Our department’s faculty and staff are seasoned veterans in MCH practice and scholarship. Many have worked within or in close consultation with the major domestic and global MCH public health agencies – the State Health Department/Title V Program, The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, The U.S. Agency for International Development, The United Nations Children’s Fund, and the World Health Organization. They have also led the MCH field in teaching, continuing to introduce curricular innovations to ensure that our students obtain the knowledge and skills necessary to become effective leaders in the field.

Currently the department has 30 faculty members, 19 of whom have primary appointments in MCH. Complementing these faculty are four emeritus members, and more than 65 adjunct faculty, many of whom hold leadership positions in MCH research and practice settings. Given the interdisciplinary nature of our department, faculty and staff research interests and activities span the full array of issues and areas of focus for the maternal and child health population. Our initiatives are designed to create new knowledge and directly improve the health of this population. World class faculty have been carefully recruited with these goals in mind.

Our skilled and dedicated staff members support our faculty, students and alumni, ensuring that our teaching and research programs run smoothly and effectively. Together, faculty and staff help our department stay responsive to the changing needs of MCH students, alumni and the practice community.

Faculty Profiles
Adjunct Faculty Profiles
Staff Profiles
Research Staff Profiles
Gustavo Angeles Assistant Professor gustavo_angeles@unc.edu
Pierre Barker Clinical Professor pierre_barker@med.unc.edu
Janine Barden-O’Fallon Clinical Assistant Professor bardenof@email.unc.edu
Dorothy Cilenti Associate Professor cilenti@email.unc.edu
Sian Curtis Associate Professor scurtis@email.unc.edu
Julie Daniels Professor julie_daniels@unc.edu
Claudia S.P. Fernandez Associate Professor claudia_fernandez@unc.edu
Dean Fixsen Research Professor dean.fixsen@unc.edu
Sherri Green Research Associate Professor sgreen@email.unc.edu
Shoshana Goldberg Research Assistant Professor skgold@email.unc.edu
Dana Hagele Assistant Professor dana_hagele@med.unc.edu
Carolyn Halpern Professor and Chair carolyn_halpern@unc.edu
Jon Hussey Research Assistant Professor jon_hussey@unc.edu
Thomas Ivester Clinical Associate Professor tivester@med.unc.edu
Lewis Margolis Associate Professor lew_margolis@unc.edu
Sandra L Martin Professor sandra_martin@unc.edu
Kavita Singh Ongechi Associate Professor singhk@email.unc.edu
Aunchalee Palmquist Assistant Professor apalmquist@unc.edu
Angela Parcesepe Assistant Professor angela_parcesepe@unc.edu
Herbert Peterson Kenan Distinguished Professor herbert_peterson@unc.edu
Tamar Ringel-Kulka Assistant Professor ringelta@email.unc.edu 
Rohit Ramaswamy  Professor ramaswam@email.unc.edu
Meghan Shanahan Research Assistant Professor shanahan@unc.edu
Ilene Speizer Research Professor speizer@email.unc.edu
Alison Stuebe Associate Professor astuebe@med.unc.edu
Catherine Sullivan Assistant Professor catherine_sullivan@unc.edu
John Thorp, Jr Professor john_thorp@med.unc.edu
Christine Tucker Assistant Professor cmtucker@live.unc.edu
Kat Tumlinson Assistant Professor ktumlin@email.unc.edu
Bharathi J. Zvara Assistant Professor zvara@email.unc.edu


Emeritus Faculty

Trude Bennett Emeritus Associate Professor trude_bennett@unc.edu
Anita M Farel Emeritus Clinical Professor anita_farel@unc.edu
Jonathan B Kotch Emeritus Professor jonathan_kotch@unc.edu
Miriam H Labbok (deceased) Emeritus Professor of the Practice of Public Health labbok@unc.edu
Diane Rowley Emeritus Professor of the Practice of Public Health drowley@email.unc.edu
Kathryn Clark Andersen Lecturer kathrynandersen7@gmail.com
Joy Baumgartner Adjunct Assistant Professor joy.baumgartner@duke.edu
Jose Belizan Adjunct Professor belizanj@gmail.com
Mary Benson Adjunct Associate Professor bensonj@ipas.org
Pouru Bhiwandi Adjunct Professor bhwandi@bellsouth.net
Deborah Billings Adjunct Associate Professor DBillings08@gmail.com
Shelah Bloom Adjunct Associate Professor ssbloom@email.unc.ued
Dalia Brahmi Adjunct Assistant Professor daliabrahmi@gmail.com 
Colleen Bridger Adjunct Assistant Professor colleen.bridger@sanantonio.gov
Dorothy C Browne Adjunct Professor dorothy.browne@icloud.com
Amy Bryant Adjunct Assistant Professor amy_bryant@med.unc.edu
Holly McClain Burke Adjunct Associate Professor hburke@fhi360.org
Martha Christine Carlough Adjunct Associate Professor martha_carlough@med.unc.edu
Cecilia Casanueva Adjunct Assistant Professor casanuev@email.unc.edu
Cynthia Cassell Adjunct Associate Professor chcassell@gmail.com
Kerith Conron Adjunct Associate Professor  conron@law.ucla.edu
Caroline Doherty Adjunct Assistant Professor carob@mindspring.com
Sandra Echeverria Adjunct Assistant Professor sandraee2@gmail.com
Alfredo Fort Adjunct Associate Professor alfredoluisfort@gmail.com
Robert Foss Adjunct Professor rob.foss@unc.edu
Jean Christophe Fotso Adjunct Assistant Professor jean-christophe.fotso@concern.net
Deborah Gibbs Adjunct Assistant Professor dag@rti.org
Phillip Graham Adjunct Associate Professor pgraham@rti.org
Rebecca Greenleaf Adjunct Instructor rebecca_greenleaf@unc.edu
Joumana Haidar Adjunct Assistant Professor joumana_haidar@unc.edu
Elaine Hart-Brothers Adjunct Assistant Professor ehartbrothers@gmail.com
Marcia Herman-Giddens Adjunct Professor meherman.go@gmail.com
Linda Ippolito Adjunct Assistant Professor linda123i@aol.com
Roy Jacobstein Adjunct Professor rjacobstein@intrahealth.org
Dilshad Jaff Adjunct Assistant Professor jdilshad@email.unc.edu
Marian Johnson-Thompson Adjunct Professor marian.johnsonthompson@gmail.com
Heidi Johnston Adjunct Assistant Professor heidibartjohnston@gmail.com
Michael Kafrissen Adjunct Professor mkafriss@mit.edu
Nicole Kahn Adjunct Assistant Professor nkahn@live.unc.edu
Nathalie Kapp Adjunct Associate Professor nathaliek@gmail.com
Eileen Kugler Adjunct Assistant Professor ekugler@ncrr.com
Anuradha Kumar Adjunct Assistant Professor kumara@ipas.org
Jack Leiss Adjunct Associate Professor leisscp@email.unc.edu
Baker Maggwa Adjunct Professor bmaggwa@fhi360.org
Gerri Mattson Adjunct Assistant Professor gerri.mattson@dhhs.nc.gov
Elizabeth McClure Adjunct Assistant Professor mcclure@rti.org
Kara McGee Adjunct Assistant Professor kara.mcgee@duke.edu
Cathy Melvin Adjunct Associate Professor melvinc@musc.edu
Robert Meyer Adjunct Professor bmeyer@email.unc.edu
Stephen Mills Adjunct Assistant Professor smills@fhi360.org
Amy Mullenix Adjunct Instructor mullenix@email.unc.edu
Robert Murphy Adjunct Associate Professor robert.murphy@duke.edu
Savithri Nageswaran Adjunct Assistant Professor snageswa@wakehealth.edu
Priya Nanda Adjunct Assistant Professor pnanda@icrw.org
Sandra Naoom Adjunct Assistant Professor sandra.naoom@unc.edu
Constance Newman Adjunct Assistant Professor cnewman@intrahealth.org
Sachiko Ozawa Adjunct Associate Professor ozawa@unc.edu
McLean Pollock Kram Adjunct Assistant Professor mcleandpollock@gmail.com
Heidi Reynolds Adjunct Assistant Professor heidi_reynolds@unc.edu
Catherine Rohweder Adjunct Assistant Professor rohweder@email.unc.edu
Doris Rouse Adjunct Professor rouse@rti.orgdoris@email.unc.edu
Catherine Sanford Adjunct Assistant Professor kay.sanford@gmail.com
Lucille Siegel Adjunct Associate Professor lpsiegel28@gmail.com
Paige Smith Adjunct Associate Professor phsmith@ungc.edu
David Sokal Adjunct Associate Professor david@malecontraceptive.org
John Stanback Adjunct Associate Professor JStanback@fhi360.org
Joseph Telfair Adjunct Professor Jtelfair@georgiasouthern.edu
Elizabeth Tolley Adjunct Associate Professor BTolley@fhi360.org
Nana Amma Twum-Danso Adjunct Assistant Professor ntwumdan@mazatransport.org
Sarah Verbiest Adjunct Assistant Professor sarah_verbiest@med.unc.edu
Yudan Wang Adjunct Assistant Professor wang@hsrc.unc.edu
Andra Wilkinson Adjunct Assistant Professor andra.wilkinson@gmail.com
Nancy E Williamson Adjunct Associate Professor nwilliamson@msn.com
Jennifer Yourkavitch Adjunct Assistant Professor yourkavi@live.unc.edu
Adam Zolotor Adjunct Associate Professor adam_zolotor@med.unc.edu
Carrie Aldrich Student Services Manager carrie_aldrich@unc.edu
Jennifer Cole Director of Career Development jmcole@email.unc.edu
Tara Fitch Accounting Technician tkwebst@unc.edu
Quetta Long Accounting Technician quetta_long@unc.edu
Charlene Phillips Accounting Technician-Temporary charlene_phillips@unc.edu
Gail Plaisance Program Assistant-Temporary plaisanc@email.unc.edu
Lisa Perry Business Manager lisaperry@unc.edu
Julie Theriault Assistant to Department Chair jther@email.unc.edu
Emily Wiginton Public Communications Specialist  emwigint@unc.edu
Michelle Abel-Shoup Program Manager michelle.shoup@unc.edu
Alexsandra Monge Social/Clinical Research Specialist alexapo@email.unc.edu
Rachel Berthiaume Research Associate rberthia@email.unc.edu
Dorothea Calhoun-Smith Business Services Coordinator dorothea_calhoun@unc.edu
Mary Cleary Training Specialist clearym@unc.edu
William Davis Social/Clinical Research Specialist wishda@email.unc.edu
Kathy Donnald Research Associate kdonnald@unc.edu
Rebecca Lynn Greenleaf Social/Clinical Research Specialist rebecca_greenleaf@unc.edu
Daina Huntley Director-Community Breastfeeding dchuntley@unc.edu
Tekleab Mekbib Postdoctal Research Associate mekbib@live.unc.edu
Danielle Kelly Program Assistant daniellekelly@unc.edu
Amy Mullenix Collaboration Manager amy_mullenix@unc.edu
Kathy Parry Program Director kathyparry@unc.edu
Rhonda Rambeaut Child Care Health Consultant rhonda_rambeaut@unc.edu
Jeannie Marie Reardon Social/Clinical Research Specialist jreardon@email.unc.edu
Lisa Shifflet Clinical Research Specialist lisa_shifflet@unc.edu
Jacqueline Simmons Program Coordinator jdsimmons@unc.edu
Theresa Vinson Stenersen Clinical Research Specialist theresa_stenersen@unc.edu
Kristin Tully Research Associate Kristin.Tully@unc.edu
Diana Urlaub Research Associate diana_urlaub@unc.edu
Alice M Wertheimer Project Coordinator alicew@unc.edu
Emily Wiginton Public Communications Specialist emwigint@email.unc.edu

Save

Recent News