Maternal and Child Health faculty and staff

Faculty members Sullivan and Margolis

Faculty members Sullivan and Margolis (l-r)

Our department’s faculty and staff are seasoned veterans in MCH practice and scholarship. Many have worked within or in close consultation with the major domestic and global MCH public health agencies – the State Health Department/Title V Program, The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, The U.S. Agency for International Development, The United Nations Children’s Fund, and the World Health Organization. They have also led the MCH field in teaching, continuing to introduce curricular innovations to ensure that our students obtain the knowledge and skills necessary to become effective leaders in the field.

Currently the department has 29 faculty members, 18 of whom have primary appointments in MCH. Complementing these faculty are four emeritus members, and more than 70 adjunct faculty, many of whom hold leadership positions in MCH research and practice settings. Given the interdisciplinary nature of our department, faculty and staff research interests and activities span the full array of issues and areas of focus for the maternal and child health population. Our initiatives are designed to create new knowledge and directly improve the health of this population. World class faculty have been carefully recruited with these goals in mind.

Our skilled and dedicated staff members support our faculty, students and alumni, ensuring that our teaching and research programs run smoothly and effectively. Together, faculty and staff help our department stay responsive to the changing needs of MCH students, alumni and the practice community.

Gustavo Angeles Research Assistant Professor gustavo_angeles@unc.edu
Pierre Barker Clinical Professor pierre_barker@med.unc.edu
Janine Barden-O’Fallon Clinical Assistant Professor bardenof@email.unc.edu
Shelah Bloom Research Assistant Professor ssbloom@email.unc.edu
Dorothy Cilenti Clinical Associate Professor cilenti@email.unc.edu
Sian Curtis Research Associate Professor scurtis@email.unc.edu
Julie Daniels Professor julie_daniels@unc.edu
Claudia S.P. Fernandez Clinical Associate Professor claudia_fernandez@unc.edu
Dean Fixsen Research Professor dean.fixsen@unc.edu
Sherri Green Research Assistant Professor sgreen@email.unc.edu
Dana Hagele Research Assistant Professor dana_hagele@med.unc.edu
Carolyn Halpern Professor and Chair carolyn_halpern@unc.edu
Vijaya Hogan Clinical Professor vhogan@email.unc.edu
Jon Hussey Research Assistant Professor jon_hussey@unc.edu
Thomas Ivester Clinical Associate Professor tivester@med.unc.edu
Lewis Margolis Associate Professor lew_margolis@unc.edu
Sandra L Martin Professor sandra_martin@unc.edu
Kavita Singh Ongechi Research Associate Professor singhk@email.unc.edu
Herbert Peterson Kenan Distinguished Professor herbert_peterson@unc.edu
Tamar Ringel-Kulka Research Assistant Professor ringelta@email.unc.edu
Rohit Ramaswamy Clinical Associate Professor ramaswam@email.unc.edu
Diane Louise Rowley Professor of the Practice of Public Health drowley@email.unc.edu
Meghan Shanahan Research Assistant Professor shanahan@unc.edu
Ilene Speizer Research Professor speizer@email.unc.edu
Alison Stuebe Associate Professor astuebe@med.unc.edu
Catherine Sullivan Clinical Assistant Professor catherine_sullivan@unc.edu
John Thorp, Jr Professor john_thorp@med.unc.edu
Christine Tucker Research Assistant Professor cmtucker@live.unc.edu
Bharathi J. Zvara Research Assistant Professor zvara@email.unc.edu


Emeritus Faculty

Trude Bennett Emeritus Associate Professor trude_bennett@unc.edu
Anita M Farel Emeritus Clinical Professor anita_farel@unc.edu
Jonathan B Kotch Emeritus Research Professor jonathan_kotch@unc.edu
Miriam H Labbok (deceased) Emeritus Professor of the Practice of Public Health labbok@unc.edu
Kathryn Clark Andersen Lecturer kathrynandersen7@gmail.com
Bruce Barron Adjunct Professor babarronmd@aol.com
Joy Baumgartner Adjunct Assistant Professor joy.baumgartner@duke.edu
Jose Belizan Adjunct Professor belizanj@gmail.com
Mary Benson Adjunct Associate Professor bensonj@ipas.org
Pouru Bhiwandi Adjunct Professor bhwandi@bellsouth.net
Deborah Billings Adjunct Associate Professor DBillings08@gmail.com
Dalia Brahmi Adjunct Assistant Professor brahmid@ipas.org
Colleen Bridger Adjunct Assistant Professor colleen.bridger@sanantonio.gov
Pauline Brooks Adjunct Assistant Professor paulinebrooks@gmail.com
Dorothy C Browne Adjunct Professor dorothy.browne@icloud.com
Paul Allen Buescher Adjunct Professor paul.a.buescher@gmail.com
Holly McClain Burke Adjunct Associate Professor hburke@fhi360.org
Martha Christine Carlough Adjunct Associate Professor martha_carlough@med.unc.edu
Cecilia Casanueva Adjunct Assistant Professor casanuev@email.unc.edu
Cynthia Cassell Adjunct Assistant Professor chcassell@gmail.com
Caroline Doherty Adjunct Assistant Professor carob@mindspring.com
Sandra Echeverria Adjunct Assistant Professor sandraee2@gmail.com
Abigail English Adjunct Associate Professor abigail.english.cahl@gmail.com
Alfredo Fort Adjunct Associate Professor alfredoluisfort@gmail.com
Judith Fortney Adjunct Professor jafortney1@aol.com
Robert Foss Adjunct Professor rob.foss@unc.edu
Jean Christophe Fotso Adjunct Assistant Professor jean-christophe.fotso@concern.net
Deborah Gibbs Adjunct Assistant Professor dag@rti.org
Phillip Graham Adjunct Assistant Professor pgraham@rti.org
Rebecca Greenleaf Adjunct Instructor rebecca_greenleaf@unc.edu
Joumana Haidar Adjunct Assistant Professor joumana_haidar@unc.edu
Denise Dion Hallfors Adjunct Professor hallfors@pire.org
Elaine Hart-Brothers Adjunct Assistant Professor ehartbrothers@gmail.com
Marcia Herman-Giddens Adjunct Professor meherman.go@gmail.com
Linda Ippolito Adjunct Assistant Professor linda123i@aol.com
Roy Jacobstein Adjunct Professor rjacobstein@intrahealth.org
Dilshad Jaff Adjunct Assistant Professor jdilshad@email.unc.edu
Marian Johnson-Thompson Adjunct Professor marian.johnsonthompson@gmail.com
Heidi Johnston Adjunct Assistant Professor heidibartjohnston@gmail.com
Michael Kafrissen Adjunct Professor mkafriss@mit.edu
Nathalie Kapp Adjunct Associate Professor nathaliek@gmail.com
Eileen Kugler Adjunct Assistant Professor ekugler@ncrr.com
Anuradha Kumar Adjunct Assistant Professor kumara@ipas.org
Jack Leiss Adjunct Associate Professor leisscp@email.unc.edu
Winfred Luseno Adjunct Assistant Professor wluseno@pire.org
Baker Maggwa Adjunct Professor bmaggwa@fhi360.org
Gerri Mattson Adjunct Assistant Professor gerri.mattson@dhhs.nc.gov
Elizabeth McClure Adjunct Assistant Professor mcclure@rti.org
Kara McGee Adjunct Assistant Professor kara.mcgee@duke.edu
Cathy Melvin Adjunct Associate Professor melvinc@musc.edu
Robert Meyer Adjunct Professor bmeyer@email.unc.edu
Roland Mhlanga Adjunct Professor rolandeddie@yahoo.co.uk
Stephen Mills Adjunct Assistant Professor smills@fhi360.org
Beth Moracco Adjunct Research Associate Professor moracco@email.unc.edu
Amy Mullenix Adjunct Instructor mullenix@email.unc.edu
Robert Murphy Adjunct Associate Professor robert.murphy@duke.edu
Savithri Nageswaran Adjunct Assistant Professor snageswa@wakehealth.edu
Priya Nanda Adjunct Assistant Professor pnanda@icrw.org
Sandra Naoom Adjunct Assistant Professor sandra.naoom@unc.edu
Constance Newman Adjunct Assistant Professor cnewman@intrahealth.org
Sachiko Ozawa Adjunct Associate Professor ozawa@unc.edu
Krista Perreira Adjunct Associate Professor perreira@email.unc.edu
McLean Pollock Adjunct Assistant Professor mcleandpollock@gmail.com
Heidi Reynolds Adjunct Assistant Professor heidi_reynolds@unc.edu
Catherine Rohweder Adjunct Assistant Professor rohweder@email.unc.edu
Doris Rouse Adjunct Professor rouse@rti.orgdoris@email.unc.edu
Catherine Sanford Adjunct Assistant Professor kay.sanford@gmail.com
Lucille Siegel Adjunct Associate Professor lpsiegel28@gmail.com
Paige Smith Adjunct Associate Professor phsmith@ungc.edu
David Sokal Adjunct Associate Professor david@malecontraceptive.org
John Stanback Adjunct Associate Professor JStanback@fhi360.org
Jane Stein Adjunct Associate Professor JANE_STEIN@unc.edu
Joseph Telfair Adjunct Professor Jtelfair@georgiasouthern.edu
Elizabeth Tolley Adjunct Assistant Professor BTolley@fhi360.org
Stephanie Triantafillou Adjunct Assistant Professor s_triantafillou@hotmail.com
Nana Amma Twum-Danso Adjunct Assistant Professor ntwumdan@mazatransport.org
Sarah Verbiest Adjunct Assistant Professor sarah_verbiest@med.unc.edu
Thomas Vitaglione Adjunct Professor tom@ncchild.org
Yudan Wang Adjunct Assistant Professor wang@hsrc.unc.edu
Andra Wilkinson Adjunct Assistant Professor andra.wilkinson@gmail.com
Nancy E Williamson Adjunct Associate Professor nwilliamson@msn.com

Research Staff Profiles

Michelle Abel-Shoup Program Manager michelle.shoup@unc.edu
Alexsandra Apostolico Social/Clinical Research Specialist alexapo@email.unc.edu
Rachel Berthiaume Research Associate rberthia@email.unc.edu
Kathy Donnald Research Associate kdonnald@und.edu
Dorothea Calhoun-Smith Business Services Coordinator dorothea_calhoun@unc.edu
Mary Cleary Training Specialist clearym@unc.edu
Rebecca Lynn Greenleaf Social/Clinical Research Specialist rebecca_greenleaf@unc.edu
Daina Huntley Director-Community Breastfeeding dchuntley@unc.edu
Jennifer Kozaczek Project Coordinator jennifer_kozaczek@unc.edu
Tekleab Mekbib Postdoctal Research Assistant mekbib@live.unc.edu
Amy Mullenix Collaboration Manager amy_mullenix@unc.edu
Kathy Parry Program Director kparry@email.unc.edu
Jeannie Marie Reardon Social/Clinical Research Specialist jreardon@email.unc.edu
Marie-Therese Schultes Postdoctoral Research Assistant marie-therese.schultes@unc.edu
Diana Urlaub Research Associate diana_urlaub@unc.edu
Alice M Wertheimer Project Assistant alicew@unc.edu

 

Administrative Staff

Carrie Aldrich Student Services Manager carrie_aldrich@unc.edu
Kathy Biancardi Public Communication Specialist
WHO Collaborating Center Assistant
kathy_biancardi@unc.edu
Susan Charamut Assistant to Chair susanrmc@email.unc.edu
Jennifer Cole Director of Career Development jmcole@email.unc.edu
Tara Fitch Accounting Technician tkwebst@unc.edu
Quetta Long Accounting Technician quetta_long@unc.edu
Lisa Perry Business Manager lisaperry@unc.edu
Charlene Phillips Accounting Technician-Temporary charlene_phillips@unc.edu
Gail Plaisance Program Assistant-Temporary plaisanc@email.unc.edu

Save