Each year, the School solicits nominations for achievement awards for faculty and staff members.

John E. Larsh Jr. Award for Mentorship: The purpose of the Larsh Award for Mentorship is to recognize a current member of the faculty at the School who best exemplifies the qualities of mentoring and commitment to students that Dr. Larsh embodied and valued so highly.

Edward G. McGavran Award for Excellence in Teaching: The purpose of the McGavran Award is to recognize career-long excellence in teaching by faculty in the Gillings School of Global Public Health. Teaching, in this context, is broadly defined and includes activities outside the classroom setting (e.g., personal mentoring of student research and practice activities, teaching-related administrative roles and innovative developments in teaching methods and materials).

Teaching Innovation Awards: The student-organized Teaching Innovation Awards honor faculty members who “improve the learning environment by integrating new technologies, engaging students in interactive activities, employing creative assessment methods, and introducing and incorporating progressive curriculum ideas into the classroom.”

Staff Excellence Award: The annual monetary award and recognition are given to an employee who exemplifies outstanding work, as measured by excellent attitude, leadership and outstanding initiative. Nominations for the award will open each fall.

The Gillings School’s Alumni Association presents two awards during the Foard Lecture each spring.

Established in 1975, the Harriet Hylton Barr Distinguished Alumni Award recognizes the achievements of alumni and their contributions to public health. Each year, it honors a deserving graduate of the School working full-time in public health or in a related field.

The Bernard G. Greenberg Alumni Endowment Award is given to an outstanding full-time faculty member of the Gillings School of Global Public Health for excellence in the areas of teaching, research and service. The award includes a cash prize of $12,000 annually for three years.