Meet with our BSPH Students: The BSPH Program Ambassadors

Below are the Student Ambassadors for the BSPH program in Health Policy and Management. These current students are happy to answer questions you may have about the application process, the program, or student life in the Gillings School of Global Public Health. Just click on a name to start an email message.

Juniors

Name

Interests/ Career Goals

Public Health/ Other Health-Related Activities

Anna Dodson
annadod@live.unc.edu

Rural Health, Global-local Interactions of Health Systems, Disparities in Access/Quality/Outcomes, Pre-Med, Adolescent Health, Opiod Epidemic

SHAC-Get Covered Carolina, AED (pre-med honors society)

Emily Cziraky
emilykc@live.unc.edu

Pre-med, primary care, quality of care, patient-centered outcomes (PCMH), vulnerable populations/patients, preventative medicine

AED (pre-med honors society), Be The Match on Campus (Bone Marrow Registry)

Sahana Raghunathan
sahana@live.unc.edu

Global Health, Gender Equality in Health, Pre-med, Health Policy

UNC Partners in Health Engage, Prevention Partners

Hiwot Ekuban
hiwot@live.unc.edu

Global health; Pre-med; Immigrant Health; Vulnerable Populations; Health Disparities

APPLES Service-Learning

Jordan Drake
jordanpd@live.unc.edu

Rural Health, Health Policy, Access to Care, Vulnerable Populations

SHAC-Get Covered

Alexis Millan
amillan@live.unc.edu

Pre-med, Quality of Care, Global Health, Health Disparities

Timmy Global Health

Healthcare Consulting, Comparative Healthcare System

SHAC, HESA

Taruni Santanam
taruni@live.unc.edu

Pre-med, Community Health, Health Consulting and Policy, Quality Process and Improvement

SHAC

Andie Fitzgerald
andreamf@live.unc.edu

Rural health care access, Pre-med

Brian Tanner
bctanner@live.unc.edu

Health Economics, Global Health (Development), Healthcare Consulting, US Healthcare Reform

AMWHO

Seniors

Name

Hometown

Interests/ Career Goals

Public Health/ Other Health-Related Activities

Alex Waddell
alexawad@live.unc.edu

Chapel Hill, NC

Healthcare reform/advocacy, consulting and health disparities

UNC-Nourish

Half Moon Bay, CA

Access to & quality of care for transgender populations, Community health, provider education, community health education

LGBT Health Initiative Intern at Piedmont Health Services, United Against Inequities in Disease, Partners in Health Engage

Angel Lopez-Collazo
alopcol@live.unc.edu

Holly Springs, NC (og. Mayagüez, Puerto Rico)

Health Policy Consulting/Hospital Administration for St. Judes

Research Intern for Cecil G. Sheps Center, BSPH Student Board, SHAC

Breanna Sharer
bpsharer@live.unc.edu

Sacramento, CA

Healthcare access/Hospital Administration

Camp ReCreation, UNC Best Buddies

Catherine Howell
cphowell@live.unc.edu

North Wilkesboro, NC

Global health, health disparities, disaster management

Carolina Cupboard Food Pantry, Greek Life

Cecilia Blomberg
ctekla@live.unc.edu

St. Cloud, MN

Sustainable Development, Health Policy, nutritional access, maternal and child health. Receive MD/MPH

Burn Research Assistant, AED pre-health fraternity, CNA

Haley Samuel-Jakubos
samjakha@live.unc.edu

Washington, DC

Health Policy (federal-level), healthcare reform, maternal health

CareFirst BCBS, A Leg to Stand On

Jazra Standley
standley@live.unc.edu

Huntersville, NC

Health policies affecting the urban underserved, global health, Hospital Administration

Intern for Carolinas Healthcare System

Leah Jimenez
ljimenez@live.unc.edu

Jacksonville, FL

Hospital Administration, Practice Management, Consulting

A Drink for Tomorrow, American Mock WHO, HESA, UNC Hospitals Volunteer – Patient Relations

Meagan Clawar
clawar@live.unc.edu

Albany, NY

Health policies affecting vulnerable populations/nonprofit management

Refugee Community Partnership

Ranjitha Ananthan
ranjitha@live.unc.edu

Chapel Hill, NC

Health disparities, Community Health and Non-Profit work, Medical School

Roosevelt Health Institute, Community Empowerment Fund, UNC Hospital Volunteering

Sarah Hart
sbhart@live.unc.edu

Randolph, NJ

Global health development, working within a foundation

Health and Wellness Intern for Kidzu Children’s Museum


Content for this page provided by the Department of Health Policy and Management. Please contact the webmaster with any questions or comments on content. For admission questions or problems with the online application form, please contact the HPM Student Services Office.