Dean's Council at the Gillings School

The Dean’s Council is broadly representative of academic and administrative leadership of the Gillings School and includes: the dean; department chairs, the senior associate dean; all assistant and associate deans; directors of programs and units that serve all parts of the Gillings School; and representatives of student government and the Minority Student Caucus. The Dean’s Council meets bi-monthly and is charged with the following responsibilities:

  • Set strategic directions;
  • Make policy recommendations;
  • Approve directions in high-impact areas affecting many or all parts of the School;
  • Develop, approve, review and provide feedback on Gillings; School CEPH metrics and advise on potential remedies in cases of underperformance;
  • Recommend strategies to enhance diversity and inclusion at the Gillings School;
  • Review and vote on memoranda of understanding;
  • Advise on fundraising directions;
  • Serve as a sounding board on important issues facing the Gillings School, including those related to students, and recommends appropriate actions.

Dean of the Gillings School of Public Health
Department Chairs
Academics and Practice
Administration
Student Representatives

Dean of the Gillings School of Global Public Health

Dean Barbara K. Rimer

Barbara K. Rimer, DrPH, MPH
Dean and Alumni Distinguished Professor

Dean’s Office

170 Rosenau Hall
135 Dauer Drive
Campus Box 7400
brimer@unc.edu

Assistant: Angelica Figueroa
919-843-0908
a.figueroa@unc.edu

Department Chairs

As leaders of and advocates for their departments, chairs bring a unique set of perspectives and concerns to the dean’s council. By definition, each department chair:

  • Provides vision and leadership for departmental research, service and academic programs;
  • Manages departmental administrative functions;
  • Leads departmental faculty and staff;
  • Facilitates funding from a variety of sources;
  • Oversees research, grants and centers;
  • Connects to alumni and donors;
  • Promotes and nurtures diversity and inclusion; and
  • Provides leadership for all student functions.

The Gillings School’s Chairs’ Committee, composed of the leaders of all eight academic units in the Gillings School, meets monthly and is charged with the following responsibilities:

  • Makes decisions on academic policies under School jurisdiction;
  • Guides and votes on the School’s allocation model and revisions to it for state budget;
  • Considers issues with schoolwide relevance to the academic mission
  • Reviews, and makes funding decisions about, applications for Gillings Innovation Labs;
  • Reviews and approves new academic directions.

Jianwen Cai, PhD
Interim Chair and Professor, Biostatistics

Biostatistics (BIOS)

3101b McGavran-Greenberg Hall
135 Dauer Drive
Campus Box 7420
cai@bios.unc.edu

Assistant: Betsy Seagroves
919-966-7254
bseagrov@bios.unc.edu

turpin-barbara-advanced-profile

Barbara Turpin, PhD
Chair and Professor, Environmental Sciences and Engineering

Environmental Sciences and Engineering (ESE)

166c Rosenau Hall
135 Dauer Drive
Campus Box 7431
bjturpin@email.unc.edu

Assistant: Rhoda Cerny
919-966-1024
rcerny@email.unc.edu

Dr. Andy Olshan

Andrew Olshan, PhD
Chair and Barbara Sorenson Hulka Distinguished Professor, Epidemiology

Epidemiology (EPID)

2101b McGavran-Greenberg Hall
135 Dauer Drive
Campus Box 7435
andy_olshan@unc.edu

Assistant: Chandra Caldwell
919-966-7419
ccaldwel@email.unc.edu

HB-lytle_leslie_2013

Leslie Lytle, PhD
Chair and Professor, Health Behavior;
Professor, Nutrition

Health Behavior (HB)

303 Rosenau Hall
135 Dauer Drive
Campus Box 7440
919-843-8171
llytle@email.unc.edu

Assistant: Helena Knego
919-966-1131
hkm@unc.edu

Daniel Lee, PhD

Daniel Lee, PhD
Chair and Professor, Health Policy and Management

Health Policy and Management (HPM)

1101a McGavran-Greenberg Hall
135 Dauer Drive
Campus Box 7411
sylee@email.unc.edu

Assistant: Tracey Gollwitzer
919-966-9122
tracey@unc.edu

Dr. Carolyn Halpern

Carolyn Halpern, PhD
Chair and Professor, Maternal and Child Health

Maternal and Child Health (MCH)

401 Rosenau Hall
135 Dauer Drive
Campus Box 7445
carolyn_halpern@unc.edu

Assistant: Susan Charamut
919-966-5981
susan.charamut@unc.edu

mayer-davis_elizabeth

Elizabeth Mayer-Davis, PhD
Chair and Professor, Nutrition

Nutrition (NUTR)

245c McGavran-Greenberg Hall
135 Dauer Drive
Campus Box 7461
beth_mayer-davis@unc.edu

Interim Assistant: Ashlee Companion
919-962-3150
acompanion@unc.edu

GGG_schenck_anna

Anna Schenck, PhD
Director and Professor of the Practice of Public Health, Public Health Leadership Program

Public Health Leadership Program (PHLP)

4103 McGavran-Greenberg Hall
135 Dauer Drive
Campus Box 7469
schenck1@email.unc.edu

Assistant: Chantal Donaghy
919-966-5285
donaghy@email.unc.edu

Academics and Practice

Laura Linnan, ScD

Laura Linnan, ScD
Associate Dean for Academic and Student Affairs;
Professor, Health Behavior

Academic Affairs

307 Rosenau Hall
135 Dauer Drive
Campus Box 7440
919-843-8044
linnan@email.unc.edu

Assistant: Pamela Lee
919-966-4477
pjlee@email.unc.edu

Dr. James Herrington

Jim Herrington, MPH, PhD
Executive Director, Gillings Global Gateway

Gillings Global Gateway

104 Rosenau Hall
135 Dauer Drive
Campus Box 7400
jimhsph@email.unc.edu

Assistant: Elisia Black
919-843-3945
elisias@email.unc.edu

Dr. Peggy Bentley

Margaret (Peggy) Bentley, PhD
Associate Dean for Global Health;
Carla Smith Chamblee Distinguished Professor, Nutrition

Global Health

124 Rosenau Hall
135 Dauer Drive
Campus Box 7400
pbentley@unc.edu

Assistant: Elisia Black
919-843-3945
elisias@email.unc.edu

GGG_schenck_anna

Anna Schenck, PhD
Associate Dean for Practice;
Director, North Carolina Institute for Public Health

North Carolina Institute for Public Health (NCIPH)

4103 McGavran-Greenberg Hall
135 Dauer Drive
Campus Box 7469
schenck1@email.unc.edu

Assistant: Chantal Donaghy
919-966-5285
donaghy@email.unc.edu

MARTIN_SANDRA

Sandra Martin, PhD, MSc
Associate Dean for Research;
Professor, Maternal and Child Health

Research and Innovation Solutions (RIS)

425 Rosenau Hall
135 Dauer Drive
Campus Box 7445
sandra_martin@unc.edu

Office of Research Director: Christin Daniels
919-966-0123
christin_daniels@unc.edu

macmillan_julie_2008

Julie MacMillan, MPH
Managing Director

Research and Innovation Solutions (RIS)

104 Rosenau Hall
135 Dauer Drive
Campus Box 7415
919-843-3952
macmilla@email.unc.edu

Assistant: Elisia Black
919-843-3945
elisias@email.unc.edu

charletta_simsevans

Charletta Sims Evans, MEd
Assistant Dean for Student Affairs

Student Affairs (OSA)

263b Rosenau Hall
135 Dauer Drive
Campus Box 7400

Assistant: Natiaya Neal
919-966-2499
nneal@email.unc.edu

Administration

Todd Nicolet, PhD
Senior Associate Dean

Administration

170 Rosenau Hall
135 Dauer Drive
Campus Box 7400
todd_nicolet@unc.edu

Assistant: Lisa Warren
919-843-8099
lcwarren@email.unc.edu

Dr. James Herrington

Crystal Miller, MA
Associate Dean for Advancement

Advancement

110 Rosenau Hall
135 Dauer Drive
Campus Box 7407
miller@unc.edu

Assistant: Portia Made-Jamison
919-966-0198
pmadeja@email.unc.edu

pesci_david

David Pesci
Director of Communications

Communications

110 Rosenau Hall
135 Dauer Drive
Campus Box 7400
dpesci@email.unc.edu

barboriak_kathy_2008

Kathy Anderson, PhD
Assistant Dean for Information Technology

Instructional and Information Systems (IIS)

219b Rosenau Hall
135 Dauer Drive
Campus Box 7400
919-843-5312
kathy_anderson@unc.edu

Elizabeth French, MA
Assistant Dean for Strategic Initiatives;
Adjunct Instructor

Special Initiatives

138 Rosenau Hall
135 Dauer Drive
Campus Box 7400
eafrench@unc.edu

Molly O’Keefe
Assistant Dean for Strategic Analysis
and Business Intelligence

Strategic Analysis and Business Intelligence

109 Rosenau Hall
135 Dauer Drive
Campus Box 7400
mollyokeefe@email.unc.edu

pesci_david

Katie Thornsvard, MAC
Assistant Dean of Business and Finance

Finance

207-B Rosenau Hall
135 Dauer Drive
Campus Box 7400
katiet@email.unc.edu

pesci_david

Steve Regan
Assistant Dean of Human Resources

Human Resources

212 Rosenau Hall
135 Dauer Drive
Campus Box 7400
regansj@email.unc.edu

Student Representatives

AprilAviles_Picture

April Aviles
Co-President, SPH Minority Student Caucus

FullSizeRender

Samuel Baxter
Co-President, SPH Minority Student Caucus

KristinVoltzke

Kristin Voltzke
Co-President, SPH Student Government

IMG_1807

Ranjitha Ananthan
Co-President, SPH Student Government