People

Project 1: Biomarkers of Exposure versus Effect; Improving the Scientific Basis for Risk Assessment

James Swenberg, Project leader
Kenan Distinguished Professor, Environmental Sciences and Engineering,
Director, Curriculum in Toxicology,
UNC-Chapel Hill
Phone: (919) 966-6139
Email: james_swenberg@unc.edu

Jun Nakamura, Project co-leader
Research Associate Professor, Environmental Sciences and Engineering
UNC-Chapel Hill
Phone: (919) 966-6140
Email: ynakamur@email.unc.edu

Project 2: Genomic and Genetic Analysis of Liver and Kidney Toxicity of Trichloroethylene

Ivan Rusyn, Project leader
Professor, Veterinary Integrative Biosciences
Texas A&M University
Office: (979) 458-9866
Email: IRusyn@cvm.tamu.edu
http://rusynlab.org
http://comptox.us

Project 3: Elucidating Mechanisms of Cadmium-Induced Toxicity and Disease

Rebecca Fry, Project leader
Associate Professor, Environmental Sciences & Engineering
UNC-Chapel Hill
Phone: (919) 843-6864
Email: rfry@email.unc.edu

Project 4: Measuring Chronic Exposure to and Bioavailability of Organic Chemicals and their Metabolites with a Novel Universal Passive Sampling Device

Damian Shea, Project leader
Professor, Environmental and Molecular Toxicology
NC State University
Phone: (919) 515-4663
Email: d_shea@ncsu.edu

Project 5: Beyond Parent Compound Disappearance in the Bioremediation of Polycyclic Aromatic Hydrocarbon Contaminated Soil

Michael Aitken, Project leader
Professor and Chair, Environmental Sciences and Engineering,
UNC-Chapel Hill
Phone: (919) 966-1024
Email: mike_aitken@unc.edu

Administrative Core

James Swenberg, Director
Kenan Distinguished Professor, Environmental Sciences and Engineering,
Professor, Nutrition,
Professor, Pathology and Laboratory Medicine,
Director, Curriculum in Toxicology,
UNC-Chapel Hill
Phone: (919) 966-6139
Email: james_swenberg@unc.edu

Rebecca Fry, Deputy Director
Associate Professor, Environmental Sciences & Engineering
UNC-Chapel Hill
Phone: (919) 843-6864
Email: rfry@email.unc.edu

Pamela Mathews, Program Coordinator, Superfund Research Program
Environmental Sciences and Engineering
UNC-Chapel Hill
Phone: (919) 966-8912
Fax: (919) 966-7911
Email: pmathews@live.unc.edu

Research Translation Core

Kathleen Gray, Core leader
Director, Environmental Resource Program,
Associate Director for Outreach and Public Service and Lecturer, Institute for the Environment,
UNC-Chapel Hill
Phone: (919) 966-9799
Email: kgray@unc.edu

Marc Serre, Core investigator
Associate Professor, Environmental Sciences and Engineering
UNC-Chapel Hill
Phone: (919) 966-7014
Email: marc_serre@unc.edu

Dana Haine, Core staff
K-12 Science Education Manager, Environmental Resource Program
UNC-Chapel Hill
Phone: (919) 843-5735
Email: dhaine@email.unc.edu

Sarah Yelton, Core staff
Environmental Education Coordinator, Environmental Resource Program
UNC-Chapel Hill
Phone: (919) 966-0895
Email: sarah.yelton@unc.edu

Biostatistical Core

Fred Wright, Core leader
Professor, Statistics
Director, Bioinformatics Research Center
NC State University
Email: fred_wright@ncsu.edu

Chemistry and Analytical Core

Avram Gold, Core co-leader
Professor, Environmental Sciences and Engineering
UNC-Chapel Hill
Phone: (919) 966-7304
Email: golda@email.unc.edu

Wanda Bodnar, Core co-leader
Research Assistant Professor, Environmental Sciences and Engineering
Director, Biomarker Mass Spectrometry Facility
UNC-Chapel Hill
Phone: (919) 843-0182
Email: wanda_bodnar@unc.edu

This program is supported by a grant from the National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences (#P42ES005948).