TODO
Discover Gillings
Dean's Council at the Gillings School

About

The Dean’s Council is broadly representative of academic and administrative leadership of the Gillings School and includes: the dean; department chairs, the senior associate dean; all assistant and associate deans; directors of programs and units that serve all parts of the Gillings School; and representatives of student government and the Minority Student Caucus.

The Dean’s Council meets bi-monthly and is charged with the following responsibilities:

  • Establishes strategic directions
  • Makes policy recommendations
  • Approves directions in high-impact areas affecting many or all parts of the School
  • Develops, approves, reviews and provides feedback on Gillings School CEPH metrics and advises on potential remedies in cases of underperformance
  • Recommends strategies to enhance diversity and inclusion at the Gillings School
  • Reviews and votes on memoranda of understanding
  • Advises on fundraising directions
  • Serves as a sounding board on important issues facing the Gillings School, including those related to students, and recommending appropriate actions

Administration
Dean of the Gillings School of Public Health
Department Chairs
Academics and Practice
Student Representatives

Dean of the Gillings School of Global Public Health

Dean Barbara K. Rimer

Barbara K. Rimer, DrPH, MPH
Dean and Alumni Distinguished Professor

Dean's Office
170 Rosenau Hall
135 Dauer Drive
Campus Box 7400
brimer@unc.edu
Assistant: Lisa Warren
919-966-3215
lcwarren@email.unc.edu

Department Chairs

As leaders of and advocates for their departments, chairs bring a unique set of perspectives and concerns to the dean’s council. By definition, each department chair:

  • Provides vision and leadership for departmental research, service and academic programs
  • Manages departmental administrative functions
  • Leads departmental faculty and staff
  • Facilitates funding from a variety of sources
  • Oversees research, grants and centers
  • Connects to alumni and donors
  • Promotes and nurtures diversity and inclusion
  • Provides leadership for all student functions

The Gillings School’s Chairs’ Committee, composed of the leaders of all eight academic units in the Gillings School, meets monthly and is charged with the following responsibilities:

  • Makes decisions on academic policies under School jurisdiction
  • Guides and votes on the School’s allocation model and revisions to it for state budget
  • Considers issues with schoolwide relevance to the academic mission
  • Reviews, and makes funding decisions about, applications for Gillings Innovation Labs
  • Reviews and approves new academic directions
Dr. Michael Kosorok Michael Kosorok, PhD Chair and W.R. Kenan, Jr. Distinguished Professor, Biostatistics
Biostatistics (BIOS)
3101 McGavran-Greenberg Hall
135 Dauer Drive
Campus Box 7420
kosorok@unc.edu
Assistant: Betsy Seagroves
919-966-7254
bseagrov@bios.unc.edu
Dr. Barbara Turpin, headshot Barbara Turpin, PhD Chair and Professor, Environmental Sciences and Engineering
Environmental Sciences and Engineering (ESE)
166c Rosenau Hall
135 Dauer Drive
Campus Box 7431
bjturpin@email.unc.edu
Assistant: Rhoda Cerny
919-966-1024
rcerny@email.unc.edu
Dr. Til Stürmer Til Stürmer, MD, PhD Chair and Nancy A. Dreyer Distinguished Professor, Epidemiology
Epidemiology (EPID)
2101b McGavran-Greenberg Hall
135 Dauer Drive
Campus Box 7435
sturmer@unc.edu
Assistant: Chandra Caldwell
919-966-7419
ccaldwel@email.unc.edu

Kurt Ribisl, PhD
Chair and Professor, Health Behavior

Health Behavior (HB)
316 Rosenau Hall
135 Dauer Drive
Campus Box 7440
kurt_ribisl@unc.edu
Assistant: Riley Smith
919-966-1131
rileysmith@unc.edu
Dr. Morris Weinberger

Morris Weinberger, PhD
Chair and Vergil N. Slee Distinguished Professor, Health Policy and Management

Health Policy and Management (HPM)
1105B McGavran-Greenberg Hall
135 Dauer Drive
Campus Box 7411
mweinber@email.unc.edu
Assistant: Stephanie Forman
919-966-9122
sforman1@email.unc.edu
Dr. Carolyn Halpern

Carolyn Halpern, PhD
Chair and Professor, Maternal and Child Health

Maternal and Child Health (MCH)
401 Rosenau Hall
135 Dauer Drive
Campus Box 7445
carolyn_halpern@unc.edu
Assistant: Julie Theriault, MA
919-966-5981
jther@email.unc.edu
Dr. Elizabeth Mayer Davis

Elizabeth Mayer-Davis, PhD
Chair and Cary C. Boshamer Distinguished Professor, Nutrition

Nutrition (NUTR)
245c McGavran-Greenberg Hall
135 Dauer Drive
Campus Box 7461
beth_mayer-davis@unc.edu
Assistant: Anne Belote
919-966-7218
abelote@email.unc.edu
Dr. Anna Schenck

Anna Schenck, PhD
Director and Professor of the Practice, Public Health Leadership Program

Public Health Leadership Program (PHLP)
4103 McGavran-Greenberg Hall
135 Dauer Drive
Campus Box 7469
schenck1@email.unc.edu
Assistant: Chantal Donaghy
919-966-5285
donaghy@email.unc.edu

Academics and Practice

Laura Linnan, ScD
Senior Associate Dean for Academic and Student Affairs and Professor, Health Behavior

Academic Affairs
307 Rosenau Hall
135 Dauer Drive
Campus Box 7440
919-843-8044
linnan@email.unc.edu
Assistant: Benita Ramsey
919-962-1085
blramsey@email.unc.edu
Dr. Peggy Bentley

Margaret (Peggy) Bentley, PhD
Associate Dean for Global Health and Carla Smith Chamblee Distinguished Professor, Nutrition

Global Health
124 Rosenau Hall
135 Dauer Drive
Campus Box 7400
pbentley@unc.edu
Assistant: Elisia Black
919-843-3945
elisias@email.unc.edu
Dr. Anna Schenck

Anna Schenck, PhD
Associate Dean for Practice

North Carolina Institute for Public Health (NCIPH)
4103 McGavran-Greenberg Hall
135 Dauer Drive
Campus Box 7469
schenck1@email.unc.edu
Assistant: Chantal Donaghy
919-966-5285
donaghy@email.unc.edu

Doug Urland, MPA
Director, North Carolina Institute for Public Health

North Carolina Institute for Public Health (NCIPH)
213 Rosenau Hall
135 Dauer Drive
Chapel Hill, NC 27599
wiluke@live.unc.edu
Penny Gordon-Larsen, PhD
Associate Dean for Research; Professor, Nutrition
Research, Innovation and Global Solutions
Building C, Suite 210, Room 2123
123 W. Franklin Street
Campus Box 8120
pglarsen@email.unc.edu
Office of Research Director: Christin Daniels, MA
919-966-0123
christin_daniels@unc.edu
Julie MacMillan, MPH

Julie MacMillan, MPH
Managing Director for Research, Innovation and Global Solutions

Research, Innovation and Global Solutions
104 Rosenau Hall
135 Dauer Drive
Campus Box 7415
919-843-3952
macmilla@email.unc.edu
Assistant: Elisia Black
919-843-3945
elisias@email.unc.edu

Charletta Sims Evans, MEd
Associate Dean for Student Affairs

Student Affairs (OSA)
263b Rosenau Hall
135 Dauer Drive
Campus Box 7400
simsevan@email.unc.edu
Assistant: Natiaya Neal
919-966-2499
nneal@email.unc.edu

Administration

Vacant
Vice Dean
Administration
170 Rosenau Hall
135 Dauer Drive
Campus Box 7400

Assistant: Contact Dean's Office
919-966-3215
Karissa Grasty

Karissa Grasty
Associate Dean for Advancement

Advancement
107B Rosenau Hall
135 Dauer Drive
Campus Box 7407
kgrasty@email.unc.edu
Development Coordinator:
Seteena Turner

919-966-0198
seteenss@live.unc.edu
Matthew Chamberlin Matthew Chamberlin
Director of Communications and Marketing
Communications and Marketing
110 Rosenau Hall
135 Dauer Drive
Campus Box 7400
mchamberlin@unc.edu
Kauline Cipriani Kauline Cipriani, PhD Assistant Dean for Inclusive Excellence
Diversity and Inclusion
266 Rosenau Hall
135 Dauer Drive
Campus Box 7400
cipriank@email.unc.edu
Katie Thornsvard

Katie Thornsvard, MAC
Assistant Dean of Business and Finance

Finance
207-B Rosenau Hall
135 Dauer Drive
Campus Box 7400
katiet@email.unc.edu

Steve Regan
Assistant Dean of Human Resources

Human Resources
212 Rosenau Hall
135 Dauer Drive
Campus Box 7400
regansj@email.unc.edu

Kathy Anderson, PhD
Associate Dean for Information Technology and Planning

Instructional and Information Systems (IIS)
219B Rosenau Hall
135 Dauer Drive
Campus Box 7400
kathy_anderson@unc.edu
Deytia Lima Rojas, PhD
Interim Assistant Dean for Strategic Analysis and Business Intelligence
Strategic Analysis and Business Intelligence
126 Rosenau Hall
135 Dauer Drive
Campus Box 7400
dlima@email.unc.edu

Elizabeth French, MA Assistant Dean for Strategic Initiatives; Adjunct Instructor
Strategic Initiatives

138 Rosenau Hall
135 Dauer Drive
Campus Box 7400
eafrench@unc.edu

Student Representatives

Deanie Anyangwe Deanie Anyangwe
Co-President, SPH Minority Student Caucus
Hailey MasonHailey Mason
Co-President, SPH Minority Student Caucus
David Gaviria David Gaviria
Co-President, SPH Student Government
Victoria GregorioVictoria Gregorio
Co-President, SPH Student Government

Recent News