Alumni Association Awards

Harriet Hylton Barr Distinguished Alumni Award

Established in 1975, the Harriet Hylton Barr Distinguished Alumni Award recognizes the achievements of alumni and their contributions to public health. Each year, it honors a deserving graduate of the School working full-time in public health or in a related field.

The award carries the name of its 1980 recipient, the late Harriet Hylton Barr, to honor her contributions to public health. Barr, who earned her MPH from UNC in 1948, dedicated 28 years of service to the School. She was a clinical associate professor in the Department of Health Behavior and she was the School’s first director of alumni affairs. For a list of past recipients, and to read more about Harriett Hylton Barr, please go here.

The Bernard G. Greenberg Alumni Endowment Award

The Bernard G. Greenberg Alumni Endowment Award was established in 1986 by the School’s Alumni Association in honor of Bernard Greenberg, PhD, a visionary leader who founded the Department of Biostatistics in 1949 which he led for more than 20 years before going on to serve as dean of the School of Public Health from 1972-1982. The award is presented to an outstanding full-time faculty member of the UNC Gillings School of Global Public Health for excellence in the areas of teaching, research and service.

The major criterion for the award is continuous demonstrated excellence over a number of years in service to the broad public health community. The award is intended for a mid-career faculty member as an incentive for continued excellence in these three areas. The award includes a cash prize of $12,000 annually for three years. For additional information and a list of past recipients, please go here.

2016 Awards presented at 48th Annual Foard Lecture

Margaret (Peggy) Bentley, PhD, and Pam Silberman, JD, DrPH, were honored with the UNC Gillings School of Global Public Health’s most prestigious awards for alumni and faculty at a ceremony preceding the annual Fred T. Foard Jr. Memorial Lecture on April 14.

The Barr Award

Dr. Pam Silberman

Dr. Silberman joined the Gillings School faculty in 2001, and is currently Professor of the Practice of health policy and management (HPM) and director of HPM’s doctoral program in health leadership. She teaches courses on the U.S. health system, public and private programs serving low-income and other underserved populations, and changes in the Affordable Care Act. She also teaches program evaluation and courses on health policy development and policy advocacy. Complete article.

The Greenberg Award

Dr. Peggy Bentley

Dr. Bentley earned master’s and doctoral degrees in medical anthropology from the University of Connecticut and served on the faculty of Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health for 11 years, beginning in 1987. She joined the Gillings School faculty in 1998. In addition to serving as a fellow at the Carolina Population Center and as faculty director of the Duke-UNC Rotary Peace Center Fellows Program, she is associate director for the UNC Institute for Global Health and Infectious Diseases. Complete article.