Coordination Group at the Gillings School

The coordination group evolved from the recognition that the Gillings School of Global Public Health would be stronger if communication and coordination were enhanced among the School’s central units. At the kick-off meeting of the coordination group in October, 2010, the group agreed that it would focus on priorities (time sensitive and “forever”), strategic thinking/consultation/planning and high-level coordination. Over time, the focus has evolved to be more operational. The coordination group meets once a month and is chaired by the dean or senior associate dean. The committee consists of directors, deans and other leaders of the School’s central units, as well as the assistant dean for students, associate deans for academic affairs, practice, research and global health, senior associate dean and dean.

  • The fundamental purpose of the coordination group is to assure communication and coordination across the School’s central units (i.e., if one group is working on an activity, others are brought in, as appropriate).
  • Assure effective and efficient administrative support: avoid duplication of effort and assure that our activities, programs and events are optimally effective and reflect the synergy possible from working together and recognizing one another’s goals across the School and units.
  • Solve problems across the School’s central administrative units.

Dean of the School of Public Health
Administration
Academics and Practice
Past Committee Agendas

Coordination Group Members

Dean of the School of Public Health

Dean Barbara K. Rimer

Barbara K. Rimer, DrPH, MPH
Dean and Alumni Distinguished Professor

Dean’s Office

170 Rosenau Hall
135 Dauer Drive
Campus Box 7400
brimer@unc.edu

Assistant: Angelica Figueroa
919-843-0908
a.figueroa@unc.edu

Administration

Dr. James Herrington

Crystal Miller, MA
Associate Dean for Advancement

Advancement

110 Rosenau Hall
135 Dauer Drive
Campus Box 7407
miller@unc.edu

Assistant: Portia Made-Jamison
919-966-0198
pmadeja@email.unc.edu

pesci_david

David Pesci
Director of Communications

Communications

110 Rosenau Hall
135 Dauer Drive
Campus Box 7400
dpesci@email.unc.edu

Assistant: Susie Smith
919-966-3722
susies@email.unc.edu

barboriak_kathy_2008

Kathy Anderson, PhD
Assistant Dean for Information Technology

Instructional and Information Systems (IIS)

219b Rosenau Hall
135 Dauer Drive
Campus Box 7400
919-843-5312
kathy_anderson@unc.edu

Elizabeth French, MA
Assistant Dean for Special Initiatives;
Adjunct Instructor

Special Initiatives

138 Rosenau Hall
135 Dauer Drive
Campus Box 7400
eafrench@unc.edu

Molly O’Keefe
Assistant Dean for Strategic Analysis
and Business Intelligence

Strategic Analysis and Business Intelligence

109 Rosenau Hall
135 Dauer Drive
Campus Box 7400
mollyokeefe@email.unc.edu

pesci_david

Katie Thornsvard, MAC
Assistant Dean of Business Finance

Finance

207-B Rosenau Hall
135 Dauer Drive
Campus Box 7400
katiet@email.unc.edu

pesci_david

Steve Regan
Assistant Dean of Human Resources

Human Resources

212 Rosenau Hall
135 Dauer Drive
Campus Box 7400
regansj@email.unc.edu

Academics and Practice

Laura Linnan, ScD

Laura Linnan, ScD
Associate Dean for Academic and Student Affairs;
Professor, Health Behavior

Academic Affairs

307 Rosenau Hall
135 Dauer Drive
Campus Box 7440
919-843-8044
linnan@email.unc.edu

Assistant: Pamela Lee
919-966-3245
pjlee@email.unc.edu

Dr. James Herrington

Jim Herrington, MPH, PhD
Executive Director, Gillings Global Gateway

Gillings Global Gateway

104 Rosenau Hall
135 Dauer Drive
Campus Box 7400
jimhsph@email.unc.edu

Assistant: Elisia Black
919-843-3945
elisias@email.unc.edu

Dr. Peggy Bentley

Margaret (Peggy) Bentley, PhD
Associate Dean for Global Health;
Carla Smith Chamblee Distinguished Professor, Nutrition

Global Health

124 Rosenau Hall
135 Dauer Drive
Campus Box 7400
pbentley@unc.edu

Assistant: Elisia Black
919-843-3945
elisias@email.unc.edu

GGG_schenck_anna

Anna Schenck, PhD
Associate Dean for Practice;
Director, North Carolina Institute for Public Health

North Carolina Institute for Public Health (NCIPH)

4103 McGavran-Greenberg Hall
135 Dauer Drive
Campus Box 7469
schenck1@email.unc.edu

Assistant: Chantal Donaghy
919-966-5285
donaghy@email.unc.edu

MARTIN_SANDRA

Sandra Martin, PhD, MSc
Associate Dean for Research;
Professor, Maternal and Child Health

Research and Innovation Solutions (RIS)

425 Rosenau Hall
135 Dauer Drive
Campus Box 7445
sandra_martin@unc.edu

Office of Research Director: Christin Daniels
919-966-0123
christin_daniels@unc.edu

macmillan_julie_2008

Julie MacMillan, MPH
Managing Director

Research and Innovation Solutions (RIS)

104 Rosenau Hall
135 Dauer Drive
Campus Box 7415
919-843-3952
macmilla@email.unc.edu

Assistant: Elisia Black
919-843-3945
elisias@email.unc.edu

charletta_simsevans

Charletta Sims Evans, MEd
Assistant Dean for Student Affairs

Student Affairs (OSA)

263b Rosenau Hall
135 Dauer Drive
Campus Box 7400

Assistant: Natiaya Neal
919-966-2499
nneal@email.unc.edu