Student Services

Adia Ware
Academic Coordinator
162B Rosenau Hall
CB #7431
esestudentservices@unc.edu

Chair’s Office

Rhoda Cerny
Executive Assistant to the Chair, Dr. Barbara Turpin
166 Rosenau Hall
CB #7431
919-966-1024
rhoda_cerny@unc.edu

Administrative Officers

Barbara Turpin, PhD
Departmental Chair and Professor
166C Rosenau Hall
CB #7431
919-966-1024
esechair@unc.edu

Rebecca Fry, PhD
Associate Chair for Strategic Initiatives, and Angle Distinguished Professor

166A Rosenau Hall
CB #7431
919-843-6864
rfry@email.unc.edu

Avram Gold, PhD
Associate Chair for Academics and Professor
157 Rosenau Hall
CB #7431
919-966-7304
avram_gold@unc.edu

Program Directors

Michael Aitken, PhD
Director of Graduate Studies (MS, MSPH, PhD) and Professor
160 Rosenau Hall
CB# 7431
919-966-1481
esestudentservices@unc.edu

Louise Ball, PhD
Co-Director of Undergraduate Studies and Professor
158 Rosenau Hall
CB #7431
919-966-7306
ESEUndergradDirector@unc.edu

Jason Surratt, PhD
Co-Director of Undergraduate Studies (Admissions) and Professor
164 Rosenau Hall
CB #7431
919-966-0470
ESEUndergradDirector@unc.edu

Will Vizuete, PhD
Director of MSEE Program and Associate Professor
1302 Michael Hooker Research Center
CB #7431
919-966-0693
airquality@unc.edu

Courtney Woods, PhD
Director of MPH Program and Assistant Professor
146B Rosenau Hall
CB #7431
919-962-4660
cgwoods@email.unc.edu

Administrative Staff

Doris Dworschak
Director of Departmental Finance and Administration
166D Rosenau
CB #7431
919-966-1515
dorisd@email.unc.edu

Kriste Smith
Business Officer/Accounting Lead
355 Rosenau Hall
CB #7431
919-966-1742
kristes@email.unc.edu

Robin Whitley
Administrative Systems Coordinator
148 Rosenau Hall
CB #7431
919-966-7300
robin_whitley@unc.edu

Kay Corbett
Account Technician
357 Rosenau Hall
CB #7431
919-843-2596
kay.corbett@unc.edu

Lynda Peterson
Account Technician
356 Rosenau Hall
CB #7431
919-537-3829
lynda_peterson@unc.edu

Jennifer Hodges
Pre-Award Coordinator
148B Rosenau Hall
CB #7431
jhodges@unc.edu

Pamela Mathews
Pre- and Post- Award Coordinator
CB #7431
919-966-8912
pmathews@email.unc.edu

Melissa Halstead
Human Resources Consultant
206 Rosenau Hall
919-962-3288
Melissa.Halstead@unc.edu

LaSonya Whitworth
Visa Specialist
207 Rosenau Hall
(919) 966-3255
lwhitwor@email.unc.edu

Jason Pruszko
IT Support Analyst
009 Rosenau Hall
CB #7431
919-966-3840
Submit a Help Ticket to Jason: sph_envr@unc.edu

Glenn Walters
Director, BeAM@ESE
919-966-3531
gwalters@ad.unc.edu

Wanda Bodnar
Director, ESE Mass Spectrometry Laboratory
162A Rosenau
CB#7431
919-843-0182
wanda_bodnar@unc.edu

Recent News