Gillings School Student Government Association

The 3rd Bayes, a softball team run through UNC Gillings' biostatistics department , are the 2016 intramural champs.

About Us

The UNC Gillings School of Global Public Health Student Government Association is an organization of public health student leaders spanning all departments in the School of Public Health. The Student Government Board is comprised of an executive board, representatives from each department within the School of Public Health and members-at-large from various student groups within the School.

Our Mission

Our mission is to disseminate information, support student-initiated projects, coordinate schoolwide events, and represent the concerns of public health students to the faculty, staff and university community.

Diversity Orientation

August 18, 2017
8:30 am – 1:00 pm
133 Rosenau Hall

The Diversity Orientation connects UNC Gillings students from various groups (e.g., students of color, international students, transfer students, LGBTQ students, students with families or students who have been out of school for more than 10 years) to each other and to related resources. This orientation is created to assist students in transitioning to a new chapter in life. A continental breakfast and lunch will be served. Register here.


Gillings Welcome Event

August 21, 2017
8:30 am – 2:30 pm.
Armfield Atrium, Michael Hooker Research Center

Meet and engage with faculty, students, staff and future colleagues. Learn essential information about programs at UNC Gillings. Have questions answered. Connect with people, projects, jobs, upcoming events and student groups. Find your way around the Gillings School, UNC and the town of Chapel Hill. Registration is not required.

Fall 2017 Meetings

September 8, 2017 – 2-3pm View Minutes
September 29, 2017 – 2-3pm View Minutes
November 3, 2017 – 2-3pm View Minutes

Meetings are open.  If you’re interested in attending a Student Government meeting, please contact Co-Presidents Katherine Gora Combs or Adante Hart for the location.

2017-2018 Student Government Board

Executive Board Position

Name

Email Address

Executive Board Position

Co-President – Undergraduate

Name

Katherine Gora Combs

Email Address

kgcombs@live.unc.edu

Executive Board Position

Co-President – Graduate

Name

Adante Hart

Email Address

adante@unc.edu

Executive Board Position

Secretary

Name

Beverly Medina

Email Address

bbmedina@live.unc.edu

Executive Board Position

Treasurer

Name

Amro Mohamed

Email Address

amro713@live.unc.edu

Executive Board Position

Communications Coordinator

Name

Esther Lee

Email Address

estherl@live.unc.edu

Executive Board Position

Events Coordinator

Name

Sarah Zelasky

Email Address

szelasky@live.unc.edu

Executive Board Position

Fundraising Coordinator

Name

Drake Broussard

Email Address

drake_broussard@med.unc.edu

Department

Name

Email Address

Department

Biostatistics Department Representative – Undergraduate

Name

Hannah Inman

Email Address

hsinman@live.unc.edu

Department

Biostatistics Department Representative – Graduate

Name

Nuvan Rathnayaka

Email Address

nrath@live.unc.edu

Department

Environmental Science & Engineering Department Representative – Undergraduate

Name

Molina Shah

Email Address

molina1@live.unc.edu

Department

Environmental Science & Engineering Department Representative – Graduate

Name

Peter Kane

Email Address

pkkane@live.unc.edu

Department

Epidemiology Department Representative

Name

Kristin Voltzke

Email Address

krisv@email.unc.edu

Department

Health Behavior Department Representative

Name

Nastacia Pereira

Email Address

npereira@unc.edu

Department

Health Policy & Management Department Representative – Undergraduate

Name

Margaux Johnson-Green

Email Address

mjg795@live.unc.edu

Department

Health Policy & Management Department Representative – Graduate

Name

Nick Hernandez

Email Address

nherna03@live.unc.edu

Department

Maternal & Child Health Department Representative

Name

Jessica Huey

Email Address

jesshh@live.unc.edu

Department

Nutrition Department Representative – Undergraduate

Name

Mikayla Bowen

Email Address

mbowen97@live.unc.edu

Department

Nutrition Department Representative – Graduate

Name

Tara Carr

Email Address

carrt@email.unc.edu

Department

Public Health Leadership Program Department Representative

Name

Anshula Nathan

Email Address

anshula@live.unc.edu

Contact the Student Government email.

Like us on Facebook to learn more about our organization and about upcoming school-wide events.