About Us

Coordination Group at the Gillings School

The coordination group evolved from the recognition that the Gillings School of Global Public Health would be stronger if communication and coordination were enhanced among the School’s central units. At the kick-off meeting of the coordination group in October, 2010, the group agreed that it would focus on priorities (time sensitive and “forever”), strategic thinking/consultation/planning and high-level coordination. Over time, the focus has evolved to be more operational. The coordination group meets once a month and is chaired by the dean or senior associate dean. The committee consists of directors, deans and other leaders of the School’s central units, as well as the assistant dean for students, associate deans for academic affairs, practice, research and global health, senior associate dean and dean.

  • The fundamental purpose of the coordination group is to assure communication and coordination across the School’s central units (i.e., if one group is working on an activity, others are brought in, as appropriate).
  • Assure effective and efficient administrative support: avoid duplication of effort and assure that our activities, programs and events are optimally effective and reflect the synergy possible from working together and recognizing one another’s goals across the School and units.
  • Solve problems across the School’s central administrative units.

Dean of the Gillings School of Global Public Health

Dean Barbara K. Rimer

Barbara K. Rimer

Barbara K. Rimer, DrPH, MPH
Dean and Alumni Distinguished Professor
170 Rosenau Hall
brimer@unc.edu

Assistant: Angelica Figueroa
919-966-3215
amfiguer@email.unc.edu


Administration

Taya Jackson Scott

Dr. Taya Jackson Scott

Taya Jackson-Scott
Vice Dean

170 Rosenau Hall
ttjscott@email.unc.edu

Assistant: Yasmin Hall
919-966-3215
yasminh@email.unc.edu


Advancement

Karissa Grasty

Karissa Grasty

Karissa Grasty
Associate Dean for Advancement
107B Rosenau Hall
kgrasty@email.unc.edu

Development Coordinator:
Irene Baron

919-966-0198
ireneb@email.unc.edu


Inclusive Excellence

Dr. Kauline Cipriani

Dr. Kauline Cipriani

Kauline Cipriani, PhD
Assistant Dean for Inclusive Excellence
266 Rosenau Hall
cipriank@email.unc.edu


Finance

Katie Thornsvard

Katie Thornsvard

Katie Thornsvard, MAC
Associate Dean of Business and Finance
207-B Rosenau Hall
katiet@email.unc.edu


Human Resources

Steve Regan

Steve Regan

Steve Regan
Assistant Dean of Human Resources
212 Rosenau Hall
regansj@email.unc.edu


Instructional and Information Systems (IIS)

Kathy Anderson

Kathy Anderson

Kathy Anderson, PhD
Associate Dean for Information Technology and Planning
219B Rosenau Hall
kathy_anderson@unc.edu


Strategic Analysis and Business Intelligence

Deytia Lima Rojas, PhD
Interim Assistant Dean for Strategic Analysis
and Business Intelligence

126 Rosenau Hall
dlima@email.unc.edu


Elizabeth French

Elizabeth French

Strategic Initiatives

Elizabeth French, MA
Assistant Dean for Strategic Initiatives;
Adjunct Instructor
138 Rosenau Hall
eafrench@unc.edu


Academics and Practice

Academic Affairs

Laura Linnan

Laura Linnan

Laura Linnan, ScD
Senior Associate Dean for Academic and Student Affairs and Professor, Health Behavior
307 Rosenau Hall
919-843-8044
linnan@email.unc.edu

Assistant: Stephanie Garrett
919-843-8099
stephanie.garrett@unc.edu


Dr. Peggy Bentley

Peggy Bentley

Global Health

Margaret (Peggy) Bentley, PhD
Associate Dean for Global Health and Carla Smith Chamblee Distinguished Professor, Nutrition
124 Rosenau Hall
pbentley@unc.edu

Assistant: Elisia Black
919-843-3945
elisias@email.unc.edu


Dr. Anna Schenck

Anna Schenck

Practice

Anna Schenck, PhD
Associate Dean for Practice
4103 McGavran-Greenberg Hall
schenck1@email.unc.edu

Assistant: Chantal Donaghy
919-966-5285
donaghy@email.unc.edu


Doug Urland

Doug Urland

North Carolina Institute for Public Health (NCIPH)

Doug Urland, MPA
Director, North Carolina Institute for Public Health
213 Rosenau Hall
wiluke@live.unc.edu


Penny Gordon-Larsen

Penny Gordon-Larsen

Research, Innovation and Global Solutions

Penny Gordon-Larsen, PhD
Associate Dean for Research; Professor, Nutrition
Building C, Suite 210, Room 2123
123 W. Franklin Street
pglarsen@email.unc.edu

Office of Research Director: Alexia Kelley
919-966-0123
alexia_kelley@unc.edu


Julie MacMillan, MPH

Julie MacMillan

Julie MacMillan, MPH
Managing Director for Research, Innovation and Global Solutions
104 Rosenau Hall
919-843-3952
macmilla@email.unc.edu

Assistant: Elisia Black
919-843-3945
elisias@email.unc.edu


Charletta Sims Evans

Charletta Sims Evans

Student Affairs

Charletta Sims Evans, MEd
Associate Dean for Student Affairs
263b Rosenau Hall
simsevan@email.unc.edu

Assistant: Deshana Cabasan-Hunte
919-966-2499
deshana.cabasan-hunte@unc.edu