Department of Health Behavior Faculty Members pose for a photo outside of Rosenau Hall.

Department of Health Behavior Faculty Members

The Department of Health Behavior has more than 30 faculty members and 60 adjunct faculty members who guide students, colleagues and communities from across the globe in scholarship, research and service. They are renowned as local and global leaders in various fields within public health.

Faculty members, postdoctoral researchers and students conduct research to answer the questions that help us understand what we can do to reduce health risks, to promote healthy lives, and to increase the number of individuals who are able to benefit from known and emerging medical science. Search faculty members by their research areas and methodological expertise on our Research page.

Faculty

Search faculty members by their research areas and methodological expertise on our Research page.

Clare Barrington, PhDAssociate Professor and Doctoral Program Directorcbarring@email.unc.edu
Lynn White Blanchard, PhDAssociate Professorblanchard@unc.edu
Noel Brewer, PhDProfessorntb@unc.edu
Liz Chen, PhD, MPHAssistant Professor and MPH Concentration Lead, Health Behaviorlizcchen@unc.edu
Melissa Cox, PhDAssistant Professorcoxmj@unc.edu
Carolyn Crump, PhDAssociate Professorcarolyn_crump@unc.edu
Dane EmmerlingAssistant Professordane.emmerling@unc.edu
Edwin B. Fisher, PhDProfessorfishere@email.unc.edu
Melissa Gilkey, PhDAssociate Professorgilkey@email.unc.edu
Vivian Go, PhDProfessorvgo@unc.edu
Shelley Golden, PhDAssociate Professor and Vice Chair for Academic Affairssgolden@email.unc.edu
Carol Golin, MDProfessorcarol_golin@med.unc.edu
Marissa G. Hall, PhDAssistant Professormghall@unc.edu
Abigail M. Hatcher, PhDAssistant Professorabbeymae@email.unc.edu
Lauren M. Hill, PhDAssistant Professorhilllm@email.unc.edu
Larissa Jennings Mayo-Wilson, PhD MHSAssociate Professorljennings.mayowilson@unc.edu
Meg Landfried, MPHAssistant Professor and MPH Practicum Directorlandfried@unc.edu
Alexandra Lightfoot, EdDAssociate Professoralexandra_lightfoot@unc.edu
Laura Linnan, ScDSenior Associate Dean for Academic and Student Affairslinnan@email.unc.edu
Suzanne Maman, PhDAssociate Dean for Global Health and Professormaman@email.unc.edu
H. Luz McNaughton Reyes, PhDAssociate Professormcnaught@email.unc.edu
Sarah D. Mills, PhD, MPHAssistant Professorsarahmills@unc.edu
Beth Moracco, PhDAssociate Professormoracco@email.unc.edu
Kate Muessig, PhDAssociate Professorkmuessig@med.unc.edu
Patsy Polston, PhDAssistant Professorpolston@unc.edu
Kurt M. Ribisl, PhDJo Anne Earp Distinguished Professor and Chairkurt_ribisl@unc.edu
Barbara K. Rimer, DrPH, MPHDean Emerita and Alumni Distinguished Professorbrimer@unc.edu
Nora Rosenberg, PhDAssociate ProfessorNora_Rosenberg@unc.edu
Deshira D. Wallace, PhD, MSPHAssistant Professorddwallac@email.unc.edu

Adjunct Faculty

Stephanie L. BakerAdjunct Assistant Professor
Becca Bender, M.Ed.Adjunct Assistant Professorbecca.bender@unc.edu
Amrita Bhowmick, MPH, MBAAdjunct Assistant Professoramritab@email.unc.edu
Johanna Birckmayer, PhDAdjunct Associate Professorjbirckmayer@bloomberg.org
Marcella H. Boynton, PhDAdjunct Assistant Professormarcella_boynton@med.unc.edu
Felicia A. Browne, ScD, MPHAdjunct Assistant Professorfbrowne@rti.org
M. Justin Byron, PhDAdjunct Assistant Professorjbyron@unc.edu
Molly Cannon, MPHAdjunct Instructormolly.cannon@thepalladiumgroup.com
Delesha M. Carpenter, PhDAdjunct Associate Professordmcarpenter@unc.edu
Ewan K. Cobran, PhDAdjunct Assistant Professorcobran.ewan@mayo.edu
Donaldson Conserve, Ph.D., M.S.Adjunct Assistant Professordconservejr@gwu.edu
Stacey Cutbush, PhDAdjunct Assistant Professorscutbush@rti.org
Kristie Foley, PhDAdjunct Associate Professorkfoley@wakehealth.edu
Vangie Foshee, PhDAdjunct Professorfoshee@email.unc.edu
Elizabeth French, MAAdjunct Instructoreafrench@unc.edu
Susan Gaylord, PhDAdjunct Associate Professorsusan_gaylord@med.unc.edu
Jennifer Gierisch, PhDAdjunct Assistant Professorj.gierisch@duke.edu
Lisa Gilbert, PhDAdjunct Assistant Professorlisagilbertphd@yahoo.com
Adam Goldstein, MD, MPHAdjunct Professoraog@med.unc.edu
Nisha C. Gottfredson, PhDAssociate Professorgottfredson@unc.edu
Susan Haws, PhDAdjunct Assistant Professorswhaws@gmail.com
Sally Herndon, MPHAdjunct Instructorsally.herndon@dhhs.nc.gov
Jim Herrington, PhDAdjunct Professorjimhsph@email.unc.edu
Lisa Hightow-Weidman, MD, MPHProfessorlisa_hightow@med.unc.edu
Vichitra Jagannathan, MS, MBAAdjunct Assistant Professorvichi@ruralopportunity.org
Shawn Kneipp, PhD, RN, ANP, APHN-BC, FAANPAdjunct Associate Professorskneipp@email.unc.edu
Kathryn Lancaster, PhDAdjunct Assistant Professorlancaster.111@osu.edu
Maija Leff, MPHAdjunct Instructormaija_leff@med.unc.edu
Leslie A. Lytle, PhDAdjunct Professorllytle@email.unc.edu
Kathleen MacQueen, PhDAdjunct Assistant Professorkmacquee@email.unc.edu
Derrick Matthews, PhDAssistant Professorderrick.matthews@unc.edu
Ingrid H. Morris, MPHAdjunct InstructorIngrid.Morris@bcbsnc.com
Allison Myers, PhDAdjunct Assistant Professoraemyers@live.unc.edu
Allison Pack, PhDAdjunct Instructorapack15@email.unc.edu
Robert Pleasants, PhDAdjunct Assistant Professorbpleas@email.unc.edu
Kathryn I. Pollak, PhDAdjunct Associate Professorkathryn.pollak@duke.edu
Tonia Poteat, PhDAdjunct Associate Professortonia_poteat@med.unc.edu
Wizdom Powell, PhDAdjunct Associate Professorwizdomp@email.unc.edu
Scott Rhodes, PhDAdjunct Associate Professorsrhodes@wakehealth.edu
Christopher L. Ringwalt, DrPHAdjunct Professorcringwal@email.unc.edu
Cherie Rosemond, PhDAdjunct Assistant Professorcrosemon@med.unc.edu
Carol Runyan, PhDAdjunct Professorcarol_runyan@unc.edu
English Sall, PhDAdjunct Assistant Professoregsall@email.unc.edu
Michael D. Schulman, PhDAdjunct Professormichael_schulman@ncsu.edu
Paschal Sheeran, PhDAdjunct Professorpsheeran@unc.edu
Arjumand Siddiqi, ScDAdjunct Assistant Professoraa.siddiqi@utoronto.ca
Celette Sugg Skinner, PhDAdjunct Associate Professorcelette.skinner@utsouthwestern.edu
Paige Hall Smith, PhDAdjunct Associate Professorphsmith@uncg.edu
Samir Soneji, PhDAdjunct Associate Professorsonejis@email.unc.edu
Sandra Soto, PhDAdjunct Assistant Professorshsoto@live.unc.edu
Brian Southwell, PhDAdjunct Associate Professorsouth23@email.unc.edu
Karen Strazza, MPHAdjunct Instructorkstrazza@rti.org
Deborah Stroman, PhD, CLUAdjunct Professordstro@unc.edu
Katherine Turner, MPHAdjunct Instructorkatherinelynnturner@gmail.com
Naya Villarreal, MPHAdjunct Assistant Professornaya@unc.edu
Maihan Vu, DrPHAdjunct Assistant Professormaihan.vu@unc.edu
Anna Waller, ScDAdjunct Associate Professorawaller@med.unc.edu
Michael Wilson, MPHAdjunct Assistant Professormichaelw@aadglobal.org
Godfrey Woelk, PhDAdjunct Associate Professorgwoelk@pedaids.org
Michael Yonas, DrPHAdjunct Assistant Professoryonasm@pghfdn.org

Emeritus Faculty

Karl BaumanProfessor Emeritus
J. Michael BowlingProfessor Emeritusjbowling@email.unc.edu
Robert DeVellis, PhDProfessor Emeritusbob_devellis@unc.edu
Brenda DeVellisProfessor Emeritus
Jo Anne Earp, ScDProfessor Emeritusjearp@unc.edu
Geni Eng, DrPHProfessor Emerituseugenia_eng@unc.edu
Susan Ennett, PhDProfessor Emeritussennett@email.unc.edu
John W. Hatch, DrPHProfessor Emeritus
Elizabeth MutranProfessor Emeritus
Carol Runyan, PhDProfessor Emerituscarol_runyan@unc.edu
Allan StecklerProfessor Emeritus

Administrative Staff

Amorelle CrossleyGrants Managercrossley@email.unc.edu
Rachel Evans, MMAdmin Support Specialistrachme95@email.unc.edu
Darlene LawsAssistant to Department Chairdnlaws@email.unc.edu
Mallory Richardson, MSWAcademic Program Support Specialistmklr@unc.edu
Czarina Stroud, MPHGrants Managerstroudcz@unc.edu

Research Staff

James Emery, MPHResearch Associate
Robert J. Letourneau, MPHResearch AssociateRobert_Letourneau@unc.edu
Tonya StancilProject Manager - IFE4HER Studytstancil@unc.edu
Yao (Patrick) Tang, MPHProgram Manager, Peers for Progressyptang@email.unc.edu

Postdoctoral Research Associates

Brigid GrabertPostdoctoral Research Associatebgrabert@live.unc.edu
Rebekah Israel CrossPostdoctoral Research Associaterisraelcross@unc.edu
Patrece JosephPostdoctoral Research Associate
Haijing Ma, PhDPostdoctoral Research Associatehjma@email.unc.edu