People

The Department of Biostatistics is internationally recognized as a leader in Biostatistics research and training. It is one of eight departments in the Gillings School of Global Public Health whose mission is to improve the health and well-being of the population. This mission is accomplished through the interaction of teaching, research and service. The Department has 51 EPA and EPA Non-Faculty members, 68 permanent staff members and 130 temporary employees. The Department has 184 students (154 graduate students and 30 undergraduate students). The Department of Biostatistics is housed in three different locations: administrative and faculty offices, including a suite of offices for graduate students in McGavran-Greenberg Building, the Collaborative Studies Coordinating Center at Bank of America Building and the Carolina Survey Research Laboratory at Bolin Creek Center.

Robert Agans Clinical Associate Professor agans@unc.edu
Josephine Asafu-Adjei Research Assistant Professor jasafuad@email.unc.edu
Eric Bair Research Assistant Professor ebair@email.unc.edu
Shrikant Bangdiwala Research Professor kant@unc.edu
Richard Bilsborrow Research Professor richard_bilsborrow@unc.edu
Jianwen Cai Professor and Vice Chair cai@bios.unc.edu
Mengjie Chen Assistant Professor mengjie@email.unc.edu
David Couper Clinical Professor david_couper@unc.edu
Jamie Crandell Research Assistant Professor jbigelow@email.unc.edu
Sonia Davis Director, Collaborative Studies Coordinating Center Sonia.Davis@unc.edu
Lloyd J Edwards Associate Professor lloyd_edwards@unc.edu
Jason Fine Professor jfine@email.unc.edu
Robert Hamer Research Professor hamer@unc.edu
Amy Herring Professor amy_herring@unc.edu
Annie Green Howard Clinical Assistant Professor aghoward@email.unc.edu
Michael Hudgens Associate Professor mhudgens@email.unc.edu
Joseph G Ibrahim Alumni Distinguished Professor/Dir of Grad Studies jibrahim@email.unc.edu
Anastasia Ivanova Associate Professor aivanova@bios.unc.edu
Gary Koch Professor bcl@unc.edu
Michael R Kosorok W.R. Kenan, Jr. Distinguished Professor and Chair kosorok@unc.edu
Ethan Lange Research Assistant Professor elange@med.unc.edu
Yun Li Assistant Professor yunli@med.unc.edu
Danyu Lin Dennis Gillings Distinguished Professor lin@bios.unc.edu
Feng-Chang Lin Research Assistant Professor flin33@email.unc.edu
Yufeng Liu Professor yfliu@email.unc.edu
James Stephen Marron Amos Hawley Distinguished Professor marron@unc.edu
Jane Monaco Clinical Associate Professor monaco@email.unc.edu
Andrew Nobel Professor nobel@email.unc.edu
John Preisser, Jr Research Professor John_Preisser@unc.edu
Bahjat Qaqish Associate Professor bahjat_qaqish@unc.edu
Kathy Roggenkamp Instructor kathy_roggenkamp@unc.edu
Todd Schwartz Research Associate Professor tschwart@email.unc.edu
Pranab Sen Cary C. Boshamer Distinguished Professor psen@email.unc.edu
Richard Smith Mark L. Reed Distinguished Professor rls@email.unc.edu
Daniela Sotres-Alvarez Research Assistant Professor dsotres@unc.edu
Paul Stewart Research Professor Paul_Stewart@unc.edu
Chirayath M Suchindran Professor suchindran@unc.edu
Wei Sun Associate Professor weisun@email.unc.edu
Kinh Truong Professor truong@bios.unc.edu
Mark Weaver Research Assistant Professor mark_weaver@med.unc.edu
Lisa Miller Wruck Clinical Assistant Professor wruck@unc.edu
Donglin Zeng Professor dzeng@email.unc.edu
Haibo Zhou Professor Haibo_Zhou@unc.edu
Hongtu Zhu Professor htzhu@email.unc.edu
Fei Zou Professor fzou@bios.unc.edu
Lloyd Chambless Professor Emeritus
Clarence E. Davis Professor Emeritus
James E. Grizzle Professor Emeritus
Ronald W. Helms Professor Emeritus
William D. Kalsbeek Professor Emeritus
Lawrence L. Kupper Professor Emeritus
Keith E. Muller Professor Emeritus
Dana E. Quade Professor Emeritus
Michael J. Symons Professor Emeritus
Craig D. Turnbull Professor Emeritus
Georgiy Bobashev Adjunct Associate Professor
Rosalie Dominik Adjunct Associate Professor rdominik@email.unc.edu
Jacqueline L Johnson Adjunct Assistant Professor jacqueline_johnson@med.unc.edu
Karen Kesler Adjunct Assistant Professor
Herman Mitchell Adjunct Professor mitchel7@email.unc.edu
Matthew Nelson Adjunct Associate Professor
Robert Obenchain Adjunct Professor
Jean Orelien Adjunct Assistant Professor orelien@email.unc.edu
Shyamal Peddada Adjunct Professor
Ibrahim Salama Adjunct Professor isalama@bios.unc.edu
Sean Simpson Adjunct Assistant Professor simpsons@email.unc.edu
Maura Stokes Adjunct Associate Professor stokesm@email.unc.edu
William Valdar Assistant Professor william.valdar@unc.edu
Clarice Weinberg Adjunct Professor cweinber@email.unc.edu
Fred Wright Adjunct Professor fred_wright@unc.edu
Maria de los Angeles (Nana) Abreu Research Associate abreu@email.unc.edu
Gina Andrews Social/Clinical Research Manager glandrew@email.unc.edu
Vidya Antony Applications Analyst vantony@unc.edu
James Bartow Applications Specialist jbartow@email.unc.edu
Danielle Bass Social/Clinical Research Assistant bassd@email.unc.edu
Ashley Britt Social Research Associate II adbritt@unc.edu
Barbara Brown Social/Clinical Research Asst. barbw_brown@unc.edu
Hope Bryan IT Manager HOPE_BRYAN@unc.edu
Betsy Carretta Biostatistician carretta@email.unc.edu
Monika Soria Caruso Social/Clinical Research Specialist monika_caruso@unc.edu
Ricky Christian Accounting Technician rchristi@email.unc.edu
Hien Chu Applications Analyst hchu@email.unc.edu
Carter Church IRB Coordinator cjchurch@email.unc.edu
Nancy Cohn Social/Clinical Research Manager nancy_cohn@unc.edu
Steven Cory Applications Analyst cory@unc.edu
Gang Cui Social/Clinical Research Manager gcui@email.unc.edu
Forrest DeMarcus Business Services Coordinator demarcus@email.unc.edu
Lisa Dusenberry Accounting Technician lisa_dusenberry@unc.edu
Lauren Eakin Social/Clinical Research Asst. lauren.eakin@unc.edu
Jeff Evarts Applications Analyst jevarts@email.unc.edu
Mary Everette Intermittent Temporary everette@bios.unc.edu
Ashley Falcone Social Research Specialist abizzell@email.unc.edu
Naoko Fulcher Applications Analyst nfulcher@unc.edu
Bryce B Glasspoole Tech Support Technician bryceg@unc.edu
Franklyn Gonzalez Social/Clinical Research Manager fgonzale@email.unc.edu
Rachel Goolsby Social/Clinical Research Asst. rwgoolsby@unc.edu
Nathan M Gotman Social/Clinical Research Specialist nathan.gotman@unc.edu
Natalia Gouskova Senior Biostatistician gouskova@unc.edu
Lisa Gravens-Mueller Biostatistician/Supervisor lgravens@email.unc.edu
Carolyn Hagy Business Officer Carolyn_Hagy@unc.edu
Linda Hartig Applications Analyst Hartig@unc.edu
David Hill Tech Support Analyst dwhill@email.unc.edu
Melissa Hobgood Student Services Manager hobgood@unc.edu
Anna Hoffmeyer Operations Manager ahoffmeyer@unc.edu
Kwanhye Jung Applications Specialist khjung@email.unc.edu
Christine Kantner Business Services Coordinator ckantner@email.unc.edu
Silvana Lawvere Assistant Director of Project Operations lawvere@email.unc.edu
Lily L Liu Applications Specialist leil@email.unc.edu
James Locklear Applications Specialist jalockle@email.unc.edu
Danielle Malone Social/Clinical Research Assistant malone@unc.edu
Deborah Marean CSRL Survey Programmer & Data Mgr marean@email.unc.edu
Alison Marquis Principal Biostatistician alison_marquis@unc.edu
Ravi Mathew Applications Analyst rmathew@unc.edu
Dianne Mattingly Research Specialist dianne_mattingly@unc.edu
Allison McGee Social Clinical Research Assistant admcgee@email.unc.edu
William McGee Tech Support Specialist Bill.McGee@unc.edu
Evie E McKee Director of Business & Finance evie_mckee@unc.edu
Terry Mehlman Applications Analyst Terry.Mehlman@unc.edu
Monica Miles Social/Clinical Research Asst. monica_miles@unc.edu
Yonghong Nie Application Analyst ynie@email.unc.edu
Jeff Oberhaus Social Research Specialist jjoberhaus@unc.edu
Aluoch Ooro Social Research Specialist aooro@unc.edu
Debbie Quach Accounting Technician dquach@bios.unc.edu
Pedro Miguel Quibrera Social Clinical Research Manager mqm@email.unc.edu
Neepa Ray Soc/Clinical Res Biostatistician nray@unc.edu
Lisa Reeves Social/Clinical Research Manager reevesbr@email.unc.edu
Kim Ring Statistician III kim_ring@unc.edu
Tania Wilkins Senior Biostatistician wilkinst@email.unc.edu
Bethsaida Seagroves Executive Assistant to the Chair betsy_seagroves@unc.edu
Ms Ping Shen Applications Analyst pshen@email.unc.edu
Yue Shen Applications Analyst shen@email.unc.edu
Jeffrey Sink Applications Tech jsink@email.unc.edu
Carl Smalley System Programmer/Specialist csmalley@email.unc.edu
Jan Louise Smith Social Research Specialist smithjl@email.unc.edu
Veronica Stallings Student Services Specialist vlawrenc@email.unc.edu
Christopher Stolte Applications Specialist stolte@unc.edu
Robert Sumner, Jr Applications Specialist bobsumner@unc.edu
Hengrui Sun Senior Biostatistician hrsun@email.unc.edu
Kui Sun Applications Analyst sksun@email.unc.edu
Yanping Teng Biostatistician tengunc@email.unc.edu
Hongqing Tian Applications Analyst ucchbt@email.unc.edu
Robert Tomsick Applications Analyst rtomsick@unc.edu
Debbie Rubin Williams Applications Analyst DebbieRubin_Williams@unc.edu
Pingping Wu Social Research Specialist carenwu@email.unc.edu
Eunsil Yim Social/Clinical Research Manager eunsil_yim@unc.edu
Marston Youngblood, Jr Other- Biostatistician Supervisor youngbl1@email.unc.edu
Scott C. Zentz Systems Programmer/Specialist zentz@email.unc.edu
Ding Zhao Applications Specialist dyzhao@unc.edu
Mihye Ahn Post Doctoral Research Associate ahnm@email.unc.edu
Max Chen Post Doctoral Research Associate mchen617@live.unc.edu
Emil Cornea Post Doctoral Research Associate ecornea@email.unc.edu
Daniel Hernandez-Stumpfhauser Post Doctoral Research Associate danielhs@live.unc.edu
Chao Huang Post Doctoral Research Associate chaoh@email.unc.edu
Dehan Kong Post Doctoral Research Associate kongd@live.unc.edu
Jeffrey Laux Post Doctoral Research Associate lauxjp@live.unc.edu
Ying Yan Post Doctoral Research Associate yingyan@live.unc.edu
Yize Zhao Post Doctoral Research Associate zhaoyize@live.unc.edu