TODO
UNC Nutrition Obesity Research Center (NORC)
Contact the Nutrition Obesity Research Center

Center Leadership

Steven Zeisel, MD, PhD Kenan Distinguished Professor, Nutrition and Pediatrics 2115-A Michael Hooker Research Center CB# 7461 Chapel Hill, NC 27599 (919) 843-4731 steven_zeisel@unc.edu
  • Co-Director
  • Sub Core Co-Director, Metabolic Molecular Phenotyping -Kannapolis
Elizabeth Mayer-Davis, PhD Cary C. Boshamer Distinguished Professor, Nutrition and Medicine Chair, Nutrition 245 Rosenau Hall CB# 7461 Chapel Hill, NC 27599 (919) 966-7218 beth_mayer-davis@unc.edu
  • Co-Director
  • Director, Enrichment Program
  • Co-Director, Diet and Physical Activity in Human Populations Core
Melinda Beck, PhD Associate Chair for Academics and Professor, Nutrition 2303 Michael Hooker Research Center CB# 7461 Chapel Hill, NC 27599 (919) 966-6809 melinda_beck@unc.edu
  • Sub Core Co-Director, Metabolic Molecular Phenotyping - Chapel Hill
Ian Carroll, PhD Assistant Professor, Nutrition 111 Mason Farm Road , 7312C MBRB Building CB# 7032 Chapel Hill, NC 27599 (919) 843-4893 ian_carroll@med.unc.edu
  • Sub Core Co-Director, Nutritional Genomics and Microbiome Core (Microbiome)
Rosalind Coleman, MD Professor, Nutrition and Pediatrics 2301 Michael Hooker Research Center CB# 7461 Chapel Hill, NC 27599 (919) 966-7213 rcoleman@unc.edu
  • Director, Pilot & Feasibility Grant Program
  • Co-Director, Animal Metabolism Phenotyping Core-Chapel Hill
Stephen D. Hursting, PhD, MPH Professor, Nutrition 2115-B Michael Hooker Research Center CB# 7461 Chapel Hill, NC 27599 (919) 966-7346 hursting@email.unc.edu
  • Director, Animal Metabolism Phenotyping Core-Kannapolis
Martin Kohlmeier, MD, PhD Research Professor, Nutrition 500 Laureate Way Kannapolis, NC 28081 (704) 250-5023 mkohlmeier@unc.edu
  • Sub-Core Director, Human Assessment and Intervention: Clinical Assessment
Katie Meyer, ScD Research Assistant Professor, Nutrition 500 Laureate Way Kannapolis, NC 28081 (704) 250-5071 ktmeyer@email.unc.edu
  • Sub Core Co-Director, Nutritional Genomics and Microbiome Core (Microbiome)
S. Raza Shaikh, PhD Associate Professor, Nutrition 2203 McGavran-Greenberg Chapel Hill, NC 27599 (919) 843-4348 shaikhsa@email.unc.edu
  • Director, Animal Metabolism Phenotyping Core-Chapel Hill
Susan Sumner, PhD Professor, Nutrition 500 Laureate Way Suite 4201 Kannapolis, NC 28081 (704) 250-5066 susan_sumner@unc.edu
  • Director, Metabolomics and Metabolic Molecular Phenotyping Core
Kimberly Parker Truesdale, PhD Research Associate Professor, Nutrition 2209 McGavran-Greenberg Hall CB# 7461 Chapel Hill, NC 27599 (919) 966-2327 Kim_Truesdale@unc.edu
  • Sub-Core Director, Human Assessment and Intervention: Diet and Physical Activity in Human Populations Core
Deborah Tate, PhD Professor, Health Behavior and Nutrition 1700 MLK Jr Blvd, Suite 100 CB# 7294 (919) 966-7546 Chapel Hill, NC 27599 dtate@unc.edu
  • Director, Human Assessment and Intervention: CHAI Core
Saroja Voruganti, PhD Assistant Professor, Nutrition 500 Laureate Way Suite 3150 Kannapolis, NC 28081 (704) 250-5009 saroja@unc.edu
  • Director, Nutritional Genomics and Microbiome Core (Nutrigenetics)

 

Other Center Personnel

Jody Albright Research Technician, Bennett Lab 500 Laureate Way Suite 2303 Kannapolis, NC 28081 (704) 250-5049 jodyalb@email.unc.edu
  • Core Manager, Animal Metabolism Phenotyping Core-Kannapolis
Liz Breitwise Managing Director 500 Laureate Way Suite 2219 Kannapolis, NC 28081 (704) 250-5020 NORC_admin@unc.edu
  • Managing Director, UNC NORC
  • Responsible for the day-to-day management of the NORC
  • Contact for all questions regarding the Center
Joy Cox Black Core Manager 2219 McGavran-Greenberg Hall CB# 7461 Chapel Hill, NC 27599 (919) 966-7237 coxcj@email.unc.edu
  • Core Manager, Human Assessment and Intervention: Diet and Physical Activity in Human Populations Core
Anne Cabell, MPH Administrative Director 1700 MLK Jr Blvd, Suite 100 CB# 7294 Chapel Hill, NC 27599 (919) 843-7830 acabell@email.unc.edu
  • Administrative Director, Human Assessment and Intervention: CHAI Core
Traci Davis, MS Research Specialist Michael Hooker Research Center #2204 CB# 7461 Chapel Hill, NC 27599 (919) 843-5145 tracid@email.unc.edu
  • Core Manager, Animal Metabolism Phenotyping Core-Chapel Hill
Kelly R. Evenson, PhD Research Professor, Epidemiology 137 East Franklin Street Suite 306, CVS Plaza CB #8050 Chapel Hill, NC 27514 (919) 966-4187 kelly_evenson@unc.edu
  • Physical Activity Research Consultant
Joseph Galanko, PhD Research Assistant Professor Medicine, Gastroenterology and Hepatolgy 4102 Bioinformatics CB# 7555 Chapel Hill, NC 27599 (919) 966-8557 joseph_galanko@med.unc.edu
  • Biostatistician, Biostatistics Program
Derek Hales, PhD Research Assistant Professor, Nutrition McGavran-Greenberg Hall CB# 7461 Chapel Hill, NC 27599 derekh@email.unc.edu
  • Physical Activity Expert, Diet and Physical Activity in Human Populations Core
Beth MacIntosh, MPH, RD, LDN Clinical Nutrition Manager UNC Healthcare Department of Nutrition and Food Services Courtyard Café 102 Mason Farm Road CB# 7777 Chapel Hill, NC 27599 (984) 974-5786 beth.macintosh@unchealth.unc.edu
  • Clinical Nutrition Manager, Metabolic & Nutrition Research Core
Susan McRitchie Program Manager, Sumner Lab 500 Laureate Way Kannapolis, NC 28081 (704) 250-5067 susan_mcritchie@unc.edu
  • Core Manager, Metabolomics and Metabolic Molecular Phenotyping Core
Steve Orena Lab Manager, Zeisel Lab 500 Laureate Way Suite 2149 Kannapolis, NC 28081 (704) 250-5041 stephen_orena@unc.edu
  • Core Manager, Metabolic Molecular Phenotyping Sub-Core-Kannapolis
Qing Shi, MS Research Technician 2215 Michael Hooker Research Center CB# 7461 Chapel Hill, NC 27599 (919) 966-7162 qing_shi@unc.edu
  • Core Manager, Metabolic Molecular Phenotyping Sub-Core-Chapel Hill
Mirek Styblo, PhD Professor, Nutrition Adjunct Associate Professor, Environmental Sciences and Engineering 2302 Michael Hooker Research Center CB# 7461 Chapel Hill, NC 27599 (919) 966-5721 styblo@med.unc.edu
  • Director, Atomic Absorption Spectrometry Lab
Jomari Torres, MD Research Assistant Professor, Nutrition 500 Laureate Way Suite 1338 Kannapolis, NC 28081 (704) 250-5062 jomari_torres@unc.edu
  • Medical Director, Human Research Core
Melissa VerHague, PhD Research Associate 500 Laureate Way Kannapolis, NC 28081 (704) 250-5049 verhague@email.unc.edu
  • Core Manager, Animal Metabolism Phenotyping Core-Kannapolis