Faculty

John Bane, PhDProfessorbane@unc.edu
Joe Brown, PhD, PEProfessorjoebrown@unc.edu
Gregory Characklis, PhDW. R. Kenan Jr. Distinguished Professorcharack@email.unc.edu
Orlando Coronell, PhDAssociate Professor and Associate Chair for Academicscoronell@unc.edu
Ryan Cronk, PhDAssistant Professorrcronk@live.unc.edu
Michael B. Fisher, PhDAssistant Professorfishermb@email.unc.edu
Rebecca Fry, PhDCarol Remmer Angle Distinguished Professor in Children’s Environmental Health and Associate Chair for Strategic Initiativesrfry@email.unc.edu
Avram Gold, PhDProfessorgolda@email.unc.edu
William Gray, PhDProfessor (Retired)GrayWG@unc.edu
Ilona Jaspers, PhDProfessorilona_jaspers@med.unc.edu
Richard Kamens, MSPHProfessor (Retired)kamens@unc.edu
Noah Kittner, PhDAssistant Professorkittner@unc.edu
Kun Lu, PhDAssociate Professorkunlu@unc.edu
Rick Luettich, ScDProfessorrick_luettich@unc.edu
Musa Manga, PhDAssistant Professormmanga@email.unc.edu
Chris Martens, PhDProfessorcmartens@email.unc.edu
Cass T. Miller, PhDOkun Distinguished Professorcasey_miller@unc.edu
Glenn Morrison, PhDProfessorglenn.morrison@unc.edu
Rachel Noble, PhDProfessorrtnoble@email.unc.edu
Amanda Northcross, PhDAssociate Professor and Director of Undergraduate Studiesamandaln@email.unc.edu
Leena Nylander-French, PhD, CIHProfessorleena_french@unc.edu
Hans W. Paerl, PhDProfessorhans_paerl@unc.edu
Michael Piehler, PhDProfessormpiehler@email.unc.edu
Julia Rager, PhDAssistant Professorjrager@unc.edu
Aaron Salzberg, PhDJennifer and Don Holzworth Distinguished Professorsalzbergaa@unc.edu
Marc Serre, PhDAssociate Professormarc_serre@unc.edu
Mark D. Sobsey, PhDProfessor (Retired, Part-Time)mark_sobsey@unc.edu
John A. Staley, PhDAssociate Professorjohnstaley@unc.edu
Jill Stewart, PhDPhilip C. Singer Distinguished Professorjill.stewart@unc.edu
Jason D. Surratt, PhDProfessorsurratt@unc.edu
Barbara J. Turpin, PhDProfessorbjturpin@email.unc.edu
William Vizuete, PhDProfessorvizuete@unc.edu
Paul Watkins, MDProfessorpbwatkins@med.unc.edu
Timothy Weigand, PhDAssistant Professortimothy.weigand@unc.edu
Jason West, PhDProfessor, Director of Graduate Studies jasonwest@unc.edu
Dale Whittington, PhDProfessordale_whittington@unc.edu
Courtney G. Woods, PhDAssociate Professorcgwoods@email.unc.edu
Zhenfa Zhang, PhDAssociate Professorzhenfaz@email.unc.edu

Adjunct Faculty

Sarav ArunachalamAdjunct Professorsarav@email.unc.edu
Karsten Baumann, PhDAdjunct Assistant Professorkaba@email.unc.edu
Linda Birnbaum, PhDAdjunct Professorbirnbaumls@niehs.nih.gov
Jared Bowden, PhDAdjunct Associate Professorjhbowden@unc.edu
Clarissa BrocklehurstAdjunct Professorcbrocklehurst@unc.edu
Jada BrooksAdjunct Associate Professorjada@email.unc
Daniel CostaAdjunct Professor
Richard Cravener Jr., MS, CIH, CSPAdjunct Assistant Professor rcravener@outlook.com
Radhika Dhingra, PhDAdjunct Assistant Professorrdhingra@live.unc.edu
Felix DoddsAdjunct Professorfelix@felixdodds.net
Lauren Eaves, PhD, IBCLC Adjunct Assistant Professor laeaves@live.unc.edu
Shabbir GheewalaAdjunct Professorgheewala@email.unc.edu
Matthew Ian GilmourAdjunct ProfessorGilmour.Ian@epa.gov
Kimberly Haley, MSAdjunct Assistant Professorkphaley@ehs.unc.edu
Kristin IsaacsAdjunct Associate Professor kisaacs@unc.edu
Crystal Lee Pow Jackson, PhDAdjunct Assistant Professorcleepowjackson@rti.org
Jordan Kern, PhDAdjunct Assistant Professorjdkern@email.unc.edu
Janice S. Lee, PhDAdjunct Associate Professorlee.janices@epa.gov
Jackie MacDonald GibsonAdjunct Professorjackie.macdonald@unc.edu
Michael Madden, PhDAdjunct Professormmadden@email.unc.edu
Liz NaessAdjunct Assistant ProfessorNaess.liz@Epa.gov
Valeria OchoaAdjunct Professorvochoa@usfq.edu.ec
Warner PassanisiAdjunct Associate Professorwpass@email.unc.edu
David Peden, MD, MSAdjunct Professordavid_peden@med.unc.edu
Joseph PintoAdjunct Professorjoepinto@email.unc.edu
Joachim Pleil, PhDAdjunct Professorpleil@email.unc.edu
Havala O.T. Pye, PhDAdjunct Associate Professorpye.havala@epa.gov
Ana RappoldAdjunct Associate Professorarappold@live.unc.edu
Eva Rehfuess, PhDAdjunct Professorrehfuess@ibe.med.uni-muenchen.de
Jacky Rosati, PhDAdjunct Associate Professorrosati@ad.unc.edu
James Samet, PhDAdjunct Professorjsamet@email.unc.edu
Antonia Sebastian, PhDAdjunct Assistant Professorasebastian@unc.edu
David Singleton, PhDAdjunct Assistant Professordrsingle@email.unc.edu
Roger Sit, PhDAdjunct Associate Professorrsit@unc.edu
Thomas Starr, PhDAdjunct Associate Professortbstarr@email.unc.edu
Frank StilloAdjunct Assistant Professorstillo@unc.edu
Mirek Styblo, PhDAdjunct Professorstyblo@med.unc.edu
William SukAdjunct Professorwasuk@unc.edu
Cecilia TanAdjunct Associate Professorytan@ad.unc.edu
Ben TidwellAdjunct Assistant Professorbtidwell@unc.edu
John Tomaro, PhD, MPHAdjunct Professorjtomaro@live.unc.edu
W. Jon WallaceAdjunct Assistant Professorwallacew@unc.edu
John WambaughAdjunct Associate Professorwambaugh.john@epa.gov

Emeritus Faculty

Richard Andrews, PhDProfessor Emerituspete.andrews@unc.edu
Jamie Bartram, PhDProfessor Emeritusjbartram@email.unc.edu
Russell ChristmanProfessor Emeritusrchristm@live.unc.edu
Douglas Crawford-Brown, PhDProfessor Emeritusdouglas_crawford-brown@unc.edu
Francis DiGiano, PhDProfessor Emeritusfran_digiano@unc.edu
Michael Flynn, ScDProfessor Emeritusmike_flynn@unc.edu
Donald FoxProfessor Emeritusdon_fox@unc.edu
Don Francisco, PhDProfessor Emeritusdon_francisco@unc.edu
Harvey Edward JeffriesProfessor EmeritusHarvey@unc.edu
Pete KolskyProfessor Emeritus
Donald T LauriaProfessor Emeritusdlauria@unc.edu
David Leith, ScDProfessor Emeritusdavid_leith@unc.edu
David H MoreauProfessor Emeritusdmoreau@email.unc.edu
Frederic PfaenderProfessor Emeritusfred_pfaender@unc.edu
Mark ShumanProfessor Emeritus
Stephen C. WhalenProfessor Emeritussteve_whalen@unc.edu

Research Staff

Valerie Bauza Research Associate
Katharine ConawayResearch Associatekatcc@email.unc.edu
Lauren Eaves, PhD, IBCLC Adjunct Assistant Professor laeaves@live.unc.edu
Hadley HartwellLaboratory and Research Project Managerhadley_hartwell@med.unc.edu
Kaida LiangDirector of Programs, WIkliang@unc.edu
Terry L. Noah, MDMember, Career Development Coreterry_noah@med.unc.edu
Ali OranResearch Program Manager, IEHSali.oran@unc.edu
Kyle Roell, PhDData Analyst Project ManagerKyle.Roell@unc.edu
Lisa Smeester, PhDScientific Program Managersmesta@unc.edu
Yuqiang Zhang, PhDResearch Scientistyuqiangz@email.unc.edu
Kevin ZhuLab Managerkjzhu@unc.edu

Administrative Staff/Program Coordinators

Larry BrantleyTechnology Support Analystlabrant@unc.edu
Rhoda CernyExecutive Assistant to the Chairrcerny@email.unc.edu
Doris DworschakDirector of Departmental Finance and Administrationdorisd@email.unc.edu
Jennifer EspinozaPre-award Team Leader jespinoza@unc.edu
Tara FitchPost-Award Team Leadertara.fitch@unc.edu
Kira JonesAcademic Program Support Coordinatorkirajones@unc.edu
Manal KhanGrants Manager, WImanalk@email.unc.edu
Aja MartindalePre- and Post-Award Coordinatorxz9dxc@email.unc.edu
Pedro MonzonStudent Funding Coordinatorpmonzon@email.unc.edu
Jennifer Joyce Moore, MEdAcademic Coordinatorjenjoyce@email.unc.edu
Lynda PetersonAccounting Techlynda_peterson@unc.edu
Jason PruszkoIT Support Analystjason.pruszko@unc.edu
Debra SimoneExecutive Assistant, IEHSdsimone@unc.edu
Kriste SmithBusiness Manager for Institute for Environmental Health Solutions (IEHS)kristes@email.unc.edu
Robin WhitleyAdministrative Services Coordinatorrobin_whitley@unc.edu
RELATED PAGES
CONTACT INFORMATION
Contact your Academic Coordinator.
Who is my Academic Coordinator?

Assistant to Chair: Rhoda Cerny
Looking for someone else?
MPH@UNC (MPH Online) Only:
Program Coordinator, John Sugg

135 Dauer Drive
166 Rosenau Hall, CB #7431
Chapel Hill, NC 27599-7431
(919) 966-1171