ESE celebrates the annual ice cream social over Zoom.

ESE celebrates the annual ice cream social and awards ceremony over Zoom.

Faculty

Louise Margaret Ball, PhDProfessor and Co-Director of Undergraduate Studieslmball@unc.edu
John BaneProfessorbane@unc.edu
Jamie Bartram, PhDProfessor (Retired) and Former Director of the Water Institute at UNCjbartram@email.unc.edu
Karsten Baumann, PhDAssistant Professorkaba@email.unc.edu
Wanda Bodnar, PhDAssistant Professorwanda_bodnar@unc.edu
Gregory Characklis, PhDW. R. Kenan Jr. Distinguished Professorcharack@email.unc.edu
Orlando Coronell, PhDAssociate Professorcoronell@unc.edu
Radhika Dhingra, PhDAssistant Professorrdhingra@live.unc.edu
Michael B. Fisher, PhDAssistant Professorfishermb@email.unc.edu
Michael Flynn, ScDProfessor (Retired)mike_flynn@unc.edu
Rebecca Fry, PhDCarol Remmer Angle Distinguished Professor in Children’s Environmental Health and Associate Chair for Strategic Initiativesrfry@email.unc.edu
Avram GoldProfessor and Associate Chair for Academicsgolda@email.unc.edu
William Gray, PhDProfessor (Retired)GrayWG@unc.edu
Ilona JaspersProfessorilona_jaspers@med.unc.edu
Richard Kamens, MSPHProfessor (Retired)kamens@unc.edu
Noah KittnerAssistant Professorkittner@unc.edu
Kun Lu, PhDAssociate Professorkunlu@unc.edu
Rick Luettich, ScDProfessorrick_luettich@unc.edu
Chris MartensProfessorcmartens@email.unc.edu
Cass T. Miller, PhDOkun Distinguished Professorcasey_miller@unc.edu
Glenn Morrison, PhDProfessorglenn.morrison@unc.edu
Rachel NobleProfessorrtnoble@email.unc.edu
Amanda NorthcrossAssociate Professoramandaln@email.unc.edu
Leena Nylander-French, PhD, CIHProfessorleena_french@unc.edu
Hans W. Paerl, PhDProfessorhans_paerl@unc.edu
Michael PiehlerProfessormpiehler@email.unc.edu
Julia Rager, PhDAssistant Professorjrager@unc.edu
Aaron Salzberg, PhDJennifer and Don Holzworth Distinguished Professorsalzbergaa@unc.edu
Marc Serre, PhDAssociate Professormarc_serre@unc.edu
Mark D. Sobsey, PhDProfessor (Retired, Part-Time)mark_sobsey@unc.edu
Jill Stewart, PhDProfessorjill.stewart@unc.edu
Jason D. Surratt, PhDProfessor and Co-Director of Undergraduate Studiessurratt@unc.edu
Barbara J. Turpin, PhDProfessor and Chairesechair@unc.edu
William Vizuete, PhDAssociate Professorvizuete@unc.edu
Paul Watkins, MDProfessorpbwatkins@med.unc.edu
Howard Weinberg, PhDProfessorhoward_weinberg@unc.edu
Jason West, PhDProfessorjasonwest@unc.edu
Dale Whittington, PhDProfessordale_whittington@unc.edu
Courtney G. Woods, PhDAssistant Professorcgwoods@email.unc.edu
Zhenfa Zhang, PhDAssociate Professorzhenfaz@email.unc.edu

Adjunct Faculty

Sarav ArunachalamAdjunct Professorsarav@email.unc.edu
Linda Birnbaum, PhDAdjunct Professorbirnbaumls@niehs.nih.gov
Jared Bowden, PhDAdjunct Assistant Professorjhbowden@unc.edu
Clarissa BrocklehurstAdjunct Professorcbrocklehurst@unc.edu
Joe Brown, PhDAdjunct Associate Professorjoe.brown@ce.gatech.edu
Daniel CostaAdjunct Professor
Felix DoddsAdjunct Professorfelix@felixdodds.net
Shabbir GheewalaAdjunct Professorgheewala@email.unc.edu
Matthew Ian GilmourAdjunct ProfessorGilmour.Ian@epa.gov
Kimberly Haley, MSAdjunct Assistant Professorkphaley@ehs.unc.edu
Crystal Lee Pow Jackson, PhDAdjunct Assistant ProfessorCrystal.Lee-Pow@dhhs.nc.gov
Jordan KernAdjunct Assistant Professorjdkern@email.unc.edu
Janice S. Lee, PhDAdjunct Associate Professorlee.janices@epa.gov
David Leith, ScDAdjunct Professordavid_leith@unc.edu
Michael Madden, PhDAdjunct Professormmadden@email.unc.edu
Valeria OchoaAdjunct Professorvochoa@usfq.edu.ec
David PedenAdjunct Professordavid_peden@med.unc.edu
Joseph PintoAdjunct Professorjoepinto@email.unc.edu
Joachim Pleil, PhDAdjunct Professorpleil@email.unc.edu
Havala O.T. Pye, PhDAdjunct Associate Professorpye.havala@epa.gov
Eva Rehfuess, PhDAdjunct Professorrehfuess@ibe.med.uni-muenchen.de
Jacky Rosati, PhDAdjunct Associate Professorrosati.jacky@epa.gov
James Samet, PhDAdjunct Professorjsamet@email.unc.edu
David Singleton, PhDAdjunct Assistant Professordrsingle@email.unc.edu
Roger Sit, PhDAdjunct Associate Professorrsit@unc.edu
Thomas Starr, PhDAdjunct Associate Professortbstarr@email.unc.edu
Nigel Stuart, MBAAdjunct Instructor
Mirek Styblo, PhDAdjunct Associate Professorstyblo@med.unc.edu
John Tomaro, PhD, MPHAdjunct Professorjtomaro@live.unc.edu

Emeritus Faculty

Michael D. Aitken, PhDProfessor Emeritusmike_aitken@unc.edu
Richard Andrews, PhDProfessor Emerituspete.andrews@unc.edu
Russell ChristmanProfessor Emeritusrchristm@live.unc.edu
Douglas Crawford-Brown, PhDProfessor Emeritusdouglas_crawford-brown@unc.edu
Francis DiGiano, PhDProfessor Emeritusfran_digiano@unc.edu
Donald FoxProfessor Emeritusdon_fox@unc.edu
Don Francisco, PhDProfessor Emeritusdon_francisco@unc.edu
Harvey Edward JeffriesProfessor EmeritusHarvey@unc.edu
Pete KolskyProfessor Emeritus
Donald T LauriaProfessor Emeritusdlauria@unc.edu
David H MoreauProfessor Emeritusdmoreau@email.unc.edu
Frederic PfaenderProfessor Emeritusfred_pfaender@unc.edu
Mark ShumanProfessor Emeritus
James SwenbergProfessor Emeritusjswenber@email.unc.edu
Stephen C. WhalenProfessor Emeritussteve_whalen@unc.edu
Donald WillhoitProfessor Emeritus

Research Staff

Valeriy AfoninResearch Specialistafonin@email.unc.edu
Nikki Behnke, MSPHResearch Assistantbehnke@email.unc.edu
Jayne Boyer, PhDResearch Analystjayne_boyer@med.unc.edu
Peter CableResearch Specialistpcable@email.unc.edu
Dennis FedorSpecialty Trades Technician / Instrument Makerdfedor@email.unc.edu
Hadley HartwellLaboratory Managerhadley_hartwell@med.unc.edu
Kaida LiangProject Managerkliang@unc.edu
Jason LuoGenome Sciences Sub-core Directorjasonluo@unc.edu
Pamela MathewsSuperfund Coordinatorpmathews@email.unc.edu
Terry L. Noah, MDMember, Career Development Coreterry_noah@med.unc.edu
Kyle Roell, PhDData Analyst Project ManagerKyle.Roell@unc.edu
Kate Shields, MPHResearch Associatekshields@email.unc.edu
Lisa Smeester, PhDProgram Managersmesta@unc.edu
Emanuele SozziResearch Associateesozzi@email.unc.edu
Frank StilloResearch Managerstillo@unc.edu
Wren TracyResearch Assistantjwren@email.unc.edu

Administrative Staff/Program Coordinators

Rhoda CernyExecutive Assistant to the Chairrcerny@email.unc.edu
Jason DegraffenreidtAccounting Technicianjdegraff@email.unc.edu
Todd DownesPre- and Post-Award Coordinatortodd.downes@unc.edu
Doris DworschakDirector of Departmental Finance and Administrationdorisd@email.unc.edu
Jennifer EspinozaPre-award Coordinatorjhodges@unc.edu
Shannan GeorgeTraining Specialistswgeorge@email.unc.edu
Zamira GleasonAdministrative Assistantzgleason@email.unc.edu
Rebecca GunnFaculty Assistantrngunn@email.unc.edu
Katie HallCommunications Associatemchall@email.unc.edu
David G. Kaufman, MD, PhDAssistant Directordavid_kaufman@med.unc.edu
Eva KeeleAccounting Technicianeva_keele@unc.edu
Susan H. KeeseeLibrarian, Data and Publications Analystkeesee@email.unc.edu
Manal KhanPFAS Program Assistantmanalk@email.unc.edu
Amber MeadsStudent Funding Administratorameads12@email.unc.edu
Lynda PetersonAccounting Techlynda_peterson@unc.edu
Jason PruszkoIT Support Analystjason.pruszko@unc.edu
Ron RossAdministration Support Specialistrbross@email.unc.edu
Kriste SmithBusiness Officerkristes@email.unc.edu
James C. Wallace, Jr.Technical Support Analystjcwallace@unc.edu
Kim WankeBusiness Officer/ Pre and Post Award Coordinatorkim.wanke@unc.edu
Robin WhitleyAdministrative Systems Coordinatorrobin_whitley@unc.edu