Biostatistics Faculty and Staff

The Department of Biostatistics is internationally recognized as a leader in Biostatistics research and training. It is one of eight departments in the Gillings School of Global Public Health whose mission is to improve the health and well-being of the population. This mission is accomplished through the interaction of teaching, research and service. The Department has 51 EPA and EPA Non-Faculty members, 68 permanent staff members and 130 temporary employees. The Department has 188 students (156 graduate students and 32 undergraduate students). The Department of Biostatistics is housed in three different locations: administrative and faculty offices, including a suite of offices for graduate students in McGavran-Greenberg Building, the Collaborative Studies Coordinating Center at Bank of America Building and the Carolina Survey Research Laboratory at Bolin Creek Center.

A searchable database of faculty publications is available here.

Faculty

Robert Agans Clinical Associate Professor agans@unc.edu
Josephine Asafu-Adjei Research Assistant Professor jasafuad@email.unc.edu
Eric Bair Research Associate Professor ebair@email.unc.edu
Shrikant Bangdiwala Research Professor kant@unc.edu
Richard Bilsborrow Research Professor richard_bilsborrow@unc.edu
Jianwen Cai Cary C. Boshamer Distinguished Professor and Interim Chair cai@bios.unc.edu
Ding-Geng (Din) Chen Clinical Professor dinchen@email.unc.edu
Mengjie Chen Assistant Professor mengjie@email.unc.edu
David Couper Clinical Professor david_couper@unc.edu
Jamie Crandell Research Assistant Professor jbigelow@email.unc.edu
Sonia Davis Director, Collaborative Studies Coordinating Center Sonia.Davis@unc.edu
Lloyd J. Edwards Associate Professor lloyd_edwards@unc.edu
Jason Fine Professor jfine@email.unc.edu
Amy Herring Carol Remmer Angle Distinguished Professor of Children’s Environmental Health and Associate Chair amy_herring@unc.edu
Annie Green Howard Clinical Assistant Professor aghoward@email.unc.edu
Marcus Herman-Giddens Instructor marcushg@live.unc.edu
Michael Hudgens Professor mhudgens@email.unc.edu
Joseph G. Ibrahim Alumni Distinguished Professor Director  of Graduate Studies jibrahim@email.unc.edu
Anastasia Ivanova Associate Professor aivanova@bios.unc.edu
Gary Koch Professor bcl@unc.edu
Michael R. Kosorok W.R. Kenan, Jr. Distinguished Professor kosorok@unc.edu
Quefeng Li Assistant Professor quefeng@email.unc.edu
Yun Li Associate Professor yunli@med.unc.edu
Danyu Lin Dennis Gillings Distinguished Professor lin@bios.unc.edu
Feng-Chang Lin Research Assistant Professor flin33@email.unc.edu
Yufeng Liu Professor yfliu@email.unc.edu
Matthew Loop Clinical Assistant Professor mloop@email.unc.edu
Michael Love Assistant Professor milove@email.unc.edu
James Stephen Marron Amos Hawley Distinguished Professor marron@unc.edu
Jane Monaco Clinical Associate Professor monaco@email.unc.edu
Andrew B. Nobel Professor nobel@email.unc.edu
John S. Preisser Research Professor John_Preisser@unc.edu
Matthew Psioda Research Assistant Professor matt_psioda@unc.edu
Bahjat Qaqish Professor bahjat_qaqish@unc.edu
Naim Rashid Research Assistant Professor naim@unc.edu
Kathy Roggenkamp Research Instructor kathy_roggenkamp@unc.edu
Todd Schwartz Research Associate Professor tschwart@email.unc.edu
Pranab Sen Cary C. Boshamer Distinguished Professor psen@email.unc.edu
Richard Smith Mark L. Reed Distinguished Professor rls@email.unc.edu
Daniela Sotres-Alvarez Research Assistant Professor dsotres@unc.edu
Paul Stewart Research Professor Paul_Stewart@unc.edu
Chirayath M Suchindran Professor suchindran@unc.edu
Xianming Tan Research Associate Professor xianming@email.unc.edu
Kinh Truong Professor truong@bios.unc.edu
Mark Weaver Research Assistant Professor mark_weaver@med.unc.edu
Di Wu Research Assistant Professor did@email.unc.edu
Donglin Zeng Professor dzeng@email.unc.edu
Haibo Zhou Professor Haibo_Zhou@unc.edu
Hongtu Zhu Professor htzhu@email.unc.edu
Fei Zou Professor fzou@bios.unc.edu

Emeritus Faculty

Lloyd Chambless Professor Emeritus
Clarence E. Davis Professor Emeritus
James E. Grizzle Professor Emeritus
Ronald W. Helms Professor Emeritus
William D. Kalsbeek Professor Emeritus
Lawrence L. Kupper Professor Emeritus
Keith E. Muller Professor Emeritus
Dana E. Quade Professor Emeritus
Michael J. Symons Professor Emeritus
Craig D. Turnbull Professor Emeritus

Adjunct Faculty

Georgiy Bobashev Adjunct Associate Professor bobashev@rti.org
Rosalie Dominik Adjunct Associate Professor rdominikjr@gmail.com
Alan Karr Adjunct Professor karr@rti.org
Pei Fen Kuan Adjunct Assistant Professor peifen.kaun@stonybrook.edu
Eric B. Laber Adjunct Assistant Professor eblaber@ncsu.edu
Herman Mitchell Adjunct Professor mitchel7@email.unc.edu
Brian Neelon Adjunct Associate Professor neelon@musc.edu
Jean Orelien Adjunct Assistant Professor orelien@email.unc.edu
Shyamal Peddada Adjunct Professor
Ibrahim Salama Adjunct Professor isalama@bios.unc.edu
Sean Simpson Adjunct Assistant Professor simpsons@email.unc.edu
Maura Stokes Adjunct Associate Professor stokesm@email.unc.edu
William Valdar Assistant Professor william.valdar@unc.edu
Clarice Weinberg Adjunct Professor cweinber@email.unc.edu
Fred Wright Adjunct Professor fred_wright@unc.edu
Michael Wu Adjunct Assistant Professor mcwu@fhcrc.org
Richard Zink Adjunct Assistant Professor richard.zink@jmp.com

Department of Biostatistics

Vera Bennett Human Resources Consultant vera_bennett@unc.edu
Monika Soria Caruso Soc/Clin Research Specialist monika_caruso@unc.edu
Britt Clampitt Communications Specialist bclamp@email.unc.edu
Mary Everette Accounting Specialist everette@bios.unc.edu
David Hill Tech Support Analyst dwhill@email.unc.edu
Melissa Hobgood Student Services Manager hobgood@unc.edu
Christine Kantner Business Services Coordinator ckantner@email.unc.edu
Terry Link Accounting Technician tlink12@email.unc.edu
Evie E. McKee Director of Business & Finance evie_mckee@unc.edu
Debbie Quach Business Officer dquach@bios.unc.edu
Bethsaida Seagroves Executive Assistant to the Chair betsy_seagroves@unc.edu
Veronica Stallings Student Services Specialist stalling@bios.unc.edu
Scott C. Zentz Systems Programmer/Specialist zentz@email.unc.edu

Carolina Survey Research Laboratory

Erica Atkins Personnel Supervisor elatkins@email.unc.edu
Anna Hoffmeyer Operations Manager ahoffmeyer@unc.edu
Deborah Marean Survey Programmer & Data Mgr marean@email.unc.edu
Jackie Shehadi Soc/Clin Research Assistant jshehadi@unc.edu

Collaborative Studies Coordinating Center

Maria de los Angeles (Nana) Abreu Social/Clinical Research Specialist abreu@email.unc.edu
Vidya Antony Applications Analyst vantony@unc.edu
James Bartow Applications Specialist jbartow@email.unc.edu
Nicole Blanton Admin Support Specialist nicole_blanton@unc.edu
Ashley Britt Soc/Clin Research Specialist adbritt@unc.edu
Barbara Brown Soc/Clin Research Assistant barbw_brown@unc.edu
Hope Bryan IT Manager HOPE_BRYAN@unc.edu
Sheila Burgard Soc/Clin Research Manager sheila_burgard@unc.edu
Myra Carpenter Senior Biostatistician myra_carpenter@unc.edu
Betsy Carretta Soc/Clin Research Manager carretta@email.unc.edu
Nancy Cohn Soc/Clin Research Manager nancy_cohn@unc.edu
Steven Cory Applications Analyst cory@unc.edu
Gang Cui Soc/Clin Research Manager gcui@email.unc.edu
Forrest DeMarcus Business Services Coordinator demarcus@email.unc.edu
Lisa Dusenberry Accounting Technician lisa_dusenberry@unc.edu
Jeff Evarts Applications Analyst jevarts@email.unc.edu
Ashley Falcone Soc/Clin Research Specialist abizzell@email.unc.edu
Naoko Fulcher Applications Analyst nfulcher@unc.edu
Bryce B. Glasspoole Tech Support Analyst bryceg@unc.edu
Franklyn Gonzalez Soc/Clin Research Manager fgonzale@email.unc.edu
Rachel Goolsby Soc/Clin Research Specialist rwgoolsby@unc.edu
Nathan M. Gotman Biostatistician nathan.gotman@unc.edu
Lisa Gravens-Mueller Biostatistician & Supervisor lgravens@email.unc.edu
Carolyn Hagy Business Officer Carolyn_Hagy@unc.edu
Linda Hartig Applications Analyst Hartig@unc.edu
Jeremy Grant Holliday Soc/Clin Research Assistant jgh1987@email.unc.edu
Michele Inishi Soc/Clin Research Assistant minishi@email.unc.edu
Kwanhye Jung Applications Specialist khjung@email.unc.edu
Silvana Lawvere Assistant Director of Project Operations lawvere@email.unc.edu
James Locklear Applications Specialist jalockle@email.unc.edu
Danielle Malone Soc/Clin Research Assistant malone@unc.edu
Alison Marquis Principal Biostatistician alison_marquis@unc.edu
Allison McGee Social Research Assistant I admcgee@email.unc.edu
William McGee Soc/Clin Research Assistant Bill.McGee@unc.edu
Yonghong Nie Application Analyst ynie@email.unc.edu
Jeff Oberhaus Soc/Clin Research Specialist jjoberhaus@unc.edu
Aluoch Ooro Soc/Clin Research Specialist aooro@unc.edu
Pedro Miguel Quibrera Biostatistician mqm@email.unc.edu
Lisa Reeves Soc/Clin Research Manager reevesbr@email.unc.edu
Kim Ring Soc/Clin Research Manager kim_ring@unc.edu
Ping Shen Applications Analyst pshen@email.unc.edu
Yue Shen Applications Analyst shen@email.unc.edu
Jeffrey Sink Applications Tech jsink@email.unc.edu
Carl Smalley System Programmer/Specialist csmalley@email.unc.edu
Jan Louise Smith Soc/Clin Research Specialist smithjl@email.unc.edu
Christopher Stolte Applications Specialist stolte@unc.edu
Robert Sumner, Jr. Applications Specialist bobsumner@unc.edu
Hengrui Sun Senior Biostatistician hrsun@email.unc.edu
Kui Sun Applications Analyst sksun@email.unc.edu
Yanping Teng Biostatistician tengunc@email.unc.edu
Hongqing Tian Applications Analyst ucchbt@email.unc.edu
Robert Tomsick Systems Programmer/Specialist rtomsick@unc.edu
Pingping Wu Soc/Clin Research Specialist carenwu@email.unc.edu
Eunsil Yim Soc/Clin Research Manager eunsil_yim@unc.edu
Marston Youngblood, Jr. Biostatistician/Supervisor youngbl1@email.unc.edu
Ding Zhao Applications Specialist dyzhao@unc.edu
Byeibgyeob Choi Postdoctoral Research Associate bychoi@email.unc.edu
Daniel Hernandez-Stumpfhauser Postdoctoral Research Associate danielhs@live.unc.edu
Chao Huang Postdoctoral Research Associate chaoh@email.unc.edu
Jeffrey Laux Postdoctoral Research Associate lauxjp@live.unc.edu
Xinchao Luo Postdoctoral Research Associate xluo@live.unc.edu
Benjamin Risk Postdoctoral Research Associate brisk175@email.unc.edu
Yize Zhao Postdoctoral Research Associate zhaoyize@live.unc.edu