Department of Health Behavior Faculty Members pose for a photo outside of Rosenau Hall.

Department of Health Behavior Faculty Members

The Department of Health Behavior has more than 30 faculty members and 60 adjunct faculty members who guide students, colleagues and communities from across the globe in scholarship, research and service. They are renowned as local and global leaders in various fields within public health.

Faculty

Clare Barrington, PhDAssociate Professor and Doctoral Program Directorcbarring@email.unc.edu
Lynn White Blanchard, PhDAssociate Professorblanchard@unc.edu
Noel Brewer, PhDProfessorntb@unc.edu
Liz Chen, PhD, MPHAssistant Professor and MPH Concentration Lead, Health Behaviorlizcchen@unc.edu
Carolyn Crump, PhDAssociate Professorcarolyn_crump@unc.edu
Geni Eng, DrPHProfessoreugenia_eng@unc.edu
Edwin B. Fisher, PhDProfessorfishere@email.unc.edu
Melissa Gilkey, PhDAssociate Professorgilkey@email.unc.edu
Vivian Go, PhDProfessorvgo@email.unc.edu
Shelley Golden, PhDAssociate Professor and Vice Chair for Academic Affairssgolden@email.unc.edu
Carol Golin, MDProfessorcarol_golin@med.unc.edu
Nisha C. Gottfredson, PhDAssistant Professorgottfredson@unc.edu
Marissa G. Hall, PhDAssistant Professormghall@unc.edu
Abigail Hatcher, PhDAssistant Professorabbeymae@email.unc.edu
Lisa Hightow-Weidman, MD, MPHProfessorlisa_hightow@med.unc.edu
Lauren M. Hill, PhDAssistant Professorhilllm@email.unc.edu
Meg Landfried, MPHAssistant Professor and MPH Practicum Directorlandfried@unc.edu
Alexandra Lightfoot, EdDAssistant Professoralexandra_lightfoot@unc.edu
Laura Linnan, ScDSenior Associate Dean for Academic and Student Affairslinnan@email.unc.edu
Leslie A. Lytle, PhDProfessorllytle@email.unc.edu
Suzanne Maman, PhDAssociate Dean for Global Health and Professormaman@email.unc.edu
Derrick Matthews, PhDAssistant Professorderrick.matthews@unc.edu
H. Luz McNaughton Reyes, PhDAssociate Professormcnaught@email.unc.edu
Sarah D. Mills, PhD, MPHAssistant Professorsarahmills@unc.edu
Beth Moracco, PhDAssociate Professormoracco@email.unc.edu
Kate Muessig, PhDAssociate Professorkmuessig@med.unc.edu
Kurt M. Ribisl, PhDJo Anne Earp Distinguished Professor and Chairkurt_ribisl@unc.edu
Barbara K. Rimer, DrPH, MPHAlumni Distinguished Professor and Deanbrimer@unc.edu
Nora Rosenberg, PhDAssistant ProfessorNora_Rosenberg@unc.edu
Samir Soneji, PhDAssociate Professorsonejis@email.unc.edu
Deborah Tate, PhDProfessordtate@unc.edu
Pamela Trangenstein, PhDAssistant Professorptrang@email.unc.edu
Tran Viet Ha, MD, MScAssistant Professorvietha@live.unc.edu

Adjunct Faculty

Mary Altpeter, PhDAdjunct Assistant Professormary_altpeter@unc.edu
Amrita Bhowmick, MPH, MBAAdjunct Assistant Professoramrita@unc.edu
Johanna Birckmayer, PhDAdjunct Professorjbirckmayer@bloomberg.org
Marcella H. Boynton, PhDAdjunct Assistant Professormarcella_boynton@med.unc.edu
Lauren Brinkley-Rubinstein, PhDAdjunct Assistant Professorlauren_brinkley@med.unc.edu
M. Justin Byron, PhDAdjunct Assistant Professorjbyron@unc.edu
Molly Cannon, MPHAdjunct Instructormolly.cannon@thepalladiumgroup.com
Delesha M. Carpenter, PhDAdjunct Assistant Professordmcarpenter@unc.edu
Lori Carter-Edwards, PhDAdjunct Associate Professorlori_carter-edwards@unc.edu
Ewan K. Cobran, PhDAdjunct Assistant Professorecobran@uga.edu
Denise Dickinson, MPHAdjunct Instructorddickinson@rti.org
Robert Flewelling, PhDAdjunct Assistant Professorflewelling@pire.org
Kristie Foley, PhDAdjunct Associate Professorkfoley@wakehealth.edu
Vangie Foshee, PhDAdjunct Professorfoshee@email.unc.edu
Robert Foss, PhDAdjunct Professorrob_foss@unc.edu
Elizabeth French, MAAdjunct Instructoreafrench@unc.edu
Susan Gaylord, PhDAdjunct Associate Professorsusan_gaylord@med.unc.edu
Jennifer Gierisch, PhDAdjunct Assistant Professorj.gierisch@duke.edu
Lisa Gilbert, PhDAdjunct Assistant Professorlisagilbertphd@yahoo.com
Bernard Glassman, MAAdjunct Instructorbg@unc.edu
Moses Goldmon, EdDAdjunct Assistant Professormgoldmon@lanecollege.edu
Adam Goldstein, MD, MPHAdjunct Professoraog@med.unc.edu
Susan Haws, PhDAdjunct Assistant Professorswhaws@gmail.com
Sally Herndon, MPHAdjunct Instructorsally.herndon@dhhs.nc.gov
Jim Herrington, PhDAdjunct Professorjimhsph@email.unc.edu
Christine Jackson, PhDAdjunct Associate Professorcjackson@rti.org
Linda Kinsinger, MDAdjunct Associate Professorlinda_kinsinger@med.unc.edu
Kathryn Lancaster, PhDAdjunct Assistant Professorlancaster.111@osu.edu
Megan Lewis, PhDAdjunct Assistant Professormelewis@rti.org
Kathleen MacQueen, PhDAdjunct Assistant Professorkmacquee@email.unc.edu
David McCoy, JDAdjunct Assistant Professor
Meg Molloy, DrPHAdjunct Assistant Professormeg@forprevention.org
Alexis A. Moore, MPHAdjunct Instructoralexis_moore@unc.edu
Ingrid H. Morris, MPHAdjunct InstructorIngrid.Morris@bcbsnc.com
Allison Myers, PhDAdjunct Assistant Professoraemyers@live.unc.edu
Melva Fager Okun, DrPHAdjunct Assistant Professormelvafokun@gmail.com
Allison Pack, PhDAdjunct Instructorapack15@email.unc.edu
Robert Pleasants, PhDAdjunct Assistant Professorbpleas@email.unc.edu
Kathryn I. Pollak, PhDAdjunct Associate Professorkathryn.pollak@duke.edu
Patsy Polston, PhDAdjunct Instructorpolston@unc.edu
Tonia Poteat, PhDAdjunct Assistant Professortonia_poteat@med.unc.edu
Wizdom Powell, PhDAdjunct Associate Professorwizdomp@email.unc.edu
Scott Rhodes, PhDAdjunct Associate Professorsrhodes@wakehealth.edu
Christopher L. Ringwalt, DrPHAdjunct Professorcringwal@email.unc.edu
LaHoma Smith Romocki, PhDAdjunct Associate Professorlromocki@nccu.edu
Cherie Rosemond, PhDAdjunct Assistant Professorcrosemon@med.unc.edu
Carol Runyan, PhDAdjunct Professorcarol_runyan@unc.edu
English Sall, PhDAdjunct Assistant Professoregsall@email.unc.edu
Michael D. Schulman, PhDAdjunct Professormichael_schulman@ncsu.edu
Paschal Sheeran, PhDAdjunct Professorpsheeran@unc.edu
Arjumand Siddiqi, ScDAdjunct Assistant Professoraa.siddiqi@utoronto.ca
Celette Sugg Skinner, PhDAdjunct Associate Professorcelette.skinner@utsouthwestern.edu
Paige Hall Smith, PhDAdjunct Associate Professorphsmith@uncg.edu
Sandra Soto, PhDAdjunct Assistant Professorshsoto@live.unc.edu
Brian Southwell, PhDAdjunct Associate Professorsouthwell@unc.edu
Elizabeth Stern, MPHAdjunct Instructorlstern@nccadv.org
Karen Strazza, MPHAdjunct Instructorkstrazza@rti.org
Deborah Stroman, PhD, CLUAdjunct Associate Professordstro@unc.edu
Katherine Turner, MPHAdjunct Instructorkatherinelynnturner@gmail.com
Gina Upchurch, MPHAdjunct Instructorgina@seniorpharmassist.org
Amy Vincus, MPHAdjunct Instructoravincus@unc.edu; avincus@gmail.com
Maihan Vu, DrPHAdjunct Assistant Professormaihan.vu@unc.edu
Anna Waller, ScDAdjunct Facultyawaller@med.unc.edu
Karen Webb, MEdAdjunct Instructorkwebb7@bellsouth.net
Godfrey Woelk, PhDAdjunct Associate Professorgwoelk@pedaids.org
Michael Yonas, DrPHAdjunct Associate Professormyonas@email.unc.edu; may24@pitt.edu

Emeritus Faculty

Karl BaumanProfessor Emeritus
J. Michael BowlingProfessor Emeritusjbowling@email.unc.edu
Robert DeVellis, PhDProfessor Emeritusbob_devellis@unc.edu
Brenda DeVellisProfessor Emeritus
Jo Anne Earp, ScDProfessor Emeritusjearp@unc.edu
Susan Ennett, PhDProfessor Emeritussennett@email.unc.edu
John W. HatchProfessor Emeritus
Ethel J. JacksonProfessor Emeritus
Elizabeth MutranProfessor Emeritus
Carol Runyan, PhDProfessor Emerituscarol_runyan@unc.edu
Allan StecklerProfessor Emeritus

Staff

Amorelle CrossleyGrants Managercrossley@email.unc.edu
Paula Lauren HarwickAcademic Program Support Coordinatorpharwick@email.unc.edu
Darlene LawsAssistant to Department Chairdnlaws@email.unc.edu
Debra LittlejohnGrant Managerdebra7@email.unc.edu
Latasha Mingo, MBAAssistant Department Chair for Administrationlmingo@email.unc.edu
Katia WoolfAdministrative Support Specialistkatia@unc.edu
Allan Ochieng YaraAccounting Technicianallanfy@email.unc.edu

Research Staff

Susan Alton DaileyProject Managersadailey@email.unc.edu
James Emery, MPHResearch Associatejemery@email.unc.edu
Robert J. Letourneau, MPHResearch AssociateRobert_Letourneau@unc.edu
Yao (Patrick) Tang, MPHProgram Manager, Peers for Progressyptang@email.unc.edu

Postdoctoral Research Associates

Claire Bosire Postdoctoral Research Associate cbosire@email.unc.edu
Jacquelyne Gaddy Postdoctoral Research Associate Jacquelyne.Gaddy@unchealth.unc.edu
Brigid Grabert Postdoctoral Research Associate bgrabert@live.unc.edu
Amanda Kong Postdoctoral Research Associate akong2@live.unc.edu
Jacob Stein Postdoctoral Research Associate Jacob.Stein@unchealth.unc.edu
Deshira Wallace Postdoctoral Research Associate ddwallac@live.unc.edu