TODO
UNC Nutrition Obesity Research Center (NORC)
Contact the Nutrition Obesity Research Center

Center Leadership

Dr. Steven Zeisel

Dr. Steven Zeisel

Steven Zeisel, MD, PhD
Kenan Distinguished Professor,
Nutrition and Pediatrics
2115-A Michael Hooker Research Center
CB# 7461
Chapel Hill, NC 27599
(919) 843-4731
steven_zeisel@unc.edu

  • Co-Director
  • Sub Core Co-Director, Metabolic Molecular Phenotyping – Kannapolis

Dr. Elizabeth Mayer-Davis

Dr. Elizabeth Mayer-Davis

Elizabeth Mayer-Davis, PhD
Cary C. Boshamer Distinguished Professor, Nutrition and
Medicine Chair, Nutrition
245 Rosenau Hall
CB# 7461
Chapel Hill, NC 27599
(919) 966-7218
beth_mayer-davis@unc.edu

  • Co-Director
  • Director, Enrichment Program

Dr. Melinda Beck

Dr. Melinda Beck

Melinda Beck, PhD
Associate Chair for Academics
and Professor, Nutrition
2303 Michael Hooker Research Center
CB# 7461
Chapel Hill, NC 27599
(919) 966-6809
melinda_beck@unc.edu

  • Sub Core Co-Director, Metabolic Molecular Phenotyping – Chapel Hill

Ian Carroll

Ian Carroll, PhD
Assistant Professor, Nutrition
111 Mason Farm Road
7312C MBRB Building
CB# 7032
Chapel Hill, NC 27599
(919) 843-4893
ian_carroll@med.unc.edu

  • Sub Core Co-Director, Nutritional Genomics and Microbiome Core (Microbiome)

Dr. Stephen Hursting

Dr. Stephen Hursting

Stephen D. Hursting, PhD, MPH
Professor, Nutrition
2115-B Michael Hooker Research Center
CB# 7461
Chapel Hill, NC 27599
(919) 966-7346
hursting@email.unc.edu

  • Director, Animal Metabolism Phenotyping Core-Kannapolis

Martin Kohlmeier

Martin Kohlmeier

Martin Kohlmeier, MD, PhD
Research Professor, Nutrition
500 Laureate Way
Kannapolis, NC 28081
(704) 250-5023
mkohlmeier@unc.edu

  • Sub-Core Director, Clinical and Community Assessment and Intervention: Clinical Assessment

Dr. Katie Meyer

Dr. Katie Meyer

Katie Meyer, ScD
Research Assistant Professor, Nutrition
500 Laureate Way
Kannapolis, NC 28081
(704) 250-5071
ktmeyer@email.unc.edu

  • Sub Core Co-Director, Nutritional Genomics and Microbiome Core (Microbiome)

Raza Shaikh

Raza Shaikh

S. Raza Shaikh, PhD
Associate Professor, Nutrition
2203 McGavran-Greenberg
Chapel Hill, NC 27599
(919) 843-4348
shaikhsa@email.unc.edu

  • Director, Animal Metabolism Phenotyping Core-Chapel Hill

Susan Sumner

Susan Sumner

Susan Sumner, PhD
Professor, Nutrition
500 Laureate Way, Suite 4201
Kannapolis, NC 28081
(704) 250-5066
susan_sumner@unc.edu

  • Director, Metabolomics and Metabolic Molecular Phenotyping Core

Kimberly Parker Truesdale

Kimberly Parker Truesdale

Kimberly Parker Truesdale, PhD
Research Associate Professor, Nutrition
2209 McGavran-Greenberg Hall
CB# 7461
Chapel Hill, NC 27599
(919) 966-2327
kim_truesdale@unc.edu

  • Sub-Core Director, Human Assessment and Intervention: Diet and Physical Activity in Human Populations Core

Dr. Deborah Tate

Dr. Deborah Tate

Deborah Tate, PhD
Professor, Health Behavior and Nutrition
1700 MLK Jr Blvd, Suite 100
CB# 7294
Chapel Hill, NC 27599
(919) 966-7546
dtate@unc.edu

  • Director, Human Assessment and Intervention: CHAI Core

Saroja Voruganti

Saroja Voruganti

Saroja Voruganti, PhD
Assistant Professor, Nutrition
500 Laureate Way, Suite 3150
Kannapolis, NC 28081
(704) 250-5009
saroja@unc.edu

  • Director, Nutritional Genomics and Microbiome Core (Nutrigenetics)

OTHER CENTER PERSONNEL

Jody Albright
Research Technician, Bennett Lab
500 Laureate Way, Suite 2303
Kannapolis, NC 28081
(704) 250-5049
jodyalb@email.unc.edu

  • Core Manager, Animal Metabolism Phenotyping Core-Kannapolis

Tondra Blevins
Research Technician
500 Laureate Way
Kannapolis, NC 28081
(704) 250-5035
tondra_blevins@unc.edu

  • Research Technician

Joy Cox Black
Core Manager
2219 McGavran-Greenberg Hall
CB# 7461
Chapel Hill, NC 27599
(919) 966-7237
coxcj@email.unc.edu

  • Core Manager, Human Assessment and Intervention: Diet and Physical Activity in Human Populations Core

Anne Cabell

Anne Cabell

Anne Cabell, MPH
Administrative Director
1700 MLK Jr Blvd, Suite 100
CB# 7294
Chapel Hill, NC 27599
(919) 843-7830
acabell@email.unc.edu

  • Administrative Director, Human Assessment and Intervention: CHAI Core

Traci Davis, MS
Research Specialist
Michael Hooker Research
Center #2204
CB# 7461
Chapel Hill, NC 27599
(919) 843-5145
tracid@email.unc.edu

  • Core Manager, Animal Metabolism Phenotyping Core-Chapel Hill

Dr. Kelly Evenson

Dr. Kelly Evenson

Kelly R. Evenson, PhD
Research Professor, Epidemiology
137 East Franklin Street
Suite 306, CVS Plaza
CB #8050
Chapel Hill, NC 27514
(919) 966-4187
kelly_evenson@unc.edu

  • Physical Activity Research Consultant

Derek Hales

Derek Hales

Derek Hales, PhD
Research Assistant Professor, Nutrition
McGavran-Greenberg Hall
CB# 7461
Chapel Hill, NC 27599
(919) 966-6089
derekh@email.unc.edu

  • Physical Activity Expert, Diet and Physical Activity in Human Populations Core

Jaina Hattabaugh, MPH
Clinical Studies Coordinator –
Human Research Core
500 Laureate Way
Kannapolis, NC 28081
(704) 250-5075
jania_hattabaugh@unc.edu


Sunil Hwang
Lab Manager, Zeisel Lab
500 Laureate Way, Suite 2149
Kannapolis, NC 28081
(704) 250-5041
sunil_hwang@unc.edu

  • Core Manager, Metabolic Molecular Phenotyping Sub-Core-Kannapolis

Beth MacIntosh, MPH, RD, LDN
Clinical Nutrition Manager
UNC Healthcare Department of Nutrition and Food Services
Courtyard Café
102 Mason Farm Road
CB# 7777
Chapel Hill, NC 27599
(984) 974-5786
beth.macintosh@unchealth.unc.edu

  • Clinical Nutrition Manager, Metabolic & Nutrition Research Core

Susan McRitchie
Program Manager, Sumner Lab
500 Laureate Way
Kannapolis, NC 28081
(704) 250-5067
susan_mcritchie@unc.edu

  • Core Manager, Metabolomics and Metabolic Molecular Phenotyping Core

Qing Shi, MS
Research Technician
2215 Michael Hooker Research Center
CB# 7461
Chapel Hill, NC 27599
(919) 966-7162
qing_shi@unc.edu

  • Core Manager, Metabolic Molecular Phenotyping Sub-Core-Chapel Hill

Mirek Styblo, PhD
Professor, Department of Nutrition

Mirek Styblo, PhD
Professor, Nutrition
Adjunct Associate Professor, Environmental Sciences and Engineering
2302 Michael Hooker Research Center
CB# 7461
Chapel Hill, NC 27599
(919) 966-5721
styblo@med.unc.edu

  • Director, Atomic Absorption Spectrometry Lab

Melissa VerHague, PhD
Research Associate
500 Laureate Way
Kannapolis, NC 28081
(704) 250-5049
verhague@email.unc.edu

  • Core Manager, Animal Metabolism Phenotyping Core-Kannapolis

Recent News