The faculty of the Public Health Leadership Program (PHLP) is a small but diverse group of educators, with experience in both professional and academic environments. The core faculty collaborates with professors from the Schools of Medicine and the Gillings School to produce a curriculum built around principles of leadership and public health best practices.

The PHLP staff coordinates and supports the Program, providing crucial resources to the faculty and information to students whose connection to the University is often a virtual one. The staff is practiced at meeting the different needs of distance and residential students as well as alumni and prospective applicants.

Public Health Leadership Program faculty and staff pose for a Zoom photo. From left to right, top to bottom: Anna Schenck (Director), Joy Martin, Sarah Thach, Vaughn Upshaw, Michele Fulton, Dana Rice, Chantal Donaghy, Sharon Pickard, Tamarie Macon, Rohit Ramaswamy, Lori Evarts, Tiffany Farina, Scott Schindler, Aimee McHale, Kauline Cipriani, Joe Jacobs, Karine Dubé and Lori Carter-Edwards.

Public Health Leadership Program faculty and staff pose for a Zoom photo. From left to right, top to bottom: Anna Schenck (Director), Joy Martin, Sarah Thach, Vaughn Upshaw, Michele Fulton, Dana Rice, Chantal Donaghy, Sharon Pickard, Tamarie Macon, Rohit Ramaswamy, Lori Evarts, Tiffany Farina, Scott Schindler, Aimee McHale, Kauline Cipriani, Joe Jacobs, Karine Dubé and Lori Carter-Edwards.

 
 

View Faculty Publications

Faculty

Lori Carter-Edwards, PhDAssociate Professorlori_carter-edwards@unc.edu
Kauline Cipriani, PhDAssociate Dean for Inclusive Excellence and Associate Professorcipriank@unc.edu
Karine Dubé, DrPHAssistant Professorkarine_dube@med.unc.edu
Lori A. Evarts, MPH, PMP, CPH, MBTIAssociate Professor and Director of Graduate Studieslori_evarts@unc.edu
Cynthia Feltner, MD, MPHAssistant Professor and Concentration Lead - Population Health for Clinicianscindy_feltner@med.unc.edu
Tamarie Macon, PhDAssistant ProfessorTamarie.Macon@mahec.net
Aimee M. McHale, JD, MSPHAssistant Professorammchale@email.unc.edu
Rohit Ramaswamy, PhDProfessor and Associate Directorramaswam@email.unc.edu
Dana Rice, DrPHAssistant Professordanarice@unc.edu
Anna P. Schenck, PhDProfessor of the Practice and Directoranna.schenck@unc.edu
Sarah Brill Thach, MPHAssistant Professorsarah.thach@mahec.net
Sue Tolleson-Rinehart, PhDProfessorsuetr@unc.edu
Vaughn Mamlin Upshaw, DrPH, EdDProfessor and Concentration Lead - Leadership in Practicevupshaw@unc.edu

Adjunct Faculty

Kathryn Andolsek, MDAdjunct Assistant Professorkathryn.andolsek@duke.edu
Shannon Aymes, MD, MPHAdjunct Assistant Professorshannon_aymes@med.unc.edu
Ameena Batada, DrPHAdjunct Associate Professorabatada@unca.edu
Jim Bowles, MPHAdjunct Assistant Professorjbowles@email.unc.edu
Marcella H. Boynton, PhDAdjunct Assistant Professormarcella_boynton@med.unc.edu
Carol Breland, MPH, RRTAdjunct Instructorbrelandc@email.unc.edu
Martha Carlough, MD, MPHAdjunct Professor Professormartha_carlough@med.unc.edu
Anthony Charles, MD, MPHAdjunct Associate Professoranthony_charles@med.unc.edu
Russell Coletti, MD, MPHAdjunct Assistant Professorrussell.coletti@unchealth.unc.edu
Sheri Denslow, PhDAdjunct Assistant Professorsheri.denslow@mahec.net
Pamela DickensAdjunct Assistant Professorpam.dickens@unc.edu
Donna DinkinAdjunct Assistant Professorddinkin@email.unc.edu
Bahar Emily Esmaili, DOAdjunct Assistant Professorbahar.esmaili@duke.edu
Marie Lina Excellent, MD, MPHAdjunct Assistant Professormarilina@live.unc.edu
Kim Faurot, PhDAdjunct Assistant Professorfaurot@med.unc.edu
Jill Fromewick, Sc.D.Adjunct Assistant Professorjill.fromewick@mahec.net
Timothy Gabel, MBAAdjunct Professortjg@rti.org
Jared Gallaher, MD, MPHAdjunct Assistant Professorjared_gallaher@med.unc.edu
Erica GregoryAdjunct Assistant Professoreg@unc.edu
Jennifer GriffinAdjunct Assistant Professorjenngrif@email.unc.edu
Russell Harris, MD, MPHAdjunct Professorrussell_harris@med.unc.edu
Mamie Sackey Harris, MPHAdjunct Assistant Professormsharris@med.unc.edu
Lisa Macon Harrison, MPHAdjunct Assistant Professorlharrison@gvdhd.org
Jeannine Herrick, MPHAdjunct Instructorjherrick@email.unc.edu
Elizabeth "Beth" HighAdjunct Assistant Professorhighroadconsulting@gmail.com
David Holden, MPHAdjunct Instructordavidholden1@bellsouth.net
Daniel Jonas, MD, MPHAdjunct Professordaniel_jonas@med.unc.edu
Fabrice JulienAdjunct Assistant Professorfjulien@unca.edu
Leila C. Kahwati, MD, MPHAdjunct Assistant Professorlkahwati@rti.org
Linda Kinsinger, MDAdjunct Professorlinda_kinsinger@med.unc.edu
Emily Kiser, MPHAdjunct Instructoremily_kiser@med.unc.edu
Manish Kumar, MPHAdjunct Assistant Professormanishk@unc.edu
Amy Lanou, PhDAdjunct Professor
Brettania Lopes, PhD, MPHAdjunct Assistant Professorlopes.blw@unc.edu
Rebecca Maine, MD, MPHAdjunct Assistant Professorrebecca.maine@gmail.com
Nancy McGee, JD, DrPHAdjunct Associate Professornancymmcgee@gmail.com
Paul Meade, M.Sc, MPHAdjunct Assistant Professorpdmeade@me.com
J. Lloyd Michener, MDAdjunct Professorlloyd.michener@duke.edu
Vanessa Miller, PhDAdjunct Assistant Professorvmiller@unc.edu
Virginia MoyerAdjunct Professorvmoyer@med.unc.edu
Charles Mike Newton-WardAdjunct Assistant Professorcmnewton@email.unc.edu
Jacqueline Olich, PhDAdjunct Associate Professorjolich@rti.org
Medge Owen, MDAdjunct Professormowen@wakehealth.edu
Christie Pettitt-Schieber, MPHAdjunct Assistant Professorpettittc@unc.edu
Marcus Plescia, MD, MPHAdjunct ProfessorMarcus.Plescia@mecklenburgcountync.gov
Deborah Porterfield, MD, MPHAdjunct Associate Professorporterfi@email.unc.edu
Greg Randolph, MD, MPHAdjunct Professorgreg_randolph@med.unc.edu
Trista Reid, MD, MPHAdjunct Assistant Professortrista_reid@med.unc.edu
Ghazaleh Samandari, PhDAdjunct Assistant Professorsamandar@email.unc.edu
Richard Scoville, PhDAdjunct Associate Professorrichard_scoville@unc.edu
Tanvi ShahAdjunct Assistant Professortanvijshah@outlook.com
Kevin W. Sowers, MSNAdjunct ProfessorKevin.sowers@duke.edu
Paula Brown Stafford, MPHAdjunct Professorpbstafford@gmail.com
Michael Steiner, MD, MPHAdjunct Professormsteiner@med.unc.edu
Amy Belflower Thomas, MHA, MSPH, CPHAdjunct Assistant Professoramy.b.thomas@unc.edu
Hugh Tilson, MD, DrPHAdjunct Professorhtilson@email.unc.edu
Douglas W. Urland, MPAAdjunct Assistant Professorwiluke@live.unc.edu
Gretchen L. Van Vliet, MPHAdjunct Assistant Professorgretchen_vanvliet@unc.edu
Anthony J. Viera, MD, MPHAdjunct Professorviera@med.unc.edu
Meera Viswanathan, PhDAdjunct Assistant Professorviswana@email.unc.edu
John Wallace, PhDAdjunct Assistant Professorjohn.wallace@unc.edu
Donna WarnerAdjunct Assistant Professorwarner@sog.unc.edu
Rachel A. Wilfert, MD, MPH, CPHAdjunct Assistant Professorrachel.wilfert@unc.edu
Louise Winstanly, LLB, MSAdjunct Assistant Professorwinstanl@email.unc.edu
Jacqueline Rollins Wynn, MPHAdjunct Assistant Professorjacqueline_wynn@med.unc.edu
Susan Zelt, DrPH, MBAAdjunct Assistant Professorsue.zelt@gmail.com
Sanjay ZodpeyAdjunct Professorspzodpey@yahoo.com
Adam Zolotor, MD, DrPHAdjunct Professorajzolo@med.unc.edu

Staff

Chantal N. DonaghyAssistant to the Directordonaghy@email.unc.edu
Tiffany Farina, CRA, CFRADirector of Finance and Administrationtiffany.farina@unc.edu
Michele FultonAcademic Program Support Coordinatormmfulton@email.unc.edu
Carol Gunther-Mohr, MAAdjunct Assistant Professorcgm@email.unc.edu
Joy B. Martin, MPHQuality Coordinatorjoybmartin@unc.edu
Amy Belflower Thomas, MHA, MSPH, CPHDirector, Community Assessment and Strategyamy.b.thomas@unc.edu

Emeritus Faculty

Russell Harris, MD, MPHProfessor Emeritusrussell_harris@med.unc.edu
Arnold Kaluzny, PhDProfessor Emerituskaluzny@live.unc.edu
William A. Sollecito, DrPHProfessor Emeritusbill_sollecito@unc.edu