Discover Gillings

Chairs' Committee at the Gillings School

About Us

The Gillings School of Global Public Health’s chairs’ committee consists of department chairs, the director of the Public Health Leadership Program (PHLP), the dean, the vice dean and the senior associate dean for academic and student affairs. It has been chaired by a department chair, selected by the dean, with concurrence of chairs’ committee members.

The committee meets monthly and is charged with the following responsibilities:

  • Guides allocation model for state budget
  • Considers academic issues
  • Makes decisions on academic policies under the jurisdiction of the School
  • Reviews and approves new academic directions
  • Reviews and recommends applications for Gillings Innovation Labs
  • Serves as a sounding board on important School issues relevant to the academic mission

Members
Agenda

Members

Dean’s Office

Dr. Barbara K. Rimer

Dean Barbara K. Rimer

Barbara K. Rimer, DrPH, MPH
Dean and Alumni Distinguished Professor
170 Rosenau Hall
brimer@unc.edu

Assistant: Angelica Figueroa
919-966-3215
amfiguer@email.unc.edu


Taya Jackson Scott

Dr. Taya Jackson Scott

Taya Jackson Scott, EdD
Vice Dean
170 Rosenau Hall
ttjscott@email.unc.edu

Assistant: Yasmin Hill
919-966-3215
yasminh@live.unc.edu


Academic Affairs

Laura Linnan

Dr. Laura Linnan

Laura Linnan, ScD
Senior Associate Dean for Academic and Student Affairs; Professor, Health Behavior
307 Rosenau Hall
919-843-8044
linnan@email.unc.edu

Assistant: Stephanie Garrett
919-843-8099
stephanie.garrett@unc.edu


Biostatistics

Dr. Michael Kosorok

Dr. Michael Kosorok

Michael Kosorok, PhD
Chair and W.R. Kenan, Jr. Distinguished Professor, Biostatistics
3101b McGavran-Greenberg Hall
kosorok@email.unc.edu

Assistant: Betsy Seagroves
919-966-7254
bseagrov@bios.unc.edu


Environmental Sciences and Engineering

Dr. Barbara Turpin

Dr. Barbara Turpin

Barbara J. Turpin, PhD
Chair and Professor, Environmental Sciences and Engineering
166c Rosenau Hall
bjturpin@email.unc.edu

Assistant: Rhoda Cerny
919-966-1024
rcerny@email.unc.edu


Epidemiology

Dr. Til Stürmer

Dr. Til Stürmer

Til Stürmer, MD, PhD
Chair and Nancy A. Dreyer Distinguished Professor, Epidemiology
2101b McGavran-Greenberg Hall
sturmer@unc.edu

Assistant: Chandra Caldwell
919-966-7419
ccaldwel@email.unc.edu


Health Behavior

Dr. Kurt Ribisl

Dr. Kurt Ribisl

Kurt Ribisl, PhD
Chair and Professor, Health Behavior
303 Rosenau Hall
kurt_ribisl@unc.edu

Assistant: Darlene Laws
919-966-1131
dnlaws@email.unc.edu


Health Policy and Management

Dr. Morris Weinberger

Dr. Morris Weinberger

Morris Weinberger, PhD
Chair and Vergil N. Slee Distinguished Professor, Health Policy and Management
1105B McGavran-Greenberg Hall
mweinber@email.unc.edu

Assistant: Stephanie Forman
919-966-9122
sforman1@email.unc.edu


Maternal and Child Health

Dr. Carolyn Halpern

Carolyn Halpern, PhD
Chair and Professor, Maternal and Child Health
401 Rosenau Hall
carolyn_halpern@unc.edu

Assistant: Julie Theriault, MA
919-966-5981
jther@email.unc.edu


Nutrition

Dr. Elizabeth Mayer Davis

Dr. Beth Mayer-Davis

Elizabeth Mayer-Davis, PhD
Chair and Cary C. Boshamer Distinguished Professor, Nutrition
245c McGavran-Greenberg Hall
beth_mayer-davis@unc.edu

Assistant: Anne Belote
919-966-7218
abelote@email.unc.edu


Public Health Leadership Program

Dr. Anna Schenck

Anna Schenck, PhD
Director and Professor of the Practice of Public Health, Public Health Leadership Program
4103 McGavran-Greenberg Hall
schenck1@email.unc.edu

Assistant: Chantal Donaghy
919-966-5285
donaghy@email.unc.edu