Dr. Lindsey Smith Taillie

2023 McGavran Award recipient, Lindsey Smith Taillie, PhD

The McGavran Award for Excellence in Teaching honors Edward G. McGavran, MD, MPH, dean of the UNC School of Public Health from 1947 to 1963 and a proponent of “hands-on” field training for public health students. First given in 1975, the award recognizes career-long excellence in teaching by a faculty member at the UNC Gillings School of Global Public Health.

Teaching, in this context, is broadly defined and includes activities inside and outside classroom settings (e.g., teaching-related administrative roles and innovative developments in teaching methods and materials).

This award comes with a $1,500 prize. The recipient may use the funds in any way that enhances their ability to teach and support students.


Eligibility is restricted to full-time faculty in the School. Past recipients of the McGavran Award (see below) are not eligible.

Selection Criteria

The Awards Committee seeks evidence of accomplishment in teaching quality and accomplishment sustained over a career. Factors to be considered when deciding the recipient of the McGavran Award include the following:


The record of a strong candidate for the McGavran Award should contain examples of innovation, leadership, impact and excellence in teaching both inside and outside the classroom. Evidence may include, but is not limited to:

  • Creation or adoption of innovative teaching tools and techniques.
  • Publication of teaching-related materials, including texts and evidence of their impact on the field
  • A major role in influencing School-wide, university, national or professional curricular issues
  • Demonstrate a commitment to inclusive excellence.
  • Teaching-related awards


The record of a strong candidate should include evidence of a substantial number of students positively influenced by the nominee. Examples relevant to this criterion may include, but are not limited to:

  • Courses taught, including the nominee’s role in developing each course
  • Feedback from students and peers regarding innovations
  • Teaching programs developed and/or administered, including training grants and service as director of graduate studies in a department
  • Students advised and how they have been stimulated and inspired
  • Other relevant information.

Application Process

Gillings faculty, staff, students and alumni may submit a nomination online via Qualtrics survey. Please include a brief supporting statement (1-2 pages) that addresses the above criteria and a link to the CV for the person whom you are nominating. The deadline for submitting your nomination is Thursday, February 22, 2024, 11:59 p.m. EST.

A committee will review all nominations received and will prepare a recommendation to the dean, who will make the final selection. The associate dean of academic affairs will deliver the award at the School’s spring commencement.

Past Recipients

2023 – Lindsey Smith Taillie

2022 – Daniel Westreich

2021 – Meghan Shanahan

2020 – Alyssa Mansfield

2019 – Beth Moracco and Karin Yeatts

2018 – Amanda Holliday

2017 – Marisa Domino

2016 – Brian Pence

2015 – Michael Hudgens

2014 – Lewis Margolis

2013 – Jane Monaco

2012 – Suzanne Maman

2011 – Amanda Holliday and Jon Hussey

2010 – Amy Herring

2009 – James Thomas

2008 – no award given

2007 – Carolyn Barrett

2006 – no award given

2005 – Doug Crawford-Brown

2004 – Jianwen Cai

2003 – Michael Bowling

2002 – Linda Adair

2001 – Irva Hertz-Picciotto and Sandra Martin

2000 – William Zelman

1999 – Christine Jackson

1998 – Arnold Kaluzny

1997 – no award given

1996 – Pranab K. Sen

1995 – Allan B. Steckler

1994 – Carl Shy

1993 – Gerardo Heiss

1992 – Gary Koch

1991 – Al Tyroler

1990 – Bonnie Rogers

1989 – Victor Schoenbach

1988 – William Herzog

1987 – Brenda Devellis and Gary Rozier

1986 – Earl Siegel and Morris Schaefer

1985 – Lawrence L. Kupper

1984 – James Watson Jr.

1983 – Jo Anne Earp and Philip C. Singer

1982 – Berton Kaplan and Charlene Ossler

1981 – Patricia Z. Barry

1980 – Norman F. Weatherly

1979 – Leonard S. Rosenfeld

1978 – John Larsh Jr. and David G. Kleinbaum

1977 – Emil T. Chanlett

1976 – John C. Cassel

1975 – Roy R. Kuebler

Gillings Admissions: 233 Rosenau Hall, (919) 445-1170
Student Affairs: 263 Rosenau Hall, (919) 966-2499
Dean's Office: 170 Rosenau Hall, (919) 966-3215
Business and Administration: 170 Rosenau Hall, (919) 966-3215
Academic Affairs: 307 Rosenau Hall, (919) 843-8044
Inclusive Excellence: 207B Rosenau Hall, (919) 966-7430
Room Reservations

135 Dauer Drive
Chapel Hill, NC 27599-7400

School Events

April 23
10:00 am
4:00 pm
Advanced Statistical Machine Learning
April 30
10:00 am
2:00 pm
Introduction to Focus Groups
May 30
9:00 am
3:00 pm
Inclusive Excellence Summer Symposium
June 17
8:00 am
5:00 pm
2024 Add Health Users Conference