Research Council

The School’s Research Council was established in 1999 to discuss strategic planning and outcomes for research matters throughout the School.

Research is the major activity in which most faculty members in the UNC Gillings School of Global Public Health engage, and research accounts for the majority of the funding to the School. The SPH Research Council is composed of faculty members from all the departments of the School, and it focuses on efforts that will enhance the research environment at the School.

Since 2008, the Council worked to help establish research Objectives and Metrics for CEPH re-accreditation. They continue to be actively engaged in the current 2014-2015 preparation for the School’s next re-accreditation cycle.

Recently, the Council has also been called on to conduct internal review processes such as limited-submission opportunities where our School can only put forth a limited number of nominees. They also pilot and provide feedback on new research information systems and add-on modules including those in REACH NC and Curvita.

Committee Roster


Committee Roster



Sandra Martin, PhD

Professor, Maternal & Child Health


SPH Members


Noel Brewer, PhD

Associate Professor, Health Behavior


Rosalind Coleman, MD

Professor, Nutrition


Christin Daniels, MA

Director of Research, School of Public Health


Cheryll Lesneski, DrPH

Clinical Assistant Professor, Public Health Leadership


Leena Nylander-French, PhD

Professor, Environmental Sciences & Engineering


George Pink, PhD

Professor, Health Policy & Management


Tamar Ringel-Kulka, MD

Research Assistant Professor, Maternal & Child Health


David Weber, MD

Professor, Epidemiology


Hongtu Zhu, PhD

Professor, Biostatistics