The Department of Biostatistics is internationally recognized as a leader in biostatistics research and training and is housed in three different locations: administrative and faculty offices, including a suite of offices for graduate students in McGavran-Greenberg Hall, the Collaborative Studies Coordinating Center located in Carolina Square at 123 West Franklin Street, suite 450. and the Carolina Survey Research Laboratory at 730 Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd., both in Chapel Hill.

A searchable database of faculty publications is available here.

Faculty

Robert Agans, PhDAssociate Professoragans@unc.edu
Jianwen Cai, PhDCary C. Boshamer Distinguished Professorcai@bios.unc.edu
Ding-Geng (Din) Chen, PhDProfessordinchen@email.unc.edu
David Couper, PhDProfessordavid_couper@unc.edu
Jamie Crandell, PhDAssociate Professorjbigelow@email.unc.edu
Tanya P. Garcia, PhDAssociate Professortpgarcia@email.unc.edu
Annie Green Howard, PhDAssociate Professoraghoward@email.unc.edu
Michael Hudgens, PhDProfessor and Associate Chairmhudgens@email.unc.edu
Joseph G. Ibrahim, PhDAlumni Distinguished Professor and Director of Graduate Studiesibrahim@bios.unc.edu
Anastasia Ivanova, PhDProfessoraivanova@bios.unc.edu
Yuchao Jiang, PhDAssistant Professoryuchaoj@email.unc.edu
Gary Koch, PhDProfessorbcl@unc.edu
Michael R. Kosorok, PhDW.R. Kenan, Jr. Distinguished Professorkosorok@unc.edu
Lisa M. LaVange, PhDProfessor and Chairlisa.lavange@unc.edu
Quefeng Li, PhDAssistant Professorquefeng@email.unc.edu
Yun Li, PhDProfessoryunli@med.unc.edu
Feng-Chang Lin, PhDAssociate Professorflin@bios.unc.edu
Danyu Lin, PhDDennis Gillings Distinguished Professorlin@bios.unc.edu
Yufeng Liu, PhDProfessoryfliu@email.unc.edu
Michael Love, PhDAssistant Professormilove@email.unc.edu
James Stephen Marron, PhDProfessormarron@unc.edu
Jane Monaco, DrPHAssociate Professor and Director of Undergraduate Studiesmonaco@email.unc.edu
Andrew B. Nobel, PhDProfessornobel@email.unc.edu
John S. Preisser, PhDProfessorJohn_Preisser@unc.edu
Matthew A. Psioda, PhDAssistant Professormatt_psioda@unc.edu
Bahjat Qaqish, PhDProfessorbahjat_qaqish@unc.edu
Naim Rashid, PhDAssistant Professornaim@unc.edu
Kathy Roggenkamp, MAInstructorkathy_roggenkamp@unc.edu
Todd Schwartz, DrPHAssociate Professortschwart@email.unc.edu
Bonnie Shook-Sa, DrPHAssistant Professorbshooksa@live.unc.edu
Richard Smith, PhDProfessorrls@email.unc.edu
Daniela Sotres-Alvarez, DrPHAssociate Professordsotres@unc.edu
Paul Stewart, PhDProfessorPaul_Stewart@unc.edu
Xianming Tan, PhDAssociate Professorxianming@email.unc.edu
Kinh Truong, PhDProfessortruong@bios.unc.edu
Di Wu, PhDAssociate Professordwu@unc.edu
Donglin Zeng, PhDProfessordzeng@bios.unc.edu
Haibo Zhou, PhDProfessorHaibo_Zhou@unc.edu
Hongtu Zhu, PhDProfessorhtzhu@email.unc.edu
Fei Zou, PhDProfessorfzou@bios.unc.edu
Baiming Zou, PhDAssistant Professorbzou@email.unc.edu

Adjunct Faculty

Matthew Biggs, PhDAdjunct Assistant Professormbiggs@agbiome.com
Liddy Chen, PhDAdjunct Assistant Professorlmchen@email.unc.edu
Jane EslingerAdjunct Instructor jesli@email.unc.edu
Marcus Herman-GiddensAdjunct Instructormarcushg@live.unc.edu
Eric Laber, PhDAdjunct Professoreblaber@ncsu.edu
Charles Pepe-Ranney, PhDAdjunct Assistant Professorcpeperanney@agbiome.com
Wei Sun, PhDAdjunct Associate Professorwsun@bios.unc.edu
Sonia Thomas, DrPHAdjunct Professorsmthomas@rti.org
Vincent Toups, PhDSenior Research Scientist and Adjunct Instructortoups@email.unc.edu
William Valdar, PhDAdjunct Associate Professorwilliam.valdar@unc.edu
Clarice Weinberg, PhDAdjunct Professorcweinber@email.unc.edu
Shanshan Zhao, PhDAdjunct Assistant Professorshanshan.zhao@nih.gov
Xiaojiang Zheng, PhDAdjunct Assistant Professorxiaojinz@email.unc.edu
Richard Zink, PhDAdjunct Professorrzink@targetpharmasolutions.com

Emeritus Faculty

Shrikant Bangdiwala, PhDProfessor Emeritus
Lloyd ChamblessProfessor Emeritus
Clarence E. DavisProfessor Emeritus
James E. GrizzleProfessor Emeritus
Ronald W. HelmsProfessor Emeritus
William D. KalsbeekProfessor Emeritus
Lawrence L. KupperProfessor Emeritus
Keith E. MullerProfessor Emeritus
Dana E. QuadeProfessor Emeritus
Pranab SenProfessor Emeritus
Chirayath M. Suchindran, PhDProfessor Emeritus
Michael J. SymonsProfessor Emeritus
Craig D. TurnbullProfessor Emeritus

Department of Biostatistics Staff

Monika Soria Caruso, CRAContracts and Grants Manager, Pre-Award Administrationmonika_caruso@unc.edu
Mary EveretteAccounting Specialisteverette@bios.unc.edu
Tiffany HarrisAcademic Program Support Coordinatortjharris@email.unc.edu
David HillTechnical Support Analystdwhill@email.unc.edu
Michelle Xiaoqing HuangAccounting Technicianxqhuang@email.unc.edu
Anneli LeanderBusiness Services Coordinatoranneli@unc.edu
Terry LinkAccounting Techniciantlink12@email.unc.edu
Jeff OberhausSocial Research & Communications Specialistjjoberhaus@unc.edu
Debbie QuachBusiness Officerdquach@email.unc.edu
Bethsaida SeagrovesExecutive Assistant to the Chairbseagrov@bios.unc.edu
Wesley Winkelman, MORDirector of Finance and Administrationwwinkelm@email.unc.edu
Scott C. ZentzSystems Programmer/Specialistzentz@email.unc.edu

Carolina Survey Research Laboratory Staff

Deborah MareanSurvey Programmer and Data Managermarean@email.unc.edu

Collaborative Studies Coordinating Center Staff

Marla Brooke AllenResearch Assistantmba9079@ad.unc.edu
Kalyana Chakravarthy AnneSystems Programmer/Specialistakalyana@email.unc.edu
Vidya AntonyData Management Programmervantony@unc.edu
Erica AtkinsAdmin Support Specialistelatkins@email.unc.edu
Lori A. Bateman, MScProject Managerlbateman@email.unc.edu
Nicole BlantonResearch Assistantnicole_blanton@unc.edu
Ashley BrittResearch Specialistadbritt@unc.edu
Barbara BrownResearch Specialistbarbw_brown@unc.edu
Hope BryanIT Managerhope_bryan@unc.edu
Sheila Burgard, MSBiostatisticiansheila_burgard@unc.edu
Christiane Wimbish CarsonResearch Specialistcwcarson@email.unc.edu
Sunchu ChowdaryData Management Programmersunchu@unc.edu
Christopher David CookSystems Programmer/Specialistcdcook@email.unc.edu
Steven CoryApplications Analystcory@unc.edu
MaryKate CunninghamResearch Assistantmknewt@email.unc.edu
Artis Jordan DardenResearch Assistantartisd@email.unc.edu
Forrest DeMarcusAssistant to the Directordemarcus@email.unc.edu
Lisa DusenberryGrants Managerlisa_dusenberry@unc.edu
Jeff EvartsStat Computing Programmerjevarts@email.unc.edu
Katherine FlowersResearch Specialistkflowers@email.unc.edu
Daniel GarbinskyStat Computing Programmerdan_garbinsky@unc.edu
Bryce B. GlasspooleApplications Analystbryceg@unc.edu
Franklyn GonzalezBiostatisticianfgonzale@email.unc.edu
Rachel GoolsbyProject Managerrwgoolsby@unc.edu
Nathan M. GotmanStatisticiannathan.gotman@unc.edu
Lisa Gravens-MuellerBiostatisticianlgravens@email.unc.edu
Cameron GunnResearch Specialistcgunn@email.unc.edu
Carolyn HagyBusiness ManagerCarolyn_Hagy@unc.edu
Linda HartigData Management ProgrammerHartig@unc.edu
Kinsey HeltonStat Computing Programmerklh5225@live.unc.edu
Anna HoffmeyerProject Directorahoffmeyer@unc.edu
Lindsey Holland, MAResearch Specialistlindstay@email.unc.edu
Jeremy Grant HollidayResearch Specialistjgh1987@email.unc.edu
Claire HornePublic Communication Specialistclaire_horne@unc.edu
Michele InishiResearch Specialistminishi@email.unc.edu
John JamesResearch Specialistjbjames@email.unc.edu
Kwan Hye JungStat Computing Programmerkhjung@email.unc.edu
Bryant LesnoskiResearch Specialistlesnoski@email.unc.edu
James LocklearStat Computing Programmerjalockle@email.unc.edu
Clarissa MannData Management Programmercmann@unc.edu
Alison MarquisProject Directoralison_marquis@unc.edu
Micah McCumber, MSSenior Research Scientistmicahmc@email.unc.edu
Allison McGeeResearch Specialistadmcgee@email.unc.edu
William McGeeTechnical Support SpecialistBill.McGee@unc.edu
Kelsey Meekins, MSResearch Assistantkmeekins@email.unc.edu
Jeanette K. MollenhauerVisual Arts Specialistkosorokj@email.unc.edu
Sarah MoodyData Management Programmersarah_moody@unc.edu
Yonghong NieStat Computing Programmerynie@email.unc.edu
Jeff OberhausSocial Research & Communications Specialistjjoberhaus@unc.edu
Aluoch OoroResearch Specialistaooro@unc.edu
James Russell Pike, MBAStatisticianjamespik@email.unc.edu
Melissa C. PolierResearch Assistantpolier@email.unc.edu
River Thomas PriceResearch Assistantpricert@email.unc.edu
Pedro Miguel QuibreraStatisticianmqm@email.unc.edu
Carla QuinonesResearch Specialistquinones@email.unc.edu
Madison RauscherResearch Administratormrausch@unc.edu
Jason Thomas ReedData Management Programmerjasreed@ad.unc.edu
Lisa Reeves, MScStatisticianlisa_reeves@unc.edu
Laura RenshawResearch Specialistlrenshaw@email.unc.edu
Kimberly Ring, MPHProject Directorkim_ring@unc.edu
Cheyanne Ritz, MAPublic Communications Specialistccritz@email.unc.edu
Betty RuppResearch Specialistbrupp@email.unc.edu
Maria SanchezProject Managermarias@email.unc.edu
Stefanie SchwartzResearch Specialiststefanie.schwartz@unc.edu
Mirela ScottResearch Specialistmscott4@email.unc.edu
David SeligsonData Management Programmerdseligso@email.unc.edu
Yue ShenStat Computing Programmershen@email.unc.edu
Ping ShenStat Computing Programmerpshen@email.unc.edu
Nicole Slye, MPHStatisticiannslye@email.unc.edu
Carl SmalleySystem Programmer/Specialistcsmalley@email.unc.edu
Jan Louise Smith, MPHProject Managersmithjl@email.unc.edu
Lisa StraderProject Directorlstrader@unc.edu
Robert Sumner, JrData Management Programmerbobsumner@unc.edu
Summer (Kui) SunStat Computing Programmersksun@email.unc.edu
Yanping TengStatisticiantengunc@email.unc.edu
Hongqing TianData Management Programmerucchbt@email.unc.edu
Yeimi Tomas GarciaResearch Assistantyeimntom@email.unc.edu
Arielle ValintStatisticianarielle.valint@unc.edu
Patrick James WardStatisticianpjward@email.unc.edu
Nicole Rembert WilsonStatisticianwilsonnr@email.unc.edu
Abbey R. WoodsResearch Specialistabbey_woods@unc.edu
Pingping WuResearch Specialistcarenwu@email.unc.edu
Marston Youngblood, Jr.Project Directoryoungbl1@email.unc.edu