Chairs' Committee at the Gillings School

About Us

The Gillings School of Global Public Health’s chairs’ committee consists of department chairs, the director of the Public Health Leadership Program (PHLP), the dean, the senior associate dean and the associate dean for academic affairs. It has been chaired by a department chair, selected by the dean, with concurrence of chairs’ committee members. The committee meets monthly and is charged with the following responsibilities:

  • Guide allocation model for state budget
  • Consider academic issues
  • Make decisions on academic policies under the jurisdiction of the School
  • Review and approve new academic directions
  • Review and recommend applications for Gillings Innovation Labs
  • Serve as a sounding board on important SPH issues relevant to the academic mission

Members
Agenda

Members

Dean Barbara K. Rimer

Barbara K. Rimer, DrPH, MPH
Dean and Alumni Distinguished Professor

Dean’s Office

170 Rosenau Hall
135 Dauer Drive
Campus Box 7400
brimer@unc.edu

Assistant: Angelica Figueroa
919-843-0908
a.figueroa@unc.edu

Dr. Todd Nicolet

Todd Nicolet, PhD

Senior Associate Dean

Dean’s Office

170 Rosenau Hall
135 Dauer Drive
Campus Box 7400
todd_nicolet@unc.edu

Assistant: Lisa Warren
919-966-3215
lcwarren@email.unc.edu

Laura Linnan, ScD

Laura Linnan, ScD
Associate Dean for Academic and Student Affairs;
Professor, Health Behavior

Academic Affairs

307 Rosenau Hall
135 Dauer Drive
Campus Box 7440
919-843-8044
linnan@email.unc.edu

Assistant: Pamela Lee
919-966-4477
pjlee@email.unc.edu

DSC06664

Jianwen Cai, PhD
Interim Chair and Cary C. Boshamer Distinguished Professor, Biostatistics

Biostatistics (BIOS)

3101b McGavran-Greenberg Hall
135 Dauer Drive
Campus Box 7420
kosorok@email.unc.edu

Assistant: Betsy Seagroves
919-966-7254
bseagrov@bios.unc.edu

turpin_barbara_200x200
Barbara J. Turpin, PhD Chair and Professor, Environmental Sciences and Engineering

Environmental Sciences and Engineering (ESE)

166c Rosenau Hall
135 Dauer Drive
Campus Box 7431
aitken@email.unc.edu

Assistant: Rhoda Cerny
919-966-1024
rcerny@email.unc.edu

Dr. Andy Olshan

Andrew Olshan, PhD
Chair and Barbara Sorenson Hulka Distinguished Professor, Epidemiology

Epidemiology (EPI)

2101b McGavran-Greenberg Hall
135 Dauer Drive
Campus Box 7435
andy_olshan@unc.edu

Assistant: Chandra Caldwell
919-966-7419
ccaldwel@email.unc.edu

HB-lytle_leslie_2013

Leslie Lytle, PhD
Chair and Professor, Health Behavior;
Professor, Nutrition

Health Behavior (HB)

303 Rosenau Hall
135 Dauer Drive
Campus Box 7440
919-843-8171
llytle@email.unc.edu

Assistant: Helena Mullen
919-966-1131
mullenh@email.unc.edu

weinberger_morris_15

Morris Weinberger, PhD
Chair and Vergil N. Slee Distinguished Professor, Health Policy and Management

Health Policy and Management (HPM)

1105B McGavran-Greenberg Hall
135 Dauer Drive
Campus Box 7411
mweinber@email.unc.edu

Assistant: Tracey Gollwitzer
919-966-9122
tracey@unc.edu

Dr. Carolyn Halpern

Carolyn Halpern, PhD
Chair and Professor, Maternal and Child Health

Maternal and Child Health (MCH)

401 Rosenau Hall
135 Dauer Drive
Campus Box 7445
carolyn_halpern@unc.edu

Assistant: Susan Charamut
919-966-5981
susan.charamut@unc.edu

mayer-davis_beth_150sq

Elizabeth Mayer-Davis, PhD
Chair and Professor, Nutrition
Cary C. Boshamer Distinguished Professor of Medicine and Nutrition

Nutrition (NUTR)

245c McGavran-Greenberg Hall
135 Dauer Drive
Campus Box 7461
beth_mayer-davis@unc.edu

Assistant: John Easterbrook
919-966-7218
jeasterb@email.unc.edu

GGG_schenck_anna

Anna Schenck, PhD
Director and Professor of the Practice of Public Health, Public Health Leadership Program

Public Health Leadership Program (PHLP)

4103 McGavran-Greenberg Hall
135 Dauer Drive
Campus Box 7469
schenck1@email.unc.edu

Assistant: Chantal Donaghy
919-966-5285
donaghy@email.unc.edu