TODO
About Us
Coordination Group at the Gillings School

The coordination group evolved from the recognition that the Gillings School of Global Public Health would be stronger if communication and coordination were enhanced among the School’s central units. At the kick-off meeting of the coordination group in October, 2010, the group agreed that it would focus on priorities (time sensitive and “forever”), strategic thinking/consultation/planning and high-level coordination. Over time, the focus has evolved to be more operational. The coordination group meets once a month and is chaired by the dean or senior associate dean. The committee consists of directors, deans and other leaders of the School’s central units, as well as the assistant dean for students, associate deans for academic affairs, practice, research and global health, senior associate dean and dean.

  • The fundamental purpose of the coordination group is to assure communication and coordination across the School’s central units (i.e., if one group is working on an activity, others are brought in, as appropriate).
  • Assure effective and efficient administrative support: avoid duplication of effort and assure that our activities, programs and events are optimally effective and reflect the synergy possible from working together and recognizing one another’s goals across the School and units.
  • Solve problems across the School’s central administrative units.

Dean of the School of Public Health
Administration
Academics and Practice
Past Committee Agendas

Coordination Group Members

Dean and Vice Dean of the Gillings School of Global Public Health

Dean Barbara K. Rimer

Barbara K. Rimer, DrPH, MPH
Dean and Alumni Distinguished Professor

Dean's Office


170 Rosenau Hall
135 Dauer Drive
Campus Box 7400
brimer@unc.edu

Assistant: Lisa Warren
919-966-3215
lcwarren@email.unc.edu

Vacant
Vice Dean

Dean's Office


170 Rosenau Hall
135 Dauer Drive
Campus Box 7400
todd_nicolet@unc.edu

Assistant: Vacant

Administration

Karissa Grasty

Karissa Grasty
Associate Dean for Advancement

Advancement

110 Rosenau Hall
135 Dauer Drive
Campus Box 7407
sterling_frierson@unc.edu

Assistant: Portia Made-Jamison
919-966-0198
pmadeja@email.unc.edu

Headshot of Kathy Anderson

Kathy Anderson, PhD
Associate Dean for Information Technology and Planning

Instructional and Information Systems (IIS) 219b Rosenau Hall 135 Dauer Drive Campus Box 7400 919-843-5312 kathy_anderson@unc.edu
Elizabeth French Elizabeth French, MA Assistant Dean for Strategic Initiatives; Interim Director of Communications; Adjunct Instructor

Special Initiatives

138 Rosenau Hall
135 Dauer Drive
Campus Box 7400
eafrench@unc.edu

Deytia Lima Rojas , PhD Assistant Dean for Strategic Analysis and Business Intelligence
Katie Thornsvard

Katie Thornsvard, MAC
Assistant Dean of Business Finance

Finance

207-B Rosenau Hall
135 Dauer Drive
Campus Box 7400
katiet@email.unc.edu

Steve Regan

Steve Regan, MA
Assistant Dean of Human Resources

Human Resources

205 Rosenau Hall
135 Dauer Drive
Campus Box 7400
regansj@email.unc.edu

Dr. Kauline Cipriani

Kauline Cipriani, PhD
Assistant Dean for Inclusive Excellence

Academics and Practice

Laura Linnan, ScD

Laura Linnan, ScD
Sr. Associate Dean for Academic and Student Affairs;
Professor, Health Behavior

Academic Affairs

307 Rosenau Hall
135 Dauer Drive
Campus Box 7440
919-843-8044
linnan@email.unc.edu

Assistant: Pamela Lee
919-966-3245
pjlee@email.unc.edu

Dr. Peggy Bentley

Margaret (Peggy) Bentley, PhD
Associate Dean for Global Health;
Carla Smith Chamblee Distinguished Professor, Nutrition

Global Health

124 Rosenau Hall
135 Dauer Drive
Campus Box 7400
pbentley@unc.edu

Assistant: Elisia Black
919-843-3945
elisias@email.unc.edu

GGG_schenck_anna

Anna Schenck, PhD
Associate Dean for Practice

North Carolina Institute for Public Health (NCIPH)

4103 McGavran-Greenberg Hall
135 Dauer Drive
Campus Box 7469
schenck1@email.unc.edu

Assistant: Chantal Donaghy
919-966-5285
donaghy@email.unc.edu

GGG_schenck_anna

Rachel Wilfert, MD, MPH, CPH
Interim Director, North Carolina Institute for Public Health

North Carolina Institute for Public Health (NCIPH)

214 Rosenau Hall
135 Dauer Drive
Campus Box 8165
rachel.wilfert@unc.edu

  TBD Associate Dean for Research
macmillan_julie_2008

Julie MacMillan, MPH
Managing Director

Research, Innovation and Global Solutions


104 Rosenau Hall
135 Dauer Drive
Campus Box 7415
919-843-3952
macmilla@email.unc.edu

Assistant: Elisia Black
919-843-3945
elisias@email.unc.edu

charletta_simsevans

Charletta Sims Evans, MEd
Associate Dean for Student Affairs

Student Affairs (OSA)

263b Rosenau Hall
135 Dauer Drive
Campus Box 7400

Assistant: Natiaya Neal
919-966-2499
nneal@email.unc.edu

Recent News