People


 

Project 1: Biomarkers of Exposure versus Effect; Improving the Scientific Basis for Risk Assessment

ESE_Pic_SwenbergJames Swenberg, Project leader
Professor, Nutrition, Pathology and Laboratory Medicine,
Director, Curriculum in Toxicology,
Kenan Distinguished Professor, Environmental Sciences and Engineering,
UNC-Chapel Hill
Phone: (919) 966-6139
Email: james_swenberg@unc.edu

ESE_Pic_NakamuraJun Nakamura, Project co-leader
Research Associate Professor, Environmental Sciences and Engineering
UNC-Chapel Hill
Phone: (919) 966-6140
Email: ynakamur@email.unc.edu


Project 2: Genomic and Genetic Analysis of Liver and Kidney Toxicity of Trichloroethylene

ESE_Pic_RusynIvan Rusyn, Project leader
Assistant Professor, Environmental Sciences and Engineering,
UNC-Chapel Hill
Phone: (919) 843-2596
Email: ivan_rusyn@unc.edu


Project 3: Elucidating Mechanisms of Cadmium-Induced Toxicity and Disease

ESE_Pic_FryRebecca Fry, Project leader
Assistant Professor, Environmental Sciences & Engineering
UNC-Chapel Hill
Phone: (919) 843-6864
Email: rfry@email.unc.edu


Project 4: Measuring Chronic Exposure to and Bioavailability of Organic Chemicals and their Metabolites with a Novel Universal Passive Sampling Device

SRP_damian_shea_portraitDamian Shea, Project leader
Professor, Environmental and Molecular Toxicology
NC State University
Phone: (919) 515-4663
Email: d_shea@ncsu.edu


Project 5: Beyond Parent Compound Disappearance in the Bioremediation of Polycyclic Aromatic Hydrocarbon Contaminated Soil

ESE_Pic_AitkenMichael Aitken, Project leader
Professor and Chair, Environmental Sciences and Engineering,
UNC-Chapel Hill
Phone: (919) 966-1024
Email: mike_aitken@unc.edu

                        

Administrative Core

James Swenberg, Director
Professor, Nutrition, Pathology and Laboratory Medicine,
Director, Curriculum in Toxicology,
Kenan Distinguished Professor, Environmental Sciences and Engineering,
UNC-Chapel Hill
Phone: (919) 966-6139
Email: james_swenberg@unc.edu

Ivan Rusyn, Deputy Director
Assistant Professor, Environmental Sciences and Engineering,
UNC-Chapel Hill
Phone: (919) 843-2596
Email: ivan_rusyn@unc.edu

Pamela Mathews, Program Coordinator, Superfund Research Program
Environmental Sciences and Engineering
UNC-Chapel Hill
Phone: (919) 966-8912
Fax: (919) 966-7911
Email: pmathews@live.unc.edu


Research Translation Core

Kathleen Gray, Project leader
Director, Environmental Resource Program,
Associate Director for Outreach and Public Service and Lecturer, Institute for the Environment,
UNC-Chapel Hill
Phone: (919) 966-9799
Email: kgray@unc.edu

Marc Serre, Investigator
Associate Professor, Environmental Sciences and Engineering
UNC-Chapel Hill
Phone: (919) 966-7014
Email: marc_serre@unc.edu

Dana Haine, Program Staff
K-12 Science Education Manager, Environmental Resource Program
UNC-Chapel Hill
Phone: (919) 843-5735
Email: dhaine@email.unc.edu

Tracey Slaughter, Program Staff
Research Associate, Environmental Resource Program
UNC-Chapel Hill
Phone: (919) 966-7839
Email: tracey.slaughter@unc.edu

Sarah Yelton, Program Staff
Environmental Education Coordinator, Environmental Resource Program
UNC-Chapel Hill
Phone: (919) 966-0895
Email: sarah.yelton@unc.edu


Chemistry and Analytical Core

Avram Gold, Project co-leader
Professor, Environmental Sciences and Engineering
UNC-Chapel Hill
Phone: (919) 966-7304
Email: golda@email.unc.edu

Wanda Bodnar, Project co-leader
Research Assistant Professor, Environmental Sciences and Engineering
Director, Biomarker Mass Spectrometry Facility
UNC-Chapel Hill
Phone: (919) 843-0182
Email: wanda_bodnar@unc.edu


Biostatistical Core

Fred Wright, Project leader
Professor, Statistics
Director, Bioinformatics Research Center
NC State University
Email: fred_wright@ncsu.edu

This program is supported by a grant from the National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences (#P42ES005948).