Faculty and associates of the Department have conducted research and/or offered courses in other areas in epidemiology, including aging, digestive diseases epidemiology, genetic epidemiology, physical activity, nutritional epidemiology, pharmacoepidemiology, and social epidemiology, and have advised students in other areas as well. This diversity enriches the training of our students and also enables the Department to be more supportive of the activities of other departments and centers in the School and elsewhere in the University.

Epidemiology faculty, students and alumni are supported by a skilled and dedicated staff that contribute to areas such as student services, professional development, information technology and research.

The Faculty Interest Matrix provides a comprehensive, multilevel snapshot of all research and tenure track faculty interests.

Faculty
Emeritus Faculty
Adjunct Faculty
Staff
Research Staff
Post Docs
Adaora AdimoraProfessoradimora@med.unc.edu
Allison AielloProfessoraaiello@unc.edu
Lorraine AlexanderAssociate Professorlorraine_alexander@unc.edu
Christy AveryAssociate Professorchristy_avery@unc.edu
Christopher BaggettAssistant Professorchrisb@unc.edu
Ralph BaricProfessorrbaric@email.unc.edu
John BaronProfessorjabaron@med.unc.edu
Patricia BastaAssistant Professorpatricia_basta@unc.edu
Sylvia Becker-DrepsAssociate Professorsbd@email.unc.edu
Jeannette BensenAssociate Professorjeannette_bensen@med.unc.edu
M. Alan BrookhartProfessormabrook@email.unc.edu
Myron CohenDistinguished Professormyron_cohen@med.unc.edu
Stephen ColeProfessorcole@unc.edu
Julie DanielsProfessorjulie_daniels@unc.edu
Tania DesrosiersAssistant Professorta_desrosiers@unc.edu
Kathleen DorseyAssociate Professorkathleen_conway@med.unc.edu
Andrew EdmondsAssistant Professoraedmonds@email.unc.edu
Jess EdwardsAssistant Professorjkedwar@email.unc.edu
Michael EmchDistinguished Professoremch@unc.edu
Larry EngelAssociate ProfessorLarry.Engel@unc.edu
Stephanie EngelProfessorStephanie.Engel@unc.edu
Veronica EscamillaAssistant Professorescamill@email.unc.edu
Kelly EvensonResearch Professorkelly_evenson@unc.edu
Nora FranceschiniAssociate Professornoraf@unc.edu
Marilie GammonProfessorgammon@unc.edu
Yvonne GolightlyAssistant Professorgolight@email.unc.edu
Emily GowerAssociate Professoregower@unc.edu
Misa Graff
Assistant Professormigraff@email.unc.edu
Rachel GrahamAssistant Professorrlgraham@email.unc.edu
Lisa GralinskiAssistant Professorlgralins@email.unc.edu
Gerardo HeissKenan Distinguished Professorgerardo_heiss@unc.edu
Michele Jonsson-FunkAssociate Professormfunk@unc.edu
Alex KeilAssistant Professorakeil@unc.edu
Anna Kucharska-NewtonAssistant Professoranna_newton@unc.edu
Laura LoehrAssistant Professorlloehr@email.unc.edu
Jennifer LundAssistant Professorjlund@email.unc.edu
David MargolisProfessordmargo@med.unc.edu
Steve MarshallProfessorsmarshall@unc.edu
Joanna "Asia" MaselkoAssociate Professorjmaselko@unc.edu
Steven MeshnickProfessormeshnick@email.unc.edu
Sonia NapravnikAssociate Professorsonia_napravnik@med.unc.edu
Rebecca NaumannAssistant ProfessorRNaumann@unc.edu
Hazel NicholsAssistant Professorhazel.nichols@unc.edu
Kari NorthProfessorkari_north@unc.edu
Andrew OlshanBarbara S. Hulka Distinguished Professorandy_olshan@unc.edu
Brian PenceAssociate Professorbpence@unc.edu
Audrey PettiforProfessorapettif@email.unc.edu
Charles PooleAssociate Professorcpoole@unc.edu
Kimberly PowersAssistant Professorpowersk@email.unc.edu
Shabbar RanapurwalaAssistant Professorsirana@email.unc.edu
David RichardsonAssociate Professordavid.richardson@unc.edu
Whitney RobinsonAssociate Professorwhitney_robinson@unc.edu
Wayne RosamondProfessorwayne_rosamond@unc.edu
Robert SandlerDistinguished Professorrobert_sandler@med.unc.edu
Timothy SheahanAssistant Professorsheahan@email.unc.edu
Amy SimsAssociate Professorsims0018@email.unc.edu
Jennifer SmithProfessorjsssmith@email.unc.edu
June StevensDistinguished Professorjune_stevens@unc.edu
Til StürmerDepartment Chair & Nancy A. Dreyer Distinguished Professorsturmer@unc.edu
Xuezheng "Amy" SunAssistant Professoramysun@email.unc.edu
Jim ThomasAssociate Professorjim.thomas@unc.edu
Melissa TroesterProfessortroester@email.unc.edu
Anissa VinesAssistant Professoravines@email.unc.edu
David WeberProfessordweber1@email.unc.edu
Sharon Stucker WeirAssistant Professorsharon_weir@unc.edu
Daniel WestreichAssociate Professorwestreic@email.unc.edu
Eric WhitselAssociate Professoreric_whitsel@unc.edu
Karin YeattsAssociate ProfessorKarin_Yeatts@unc.edu
Kristin YoungAssistant Professorkristin.young@unc.edu
Frieda BehetsProfessor Emeritusfrieda_behets@unc.edu
Barbara HulkaKenan Professor EmeritusBarbara_Hulka@unc.edu
Michel IbrahimDean and Professor Emeritusmichel_ibrahim@unc.edu
Victor Schoenbach Emeritus Facultyvjs@unc.edu
John SeedEmeritus Facultyrseed@email.unc.edu
Carl ShyProfessor Emerituscarl_shy@unc.edu
Lisa BradleyAdministrative Support Associatelisa_bradley@unc.edu
Carol BurkhartFiscal Managercarol_burkhart@unc.edu
Chandra CaldwellGrants Managerccaldwel@email.unc.edu
Brenda ClarkAdministrative Support Associatebdclark@email.unc.edu
Nancy
Culberson
Systems Programmer/SpecialistNancy_Culberson@unc.edu
Michael GarrisonAccounting Technicianmwgarris@email.unc.edu
Spencer GeeTech Support Specialistsgee@unc.edu
T. Terrill HudginsTech Support Specialistterry_hudgins@unc.edu
Lena HudockAccounting Technicianlhudock@email.unc.edu
Valerie HudockAsst. to the Chair for Graduate Studiesvhudock@email.unc.edu
Kimberly LudwigApplications SpecialistKim_Ludwig@unc.edu
Jennifer Joyce MooreStudent Services Specialistjenjoyce@email.unc.edu
Victoria MooreBusiness Managervictoria_moore@unc.edu
Virginia PateApplications Analystvpate@email.unc.edu
Rebecca RohdeApplications Analystrohde@email.unc.edu
Jia ShenAccounting Technicianjiashen@email.unc.edu
Sharon SullivanHR Consultantsharon_sullivan@unc.edu
Chiu Kit TseApplications Specialistjessica_tse@unc.edu
Lily WangApplications Specialistlily_wang@unc.edu
Molly WenApplications Specialistmolly_wen@unc.edu
Kathy WisniewskiApplications Analystkathy_wisniewski@unc.edu
Lauren AndersonProject Managerlaurenga@email.unc.edu
Anna BakerProject Coordinatoranna_baker@unc.edu
Cherese BeattyProject Managernicolech@live.unc.edu
Sara Jones BerkeleyProject Managersara.jones@unc.edu
Stephanie BlairSocial/Clinical Research Assistantseblair@email.unc.edu
Kathy BorronSocial/Clinical Research Assistantborron@email.unc.edu
Chyrise BradleyResearch Director chyrise@unc.edu
Johana Bravo De Los RiosOutreach Coordinatorbravoj@email.unc.edu
Paul Brewer-JensenResearch Specialistpbj@email.unc.edu
Sonia DeochandResearch Specialistsasoni@email.unc.edu
Andrea Des MaraisProject Manageradesmara@email.unc.edu
Sarah
Doughty
Project Coordinatorsdoughty@email.unc.edu
Caitlin EdwardsResearch Specialistcaitedw@unc.edu
Phyllis JohnsonSocial Clinical Research Specialistphyllis_johnson@unc.edu
Marti KepnerSocial/Clinical Research Assistantmkepner@email.unc.edu
Linda KimaruResearch Associatelinda01@email.unc.edu
Erin KirkResearch Specialistekirk@email.unc.edu
Joy KloetzerSocial/Clinical Research Assistantkloetzer@email.unc.edu
Madeline LlewellynSocial/Clinical Research Assistantmsllewel@email.unc.edu
Lisa LindesmithResearch Specialistlisal@unc.edu
Amy LowmanProject Directoralowman@email.unc.edu
Michael MalloryResearch Specialistmlmallor@live.unc.edu
Laurie MettamProject Managerlhmettam@email.unc.edu
Sharon Peacock HintonResearch Associatesharon_peacock@med.unc.edu
Julie RusyniakProject Coordinatorrusyniak@email.unc.edu
Alexandra SchaeferResearch Associateaschaefe@email.unc.edu
Paige SchmadekeResearch Specialistpgschmad@live.unc.edu
Trevor ScobeyResearch Techniciantrevor.scobey@unc.edu
James StewartResearch Associatej.stewart@unc.edu
Kyaw ThwaiResearch Technicianthwai@email.unc.edu
Yujie WangBiostatisticianyujie@email.unc.edu
Tamara WatsonSocial/Clinical Research Assistantttwatson@email.unc.edu
Ande WestResearch Specialistwestande@email.unc.edu
Jordan WhiteSocial/Clinical Research Assistantjwhite41@email.unc.edu
Alison WoomertProject Directoralison_woomert@unc.edu
Ellen YoungResearch Associateyounge@email.unc.edu
Boyd Yount, Jr.Research Specialistbyount@email.unc.edu
Alexander BreskinPostdoctoral Scholarabreskin@live.unc.edu
Emily GallichottePostdoctoral Scholaregallich@email.unc.edu
Ryan HicksonPostdoctoral Scholarryan.hickson@unc.edu
Heather HighlandPostdoctoral Scholarheather.highland@unc.edu
Kara JensenPostdoctoral Scholarkajen8@email.unc.edu
Mariah KalminPostdoctoral Scholarmkalmin@email.unc.edu
Jacob KocherPostdoctoral Scholarjacob.kocher@unc.edu
Moa LeePostdoctoral Scholarmoalee@live.unc.edu
Sarah LeistPostdoctoral Scholarleist@email.unc.edu
Chantel MartinPostdoctoral Scholarchantelmartin@unc.edu
Kyle RoellPostdoctoral Scholarkroell@email.unc.edu
Alison SingerPostdoctoral Scholaralison_singer@unc.edu

Recent News