Health Behavior Matters
Health Behavior Matters

Edith Parker named new dean of College of Public Health at Iowa

Edith Parker, DrPH, professor and chair of the University of Iowa Department of Community and Behavioral Health, has been named dean of the UI College of Public Health. She will begin on June 1. Parker, a two-time alumna of the Gillings School of Global Public Health at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, studied... Read more »

Charla Hodges working for everyone’s health

Charla Hodges, MPH, MCRP 2015, is excited about her work as a food environment consultant and senior project director at Counter Tools, a nonprofit dedicated to advancing policy, systems and environmental change based in Carrboro, N.C. The organization, co-founded in 2012 by Kurt Ribisl, PhD, professor and chair of the Gillings School’s Department of Health Behavior,... Read more »

Barbara Alvarez Martin receives 2018 Women in Business Award

Barbara Alvarez Martin, MPH 1995, was honored with the 2018 Women in Business Award by the Triangle Business Journal for her work to bring together public and business organizations to improve the health and well-being of Triangle-area communities and residents. Martin, director of Research Development for Cancer Prevention and Control at UNC Lineberger, received a... Read more »

Health behavior alumni serve in Puerto Rico

After Hurricane Maria hit Puerto Rico on September 20, 2017, the world watched as the island surveyed unfathomable damage that left many people without electricity, water or a way to communicate. Kate Thanel, MPH 2010, and Chaunetta Jones, MPH 2013, who also holds a doctoral degree from Rutgers, answered the call to serve in Puerto... Read more »

Sharrelle Barber comments on assassination of Marielle Franco

Sharrelle Barber, MPH 2009, who also earned a doctorate at Harvard, recently posted a commentary as a rallying cry in the global fight against racism in March 2018. Her commentary tells the story of traveling to Rio to attend Jovens Negras Movendo As Estruturas (Young Black Women Moving Structures) an event organized by the 21... Read more »

Lytle named to hall of fame at Purdue

Leslie Lytle, PhD, professor of health behavior and nutrition at the UNC Gillings School of Global Public Health, was inducted into the ‘Hall of Fame’ on May 3 by Purdue University’s Department of Nutrition Science. The Hall of Fame Award honors nutrition science and Purdue alumni who have made significant contributions to the fields of... Read more »

Faculty updates for academic year 2017-2018

Carolyn Crump, PhD, associate professor of health behavior, is the 2018 recipient of the student-nominated Teaching Excellence and Innovation Award for the department. The award honors faculty members who inspire students; enhance student learning through creative, engaging and innovative teaching methods; or support student success in the classroom and student growth as public health professionals. Crump’s... Read more »

Barrington and others host Cuban First Secretary at Gillings

Cuban First Secretary Miguel Fraga (back, far right) visited UNC on Nov. 17. While at the Gillings School, he met with Julie MacMillan (front, in green), Dr. Clare Barrington (behind MacMillan) and Dr. Peggy Bentley (front, right), among others. During the visit, Fraga met with faculty and staff members to learn about the Gillings School’s... Read more »

Brewer named highly cited researcher

Noel Brewer, PhD, professor of health behavior, was named to Clarivate Analytics’ 2017 Highly Cited Researchers list, which recognizes researchers from around the world who published the most widely cited papers in their field. The 2017 list names approximately 3,400 scientists in 21 fields of the sciences and social sciences whose studies were among the... Read more »

Health behavior student awards 2018

Congratulations to these students who were recognized at the annual Health Behavior Student Awards Celebration on May 8, 2018. Many of the awards were presented by alumni who had previously received the awards. Departmental student awards Harriet Hylton Barr Memorial Scholarship  – Joanna Ramirez Dorothy Fay Dunn Scholarship –  Erika Redding Kathryn J. Kerr Memorial... Read more »