Maternal and Child Health 2015 Family Reunion

Carolina Global Breastfeeding Institute award recipient, Katie Houk, speaking with supporters, Douglas Tully and Anna Marie Tully, and fellow student Ellen Chetwynd.
Program highlights included the following MCH awards:

  • Sidney S. Chipman Alumni Award: Anisha Patel, MD, MSPH, MSHS (MCH ’01)
  • Earl and Gladys Siegel Student Support Fund in MCH: Lavanya Gupta, Tracey Zola
  • John and Sallie Shuping Russell Scholarship in Global Health:  Fadumo Abdi
  • Katherine Ann Wildman Memorial Scholarship: Amanda Howell, Katie Starr
  • Carolina Global Breastfeeding Institute Scholarship: Katie Houk
  • Edem Effiong Memorial Scholarship for Student Travel: Jean Lambert Chalachala
  • Cynthia H. Cassell Doctoral Dissertation Award in MCH: Sara Gonzales-Hahm, Chinelo Okigbo
  • Global Health Internship Fund: Nicole Carbone, Manju Kunwar
  • Jimmie Lee Rhyne Scholarship: Rachel Gillman, Ashely Cobb
  • Sarah Taylor Morrow Scholarship in MCH: Christina Chauvenet
  • Melinda Kellner Brock Scholarship in MCH: Camila Salvo-Lewis

Delta Omega:

  • Student Inductees: Eva Fernandez, Rachel Gillam, Aydeji Sanusi, Lindsay Breithaupt, Elizabeth Stevens
  • Alumni Inductee:  Christine Tucker
  • Academic Excellence Award:  Bavya Reddy
  • Service Award:  Jennifer Schroeder

Maternal and Child Health Leadership Fellows: Alice Drozdiak, Kate Fahje, Rachel Gillman, Sara Harwood, Brianne Kallam, Jaimie Lea, Erin Magee, Katrin Patterson, Melanie Sadur

MCH Bureau Leadership Traineeship: Christina Chauvenet, Ashley Cobb, Nicole Kahn, Joanna Percher, Camilia Salvo-Lewis

MCH Bureau Epidemiology Health Disparities Traineeship: Kristin Black

Kristin Black receives UNC Robert E. Bryan Public Service Award.

Kristin Black receives UNC Robert E. Bryan Public Service Award.

Graduate School Awards

  • Annual Fund Scholars: Fadumo Abdi
  • Class of 2014 Annual Scholarship: Kathryn Mitchell, Phoebe Westcott
  • Jamie Kimble Scholarship of Courage: Katie Dight
  • Jean T. Lassiter Scholarship: Katherine Schultz
  • Robert Verhalen Scholarship: Rachel Gillman
  • Robert E. Bryan Public Service Award: Kristin Black

Leadership Recognition

  • SPH Student Government MCH Representative: Rebecca Bartlett, Anna Falkovich
  • SPH Minority Student Caucus Co-President: Bianka Reese
  • SPH Minority Student Caucus Triad Chair: Yanica Faustin
  • SPH Student Global Health Committee Co-Chair: Dalshad Mohammed

North Carolina and Regional Awards

  • Carolina Population Center Traineeship:  Smisha Kaysin, Eunsoo (Timothy) Kim
  • Royster Fellowship: Christina Chauvenet, McLean Pollock, Kashika Sahay
  • North Carolina Excellence Fellowship: Yanica Faustin
  • Gillings Merit Award: Grace Onyebuchi, Katie Starr

National and International Awards

  • Rotary International Peace Center Award: Rebeccah Bartlett, Jean Lambert Chalachala
  • Foreign Language Area Studies: Christina Chauvenet, Sara Harwood, Joanna Percher, Gean Spektor

Staff Recognition: MCH Staff Longevity Award:  Rachel Berthiaume —5 years


Shahrad Rouhani shares her practicum plans as Wisnu Trianggono and Joanna Percher look on.

Sampling of student practicum plans:
Rebecca Bartlett: Remote Area Medical (RAM)
Nicole Carbone: Uganda Village Project
Christina Chauvenet: Research fellow, Community Foodworks; research WIC/SNAP programs
Vanessa Chetty: QI Project in UNC Hospitals Neonatal Intensive Care Unit
Ashely Cobb: Alamance County Health Department
Alice Drozdiak: Ipas
Kate Fahje: Durham’s Partnership for Children
Sara Harwood: American Cancer Society
Amanda Howell: NCDHHS, Women’s Health Branch
Erin Magee: RTI, Risk Behavior and Family Research Program
Liz Millar: Honduran Health Alliance
Joanna Percher: Paired Practica, Minnisota
Laura Ruhl: AMPATH, Kenya
Melanie Sadur: East Durham Children’s Initiative
Camila Salvo-Lewis: NC Farmworker Health Program
Paige Schildkamp: Center for Women’s Health Research
Laurel Slough: UNC Departments of Maternal and Infant Health and Obstetrics and Gynecology
Gene Spektor: ICRW, Delhi
Katie Starr: UNFPA
Sang Tang: Duke University ITP Lab
Wisnu Trianggono: Maternity Care Coalition

Gerri Mattson, MD, MSPH (MCH '04), roundtable facilitator,  displays her work interest on her shoulder.

Gerri Mattson, MD, MSPH (MCH ’04), roundtable facilitator, displays her work interest on her shoulder.



Roundtable discussions, facilitated by MCH Alumni Committee members, connected students with professionals in various government, NGOs, academic work/practica opportunities. Neon stickers served as conversation starters on a variety of topics.