UNC Nutrition Obesity Research Center (NORC)

Advisory Committees

The UNC NORC provides expertise, infrastructure, and services through four biomedical research cores – the Animal Metabolism Phenotyping Core, the Clinical and Community Human Assessment and Interventions Core, the Metabolism and Metabolomics Core, and the Precision Nutrition Core – as well as the Center’s Enrichment Program and Pilot & Feasibility (P&F) Program. An overview of the UNC NORC’s governance and organizational structure is presented in this downloadable figure.

External Advisory Committee

The UNC NORC’s seven-member External Advisory Committee (EAC) is composed of world-renowned scientists with expertise in population-based, clinical, and basic biomedical research in nutrition. They have special expertise that enriches the operations of the UNC NORC. Members of the EAC serve renewable three-year terms. The current members of the EAC are listed below.

Anthony G. Comuzzie, PhD, FTOS
CEO, The Obesity Society
Term: 2017-2020

Anthony W. Ferrante, Jr., MD, PhD
Tilden-Weger-Bieler Professor of Medicine
Chief of Preventive Medicine & Nutrition
Naomi Berrie Diabetes Center, Columbia University
Term: 2017-2020

Timothy R. Nagy, PhD
Professor of Nutrition Sciences
Director of the Division of Physiology and Metabolism
University of Alabama at Birmingham
Term: 2017-2020

Marian L. Neuhouser, PhD
Program Head, Cancer Prevention Program
Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center in Seattle, Washington
Term: 2017-2020

Ken Resnicow, PhD
Irwin M. Rosenstock Collegiate Professor of Public Health
Department of Health Behavior and Health Education
University of Michigan at Ann Arbor
Term: 2017-2020

Judith Storch, PhD
Distinguished Professor of Nutritional Sciences
Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey
Term: 2017-2020

W. Allan Walker, MD
Conrad Taff Professor of Nutrition and Pediatrics
Director, Harvard Nutrition Obesity Research Center
Director, Division of Nutrition at Harvard Medical School.
Term: 2017-2020

Internal Advisory Committee

The Internal Advisory Committee (IAC) is responsible for maintaining the quality, objectivity, and continuity of policies and procedures that govern the Center. In addition to the Core Directors, the Enrichment Program Director, and the Co-Directors of the P&F Program, three UNC NORC members representing the NORC membership serve three-year renewable terms on the Internal Advisory Committee. The current representatives of the UNC NORC membership are listed below.

Natalia Krupenko, PhD
Associate Professor of Nutrition
Term: 2020-2023

Amanda Thompson, PhD
Associate Professor of Anthropology and Nutrition
Term: 2020-2023

Carmina G. Valle, PhD, MPH
Assistant Professor of Nutrition
Member, Lineberger Comprehensive Cancer Center
Term: 2020-2023