Admitted students get a commitment from a faculty member with overlapping interests who serves as the advisor and dissertation chair. This insures that the student has a faculty member who advocates for and supports them, even before they arrive at UNC.

This is our current list of advisors with links to their individual profiles:

Faculty Advisors, HPM PhD Program
Antonia BennettValerie LewisChris Shea
Leah FrerichsKristen Hassmiller Lich Angela Stover
Lindsey Haynes-MaslowJonathan OberlanderSean Sylvia
(George) Mark HolmesArrianna PlaneyJustin Trogdon
Erin KentKristin ReiterStephanie Wheeler
HPM faculty member Sean Sylvia meets with PhD students in the conference room

HPM Assistant Professor and PhD advisor Sean Sylvia meets with PhD students in the HPM conference room.

BSPH, MSPH and Resident MHA:
Academic Coordinator: Yolonda N. Childs

Doctoral and Executive MHA:
Academic Coordinator: Kim Sieler

Assistant to Chair: Stephanie Forman
Looking for someone else?

Mailing Address
135 Dauer Drive
1101 McGavran-Greenberg Hall, CB #7411
Chapel Hill, NC 27599-7411