Health Behavior Student Awards 2019

Student Awards

The Department of Health Behavior celebrate the work of nine Master’s Capstone Teams and  presented student awards on April 24, 2019, in the Joan Heckler Gillings Auditorium.

Photo: 2019 Health Behavior Student Awardees and Presenters

2019 Health Behavior Student Awardees and Presenters

Harriet Hylton Barr Memorial Scholarship

Awardee: Kelsey Dickman
Presenter: Joanna Ramirez

Lucy S. Morgan Fellowship

Awardees: Rakiah Anderson, Emily Dake and Simone Frank
Presenters: Julianna de Groot, Samantha Luu and Nastacia Pereira

Kathryn J. Kerr Memorial Scholarship

Awardee: Adams Sibley
Presenter: Leah Taraskiewicz

Dorothy Fay Dunn Scholarship

Awardee: Kevin Smith
Presenter: Chris Akiba

Godfrey M. & Lore Hochbaum Endowment Fund

Awardee: Kevin Smith
Presenter: Presented by Chris Akiba

Lansky Family Scholarship

Awardee: Courtney Turner
Presenter: Maija Leff

Delta Omega Honorary Society in Public Health

Inductees: Kelsey Dickman, Jeffrey Gilbert, Becky Payne, Rebeccah Sokol, Chelsea Swanson

Presenter: Suzanne Maman, PhD, vice chair academic affairs and professor of health behavior

Delta Omega Theta Chapter Service Award

Awardee: Juliana de Groot
Presenter: Suzanne Maman

Additional Recognitions

Amanda Kong: Royster Society of Fellows Dissertation Completion Fellowship

Sarah Treves-Kagan: Injury and Violence Prevention Fellowship

Anna Leonard: Presidential Management Fellowship

Supriya Sadagopan: PLAS Chinese-Foreign Language and Area Studies Full Scholarship for Chinese Language Acquisition

Karla Jimenez-Magdaleno: Excellence in Diversity Fellowship and 2019, CSAS and Campus Y Social Justice Photography Competition, Carolina Global Photography Award – Learning Moment Thematic Spotlight

Andrew Seidenberg: National Research Service Award

Becky Payne: Foreign Language & Area Studies (FLAS) Fellowship

Jess Bousquette: Injury and Violence Prevention Fellowship

Katelyn Jones: FHI 360-UNC Public Health Fellowship

Ida Griesemer: T32 Predoctoral Fellowship in Health Services Research

Willa Dong: Fulbright-Hays Doctoral Dissertation Research Abroad Fellowship

Casey Watters: Global Practice Award

Dirk Davis: Summer Research Fellowship and Mellon Dissertation Award

Adams Sibley: Master’s Merit Assistantship

Melissa Speener: Foreign Language & Area Studies (FLAS) Fellowship – Portugese

Caroline Efird, Dane Emmerling, Alexander Hurley, Virginia Savage Frank Porter Graham Honor Society Dirk Davis Kevin Smith: The Maizie J. Levenson Endowment Fund

Yesenia Merino: Frank Porter Graham Honor Society