The faculty of the Public Health Leadership Program (PHLP) is a small but diverse group of educators, with experience in both professional and academic environments. The core faculty collaborates with professors from the Schools of Medicine and the Gillings School to produce a curriculum built around principles of leadership and public health best practices.

The PHLP staff coordinates and supports the Program, providing crucial resources to the faculty and information to students whose connection to the University is often a virtual one. The staff is practiced at meeting the different needs of distance and residential students as well as alumni and prospective applicants.

PHLP faculty and staff include: Back row (L-R) Rohit Ramaswarmy, Cindy Reilly, Julea Steiner, Joy Martin, Kristen Hurdle, Karine Dubé, Lori Evarts, Kathy Cheek, Aimee McHale, Michele Fulton, Dana Rice, Lori Carter-Edwards, Vaughn Upshaw, and Bill Sollecito. Front row (L-R) Kauline Cipriani, Director Anna Schenck, Chantal Donaghy, and Cindy Feltner.

View Faculty Publications

Faculty

Lori Carter-Edwards Associate Professor lori_carter-edwards@unc.edu
Kauline Cipriani Associate Professor cipriank@unc.edu
Karine Dubé Assistant Professor karine_dube@med.unc.edu
Lori A Evarts Assistant Professor lori_evarts@unc.edu
Cindy Feltner Assistant Professor, Concentration Lead- Population Health for Clinicians feltner@email.unc.edu
Travis Johnson Assistant Professor tjohnson@brchs.com
Aimee M. McHale Assistant Professor aimee@unc.edu
Wanda Nicholson Adjunct Professor wanda_nicholson@med.unc.edu
Rohit Ramaswamy Professor ramaswam@email.unc.edu
Dana Rice Assistant Professor danarice@unc.edu
Anna P Schenck Professor of the Practice, Director of PHLP anna.schenck@unc.edu
William Sollecito Professor bill_sollecito@unc.edu
Julea Steiner Assistant Professor jsteiner@unc.edu
Sue Tolleson-Rinehart Professor, Associate Concentration Lead – Population Health for Clinicians suetr@unc.edu
Vaughn Upshaw Professor of the Practice, Concentration Lead – Leadership in Practice vupshaw@unc.edu

 

Adjunct Faculty

Kathryn Andolsek  Adjunct Assistant Professor kathryn.andolsek@duke.edu
Gary Asher  Adjunct Assistant Professor gasher@med.unc.edu
Ruth Barlow  Adjunct Instructor rbarlow00@earthlink.net
Ameena Batada  Adjunct Associate Professor abatada@unca.edu
Christine Bevc  Adjunct Instructor cbevc@rti.org
Jim Bowles  Adjunct Assistant Professor jbowles@email.unc.edu
Marcella H. Boynton   Adjunct Assistant Professor mhb23@unc.edu
Kathy Bradford  Adjunct Professor kbradfor@med.unc.edu
Kay Campbell  Adjunct Assistant Professor kayncampbell@gmail.com
Martha Carlough  Adjunct Associate Professor martha_carlough@med.unc.edu
Anthony Charles  Adjunct Associate Professor anthony_charles@med.unc.edu
Russell Coletti  Adjunct Assistant Professor russell.coletti@unchealth.unc.edu
Pat Curran  Adjunct Assistant Professor pcih@earthlink.net
Diane Davis  Adjunct Assistant Professor dimdavis12@gmail.com
Pamela Dickens  Adjunct Assistant Professor pam.dickens@unc.edu
Donna Dinkin  Adjunct Assistant Professor ddinkin@email.unc.edu
Bahar Emily Esmaili Adjunct Assistant Professor bahar.esmaili@duke.edu
Marie Lina Excellent  Adjunct Assistant Professor marilina@live.unc.edu
Kim Faurot  Adjunct Lecturer faurot@med.unc.edu
W. Oscar Fleming  Adjunct Assistant Professor oscar.fleming@unc.edu
Jill Fromewick  Adjunct Assistant Professor jill.fromewick@mahec.net
Timothy Gabel  Adjunct Professor tjg@rti.org
Diego Garza  Adjunct Assistant Professor cpmhdiego@gmail.com
Gary Greenberg  Adjunct Assistant Professor gary.greenberg@unc.edu
Erica Gregory  Adjunct Assistant Professor eg@unc.edu
Jennifer Griffin  Adjunct Assistant Professor jenngrif@email.unc.edu
Carol Gunther-Mohr  Adjunct Assistant Professor cgm@email.unc.edu
Lisa Macon Harrison  Adjunct Assistant Professor lisa_harrison@unc.edu
Sheila Higgins  Adjunct Assistant Professor sheila.higgins@dhhs.nc.gov
Judith Holder-Cooper  Adjunct Assistant Professor judith.holder@duke.edu
Pooja Jani  Adjunct Assistant Professor pdjani@gmail.com
Daniel Jonas  Adjunct Associate Professor daniel_jonas@med.unc.edu
Leila C. Kahwati Adjunct Assistant Professor lkahwati@rti.org
Katherine Kirkland  Adjunct Assistant Professor khkirkla@email.unc.edu
Emily Kiser  Adjunct Instructor emily_kiser@med.unc.edu
Manish Kumar  Adjunct Assistant Professor manishk@email.unc.edu
Amy Lanou  Adjunct Professor alanou@unca.edu
Elizabeth Lawhorn  Adjunct Assistant Professor elawhorn@email.unc.edu
Brettania Lopes  Adjunct Assistant Professor lopes.blw@unc.edu
Rebecca Maine  Adjunct Assistant Professor rebecca.maine@gmail.com
Karen Mastroianni  Adjunct Assistant Professor karenm@dimensions-ohs.com
Melissa McDiarmid  Adjunct Instructor mmcdiarm@medicine.umaryland.edu
Nancy McGee  Adjunct Associate Professor nancymmcgee@gmail.com
J Lloyd Michener  Adjunct Professor lloyd.michener@duke.edu
Paul Meade  Adjunct Assistant Professor pdmeade@me.com
Vanessa Miller  Adjunct Assistant Professor vmiller@unc.edu
Sandy Moulton  Adjunct Associate Professor sandy.moulton1@gmail.com
Charles Mike Newton-Ward  Adjunct Assistant Professor cmnewton@email.unc.edu
Jacqueline Olich  Adjunct Associate Professor jolich@rti.org
Judy Ostendorf  Adjunct Assistant Professor judy_ostendorf@unc.edu
Medge Owen  Adjunct Professor mowen@wakehealth.edu
Christine Pettitt-Schieber Adjunct Assistant Professor christieps@me.com
Sean Philpott-Jones  Adjunct Assistant Professor philpots@mail.uniongraduatecollege.edu
Deborah Porterfield  Adjunct Associate Professor porterfi@email.unc.edu
Greg Randolph  Adjunct Professor greg_randolph@med.unc.edu
Trista Reid  Adjunct Assistant Professor trista_reid@med.unc.edu
Mamie Sackey Harris  Adjunct Assistant Professor msharris@med.unc.edu
Ghazaleh Samandari  Adjunct Assistant Professor samandar@email.unc.edu
Jennifer Sanchez-Flack  Adjunct Assistant Professor jsanche2@unca.edu
Richard Scoville  Adjunct Associate Professor richard_scoville@unc.edu
Kevin Sowers  Adjunct Professor sower001@mc.duke.edu
Paula Brown Stafford  Adjunct Professor pbstafford@gmail.com
Michael Steiner  Adjunct Assistant Professor msteiner@med.unc.edu
Sarah Brill Thach  Adjunct Instructor sarah.thach@mahec.net
Amy Belflower Thomas  Adjunct Assistant Professor amybelflower@alumni.wfu.edu
Hugh Tilson  Adjunct Professor htilson@email.unc.edu
Gretchen L. Van Vliet  Adjunct Assistant Professor gretchen_vanvliet@unc.edu
Anthony Viera  Adjunct Professor viera@med.unc.edu
Rachel Wilfert  Adjunct Assistant Professor rachel_wilfert@unc.edu
Jill Winkler  Adjunct Assistant Professor jawinkler08@gmail.com
Louise Winstanly  Adjunct Assistant Professor winstanl@email.unc.edu
Jacqueline Rollins Wynn  Adjunct Assistant Professor jacqueline_wynn@med.unc.edu
Susan Zelt  Adjunct Assistant Professor sue.zelt@gmail.com
Scott Zimmerman  Adjunct Assistant Professor zimmerms780@gmail.com
Sanjay Zodpey  Adjunct Professor spzodpey@yahoo.com
Adam Zolotor Adjunct Professor ajzolo@med.unc.edu

 

Staff

Karen Capps HR Consultant kcapps@email.unc.edu
Kathryn Cheek Business Manager kcheek@email.unc.edu
Chantal Donaghy Administrative Assistant donaghy@email.unc.edu
Michele Fulton Academic Program Support Coordinator mmfulton@email.unc.edu
Joy Martin Quality Coordinator joybmartin@unc.edu
Sharon Pickard Special Projects sharon_pickard@unc.edu
Cindy Reilly Academic Coordinator cindy_reilly@unc.edu

 

Emeritus Faculty

Russ Harris Emeritus Professor russell_harris@med.unc.edu
Arnold Daniel Kaluzny Emeritus Professor kaluzny@live.unc.edu

 

Recent News