We provide technical assistance to public health and health care partners to improve the health of communities in North Carolina and beyond.
We have expertise in a wide range of areas:
  • Population Health Improvement
  • Community Health Assessment and
    Improvement Planning
  • Communications and Messaging
  • Data Collection, Analysis and Interpretation
  • GIS Mapping
  • “Social Determinants of Health”
  • Leadership/Management Development
We focus our work on not only collecting, analyzing and visualizing, but doing so in a way that creates impact and improves decision making. We often work with state and local health departments, nonprofits and hospital and healthcare systems.

Team Members

Amy Belflower ThomasAmy Belflower Thomas, MHA, MSPH, CPH
Director, Community Assessment and Strategy
(919) 843-3973
amy.b.thomas@unc.edu


Margaret Benson Nemitz
Margaret F. Benson Nemitz, MPH
Strategic Approaches Coordinator
margaret.nemitz@unc.edu


Rose Byrnes, MSW, MSPH
Qualitative Assessment Coordinator
rose.byrnes@unc.edu



Joe Dawson, MA
Digital Communications Specialist
joedawson@unc.edu


Adrienne Hall
Data and Spatial Analyst
adriennh@live.unc.edu


Destiny James, MPH
Community Engagement Coordinator
Dpj11@live.unc.edu


Emily McGee, MPH
Community Assessment Project Associate
emily.mcgee@unc.edu


Emily McGee, MPH
Community Assessment Project Associate
emily.mcgee@unc.edu


Lauren Schauer

Lauren Schauer, MPH
Community Assessment Coordinator
lschauer@email.unc.edu


Dr. Alison SingerAlison Singer, PhD
Data Assessment Advisor and Analyst
alison_singer@unc.edu


Dr. John WallaceJohn Wallace, PhD
Senior Data Advisor
(919) 962-8870
john.wallace@unc.edu


NCIPH’s consultation programs reflect our organizational values as well as those of the Gillings School. Diversity, inclusiveness and civility are core values and characteristics of the School.