Discover Gillings

Dean's Council at the Gillings School

About

The Dean’s Council is broadly representative of academic and administrative leadership of the Gillings School and includes: the dean; department chairs, the vice dean; all assistant and associate deans; directors of programs and units that serve all parts of the Gillings School; and representatives of student government and the Minority Student Caucus.

The Dean’s Council meets bi-monthly and is charged with the following responsibilities:

  • Establishes strategic directions
  • Makes policy recommendations
  • Approves directions in high-impact areas affecting many or all parts of the School
  • Develops, approves, reviews and provides feedback on Gillings School CEPH metrics and advises on potential remedies in cases of underperformance
  • Recommends strategies to enhance diversity and inclusion at the Gillings School
  • Reviews and votes on memoranda of understanding
  • Advises on fundraising directions
  • Serves as a sounding board on important issues facing the Gillings School, including those related to students, and recommending appropriate actions

Administration
Dean of the Gillings School of Public Health
Department Chairs
Academics and Practice
Student Representatives

Dean of the Gillings School of Global Public Health

Dr. Nancy Messonnier

Dr. Nancy Messonnier

Nancy Messonnier, MD
Dean and Bryson Distinguished Professor in Public Health

170 Rosenau Hall
135 Dauer Drive
CB #7400
(919) 966-3215
uncsphdean@unc.edu

Assistant: Nia Mariso
(919) 445-0878
niamari1@email.unc.edu


Department Chairs

As leaders of and advocates for their departments, chairs bring a unique set of perspectives and concerns to the dean’s council. By definition, each department chair:

  • Provides vision and leadership for departmental research, service and academic programs
  • Manages departmental administrative functions
  • Leads departmental faculty and staff
  • Facilitates funding from a variety of sources
  • Oversees research, grants and centers
  • Connects to alumni and donors
  • Promotes and nurtures diversity and inclusion
  • Provides leadership for all student functions

The Gillings School’s Chairs’ Committee, composed of the leaders of all eight academic units in the Gillings School, meets monthly and is charged with the following responsibilities:

  • Makes decisions on academic policies under School jurisdiction
  • Guides and votes on the School’s allocation model and revisions to it for state budget
  • Considers issues with schoolwide relevance to the academic mission
  • Reviews, and makes funding decisions about, applications for Gillings Innovation Labs
  • Reviews and approves new academic directions

Biostatistics

Dr. Lisa LaVange

Lisa LaVange

Lisa LaVange, PhD
Chair and Professor, Biostatistics

Assistant: Tyyest Baker
919-966-7254
bakerts@email.unc.edu


Environmental Sciences and Engineering

Dr. Barbara Turpin

Barbara Turpin

Barbara J. Turpin, PhD
Chair and Professor, Environmental Sciences and Engineering
166c Rosenau Hall
bjturpin@email.unc.edu

Assistant: Rhoda Cerny
919-966-1024
rcerny@email.unc.edu


Epidemiology

Dr. Til Stürmer

Til Stürmer

Til Stürmer, MD, PhD
Chair and Nancy A. Dreyer Distinguished Professor, Epidemiology
2101b McGavran-Greenberg Hall
sturmer@unc.edu

Assistant: Jackie Dark
919-966-7419
jackie_dark@unc.edu


Health Behavior

Dr. Kurt Ribisl

Kurt Ribisl

Kurt Ribisl, PhD
Chair and Jo Anne Earp Distinguished Professor, Health Behavior
303 Rosenau Hall
kurt_ribisl@unc.edu

Assistant: Darlene Laws
919-966-1131
dnlaws@email.unc.edu


Health Policy and Management

Dr. Morris Weinberger

Morris Weinberger

Morris Weinberger, PhD
Chair and Vergil N. Slee Distinguished Professor, Health Policy and Management
1105B McGavran-Greenberg Hall
mweinber@email.unc.edu

Assistant: Stephanie Forman
919-966-9122
sforman1@email.unc.edu


Maternal and Child Health

Carolyn Halpern

Carolyn Halpern, PhD
Chair and Professor, Maternal and Child Health
401 Rosenau Hall
carolyn_halpern@unc.edu

Assistant: Julie Theriault, MA
919-966-5981
jther@email.unc.edu


Nutrition

Melinda Beck

Melinda Beck

Melinda Beck, PhD
Interim Chair and Professor, Nutrition
919-966-6809
Melinda_Beck@unc.edu

Assistant: Rachel Thimke
919-966-7218
rthimke@unc.edu


Public Health Leadership Program

Anna Schenck

Anna Schenck, PhD
Director and Professor of the Practice of Public Health, Public Health Leadership Program
4103 McGavran-Greenberg Hall
schenck1@email.unc.edu

Assistant: Chantal Donaghy
919-966-5285
donaghy@email.unc.edu


Academics and Practice

Academic Affairs

Laura Linnan

Laura Linnan

Laura Linnan, ScD
Senior Associate Dean for Academic and Student Affairs and Professor, Health Behavior
307 Rosenau Hall
919-843-8044
linnan@email.unc.edu

Assistant: Yasemin Garber
919-843-8099
ygarb@email.unc.edu


Global Health

Dr. Suzanne Maman

Suzanne Maman

Suzanne Maman, PhD
Associate Dean for Global Health and Professor, Health Behavior
331A Rosenau Hall
maman@email.unc.edu


Practice

John Wiesman

John Wiesman

John Wiesman, DrPH, MPH
Associate Dean for Practice
Professor of the Practice and Director, Doctoral Program in Health Leadership, HPM
919-445-0774
John.wiesman@unc.edu


North Carolina Institute for Public Health (NCIPH)

Dr. Robert Smith III

Robert Smith III

Robert Smith III, PhD
Interim Director, North Carolina Institute for Public Health
rosmith@email.unc.edu


Research, Innovation and Global Solutions

Andrew Olshan

Andrew Olshan

Andy Olshan, PhD
Interim Associate Dean for Research and Barbara Sorensen Hulka Distinguished Professor, Epidemiology
2105-B McGavran-Greenberg Hall
CB #7435

Office of Research Director: Alexia Kelley
919-966-0123
alexia_kelley@unc.edu


Julie MacMillan, MPH

Julie MacMillan

Julie MacMillan, MPH
Managing Director for Research, Innovation and Global Solutions
104 Rosenau Hall
919-843-3952
macmilla@email.unc.edu


Student Affairs

Charletta Sims Evans

Charletta Sims Evans

Charletta Sims Evans, MEd
Associate Dean for Student Affairs
263b Rosenau Hall
simsevan@email.unc.edu

Assistant: Deshana Cabasan-Hunte
919-966-2499
deshana.cabasan-hunte@unc.edu


Administration

Dr. Robert Smith III

Robert Smith III

Robert Smith III, PhD
Vice Dean
107B Rosenau Hall
rosmith@email.unc.edu

Assistant: Angelica Figueroa
919-966-3215
amfiguer@email.unc.edu


Advancement

Karissa Grasty

Karissa Grasty

Karissa Grasty
Associate Dean for Advancement
107B Rosenau Hall
kgrasty@email.unc.edu

Assistant: Adam Johnston
919-962-2817
adam920@email.unc.edu


Communications and Marketing

Matthew Chamberlin

Matthew Chamberlin

Matthew Chamberlin
Associate Dean for Communications and Marketing
110 Rosenau Hall
mchamberlin@unc.edu


Inclusive Excellence

Dr. Kim Ramsey-White

Kim Ramsey-White

Kim Ramsey-White, PhD
Associate Dean for Inclusive Excellence
207B Rosenau Hall
whitek22@email.unc.edu

Assistant: Kristine Thorne
919-966-3215
kthorne@unc.edu


Finance

Tiffany Farina

Tiffany Farina, CRA, CFRA
Interim Associate Dean of Business and Finance
207-B Rosenau Hall
tiffany.farina@unc.edu


Human Resources

Gretchen Marie Senez

Gretchen Senez

Gretchen Marie Senez, MS
Assistant Dean for Human Resources
212 Rosenau Hall
gmarie@email.unc.edu


Instructional and Information Systems (IIS)

Kathy Anderson

Kathy Anderson

Kathy Anderson, PhD
Associate Dean for Information Technology and Planning
219B Rosenau Hall
kathy_anderson@unc.edu


Strategic Analysis and Business Intelligence

Dr. Deytia Lima Rojas

Deytia Lima Rojas

Deytia Lima Rojas, PhD
Director for Strategic Analysis and Business Intelligence
and Business Intelligence

126 Rosenau Hall
dlima@email.unc.edu


Strategic Initiatives

Elizabeth French

Elizabeth French

Elizabeth French, MA
Associate Dean for Strategic Initiatives;
Adjunct Instructor
138 Rosenau Hall
eafrench@unc.edu


Student Representatives

Asia Carter (She/Her)
MPH student | Health Behavior
Co-President, SPH Minority Student Caucus


Kiara Thompkins (She/Her)
MPH student | Health Behavior
Co-President, SPH Minority Student Caucus


Alka Manoj (She/Her)
BSPH Student
Co-President, SPH Student Government

Narvin “Nav” Chhay
MHA Student | Health Policy and Management
Co-President