TODO
Discover Gillings
Chairs' Committee at the Gillings School

About Us

The Gillings School of Global Public Health’s chairs’ committee consists of department chairs, the director of the Public Health Leadership Program (PHLP), the dean, the senior associate dean and the associate dean for academic affairs. It has been chaired by a department chair, selected by the dean, with concurrence of chairs’ committee members.

The committee meets monthly and is charged with the following responsibilities:

  • Guides allocation model for state budget
  • Considers academic issues
  • Makes decisions on academic policies under the jurisdiction of the School
  • Reviews and approves new academic directions
  • Reviews and recommends applications for Gillings Innovation Labs
  • Serves as a sounding board on important School issues relevant to the academic mission

Members
Agenda

Members

Dr. Barbara K. Rimer Barbara K. Rimer, DrPH, MPH
Dean and Alumni Distinguished Professor
Dean's Office
170 Rosenau Hall
135 Dauer Drive
Campus Box 7400
brimer@unc.edu
Assistant: Lisa Warren
919-966-3215
lcwarren@email.unc.edu
Dr. Todd Nicolet Todd Nicolet, PhD
Senior Associate Dean
Dean's Office
170 Rosenau Hall
135 Dauer Drive
Campus Box 7400
todd_nicolet@unc.edu
Assistant: Taylor Zimmerman
919-966-3215
tzimmerman@unc.edu
Dr. Laura Linnan Laura Linnan, ScD
Senior Associate Dean for Academic and Student Affairs; Professor, Health Behavior
Academic Affairs
307 Rosenau Hall
135 Dauer Drive
Campus Box 7440
919-843-8044
linnan@email.unc.edu
Assistant: Benita Ramsey
919-966-3215
blramsey@email.unc.edu

Michael Kosorok, PhD
Chair and W.R. Kenan, Jr. Distinguished Professor, Biostatistics
Biostatistics (BIOS)
3101b McGavran-Greenberg Hall
135 Dauer Drive
Campus Box 7420
kosorok@email.unc.edu
Assistant: Betsy Seagroves
919-966-7254
bseagrov@bios.unc.edu
Barbara Turpin Barbara J. Turpin, PhD
Chair and Professor, Environmental Sciences and Engineering
Environmental Sciences and Engineering (ESE)
166c Rosenau Hall
135 Dauer Drive
Campus Box 7431
bjturpin@email.unc.edu
Assistant: Rhoda Cerny
919-966-1024
rcerny@email.unc.edu
Dr. Til Stürmer Til Stürmer, MD, PhD
Chair and Nancy A. Dreyer Distinguished Professor, Epidemiology
Epidemiology (EPI)
2101b McGavran-Greenberg Hall
135 Dauer Drive
Campus Box 7435
sturmer@unc.edu
Assistant: Chandra Caldwell
919-966-7419
ccaldwel@email.unc.edu
Kurt Ribisl, PhD
Chair and Professor, Health Behavior
Health Behavior (HB)
303 Rosenau Hall
135 Dauer Drive
Campus Box 7440
919-843-8171
kurt_ribisl@unc.edu
Assistant: Riley Smith
919-966-1131
rileysmith@unc.edu
Dr. Morris Weinberger Morris Weinberger, PhD
Chair and Vergil N. Slee Distinguished Professor, Health Policy and Management
Health Policy and Management (HPM)
1105B McGavran-Greenberg Hall
135 Dauer Drive
Campus Box 7411
mweinber@email.unc.edu
Assistant: Stephanie Forman
919-966-9122
sforman1@email.unc.edu
Dr. Carolyn Halpern Carolyn Halpern, PhD
Chair and Professor, Maternal and Child Health
Maternal and Child Health (MCH)
401 Rosenau Hall
135 Dauer Drive
Campus Box 7445
carolyn_halpern@unc.edu
Assistant: Julie Theriault, MA
919-966-5981
jther@email.unc.edu
Dr. Elizabeth Mayer-Davis Elizabeth Mayer-Davis, PhD
Chair and Cary C. Boshamer Distinguished Professor, Nutrition
Nutrition (NUTR)
245c McGavran-Greenberg Hall
135 Dauer Drive
Campus Box 7461
beth_mayer-davis@unc.edu
Assistant: Anne Belote
919-966-7218
abelote@email.unc.edu
Dr. Anna Schenck Anna Schenck, PhD
Director and Professor of the Practice of Public Health, Public Health Leadership Program
Public Health Leadership Program (PHLP)
4103 McGavran-Greenberg Hall
135 Dauer Drive
Campus Box 7469
schenck1@email.unc.edu
Assistant: Chantal Donaghy
919-966-5285
donaghy@email.unc.edu

Recent News