Discover Gillings

Dean's Council at the Gillings School

About

The Dean’s Council is broadly representative of academic and administrative leadership of the Gillings School and includes: the dean; department chairs, the vice dean; all assistant and associate deans; directors of programs and units that serve all parts of the Gillings School; and representatives of student government and the Minority Student Caucus.

The Dean’s Council meets bi-monthly and is charged with the following responsibilities:

  • Establishes strategic directions
  • Makes policy recommendations
  • Approves directions in high-impact areas affecting many or all parts of the School
  • Develops, approves, reviews and provides feedback on Gillings School CEPH metrics and advises on potential remedies in cases of underperformance
  • Recommends strategies to enhance diversity and inclusion at the Gillings School
  • Reviews and votes on memoranda of understanding
  • Advises on fundraising directions
  • Serves as a sounding board on important issues facing the Gillings School, including those related to students, and recommending appropriate actions

Administration
Dean of the Gillings School of Public Health
Department Chairs
Academics and Practice
Student Representatives

Dean of the Gillings School of Global Public Health

Dean Barbara K. Rimer

Barbara K. Rimer

Barbara K. Rimer, DrPH, MPH
Dean and Alumni Distinguished Professor
170 Rosenau Hall
brimer@unc.edu

Assistant: Angelica Figueroa
919-966-3215
amfiguer@email.unc.edu


Department Chairs

As leaders of and advocates for their departments, chairs bring a unique set of perspectives and concerns to the dean’s council. By definition, each department chair:

  • Provides vision and leadership for departmental research, service and academic programs
  • Manages departmental administrative functions
  • Leads departmental faculty and staff
  • Facilitates funding from a variety of sources
  • Oversees research, grants and centers
  • Connects to alumni and donors
  • Promotes and nurtures diversity and inclusion
  • Provides leadership for all student functions

The Gillings School’s Chairs’ Committee, composed of the leaders of all eight academic units in the Gillings School, meets monthly and is charged with the following responsibilities:

  • Makes decisions on academic policies under School jurisdiction
  • Guides and votes on the School’s allocation model and revisions to it for state budget
  • Considers issues with schoolwide relevance to the academic mission
  • Reviews, and makes funding decisions about, applications for Gillings Innovation Labs
  • Reviews and approves new academic directions

Biostatistics

Dr. Jianwen Cai

Jianwen Cai

Dr. Lisa LaVange

Lisa LaVange

Jianwen Cai, PhD
Lisa LaVange, PhD
Interim Co-Chairs, Biostatistics

Assistant: Betsy Seagroves
919-966-7254
bseagrov@bios.unc.edu


Environmental Sciences and Engineering

Dr. Barbara Turpin

Barbara Turpin

Barbara J. Turpin, PhD
Chair and Professor, Environmental Sciences and Engineering
166c Rosenau Hall
bjturpin@email.unc.edu

Assistant: Rhoda Cerny
919-966-1024
rcerny@email.unc.edu


Epidemiology

Dr. Til Stürmer

Til Stürmer

Til Stürmer, MD, PhD
Chair and Nancy A. Dreyer Distinguished Professor, Epidemiology
2101b McGavran-Greenberg Hall
sturmer@unc.edu

Assistant: Chandra Caldwell
919-966-7419
ccaldwel@email.unc.edu


Health Behavior

Dr. Kurt Ribisl

Kurt Ribisl

Kurt Ribisl, PhD
Chair and Professor, Health Behavior
303 Rosenau Hall
kurt_ribisl@unc.edu

Assistant: Darlene Laws
919-966-1131
dnlaws@email.unc.edu


Health Policy and Management

Dr. Morris Weinberger

Morris Weinberger

Morris Weinberger, PhD
Chair and Vergil N. Slee Distinguished Professor, Health Policy and Management
1105B McGavran-Greenberg Hall
mweinber@email.unc.edu

Assistant: Stephanie Forman
919-966-9122
sforman1@email.unc.edu


Maternal and Child Health

Carolyn Halpern

Carolyn Halpern, PhD
Chair and Professor, Maternal and Child Health
401 Rosenau Hall
carolyn_halpern@unc.edu

Assistant: Julie Theriault, MA
919-966-5981
jther@email.unc.edu


Nutrition

Dr. Elizabeth Mayer Davis

Beth Mayer-Davis

Elizabeth Mayer-Davis, PhD
Chair and Cary C. Boshamer Distinguished Professor, Nutrition
245c McGavran-Greenberg Hall
beth_mayer-davis@unc.edu

Assistant: Anne Belote
919-966-7218
abelote@email.unc.edu


Public Health Leadership Program

Anna Schenck

Anna Schenck, PhD
Director and Professor of the Practice of Public Health, Public Health Leadership Program
4103 McGavran-Greenberg Hall
schenck1@email.unc.edu

Assistant: Chantal Donaghy
919-966-5285
donaghy@email.unc.edu


Academics and Practice

Academic Affairs

Laura Linnan

Laura Linnan

Laura Linnan, ScD
Senior Associate Dean for Academic and Student Affairs and Professor, Health Behavior
307 Rosenau Hall
919-843-8044
linnan@email.unc.edu

Assistant: Stephanie Garrett
919-843-8099
stephanie.garrett@unc.edu


Dr. Peggy Bentley

Peggy Bentley

Global Health

Margaret (Peggy) Bentley, PhD
Associate Dean for Global Health and Carla Smith Chamblee Distinguished Professor, Nutrition
124 Rosenau Hall
pbentley@unc.edu

Assistant: Elisia Black
919-843-3945
elisias@email.unc.edu


Dr. Anna Schenck

Anna Schenck

Practice

Anna Schenck, PhD
Associate Dean for Practice
4103 McGavran-Greenberg Hall
schenck1@email.unc.edu

Assistant: Chantal Donaghy
919-966-5285
donaghy@email.unc.edu


Doug Urland

Doug Urland

North Carolina Institute for Public Health (NCIPH)

Doug Urland, MPA
Director, North Carolina Institute for Public Health
213 Rosenau Hall
wiluke@live.unc.edu


Penny Gordon-Larsen

Penny Gordon-Larsen

Research, Innovation and Global Solutions

Penny Gordon-Larsen, PhD
Associate Dean for Research; Professor, Nutrition
Building C, Suite 210, Room 2123
123 W. Franklin Street
pglarsen@email.unc.edu

Office of Research Director: Alexia Kelley
919-966-0123
alexia_kelley@unc.edu


Julie MacMillan, MPH

Julie MacMillan

Julie MacMillan, MPH
Managing Director for Research, Innovation and Global Solutions
104 Rosenau Hall
919-843-3952
macmilla@email.unc.edu

Assistant: Elisia Black
919-843-3945
elisias@email.unc.edu


Charletta Sims Evans

Charletta Sims Evans

Student Affairs

Charletta Sims Evans, MEd
Associate Dean for Student Affairs
263b Rosenau Hall
simsevan@email.unc.edu

Assistant: Deshana Cabasan-Hunte
919-966-2499
deshana.cabasan-hunte@unc.edu


Administration

Taya Jackson Scott

Dr. Taya Jackson Scott

Taya Jackson-Scott
Vice Dean

170 Rosenau Hall
ttjscott@email.unc.edu

Assistant: Yasmin Hall
919-966-3215
yasminh@email.unc.edu


Advancement

Karissa Grasty

Karissa Grasty

Karissa Grasty
Associate Dean for Advancement
107B Rosenau Hall
kgrasty@email.unc.edu

Development Coordinator: Irene Baron
919-966-0198
ireneb@email.unc.edu


Communications and Marketing

Matthew Chamberlin

Matthew Chamberlin

Matthew Chamberlin
Director of Communications and Marketing
110 Rosenau Hall
mchamberlin@unc.edu


Inclusive Excellence

Dr. Kauline Cipriani

Dr. Kauline Cipriani

Kauline Cipriani, PhD
Assistant Dean for Inclusive Excellence
266 Rosenau Hall
cipriank@email.unc.edu


Finance

Katie Thornsvard

Katie Thornsvard

Katie Thornsvard, MAC
Associate Dean of Business and Finance
207-B Rosenau Hall
katiet@email.unc.edu


Human Resources

Vacant
Assistant Dean of Human Resources
212 Rosenau Hall


Instructional and Information Systems (IIS)

Kathy Anderson

Kathy Anderson

Kathy Anderson, PhD
Associate Dean for Information Technology and Planning
219B Rosenau Hall
kathy_anderson@unc.edu


Strategic Analysis and Business Intelligence

Deytia Lima Rojas, PhD
Interim Assistant Dean for Strategic Analysis
and Business Intelligence

126 Rosenau Hall
dlima@email.unc.edu


Elizabeth French

Elizabeth French

Strategic Initiatives

Elizabeth French, MA
Assistant Dean for Strategic Initiatives;
Adjunct Instructor
138 Rosenau Hall
eafrench@unc.edu


Student Representatives

Snigdha Peddireddy
Co-President, SPH Minority Student Caucus


Eliana Armora
Co-President, SPH Minority Student Caucus


David Gaviria

David Gaviria

David Gaviria
Co-President, SPH Student Government


Julia Nevison

Julia Nevison

Julia Nevison
Co-President, SPH Student Government