Our department’s faculty and staff are seasoned veterans in maternal and child health practice and scholarship. Many have worked within or in close consultation with the major domestic and global maternal and child health public health agencies – the State Health Department/Title V Program, The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, The U.S. Agency for International Development, The United Nations Children’s Fund, and the World Health Organization. They have also led the maternal and child health field in teaching, continuing to introduce curricular innovations to ensure that our students obtain the knowledge and skills necessary to become effective leaders in the field.

Currently, the department has 31 faculty members, 20 of whom have primary appointments in Maternal and Child Health (MCH). Complementing these faculty are four emeritus members, and more than 65 adjunct faculty, many of whom hold leadership positions in MCH research and practice settings. Given the interdisciplinary nature of our department, faculty and staff research interests and activities span the full array of issues and areas of focus for the maternal and child health population. Our initiatives are designed to create new knowledge and directly improve the health of this population. World-class faculty have been carefully recruited with these goals in mind.don

Our skilled and dedicated staff members support our faculty, students and alumni, ensuring that our teaching and research programs run smoothly and effectively. Together, faculty and staff help our department stay responsive to the changing needs of MCH students, alumni and the practice community.

Faculty

Gustavo Angeles, PhDAssociate Professorgustavo_angeles@unc.edu
Anna Austin, PhDAssistant Professoranna.austin@unc.edu
Janine Barden-O'Fallon, PhDAssistant Professorbardenof@email.unc.edu
Pierre Barker, MDProfessorpierre_barker@med.unc.edu
Dorothy Cilenti, DrPHAssociate Professorcilenti@email.unc.edu
Sian Curtis, PhDAssociate Professorscurtis@email.unc.edu
Julie L. Daniels, PhDProfessorjulie_daniels@unc.edu
Claudia S. Plaisted Fernandez, DrPHAssociate Professorclaudia_fernandez@unc.edu
W. Oscar Fleming, DrPHAssistant Professoroscar.fleming@unc.edu
Shoshana K. Goldberg, PhDAssistant Professorskgold@email.unc.edu
Sherri Green, PhD, MSW, LCSWAssociate Professorsgreen@email.unc.edu
Dana Hagele, MD, MPHAssistant Professordana_hagele@med.unc.edu
Carolyn T. Halpern, PhDProfessor and Chaircarolyn_halpern@unc.edu
Jon M. Hussey, PhDAssistant Professorjon_hussey@unc.edu
Thomas Ivester, MDAssociate Professorthomas.ivester@unchealth.unc.edu
Sandra L. Martin, PhDProfessor, Associate Chair for Research, and Director of Graduate Studiessandra_martin@unc.edu
Kavita Singh Ongechi, PhDAssociate Professorkavita_singh@unc.edu
Aunchalee Palmquist, PhD, MA, IBCLCAssistant Professorapalmquist@unc.edu
Angela Parcesepe, PhDAssistant Professorangela_parcesepe@unc.edu
Herbert Peterson, MDWilliam R. Kenan, Jr. Professorherbert_peterson@unc.edu
Rohit Ramaswamy, PhDProfessorramaswam@email.unc.edu
Tamar Ringel-Kulka, MDAssistant Professorringelta@email.unc.edu
Meghan Shanahan, PhDAssistant Professorshanahan@unc.edu
Ilene Speizer, PhDProfessorilene_speizer@unc.edu
Alison Stuebe, MDProfessorastuebe@med.unc.edu
Catherine Sullivan, MPH, RDN, LDN, IBCLE, RLC, FANDAssistant Professorcatherine_sullivan@unc.edu
John Thorp, Jr., MDProfessorjohn_thorp@med.unc.edu
Christine Tucker, PhDAssistant Professorcmtucker@live.unc.edu
Katherine (Kat) Tumlinson, PhDAssistant Professorktumlin@email.unc.edu
Bharathi Jayanthi Zvara, PhDAssistant Professorzvara@email.unc.edu

Emeritus Faculty

Trude Bennett, DrPHProfessor Emeritustrude_bennett@unc.edu
Anita M. Farel, DrPHProfessor Emeritusanita_farel@unc.edu
Jonathan B. Kotch, MDProfessor Emeritusjonathan_kotch@unc.edu
Miriam H. Labbok, MD, MPH (deceased)Professor Emerituslabbok@unc.edu
Lewis Margolis, MD, MPHProfessor Emerituslew_margolis@unc.edu
Diane Louise Rowley, MDProfessor Emeritusdrowley@email.unc.edu

Adjunct Faculty

Kathryn Andersen, PhDAdjunct Assistant Professorkathrynandersen7@gmail.com
Bruce A. Barron, MD, MPHAdjunct Professorbabarronmd@aol.com
Joy Noel Baumgartner, PhD, MSSWAdjunct Associate Professorjoy.baumgartner@unc.edu
José Belizan, MD, PhDAdjunct Professorbelizanj@gmail.com
Janie Benson, MPH, DrPHAdjunct Professorbensonjanie@gmail.com
Pouru Bhiwandi, MSPHAdjunct Professorbhiwandi@bellsouth.net
Paul BiemerAdjunct Professorppb@rti.org
Deborah Billings, PhDAdjunct Associate ProfessorDBillings08@gmail.com
Shelah Bloom, ScDAdjunct Associate Professorssbloom@email.unc.edu
Courtney Bonner, PhDAdjunct Assistant Professorcpbonner@rti.or
Dalia Brahmi, MD, MPHAdjunct Associate Professordaliabrahmi@gmail.com / brahmi@email.unc.edu
Dorothy C. Browne, DrPHAdjunct Professordbrowne@email.unc.edu
Amy Bryant, MD, MSCRAdjunct Associate Professoramy_bryant@med.unc.edu
Holly McClain Burke, PhD, MPHAdjunct Associate Professorhburke@fhi360.org
Martha Carlough, MD, MPHAdjunct Professor Professormartha_carlough@med.unc.edu
Cecilia Casanueva, PhDAdjunct Assistant Professorcasanuev@email.unc.edu ccasanueva@rti.org
Cynthia Cassell, PhDAdjunct Assistant Professorchcassell@gmail.com
Caroline Doherty, MPH, MSWAdjunct Assistant Professorcarob@mindspring.com
Abigail English, JDAdjunct Associate Professorenglish@cahl.org
Renee FerrariAdjunct Assistant Professorrferrari@unc.edu
Alfredo Fort, PhDAdjunct Associate Professoralfredoluisfort@gmail.com
Jean Christophe Fotso, PhDAdjunct Associate Professorjcfotso@evihdaf.com
Phillip Graham, DrPHAdjunct Professorpgraham@rti.org
Melissa Green, MPHAdjunct Assistant Professormagreen@email.unc.edu
Rebecca Greenleaf, MPHSocial/Clinical Research Specialistrebecca_greenleaf@unc.edu
Joumana Haidar, MBAAdjunct Assistant Professorjoumana_haidar@unc.edu
Elaine Hart-BrothersAdjunct Associate Professorehartbrothers@gmail.com
Marcia E. Herman-Giddens, DrPHAdjunct Professormherman-giddens@unc.edu meherman.go@gmail.com
Vijaya Hogan, DrPHAdjunct Professorvhogan@email.unc.edu
Roy Jacobstein, MD, MPHAdjunct Professoracobste@email.unc.edu, rjacobstein@intrahelath.org
Dilshad Jaff, MD, MPHAdjunct Associate Professorjdilshad@email.unc.edu
Marian Johnson-Thompson, PhDAdjunct Professormarian.johnsonthompson@gmail.com
Michael KafrissenAdjunct Professormkafriss@mit.edu
Nicole Kahn, PhDAdjunct Assistant Professornkahn@live.unc.edu
Nathalie Kapp, MD, MPHAdjunct Associate Professornathaliek@gmail.com
Jack Leiss, PhDAdjunct Associate Professorjackleiss@outlook.com
Baker MaggwaAdjunct Professormaggwa@email.unc.edu, bmaggwa2@gmail.com
Gerri Mattson, MD, MSPH, FAAPAdjunct Associate Professorgerri.mattson@dhhs.nc.gov
Donna McCarrherAdjunct Associate Professordmccarraher@fhi360.org
Elizabeth M. McClure, PhDAdjunct Associate Professorbmcclure@email.unc.edu
Kara S. McGee, MSPHAdjunct Assistant Professorkara.mcgee@duke.edu
Cathy L. Melvin, PhD, MPHAdjunct Associate Professormelvinc@musc.edu
Amy Mullenix, MSPH, MSWAdjunct Instructoramy_mullenix@unc.edu
Robert MurphyAdjunct Associate Professorrobert.murphy@duke.edu
Priya Nanda, PhDAdjunct Assistant Professorpnanda@icrw.org
Sandra F. Naoom, PhDAdjunct Assistant Professorsandra.naoom@unc.edu
Constance J. Newman, MPH, MSWAdjunct Assistant Professorcnewman@intrahealth.org
Logan NickelsAdjunct Assistant Professorlogan@malecontraceptive.org
Krista Perreira, PhDAdjunct Professorperreira@email.unc.edu
McLean Pollock, PhD, MSW, LCSWAdjunct Assistant Professormcleanpollock@gmail.com
Rodolfo Ponce de Léon, MD, MSPH, PhDAdjunct Professorgomezr@paho.org
Doris J. Rouse, PhDAdjunct Professorrouse@rti.org
Catherine SanfordAdjunct Assistant Professorkay.sanford@gmail.com
Lucille Siegel, MPHAdjunct Associate Professorlpsiegel28@gmail.com
Paige Hall Smith, PhDAdjunct Associate Professorphsmith@uncg.edu
David Sokal, MDAdjunct Associate Professordavid@malecontraceptive.org
John StanbackAdjunct Associate ProfessorJStanback@fhi360.org
Joseph Telfair, DrPHAdjunct Professorjtelfair@georgiasouthern.edu
Elizabeth Tolley, PhDAdjunct Associate Professorbtolley@fhi360.org
Nana A. Y. Twum-Danso, MD, MPHAdjunct Assistant Professorntwumdanso@mazatransport.org
Sarah Verbiest, DrPHAdjunct Assistant Professorsarahv@med.unc.edu
Yudan Chen Wang, PhDAdjunct Associate Professorwang@hsrc.unc.edu
Stephanie Watson-Grant, DrPHAdjunct Assistant Professorwatsongr@email.unc.edu
Wendee Wechsberg, PhDAdjunct Professorwmw@rti.org
Andra Wilkinson, PhDAdjunct Assistant Professorandra.wilkinson@gmail.com
Nancy Williamson, PhDAdjunct Associate Professornancywil@email.unc.edu
Jennifer Yourkavitch, PhDAdjunct Assistant Professoryourkavi@live.unc.edu
Adam Zolotor, MD, DrPHAdjunct Professorajzolo@med.unc.edu

Staff

Chloe AndersonAccounting Technicianchloe.anderson@unc.edu
Rachel R. Berthiaume, MPHDeputy Director of Distance Educationrberthia@email.unc.edu
Jennifer Cole, MPH, MSWDirector of Career Developmentjmcole@email.unc.edu
Kathy Donnald, MSDeputy Director of Intensive Educationkdonnald@unc.edu
Laura EndersBusiness Managerlaura_enders@unc.edu
Tara FitchAccounting Managertkwebste@unc.edu
Allison George, MPHCurriculum Development Specialistgeorgea@email.unc.edu
Quetta LongAccounting Technicianquetta_long@unc.edu
Abigail Smetana, MSN, BSN, IBCLCTraining Program and Accreditation Managerabigail_smetana@unc.edu
Julie Theriault, MAAssistant to the Chairjther@email.unc.edu
Heather Wire, MEdInstructional Design Specialistheather4@email.unc.edu

Research Staff

Michelle Abel-ShoupProgram Managermichelle.shoup@unc.edu
Monisa Aijaz, MD, MPHPostdoctoral Research Associatemonisa_aijaz@unc.edu
Iyana AlewineProgram Manageriyana.alewine@unc.edu
Dorothea Calhoun-SmithBusiness Services Coordinatordorothea_calhoun@unc.edu
Karla Cooper, RN, BSN, NCSN, CCHC-CRegional Child Care Nurse Consultant / Child Care Health Consultant Coachkarla_cooper@unc.edu
William Davis, MASocial/Clinical Research Specialistwishda@email.unc.edu
Hiba Fatima, MSEvaluation Coordinatorhiba1@email.unc.edu
Vickie Fennell, MSInformation and Training SpecialistVickie_Fennell@unc.edu
Rebecca Greenleaf, MPHSocial/Clinical Research Specialistrebecca_greenleaf@unc.edu
Steven Gunn, MPATraining Specialiststeven_gunn@unc.edu
Daina C. Huntley, MPH, CHESSocial Clinical Research Specialistdchuntley@unc.edu
Dawn C. LambInfant Toddler Child Care Health Consultantdawn_lamb@unc.edu
Timberly LeakeProgram Support Coordinatorteleake@unc.edu
Tekleab Mekbib, MD, PhD, MPHPostdoctoral Research Associatemekbib@live.unc.edu
Amy Mullenix, MSPH, MSWSenior Collaboration Manageramy_mullenix@unc.edu
Kathy Parry, MPH, IBCLC, LMBTProject Directorkathyparry@unc.edu
Lindsey Pertet, BSChild Care Health Consultant and Training Coordinatorlindsey_pertet@unc.edu
Beth Porreco, BSNSocial/Clinical Research Specialistbeth_porreco@unc.edu
Stacy RosserSocial/Clinical Research Specialiststacy_rosser@unc.edu
Lisa Shifflett, RN, CCHC-CClinical Research Specialistlisa_shifflett@unc.edu
Jacqueline Simmons, MScPHProject Directorjdsimmons@unc.edu
Theresa Vinson Stenersen, RN, BSN, CCHC-CNurse Consultanttheresa_stenersen@unc.edu
Linda Tawfik, MSc, PhDResearch Associatelindat@email.unc.edu
Alice WertheimerProject Coordinatoralicew@unc.edu
Alexis Woods Barr, PhDPostdoctoral Research Associatealexiswoods@usf.edu

Save