Faculty
Staff
L.M. Ball Professor and Co-director of Undergraduate Studies lmball@unc.edu
John Bane Joint Professor bane@unc.edu
Jamie Bartram Professor (retired, part-time) jbartram@email.unc.edu
Karsten Baumann Assistant Professor kaba@email.unc.edu
Wanda M Bodnar Assistant Professor wanda_bodnar@unc.edu
Gregory Characklis Philip C. Singer Distinguished Professor charack@email.unc.edu
Orlando Coronell Associate Professor coronell@unc.edu
Radhika Dhingra Assistant Professor rdhingra@live.unc.edu
Michael Fisher Assistant Professor fishermb@email.unc.edu
Michael Flynn Professor (retired, part-time) mike_flynn@unc.edu
Rebecca Fry Associate Chair for Strategic Initiatives; Angle Distinguished Professor rfry@email.unc.edu
Avram Gold Associate Chair for Academics; Professor golda@email.unc.edu
William Gray Professor (retired, part-time) GrayWG@unc.edu
Ilona Jaspers Joint Professor ilona_jaspers@med.unc.edu
Richard Kamens Professor (Retired) kamens@unc.edu
Noah Kittner Assistant Professor kittner@unc.edu
Kun Lu Associate Professor kunlu@unc.edu
Rick Luettich Joint Professor; rick_luettich@unc.edu
Chris Martens Joint Professor; Aycock Distinguished Professor of Marine Sciences cmartens@email.unc.edu
Amber Meads Graduate Funding Coordinator ameads12@email.unc.edu
Cass T Miller Okun Distinguished Professor casey_miller@unc.edu
Glenn Morrison Professor glenn.morrison@unc.edu
Rachel Noble Joint Professor; Hill, Jr. Distinguished Professor of Marine Sciences rtnoble@email.unc.edu
Amanda Northcross Associate Professor amandaln@email.unc.edu
Leena Nylander-French Professor leena_french@unc.edu
Hans W. Paerl Joint Professor; Kenan Distinguished Professor of Marine Sciences hans_paerl@unc.edu
Michael Piehler Joint Professor mpiehler@email.unc.edu
Julia Rager Assistant Professor jrager@unc.edu
Aaron Salzberg Holzworth Distinguished Professor aalsorna@email.unc.edu
Marc Serre Associate Professor marc_serre@unc.edu
Mark D. Sobsey Professor (retired, part-time) mark_sobsey@unc.edu
Jill Stewart Professor jill.stewart@unc.edu
Jason Surratt Professor and Co-director of Undergraduate Studies surratt@unc.edu
Barbara Turpin Professor and Chair esechair@unc.edu
William Vizuete Associate Professor airquality@unc.edu
Paul Watkins Joint Professor; Howard Q. Ferguson Distinguished Professor (Pharmacy) pbwatkins@med.unc.edu
Howard Weinberg Professor howard_weinberg@unc.edu
Jason West Professor jjwest@email.unc.edu
Dale Whittington Professor dale_whittington@unc.edu
Courtney G Woods Assistant Professor cgwoods@email.unc.edu
Zhenfa Zhang Assistant Professor zhenfaz@email.unc.edu

 

Adjunct Faculty

Sarav Arunachalam Adjunct Professor sarav@email.unc.edu
Linda Birnbaum Adjunct Professor birnbaumls@niehs.nih.gov
Jared Bowden
Adjunct Professor jhbowden@unc.edu
Clarissa Brocklehurst Adjunct Professor cbrocklehurst@unc.edu
Daniel Costa Adjunct Professor
Jon “Pat” Curran Adjunct Assistant Professor pcih@earthlink.net
Felix Dodds Adjunct Professor felix@felixdodds.net
Shabbir H. Gheewala Adjunct Professor gheewala@email.unc.edu
M. Ian Gilmour Adjunct Professor Gilmour.Ian@epa.gov
Kim Haley Adjunct Assistant Professor kphaley@ehs.unc.edu
Crystal Lee Pow Jackson Adjunct Assistant Professor Crystal.Lee-Pow@dhhs.nc.gov
Jordan Kern Adjunct Assistant Professor jdkern@email.unc.edu
Janice Lee Adjunct Associate Professor Lee.JaniceS@epa.gov
David Leith Adjunct Professor david_leith@unc.edu
Jackie MacDonald Gibson Adjunct Professor macdonaj@email.unc.edu
Michael Madden Adjunct Professor mmadden@email.unc.edu
Valeria Ochoa Adjunct Professor vochoa@usfq.edu.ec
David Peden Adjunct Professor david_peden@med.unc.edu
Joseph Pinto Adjunct Professor joepinto@email.unc.edu
Joachim Pleil Adjunct Professor pleil@email.unc.edu
Havala Pye Adjunct Associate Professor pye.havala@epa.gov
Eva Rehfuess Adjunct Professor rehfuess@ibe.med.uni-muenchen.de
Bonnie Rogers Adjunct Professor rogersb@email.unc.edu
Jacky Rosati Adjunct Associate Professor rosati.jacky@epa.gov
James Samet Adjunct Professor jsamet@email.unc.edu
Antonia Sebastian Adjunct Assistant Professor sebaanto@email.unc.edu
David Singleton Adjunct Assistant Professor drsingle@email.unc.edu
Roger Sit Adjunct Associate Professor rsit@unc.edu
Thomas Starr Adjunct Associate Professor tbstarr@email.unc.edu
Frank Stillo III Adjunct Assistant Professor arappold@live.unc.edu
Nigel Stuart Adjunct Instructor nigel@midps.com
Mirek Styblo Adjunct Professor styblo@med.unc.edu
Ana Rappold Adjunct Associate Professor arappold@live.unc.edu
John Tomaro Adjunct Professor and Research Collaborator for the Water Institute jtomaro@live.unc.edu
W. Jon Wallace Adjunct Assistant Professor wallacew@unc.edu
John Wambaugh Adjunct Associate Professor wambaugh.john@epa.gov

 

Emeritus Faculty

Michael Aitken Professor Emeritus mike_aitken@unc.edu
Richard Andrews Professor Emeritus pete.andrews@unc.edu
Russell Christman Professor Emeritus rchristm@live.unc.edu
Douglas Crawford-Brown Professor Emeritus douglas_crawford-brown@unc.edu
Francis DiGiano Professor Emeritus fran_digiano@unc.edu
Donald Fox Professor Emeritus don_fox@unc.edu
Don Francisco Professor Emeritus don_francisco@unc.edu
Harvey Edward Jeffries Professor Emeritus harvey@unc.edu
Pete Kolsky Professor Emeritus pkolsky@email.unc.edu
Donald T Lauria Professor Emeritus dlauria@unc.edu
David H Moreau Research Professor dmoreau@email.unc.edu
Frederic Pfaender Professor Emeritus fred_pfaender@unc.edu
Mark Shuman Professor Emeritus
James Swenberg Professor Emeritus jswenber@email.unc.edu
Stephen C. Whalen Professor Emeritus steve_whalen@unc.edu
Donald Willhoit Professor Emeritus

 

Research Staff

Jayne Boyer Research Analyst jayne_boyer@med.unc.edu
Peter Cable Research Specialist pcable@email.unc.edu
Hadley Hartwell Research Specialist hadley_hartwell@med.unc.edu
Kaida Liang Project Manager (WI@UNC) kliang@email.unc.edu
Emanuele Sozzi Research Associate esozzi@email.unc.edu
Lisa Smeester Program Manager, Institute for Environmental Health Solutions smesta@unc.edu
Wren Tracy Research Assistant (WI@UNC) jwren@email.unc.edu
Glenn Walters Director, BeAM@ESE gwalters@email.unc.edu

 

Administrative Staff/Program Coordinators

Rhoda Cerny Executive Assistant to the Chair rcerny@email.unc.edu
Gimel Chan Accounting Tech Lead gimel.chan@unc.edu
Todd Downes Pre- and Post-award Coordinator (WI/CEHS) todd.downes@unc.edu
Doris Dworschak Director of Departmental Finance and Administration dorisd@email.unc.edu
Shannan George Training Specialist (WI@UNC) swgeorge@email.unc.edu
Zamira Gleason Administrative Assistant (IEHS) zgleason@email.unc.edu
Jennifer Espinoza Pre-award Coordinator  jhodges@unc.edu
Eva Keele Accounting Tech eva_keele@med.unc.edu
Manal Khan PFAS Program Assistant manalk@email.unc.edu
Amber Meads Student Funding Administrator ameads12@email.unc.edu
Jennifer Moore Academic Coordinator jenjoyce@email.unc.edu
Julie Myers Program Specialist (OHN) jmaness@unc.edu
Lynda Peterson Accounting Tech lynda_peterson@unc.edu
Kriste Smith Business Officer for IEHS kristes@email.unc.edu
Jason Pruszko IT Technical Support Analyst jason.pruszko@unc.edu
Aja Saylor Pre- and Post-award Coordinator xz9dxc@email.unc.edu
Caitlin Webster Human Resources Consultant caitlin_webster@unc.edu
Robin Whitley Faculty Assistant robin_whitley@unc.edu

 

Recent News