Health Policy and Management faculty and staff

Each year, we present our HPM Alumni Leadership Award to a graduate who has made substantial contributions to health care leadership and to society. We are pleased to announce HPM associate professor Bruce Fried, PhD as the 2017 recipient! Bruce’s efforts have made our residential master’s program one of the top in the country. His leadership has extended throughout the world through those he has mentored and guided. The award presentation will be made at the HPM Awards Ceremony from 2-4 pm on Friday, April 28th.

The faculty in the Department of Health Policy and Management represent some of the top experts and authorities in the field (see a list of faculty interests and expertise). Known not only for a robust research program and first-rate teaching abilities, the faculty also represents a diversity of educational backgrounds and experience.

The staff of the Department of Health Policy and Management provide support for faculty and students in a number of critical areas, including student services, professional development and information technology.

Ethan Basch Professor ebasch@email.unc.edu
Antonia Bennett Research Associate Professor avbenn@unc.edu
Sarah Birken Research Assistant Professor sarah1@email.unc.edu
Alyssa Mansfield Damon Clinical Assistant Professor damon@unc.edu
Leah McCall Devlin Professor of the Practice leah_devlin@unc.edu
Peggye Dilworth-Anderson Professor Peggye_Dilworth-Anderson@unc.edu
Marisa Domino Professor domino@unc.edu
Stacie Dusetzina Assistant Professor Dusetzina@unc.edu
Leah Frerichs Assistant Professor leahf@email.unc.edu
Bruce Fried Associate Professor bruce_fried@unc.edu
Bill Gentry Lecturer wgentry@email.unc.edu
Sandra B Greene Professor of the Practice SandraB_Greene@unc.edu
Dean Harris Associate Professor Dean_Harris@unc.edu
Kristen Hassmiller Lich Research Assistant Professor klich@unc.edu
Mark Holmes Associate Professor mark_holmes@unc.edu
Sheila Leatherman Research Professor sleathe@email.unc.edu
Jessica Y. Lee Professor leej@dentistry.unc.edu
Shoou-Yih Daniel Lee Professor sylee@email.unc.edu
Jonathan Oberlander Professor oberland@med.unc.edu
John E. Paul Clinical Professor
paulj@email.unc.edu
George H. Pink Humana Distinguished Professor gpink@email.unc.edu
Byron J. Powell Assistant Professor bjpowell@unc.edu
Bryce Reeve Professor bbreeve@email.unc.edu
Kristin Reiter Associate Professor reiter@email.unc.edu
Cleo Samuel Assistant Professor cleo_samuel@unc.edu
Christopher Shea Assistant Professor cshea@email.unc.edu
Pam Silberman Professor of the Practice
pam_silberman@unc.edu
Jeffrey Simms Clinical Assistant Professor jsimms@email.unc.edu
Rebecca Slifkin Clinical Associate Professor becky_slifkin@unc.edu
Steven Sloate Clinical Assistant Professor sloate@email.unc.edu
Paula Song Associate Professor psong@unc.edu
Sally Clark Stearns Professor sally_stearns@unc.edu
Harsha Thirumurthy Associate Professor harsha@unc.edu
Margaret Thomas Clinical Assistant Professor mthomn16@email.unc.edu
Justin Trogdon Associate Professor trogdonj@email.unc.edu
Karl Umble Clinical Assistant Professor
umble@email.unc.edu
Morris Weinberger Chair and Distinguished Professor mweinber@email.unc.edu
Stephanie B. Wheeler Associate Professor stephanie_wheeler@unc.edu
Benjamin Alex White Associate Professor alex_white@unc.edu

Adjunct and Part-Time Faculty

Oscar Aylor Adjunct Assistant Professor aylor@campbell.edu
Edward L. Baker, Jr. Adjunct Professor elbaker@email.unc.edu
Nicole Bates Adjunct Assistant Professor nbates@email.unc.edu
Diane Bloom Adjunct Assistant Professor bloom.diane@gmail.com
Fred T. Brown, Jr. Adjunct Professor fredtbrown02@gmail.com
Paul Brown Adjunct Professor pm_brown@unc.edu
Bill Carpenter Adjunct Associate Professor bill.carpenter@unc.edu
Dorothy Cilenti Clinical Assistant Professor cilenti@email.unc.edu
Travis Day Adjunct Associate Professor travis_day@kenan-flagler.unc.edu
Spencer Dorn Adjunct Assistant Professor sdorn@med.unc.edu
Lynn G. Dressler Adjunct Assistant Professor lynn.dressler@msj.org
Randall Egsegian Adjunct Instructor egsegian@email.unc.edu
Franklin Farmer Adjunct Instructor franklin_farmer@med.unc.edu
Robert Greczyn Gillings Visiting Professor greczb@gmail.com
Eric Griffin Adjunct Instructor griffine@email.unc.edu
Susan Helm-Murtagh Adjunct Assistant Professor helmmurt@email.unc.edu
Susan Hogue Adjunct Assistant Professor shogue@rti.org
Don Holzworth Gillings Executive in Residence dholzwor@email.unc.edu
Rick Homan Adjunct Associate Professor rhoman@email.unc.edu
Lisa Koonin Adjunct Assistant Professor koonin@email.unc.edu
Joan Krause Adjunct Professor jhkrause@email.unc.edu
Jay Levy Adjunct Lecturer jslevy@email.unc.edu
Patricia MacTaggart Adjunct Associate Professor pmactagg@email.unc.edu
Lauren McCormack Adjunct Associate Professor lmac@rti.org
Larry Mandelkehr Adjunct Instructor lkm@unc.edu
Michael Markowitz Adjunct Associate Professor markowit@email.unc.edu
Drake Maynard Adjunct Instructor dmhrservices@gmail.com
Lukasz Mazur Adjunct Assistant Professor lmazur@email.unc.edu
Aimee M. McHale Adjunct Instructor ammchale@email.unc.edu
Felicia Mebane Adjunct Assistant Professor fmebane@unc.edu
Joseph Morrissey Research Professor joe_morrissey@unc.edu
Matthew E. Nielsen Adjunct Assistant Professor mnielsen@med.unc.edu
Stephen Orton Adjunct Assistant Professor sorton@email.unc.edu
Mike Patterson Adjunct Instructor mikep@unc.edu
Robert “Chip” Patterson, Jr. Adjunct Instructor rmpatter@email.unc.edu
Krista Perreira Adjunct Professor perreira@email.unc.edu
Gene Pinder Adjunct Instructor gpinder7@gmail.com
Janet Porter Adjunct Professor jporter@stroudwater.com
David Potenziani Adjunct Assistant Professor dpotenzi@email.unc.edu
Patti Pozella Adjunct Instructor pozella@email.unc.edu
Andrea Radford Adjunct Assistant Professor aradford@caresharehealth.org
Thomas C. Ricketts Adjunct Professor ricketts@schsr.unc.edu
Richard Gary Rozier Research Professor gary_rozier@unc.edu
Richard Scoville Adjunct Associate Professor richard_scoville@unc.edu
Fred Sexton Adjunct Instructor administrator@prepsuccess.com
Betsy Sleath Adjunct Professor betsy_sleath@unc.edu
Kevin Sowers Adjunct Professor SOWER001@MC.DUKE.EDU
Robert Stevens Adjunct Instructor rstevens@healthcentricmarketing.com
Scott R. Stewart Adjunct Assistant Professor Scott_Stewart@unc.edu
Michael Stobbe Adjunct Assistant Professor stobbe@email.unc.edu
Jeffery Strickler Adjunct Instructor Jeffery.Strickler@unchealth.unc.edu
J. Bennet Waters Clinical Assistant Professor jbwaters@unc.edu
Wendee Wechsberg Adjunct Professor wmw@rti.org
Jane Weintraub Adjunct Professor jane_weintraub@dentistry.unc.edu
Rebecca Wells Adjunct Professor rswells@email.unc.edu
S. Dewayne West Lecturer sdwest@email.unc.edu
John Wiesman Adjunct Assistant Professor wiesman@live.unc.edu
Cameron Wolfe Adjunct Instructor camwolfe@email.unc.edu
Leah L. Zullig Adjunct Assistant Professor leah.zullig@duke.edu

 

Emeritus and Retired Faculty

Deborah E. Bender Emeritus & Adjunct Professor
dbender@email.unc.edu xxxxxxx
Edward F. Brooks Emeritus Professor brookse@email.unc.edu
Laurel A Files Emeritus Professor Laurel_Files@unc.edu
Sagar Jain Emeritus Professor jain1@email.unc.edu
Arnold D. Kaluzny Emeritus Professor kaluzny@live.unc.edu
Kerry Kilpatrick Emeritus Professor Kerry_Kilpatrick@unc.edu
Peggy Leatt Emeritus Professor leatt@email.unc.edu
James Porto, Jr. Retired Clinical Asst. Professor
jim_porto@unc.edu
James Veney Emeritus Professor veney@unc.edu
William N. Zelman Emeritus Professor wzelman@unc.edu
HPM Staff
x
Paul Barrett Systems Programmer/Specialist paul_barrett@unc.edu
Nancy Beach Technical Support Analyst
nbeach@email.unc.edu
Karen Capps Human Resources Manager
Karen_Capps@unc.edu
Terri Gault Administrative Director terrigault@unc.edu
Tracey Gollwitzer Assistant to the Chair tracey@unc.edu
Valerie Hooker Administrative Assistant vhooker@email.unc.edu
Lynnette Jones Student Services Manager/Registrar Lynnette_Jones@unc.edu
Stacie Jones Accounting Technician stacie_jones@unc.edu
Tina Lathia Accounting Technician lathia@email.unc.edu
Teresa Lewis Project Manager teresal@email.unc.edu
Cathy M Padgett Career Services Coordinator cathy_padgett@unc.edu
Kim Sieler Assistant Registrar krsieler@email.unc.edu
Jacqueline M. Siler Assistant Registrar jsiler@email.unc.edu
x
Consortium for Implementation Science Staff
x
Jennifer Scott Communication & Dissemination Specialist jennifer_scott@unc.edu