UNC Nutrition Obesity Research Center (NORC)

Contact Us

Center Leadership

Dr. Elizabeth Mayer-Davis

Dr. Elizabeth Mayer-Davis

Elizabeth Mayer-Davis, PhD
Cary C. Boshamer Distinguished Professor, Nutrition
Chair, Nutrition
245 Rosenau Hall
CB# 7461
Chapel Hill, NC 27599
(919) 966-7218
beth_mayer-davis@unc.edu

  • Co-Director, Nutrition Obesity Research Center
  • Director, Administrative Core

Dr. Steven Zeisel

Dr. Steven Zeisel

Steven Zeisel, MD, PhD
Kenan Distinguished Professor, Nutrition and Pediatrics
2115-A Michael Hooker Research Center
CB# 7461
Chapel Hill, NC 27599
(919) 843-4731
steven_zeisel@unc.edu

  • Co-Director, Nutrition Obesity Research Center
  • Co-Director, Pilot & Feasibility Program

John W. Easterbrook, PhD
259 Rosenau Hall
CB #7461
Chapel Hill, NC 27599
(919) 962-0948
john.easterbrook@unc.edu

  • Managing Director, Nutrition Obesity Research Center

Dr. Ian Carroll

Ian Carroll, PhD
Assistant Professor, Nutrition
111 Mason Farm Road
7312C MBRB Building
CB# 7032
Chapel Hill, NC 27599
(919) 843-4893
ian_carroll@med.unc.edu

  • Co-Director, Precision Nutrition Core
  • Director, Enrichment Program

Dr. Stephen Hursting

Dr. Stephen Hursting

Stephen D. Hursting, PhD, MPH
Professor, Nutrition
2115-B Michael Hooker Research Center
CB# 7461
Chapel Hill, NC 27599
(919) 966-7346
hursting@email.unc.edu

  • Co-Director, Animal Metabolism Phenotyping Core (NRI)

Martin Kohlmeier

Dr. Martin Kohlmeier

Martin Kohlmeier, MD, PhD
Professor, Nutrition
500 Laureate Way
Kannapolis, NC 28081
(704) 250-5023
mkohlmeier@unc.edu

  • Director, CHAI Core: Clinical Assessment

Raza Shaikh

Dr. Raz Shaikh

Raz Shaikh, PhD
Associate Professor, Nutrition
2203 McGavran-Greenberg
Chapel Hill, NC 27599
(919) 843-4348
shaikhsa@email.unc.edu

  • Co-Director, Animal Metabolism Phenotyping Core (Chapel Hill)
  • Co-Director, Pilot & Feasibility Program

Dr. Mirek Styblo

Dr. Mirek Styblo

Mirek Styblo, PhD
Professor, Nutrition
Adjunct Associate Professor, Environmental Sciences and Engineering
2302 Michael Hooker Research Center
CB# 7461
Chapel Hill, NC 27599
(919) 966-5721
styblo@med.unc.edu

  • Director, Atomic Absorption Spectrometry Lab

Susan Sumner

Dr. Susan Sumner

Susan Sumner, PhD
Professor, Nutrition
500 Laureate Way, Suite 4201
Kannapolis, NC 28081
(704) 250-5066
susan_sumner@unc.edu

  • Director, Metabolism and Metabolomics Core

Kimberly Parker Truesdale

Dr. Kimberly Parker Truesdale

Kimberly Parker Truesdale, PhD
Associate Professor, Nutrition
2209 McGavran-Greenberg Hall
CB# 7461
Chapel Hill, NC 27599
(919) 966-2327
kim_truesdale@unc.edu

  • Director, CHAI Core: Behavioral Assessment

Dr. Deborah Tate

Dr. Deborah Tate

Deborah Tate, PhD
Professor, Health Behavior and Nutrition
1700 MLK Jr Blvd, Suite 100
CB# 7294
Chapel Hill, NC 27599
(919) 966-7546
dtate@unc.edu

  • Director, Clinical and Community Human Assessment and Interventions (CHAI) Core

Saroja Voruganti

Dr. Saroja Voruganti

Saroja Voruganti, PhD
Associate Professor, Nutrition
500 Laureate Way, Suite 3150
Kannapolis, NC 28081
(704) 250-5009
saroja@unc.edu

  • Co-Director, Precision Nutrition Core

Center Personnel

Jennifer Wills Gallagher, MPPA, RD
Administrative Director
200 North Greensboro Street
Suite D15
Carrboro, NC 27510
(919) 843-7830
jennifer_wills@med.unc.edu

  • Administrative Director, CHAI Core: Interventions

Traci Davis, MS
Research Specialist
Michael Hooker Research
Center #2204
CB# 7461
Chapel Hill, NC 27599
(919) 843-5145
tracid@email.unc.edu

  • Core Manager, Animal Metabolism Phenotyping Core (Chapel Hill)

Susan McRitchie, MA, MS
Program Manager, Sumner Lab
500 Laureate Way
Kannapolis, NC 28081
(704) 250-5067
susan_mcritchie@unc.edu

  • Core Manager, Metabolism and Metabolomics Core

Melissa VerHague, PhD
Research Associate
500 Laureate Way
Kannapolis, NC 28081
(704) 250-5049
verhague@email.unc.edu

  • Core Manager, Animal Metabolism Phenotyping Core (NRI)