Practice Advisory Committee

The Gillings School’s Practice Advisory Committee consists of experienced leaders from public health as well as those in public and private enterprises with relevance to public health. The committee convenes three times a year and focuses on strengthening our connections to practice in order to better address the challenges faced in improving the health of North Carolinians. Among others, these steps include creating an intentional dialogue between Gillings School leaders and North Carolina practice and policy leaders, identifying research and service contributions to strengthen public health practice, and creating pathways for improvements in North Carolina public health policy and practice.

Bill Pully, JD, Chair
North Carolina Hospital Association

Leah Devlin, DDS, Co-Chair
Visiting Professor
Health Policy and Management, UNC Gillings School of Global Public Health

Ronny Bell, PhD
Professor and Chair
Department of Public Health, Brody School of Medicine
East Carolina University

Colleen Bridger, PhD
Orange County Health Department

Ellen Essick, PhD
Section Chief
NC Healthy Schools, North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Heather Gates, MPH
Executive Director
WNC Health Network

Laura Gerald, MD, MPH
Kate B. Reynolds Charitable Trust

Gayle Harris, MPH
Durham County Health Department

Sue Lynn Ledford, RN, BSN, MPA
Division Director
Wake County Public Health

Laura Linnan, ScD
Associate Dean for Academic and Student Affairs
Health Behavior, UNC Gillings School of Global Public Health

Lloyd Mitchner, MD
Professor and Chair
Community and Family Medicine, Duke University School of Medicine

Ben Money, MPH
President and CEO
NC Community Health Center Association

Maggie Sauer, MHA, MS
President and CEO
Foundation for Health Leadership and Innovation

Anna Schenck, PhD
Associate Dean for Practice
Director and Professor of the Practice
Public Health Leadership Program, UNC Gillings School of Global Public Health

Jessica Southwell, MPH, Staff Support
Research Associate
North Carolina Institute of Public Health

Danny Staley, MPH
Division Director
NC Division of Public Health

Jacqueline Wynn, MPH
Associate Director
North Carolina Area Health Education Centers Program