The faculty of the Public Health Leadership Program (PHLP) is a small but diverse group of educators, with experience in both professional and academic environments. The core faculty collaborates with professors from the Schools of Medicine and the Gillings School to produce a curriculum built around principles of leadership and public health best practices.

The PHLP staff coordinates and supports the Program, providing crucial resources to the faculty and information to students whose connection to the University is often a virtual one. The staff is practiced at meeting the different needs of distance and residential students as well as alumni and prospective applicants.

PUBLIC HEALTH LEADERSHIP PROGRAM FACULTY AND STAFF POSE FOR A ZOOM PHOTO. FROM LEFT TO RIGHT, TOP TO BOTTOM: SARAH THACH, LORI EVARTS, AIMEE MCHALE, ANNA SCHENCK (DIRECTOR), MARIE LINA EXCELLENT, MICHELE FULTON, VAUGHN UPSHAW, W. OSCAR FLEMING, DANA RICE, CHANTAL DONAGHY, TIFFANY FARINA, TAMARIE MACON, MARCELA ABREGO, AND JOE JACOBS.

 

View Faculty Publications

Faculty

Karar Zunaid Ahsan, PhD, MIPH, MSAssistant Professorzunaid@email.unc.edu
Karine Dubé, DrPHAssistant Professorkarine_dube@med.unc.edu
Lori A. Evarts, MPH, PMP, CPH, MBTIAssociate Director, Operations Excellencelori_evarts@unc.edu
Marie Lina Excellent, MD, MPHAssistant Professormarilina@live.unc.edu
Cynthia Feltner, MD, MPHAssistant Professor and Concentration Lead - Population Health for Clinicianscindy_feltner@med.unc.edu
W. Oscar Fleming, DrPHAssistant Professoroscar.fleming@unc.edu
Tamarie Macon, PhDAssistant ProfessorTamarie.Macon@mahec.net
Aimee M. McHale, JD, MSPHAssistant Professorammchale@email.unc.edu
Rohit Ramaswamy, PhDProfessor and Associate Directorramaswam@email.unc.edu
Dana Rice, DrPHAssistant Professordanarice@unc.edu
Anna P. Schenck, PhDProfessor of the Practiceanna.schenck@unc.edu
Sarah Brill Thach, MPHAssistant Professorsbthach@email.unc.edu
Sue Tolleson-Rinehart, PhDProfessorsuetr@unc.edu
Vaughn Mamlin Upshaw, DrPH, EdDProfessor and Concentration Lead - Leadership in Practicevupshaw@unc.edu

Adjunct Faculty

Kathryn Andolsek, MDAdjunct Assistant Professorkathryn.andolsek@duke.edu
Shannon Aymes, MD, MPHAdjunct Assistant Professorshannon_aymes@med.unc.edu
Ameena Batada, DrPHAdjunct Associate Professorabatada@unca.edu
Marcella H. Boynton, PhDAdjunct Assistant Professormarcella_boynton@med.unc.edu
Carol Breland, MPH, RRTAdjunct Instructorbrelandc@email.unc.edu
Martha Carlough, MD, MPHAdjunct Professor Professormartha_carlough@med.unc.edu
Anthony Charles, MD, MPHProfessoranthony_charles@med.unc.edu
Kauline Cipriani, PhDAssociate Dean for Inclusive Excellence and Associate Professorcipriank@unc.edu
Russell Coletti, MD, MPHAdjunct Assistant Professorrussell.coletti@unchealth.unc.edu
Pamela DickensAdjunct Assistant Professorpam.dickens@unc.edu
Donna R. Dinkin, DrPH MPHAdjunct Assistant Professorddinkin@email.unc.edu
Kim Faurot, PhDAdjunct Assistant Professorfaurot@med.unc.edu
Jill Fromewick, Sc.D.Adjunct Assistant Professorjill.fromewick@mahec.net
Timothy Gabel, MBAAdjunct Professortjg@rti.org
Jared Gallaher, MD, MPHAdjunct Assistant Professorjared_gallaher@med.unc.edu
Erica GregoryAdjunct Assistant Professoreg@unc.edu
Jennifer GriffinAdjunct Assistant Professorjenngrif@email.unc.edu
Russell P. Harris, MD, MPHAdjunct Professorrussell_harris@med.unc.edu
Mamie Sackey Harris, MPHAdjunct Assistant Professormsharris@med.unc.edu
Jeannine Herrick, MPHAdjunct Instructorjherrick@email.unc.edu
Elizabeth "Beth" HighAdjunct Assistant Professorhighroadconsulting@gmail.com
David Holden, MPHAdjunct Instructordavidholden1@bellsouth.net
Daniel Jonas, MD, MPHAdjunct Professordaniel_jonas@med.unc.edu
Fabrice Julien, PhD, MPH, MAAdjunct Assistant ProfessorFabriceJulien@unc.edu
Emily Kiser, MPHAdjunct Instructoremily_kiser@med.unc.edu
Manish Kumar, MPHAdjunct Assistant Professormanishk@unc.edu
Amy Lanou, PhDAdjunct Professoralanou@unca.edu
Brettania O’Connor, PhD, MPHAdjunct Assistant Professorlopes.blw@unc.edu
Lisa Macon Harrison, MPHAdjunct Assistant Professorlharrison@gvdhd.org
Rebecca Maine, MD, MPHAdjunct Assistant Professorrebecca.maine@gmail.com
Nancy McGee, JD, DrPHAdjunct Associate Professornancymmcgee@gmail.com
Paul Meade, M.Sc, MPHAdjunct Assistant Professorpdmeade@me.com
J. Lloyd Michener, MDAdjunct Professorlloyd.michener@duke.edu
Vanessa Miller, PhDAdjunct Assistant Professorvmiller@unc.edu
Gita Mody, MD, MPHAdjunct Assistant Professorgita_mody@med.unc.edu
Virginia MoyerAdjunct Professorvmoyer@med.unc.edu
Charles Mike Newton-WardAdjunct Assistant Professorcmnewton@email.unc.edu
Jacqueline Olich, PhDAdjunct Associate Professorjolich@rti.org
Medge Owen, MDAdjunct Professormowen@wakehealth.edu
William F. Owen, Jr., MD, FACPPHLP Adjunct Professorwfowenmd@email.unc.edu
Christie Pettitt-Schieber, MPHAdjunct Assistant Professorpettittc@unc.edu
Marcus Plescia, MD, MPHAdjunct ProfessorMarcus.Plescia@mecklenburgcountync.gov
Deborah Porterfield, MD, MPHAdjunct Associate Professorporterfi@email.unc.edu
Greg Randolph, MD, MPHAdjunct Professorgrandolphconsulting@gmail.com
Trista Reid, MD, MPH, FACS Adjunct Assistant Professortrista_reid@med.unc.edu
Ghazaleh Samandari, PhDAdjunct Assistant Professorsamandar@email.unc.edu
Tanvi Shah, MBBS, DAAdjunct Assistant Professortjshah@live.unc.edu
Kevin W. Sowers, MSN, RN, FAANAdjunct ProfessorKevin.sowers@duke.edu
Paula Brown Stafford, MPHAdjunct Professorpbstafford@gmail.com
Michael Steiner, MD, MPHAdjunct Professormsteiner@med.unc.edu
Amy Belflower Thomas, MHA, MSPH, CPHAdjunct Assistant Professor; Director or Community Assessment and Strategyamy.b.thomas@unc.edu
Douglas W. Urland, MPAAdjunct Assistant Professordoug.urland@unc.edu
Gretchen L. Van Vliet, MPHAdjunct Assistant Professorgretchen_vanvliet@unc.edu
Anthony J. Viera, MD, MPHAdjunct Professorviera@med.unc.edu
John Wallace, PhDAdjunct Assistant Professorjohn.wallace@unc.edu
Donna WarnerAdjunct Assistant Professorwarner@sog.unc.edu
Rachel A. Wilfert, MD, MPH, CPHAdjunct Assistant Professorrachel.wilfert@unc.edu
Louise Winstanly, LLB, MSAdjunct Assistant Professorwinstanl@email.unc.edu
Jacqueline Rollins Wynn, MPHAdjunct Assistant Professorjacqueline_wynn@med.unc.edu
Susan Zelt, DrPH, MBAAdjunct Assistant Professorzelt@ad.unc.edu
Sanjay ZodpeyAdjunct Professorspzodpey@yahoo.com
Adam Zolotor, MD, DrPHAdjunct Professorajzolo@med.unc.edu

Staff

Chantal N. DonaghyAssistant to the Directordonaghy@email.unc.edu
Tiffany Farina, CRA, CFRADirector of Finance and Administrationtiffany.farina@unc.edu
Michele FultonAcademic Program Support Coordinatormmfulton@email.unc.edu
Shaneka Haynes, MS, HS-BCPMPH Student Services Director, UNC Gilling’s School’s Master of Public Health Program in Ashevilleshanekah@email.unc.edu
Kaitlyn StubblefieldQuality Coordinatorkrstubbl@unc.edu

Emeritus Faculty

Russell P. Harris, MD, MPHProfessor Emeritusrussell_harris@med.unc.edu
Arnold Kaluzny, PhDProfessor Emerituskaluzny@live.unc.edu
William A. Sollecito, DrPHProfessor Emeritusbill_sollecito@unc.edu