We provide technical assistance to public health and health care partners to improve the health of communities in North Carolina and beyond.
We have expertise in a wide range of areas:

Population Health Improvement

Community Health Assessment and
Improvement Planning

Communications and Messaging

Data Collection, Analysis and Interpretation

GIS Mapping “Social Determinants of Health” Leadership/Management Development
We focus our work on not only collecting, analyzing and visualizing, but doing so in a way that creates impact and improves decision making. We often work with state and local health departments, nonprofits and hospital and healthcare systems.

Team Members

Amy Belflower Thomas Amy Belflower Thomas, MHA, MSPH, CPH
Director, Community Assessment and Strategy
(919) 843-3973
amy.b.thomas@unc.edu
Margaret Benson Nemitz Margaret F. Benson Nemitz, MPH
Community Assessment Coordinator
margaret.nemitz@unc.edu
Joe Dawson, MA
Digital Communications Specialist
joedawson@unc.edu
Julia Kimmel, MPH
Project Assistant
jmkimmel@email.unc.edu
Erin Magee Erin Magee, MSW, MPH
Community Assessment Coordinator
emagee@email.unc.edu
Lori Rhew, MA
Training and Accreditation Coordinator
(919) 843-0836
Lori.Rhew@unc.edu
Matt Simon Matthew C. Simon, MA, GISP
Senior Data and GIS Analyst
(919) 966-0925
mattsimon@unc.edu
Alison Singer
Data Assessment Advisor and Analyst
alison_singer@unc.edu
Elizabeth Thomas, MPH
Community Engagement Coordinator
(919) 843-0837
esthomas@unc.edu
Dr. John Wallace John Wallace, PhD
Senior Data Advisor
(919) 962-8870
john.wallace@unc.edu
NCIPH’s consultation programs reflect our organizational values as well as those of the Gillings School. Diversity, inclusiveness and civility are core values and characteristics of the School.