Department of Health Policy and Management

Current PhD Students

Our current PhD Students
Monisa Aijaz
Student Profile

Contact Info: monisa_aijaz@unc.edu
Research Interests: Monisa Aijaz is a first-year PhD student minoring in Organization and Implementation Science. Her research interests primarily focus on breast cancer care disparities, especially access to treatment for disadvantaged populations in rural areas.
Advisor: Christopher Shea


Sarah Asad
Student Profile

Contact Info: sasad@live.unc.edu
Research Interests: Cancer patient outcomes, health disparities, qualitative methods, interprofessional collaboration, financial toxicity, implementation science
Advisor: Sarah Birken

Caitlin Biddell
Student Profile

Contact Info: cbiddell@live.unc.edu
Research Interests: Cancer Care Equity, Financial Toxicity, Health Disparities, Public Health Impacts of Mass Incarceration, Cost-Effectiveness Analysis, Big Data Methods
Advisor: Stephanie Wheeler
Alix Boisson
Student Profile

Contact Info: aboisson@unc.edu
Research Interests: Applied implementation science, low-resource settings, effective vaccine distribution, health system strengthening, evidence-based innovations, addressing health service barriers.
Advisor: Bruce Fried
Leah Fiacco
Student Profile

Contact Info:
lfiacco@live.unc.edu
Research Interests: Substance use disorders (SUD), serious mental illnesses (SMI), stigma as a barrier to treatment, collaborative health care, low-barrier treatment settings
Advisor: Marisa Domino
Hillary K. Hecht
Student Profile

Contact Info:
hkhecht@unc.edu
Research Interests: Size inclusive care, sexual orientation & gender identity and expression (SOGIE) minority access to care, accessibility in care-seeking
Advisor: Bruce Fried
Soohyun (Ariel) Hwang
Student Profile

Contact Info: soohwang@live.unc.edu
Research Interests: Implementation Science, organizational behavior, quality of cancer care, care coordination, prostate cancer, shared decision-making, health disparities, mixed methods
Dissertation Title: Multilevel determinants of guideline-adherent Active Surveillance follow-up care for low-risk prostate cancer
Dissertation Committee: Sarah A. Birken (Chair), Cleo A. Samuel, Justin G. Trogdon, Jennifer Elston Lafata, Ray Tan
Karl T. JohnsonKarl T. Johnson
Student Profile

Contact Info:
karl12@live.unc.edu
Research Interests: Community-based participatory research, system dynamics, cost-effectiveness, innovative screening programs, causal inference, food insecurity.
Advisor: Stephanie Wheeler
Karl T. JohnsonTyler Malone
Student Profile

Contact Info:
tmalone@live.unc.edu
Research Interests: Rural health; mental health; treatment and policies to address substance use disorders; patient care-seeking behavior; access to care; quantitative methods.
Advisor: Marisa Domino

Loren Oh
Student Profile

Contact Info: loren_oh@med.unc.edu
Research Interests: Vulnerable and underserved populations, health disparities and equity, chronic disease management, access and quality of care
Advisors: Justin Trogdon, Marisa Domino
Sharita R. Thomas
Student Profile

Contact Info: sharita.thomas@unc.edu
Research Interests: Leveraging population-based, sociological, and experimental models to identify and assess community-level drivers of health outcomes in order to inform and support corrective and effective policy.
Advisors: Valerie Lewis, Arrianna Planey
Austin R. Waters
Student Profile

Contact Info: awaters@unc.edu
Research Interests: Access to care, quality of care, outcomes of adolescent and young adult (AYA) and LGBTQIA+ patients and caregivers
Advisors: Erin Kent