Managerabankoski@unc.edu
Lisa BradleyAdministrative Support Associatelisa_bradley@unc.edu
Chandra CaldwellAssistant to the Chair and Business Officerchandra_caldwell@unc.edu
Brenda ClarkAdministrative Support Associatebdclark@email.unc.edu
Nancy CulbersonSystems Programmer/SpecialistNancy_Culberson@unc.edu
Michael GarrisonAccounting Technicianmwgarris@email.unc.edu
Spencer GeeTech Support Specialistspencer_gee@unc.edu
Richard L. HowardSystems Specialistdick_howard@unc.edu
T. Terrill HudginsTech Support Specialistterry_hudgins@unc.edu
Azizou Seh IbrahimAccounting Technicianazizouseh@unc.edu
Kay LackeyAccounting Techniciankay_lackey@med.unc.edu
Kim LudwigApplications SpecialistKim_Ludwig@unc.edu
Victoria MooreAssistant to the Chair for Business and Finance and Business Managervictoria_moore@unc.edu
Kalyn ParrishAccounting Technicianklparrish@unc.edu
Virginia Pate, MSApplications Analystvpate@email.unc.edu
Rebecca Rohde, MSApplications Analystrohde@unc.edu
Jessica Tse, MSPHApplications Specialistjessica_tse@unc.edu
Lily WangApplications Specialistlily_wang@unc.edu
Molly WenApplications Specialistmolly_wen@unc.edu
Kathy WisniewskiApplications Analystkathy_wisniewski@unc.edu

Research Staff

Sara Jones Berkeley, PhDProject Managersara.jones@unc.edu
Stephanie BlairResearch Assistantseblair@email.unc.edu
Kathy BorronSocial/Clinical Research Assistantborron@email.unc.edu
Chyrise Bradley, MAResearch Associatechyrise@unc.edu
Katlyn Delaney, BSResearch Specialistdkatlyn@ad.unc.edu
Andrea Des Marais, MPHProject Managerdesmarais@unc.edu
Caroline Hoffman DilworthLead Projects Managercaroline_dilworth@unc.edu
Sarah Doughty, MPHProject Coordinatorsdoughty@email.unc.edu
Christian Douglas, DrPHBiostatisticiancedougla@email.unc.edu
Caitlin E. EdwardsResearch Specialistcaitedw@unc.edu
Katherine HarmsenClinical Quality Control Analystharmsen@email.unc.edu
Phyllis JohnsonSocial Clinical Research Specialistphyllis_johnson@unc.edu
Marti KepnerResearch Assistant Data Coordinator for SEEDmkepner@email.unc.edu
Erin KirkResearch Specialistekirk@email.unc.edu
Joy KloetzerSocial/Clinical Research Assistantkloetzer@email.unc.edu
Patricia LeonardAbstractorpleonard@unc.edu
Lisa LindesmithResearch Specialistlisal@unc.edu
Amy LowmanProject Directoralowman@email.unc.edu
Ben McGlaughonProject Manager/Lab Managerbenmcg@unc.edu
Heena MehtaResearch Specialisthmehta@med.unc.edu
Vineet Menachery, PhDPostdoctoral Scholarvineet@email.unc.edu
Sharon Peacock HintonResearch Associatesharon_peacock@med.unc.edu
Cortney Pylant, MSLab Managercpylant@email.unc.edu
Allan Rene de CotretResearch Specialistajrene@email.unc.edu
Julie Rusyniak, MS, BCBASocial/Clinical Research Assistantjulie_rusyniak@med.unc.edu
Alexandra SchaeferResearch Associateaschaefe@email.unc.edu
Trevor ScobeyLaboratory Techniciantrevor.scobey@unc.edu
Kyaw ThwaiResearch Technicianthwai@email.unc.edu
Long Ping Victor TseResearch Associatevictor_tse@med.unc.edu
Yujie Wang, PhDBiostatisticianyujie_wang@unc.edu
Tamara Teague Watson, MEdResearch Clinician, Clinician Reviewer, Abstractorttwatson@email.unc.edu
Ande WestResearch Specialistwestande@email.unc.edu
Douglas Widman, PhDPostdoctoral Research Associatedgwidman@med.unc.edu
Ellen Young, PhDResearch Associate, Department of Epidemiologyellen_young@med.unc.edu
Boyd Yount, Jr.Research Specialistbyount@email.unc.edu

Post Docs

Alexander BreskinPostdoctoral Scholarabreskin@live.unc.edu
Ryan HicksonPostdoctoral Scholarryan.hickson@unc.edu
Heather HighlandPostdoctoral Scholarheather.highland@unc.edu
Kara JensenPostdoctoral Scholarkajen8@email.unc.edu
Mariah KalminPostdoctoral Scholarmkalmin@email.unc.edu
Moa LeePostdoctoral Scholarmoalee@live.unc.edu
Sarah LeistPostdoctoral Scholarleist@email.unc.edu
Chantel MartinPostdoctoral Scholarchantelmartin@unc.edu
David MartinezPostdoctoral Scholardavidmar@email.unc.edu
Kyle RoellPostdoctoral Scholarkroell@email.unc.edu