Dean's Council at the Gillings School

The dean’s council at the Gillings School of Global Public Health serves as a forum for timely discussion of major issues facing the School. Its membership is broadly representative of academic and administrative leadership of the School, including student body leaders. The dean’s council is composed of the dean; department chairs; the senior associate dean (or other senior position) and the associate and assistant deans; directors of programs/units that serve the overall School; and representatives of the Gillings School’s student government and the Minority Student Caucus.

Dean of the Gillings School of Public Health
Department Chairs
Academics and Practice
Administration
Student Representatives

Dean of the Gillings School of Global Public Health

Dean Barbara K. Rimer

Barbara K. Rimer, DrPH, MPH
Dean and Alumni Distinguished Professor

Dean’s Office

170 Rosenau Hall
135 Dauer Drive
Campus Box 7400
brimer@unc.edu

Assistant: Angelica Figueroa
919-843-0908
a.figueroa@unc.edu

Department Chairs

As leaders of and advocates for their departments, chairs bring a unique set of perspectives and concerns to the dean’s council. By definition, each department chair provides vision and leadership for departmental research, service and academic programs; manages departmental administrative functions; leads departmental faculty and staff; facilitates funding from a variety of sources; oversees research, grants and centers; connects to alumni and donors; promotes and nurtures diversity and inclusion; and provides leadership for all student functions.

kosorok_michael_2011

Michael Kosorok, PhD
Chair and W. R. Kenan Distinguished Professor, Biostatistics

Biostatistics (BIOS)

3101b McGavran-Greenberg Hall
135 Dauer Drive
Campus Box 7420
kosorok@email.unc.edu

Assistant: Betsy Seagroves
919-966-7254
bseagrov@bios.unc.edu

ESE_Pic_Aitken

Michael Aitken, PhD
Chair and Professor, Environmental Sciences and Engineering

Environmental Sciences and Engineering (ESE)

166c Rosenau Hall
135 Dauer Drive
Campus Box 7431
aitken@email.unc.edu

Assistant: Rhoda Cerny
919-966-1024
rcerny@email.unc.edu

Dr. Andy Olshan

Andrew Olshan, PhD
Barbara Sorenson Hulka Distinguished Professor in Cancer Epidemiology, Chair of Epidemiology Department

Epidemiology (EPI)

2101b McGavran-Greenberg Hall
135 Dauer Drive
Campus Box 7435
andy_olshan@unc.edu

Assistant: Chandra Caldwell
919-966-7419
ccaldwel@email.unc.edu

HB-lytle_leslie_2013

Leslie Lytle, PhD
Chair and Professor, Health Behavior;
Professor, Nutrition

Health Behavior (HB)

303 Rosenau Hall
135 Dauer Drive
Campus Box 7440
919-843-8171
llytle@email.unc.edu

Assistant: Helena Mullen
919-966-1131
mullenh@email.unc.edu

Daniel Lee, PhD

Daniel Lee, PhD
Chair and Professor, Health Policy and Management

Health Policy and Management (HPM)

1101a McGavran-Greenberg Hall
135 Dauer Drive
Campus Box 7411
sylee@email.unc.edu

Assistant: Tracey Gollwitzer
919-966-9122
tracey@unc.edu

Dr. Carolyn Halpern

Carolyn Halpern, PhD
Chair and Professor, Maternal and Child Health

Maternal and Child Health (MCH)

401 Rosenau Hall
135 Dauer Drive
Campus Box 7445
carolyn_halpern@unc.edu

Assistant: Susan Charamut
919-966-5981
susan.charamut@unc.edu

mayer-davis_elizabeth

Elizabeth Mayer-Davis, PhD
Chair and Professor, Nutrition

Nutrition (NUTR)

245c McGavran-Greenberg Hall
135 Dauer Drive
Campus Box 7461
beth_mayer-davis@unc.edu

Assistant: John Easterbrook
919-962-3150
jeasterb@email.unc.edu

GGG_schenck_anna

Anna Schenck, PhD
Director and Professor of the Practice of Public Health, Public Health Leadership Program

Public Health Leadership Program (PHLP)

4103 McGavran-Greenberg Hall
135 Dauer Drive
Campus Box 7469
schenck1@email.unc.edu

Assistant: Chantal Donaghy
919-966-5285
donaghy@email.unc.edu

Academics and Practice

Laura Linnan, ScD

Laura Linnan, ScD
Associate Dean for Academic and Student Affairs;
Professor, Health Behavior

Academic Affairs

307 Rosenau Hall
135 Dauer Drive
Campus Box 7440
919-843-8044
linnan@email.unc.edu

Assistant: Pamela Lee
919-966-3245
pjlee@email.unc.edu

Dr. James Herrington

Jim Herrington, MPH, PhD
Executive Director, Gillings Global Gateway

Gillings Global Gateway (GGG)

104 Rosenau Hall
135 Dauer Drive
Campus Box 7400
jimhsph@email.unc.edu

Assistant: Elisia Black
919-843-3945
elisias@email.unc.edu

Dr. Peggy Bentley

Margaret (Peggy) Bentley, PhD
Associate Dean for Global Health;
Carla Smith Chamblee Distinguished Professor, Nutrition

Global Health

124 Rosenau Hall
135 Dauer Drive
Campus Box 7400
pbentley@unc.edu

Assistant: Elisia Black
919-843-3945
elisias@email.unc.edu

GGG_schenck_anna

Anna Schenck, PhD
Associate Dean for Practice;
Director, North Carolina Institute for Public Health

North Carolina Institute for Public Health (NCIPH)

4103 McGavran-Greenberg Hall
135 Dauer Drive
Campus Box 7469
schenck1@email.unc.edu

Assistant: Chantal Donaghy
919-966-5285
donaghy@email.unc.edu

MARTIN_SANDRA

Sandra Martin, PhD, MSc
Associate Dean for Research;
Professor, Maternal and Child Health

Research and Innovation Solutions (RIS)

425 Rosenau Hall
135 Dauer Drive
Campus Box 7445
sandra_martin@unc.edu

Office of Research Director: Christin Daniels
919-966-0123
christin_daniels@unc.edu

macmillan_julie_2008

Julie MacMillan, MPH
Managing Director

Research and Innovation Solutions (RIS)

104 Rosenau Hall
135 Dauer Drive
Campus Box 7415
919-843-3952
macmilla@email.unc.edu

Assistant: Elisia Black
919-843-3945
elisias@email.unc.edu

charletta_simsevans

Charletta Sims Evans, MEd
Assistant Dean for Student Affairs

Student Affairs (OSA)

263b Rosenau Hall
135 Dauer Drive
Campus Box 7400

Assistant: Natiaya Neal
919-966-2499
nneal@email.unc.edu

Administration

Todd Nicolet, PhD
Senior Associate Dean for Administration

Administration

170 Rosenau Hall
135 Dauer Drive
Campus Box 7400
todd_nicolet@unc.edu

Assistant: Lisa Warren
919-843-8099
lcwarren@email.unc.edu

Dr. James Herrington

Crystal Miller, MA
Associate Dean for Advancement

Advancement

110 Rosenau Hall
135 Dauer Drive
Campus Box 7407
miller@unc.edu

Assistant: Portia Made-Jamison
919-966-0198
pmadeja@email.unc.edu

pesci_david

David Pesci
Director of Communications

Communications

110 Rosenau Hall
135 Dauer Drive
Campus Box 7400
dpesci@email.unc.edu

barboriak_kathy_2008

Kathy Anderson, PhD
Assistant Dean for Information Technology

Instructional and Information Systems (IIS)

219b Rosenau Hall
135 Dauer Drive
Campus Box 7400
919-843-5312
kathy_anderson@unc.edu

Assistant: vacant
919-962-3150

Elizabeth French, MA
Assistant Dean for Special Initiatives;
Adjunct Instructor

Special Initiatives

138 Rosenau Hall
135 Dauer Drive
Campus Box 7400
eafrench@unc.edu

pesci_david

Katie Thornsvard, MAC
Assistant Dean of Business Finance

Finance

207-B Rosenau Hall
135 Dauer Drive
Campus Box 7400
katiet@email.unc.edu

pesci_david

Steve Regan
Assistant Dean of Human Resources

Human Resources

212 Rosenau Hall
135 Dauer Drive
Campus Box 7400
regansj@email.unc.edu

Student Representatives

Lorenzo Hopper
Co-President, SPH Minority Student Caucus

Jasmine Dailey
Co-President, SPH Minority Student Caucus

Kristin Voltzke
Co-President, SPH Student Government

Ethan Wallenius-Caldwell
Co-President, SPH Student Government

UNC Gillings School of Global Public Health | Contact