Health Policy and Management faculty and staff

HPM Adjunct Instructor Aimee McHale was nominated by HPM students for a Teaching Innovation Award, which includes a $1,000 prize for professional development. Students valued her as a faculty member “who improves the student learning environment and outcomes by integrating new technologies, engaging students in interactive activities, employing creative assessment methods, introducing progressive curriculum and/or incorporating creative ideas.” She was one of eight faculty members School-wide to receive an award. Read more here.

The faculty in the Department of Health Policy and Management represent some of the top experts and authorities in the field (see a list of faculty interests and expertise). Known not only for a robust research program and first-rate teaching abilities, the faculty also represents a diversity of educational backgrounds and experience.

The staff of the Department of Health Policy and Management provide support for faculty and students in a number of critical areas, including student services, professional development and information technology.

Ethan Basch Professor ebasch@email.unc.edu
Antonia Bennett Research Assistant Professor avbenn@email.unc.edu
Sarah Birken Research Assistant Professor sarah1@email.unc.edu
Timothy Jay Carney Assistant Professor tcarney@unc.edu
Alyssa Mansfield Damon Clinical Assistant Professor damon@unc.edu
Leah McCall Devlin Professor of the Practice leah_devlin@unc.edu
Peggye Dilworth-Anderson Professor Peggye_Dilworth-Anderson@unc.edu
Marisa Domino Professor domino@unc.edu
Stacie Dusetzina Assistant Professor Dusetzina@unc.edu
Bruce Fried Associate Professor bruce_fried@unc.edu
Bill Gentry Lecturer wgentry@email.unc.edu
Sandra B Greene Professor of the Practice SandraB_Greene@unc.edu
Dean Harris Clinical Associate Professor Dean_Harris@unc.edu
Kristen Hassmiller Lich Research Assistant Professor klich@unc.edu
Mark Holmes Associate Professor mark_holmes@unc.edu
Sheila Leatherman Research Professor sleathe@email.unc.edu
Jessica Y. Lee Professor leej@dentistry.unc.edu
Shoou-Yih Daniel Lee Chair and Professor sylee@email.unc.edu
Jonathan Oberlander Professor oberland@med.unc.edu
John E. Paul Clinical Professor
paulj@email.unc.edu
George H Pink Humana Distinguished Professor gpink@email.unc.edu
James Porto, Jr Clinical Assistant Professor jim_porto@unc.edu
Byron J. Powell Assistant Professor bjpowell@unc.edu
Bryce Reeve Professor bbreeve@email.unc.edu
Kristin Reiter Associate Professor reiter@email.unc.edu
Cleo Samuel Assistant Professor cleo_samuel@unc.edu
Christopher Shea Assistant Professor cshea@email.unc.edu
Pam Silberman Professor of the Practice
pam_silberman@unc.edu
Jeffrey Simms Clinical Assistant Professor jsimms@email.unc.edu
Rebecca Slifkin Clinical Associate Professor becky_slifkin@unc.edu
Steven Sloate Clinical Assistant Professor sloate@email.unc.edu
Paula Song Associate Professor psong@unc.edu
Sally Clark Stearns Professor sally_stearns@unc.edu
Harsha Thirumurthy Associate Professor harsha@unc.edu
Margaret Thomas Clinical Assistant Professor mthomn16@email.unc.edu
Justin Trogdon Associate Professor trogdonj@email.unc.edu
Karl Umble Clinical Assistant Professor
umble@email.unc.edu
Morris Weinberger Distinguished Professor mweinber@email.unc.edu
Stephanie B. Wheeler Associate Professor stephanie_wheeler@unc.edu
Benjamin Alex White Associate Professor alex_white@unc.edu

Adjunct and Part-Time Faculty

Amy Abernethy Adjunct Professor amy.abernethy@duke.edu
Edwin Alcorn Adjunct Instructor Eddie_Alcorn@unc.edu
Oscar Aylor Adjunct Assistant Professor aylor@campbell.edu
Edward L. Baker, Jr. Adjunct Professor elbaker@email.unc.edu
Nicole Bates Adjunct Assistant Professor nbates@email.unc.edu
Diane Bloom Adjunct Assistant Professor bloom.diane@gmail.com
Fred T. Brown, Jr. Adjunct Professor fredtbrown02@gmail.com
Paul Brown Adjunct Professor pm_brown@unc.edu
Bill Carpenter Adjunct Associate Professor bill.carpenter@unc.edu
Melanie Dawn Carter Adjunct Instructor dawncarter@ascendient.com
Rachel Caspar Adjunct Assistant Professor caspar@email.unc.edu
Dorothy Cilenti Clinical Assistant Professor cilenti@email.unc.edu
J. Steven Cline Adjunct Associate Professor scline@n3cn.org
James (Mike) Collins Adjunct Instructor cojam@email.unc.edu
Robert Crawford Adjunct Instructor rcrawfor@email.unc.edu
Samuel Cykert Adjunct Professor samuel_cykert@med.unc.edu
Travis Day Adjunct Associate Professor travis_day@kenan-flagler.unc.edu
Donna Dinkin Adjunct Instructor ddinkin@email.unc.edu
Spencer Dorn Adjunct Assistant Professor sdorn@med.unc.edu
Lynn G. Dressler Adjunct Assistant Professor lynn.dressler@msj.org
Randall Egsegian Adjunct Instructor egsegian@email.unc.edu
Franklin Farmer Adjunct Instructor franklin_farmer@med.unc.edu
Erin P. Fraher Adjunct Assistant Professor erin_fraher@unc.edu
Laura Gerald Adjunct Assistant Professor lgeraldmd@aol.com
Benjamin Gilbert Adjunct Assistant Professor bgilbert217@gmail.com
Robert Greczyn Gillings Visiting Professor greczb@gmail.com
Eric Griffin Adjunct Instructor griffine@email.unc.edu
Susan Helm-Murtagh Adjunct Assistant Professor helmmurt@email.unc.edu
Nancy Henley Adjunct Associate Professor henleyn@gmail.com
Susan Hogue Adjunct Assistant Professor shogue@rti.org
Don Holzworth Gillings Executive in Residence dholzwor@email.unc.edu
Rick Homan Adjunct Associate Professor rhoman@email.unc.edu
Douglas Johnston
Adjunct Instructor djohnston@unc.edu
Dio Kavalieratos Adjunct Assistant Professor dio@unc.edu
Lisa Koonin Adjunct Assistant Professor koonin@email.unc.edu
Joan Krause Adjunct Professor jhkrause@email.unc.edu
Jay Levy Adjunct Lecturer jslevy@email.unc.edu
Patricia MacTaggart Adjunct Associate Professor pmactagg@email.unc.edu
Larry Mandelkehr Adjunct Instructor lkm@unc.edu
Donald Markle Adjunct Instructor dmarkle@email.unc.edu
Michael Markowitz Adjunct Associate Professor markowit@email.unc.edu
Egil Marstein Adjunct Assistant Professor egil.marstein@bi.no
Drake Maynard Adjunct Instructor dmhrservices@gmail.com
Lukasz Mazur Adjunct Assistant Professor lmazur@email.unc.edu
Anne McGeorge Adjunct Instructor amcgeorg@email.unc.edu
Aimee M. McHale Adjunct Instructor ammchale@email.unc.edu
Aaron McKethan Adjunct Assistant Professor amckethan@gmail.com
Lori McLeod Adjunct Associate Professor lmcleod@rti.org
Felicia Mebane Adjunct Assistant Professor fmebane@unc.edu
Benjamin Meier Adjunct Assistant Professor meierb@email.unc.edu
Joseph Morrissey Research Professor joe_morrissey@unc.edu
Matthew Nielsen Adjunct Assistant Professor mnielsen@med.unc.edu
Stephen Orton Adjunct Assistant Professor sorton@email.unc.edu
Mike Patterson Adjunct Instructor mikep@unc.edu
Robert Patterson, Jr Adjunct Instructor rmpatter@email.unc.edu
William Pilkington Adjunct Instructor wpilking@email.unc.edu
Gene Pinder Adjunct Instructor gene_pinder@ncsu.edu
Janet Porter Adjunct Professor janet_porter@unc.edu
David Potenziani Adjunct Assistant Professor dpotenzi@email.unc.edu
Patti Pozella Adjunct Instructor pozella@email.unc.edu
Andrea Radford Adjunct Assistant Professor aradford@schsr.unc.edu
Danielle Rentz Adjunct Instructor rentz@email.unc.edu
Harry L. Reynolds Adjunct Instructor hlreynol@email.unc.edu
Thomas C. Ricketts Adjunct Professor ricketts@schsr.unc.edu
Richard Gary Rozier Research Professor gary_rozier@unc.edu
Marjorie Satinsky Adjunct Instructor msatinsky@unc.edu
Richard Scoville Adjunct Associate Professor richard_scoville@unc.edu
Adam Searing Adjunct Assistant Professor adam@ncjustice.org
Fred Sexton Adjunct Instructor fsexton@email.unc.edu
Betsy Sleath Adjunct Professor betsy_sleath@unc.edu
Kevin Sowers Adjunct Professor SOWER001@MC.DUKE.EDU
Tom Stanley Adjunct Assistant Professor ThomasHunterStanley@gmail.com
Robert Stevens Adjunct Instructor rstevens@healthcentricmarketing.com
Scott R Stewart Adjunct Assistant Professor Scott_Stewart@unc.edu
Michael Stobbe Adjunct Assistant Professor stobbe@email.unc.edu
Jeffery Strickler Adjunct Instructor Jeffery.Strickler@unchealth.unc.edu
Melanie Studer Adjunct Assistant Professor mstuder@email.unc.edu
Kathleen Thomas Adjunct Associate Professor kathleen_thomas@unc.edu
Judith Tintinalli Adjunct Professor jet@med.unc.edu
Debbie Travers Adjunct Assistant Professor dtravers@email.unc.edu
Franklin Walker Adjunct Instructor fwalker@email.unc.edu
Daryl Wansink Adjunct Associate Professor Daryl.Wansink@bcbsnc.com
Hugh R. Waters Adjunct Associate Professor waters@unc.edu
J. Bennet Waters Clinical Assistant Professor jbwaters@unc.edu
Wendee Wechsberg Adjunct Professor wmw@rti.org
Jane Weintraub Adjunct Professor jane_weintraub@dentistry.unc.edu
Rebecca Wells Adjunct Professor rswells@email.unc.edu
Dewayne West Lecturer sdwest@email.unc.edu
Gary West Adjunct Assistant Professor GWest@fhi.org
John Wiesman Adjunct Assistant Professor wiesman@live.unc.edu
Cameron Wolfe Adjunct Instructor camwolfe@email.unc.edu
Leah L. Zullig Adjunct Assistant Professor leah.zullig@duke.edu

 

Emeritus Faculty

Deborah E. Bender Emeritus & Adjunct Professor
dbender@email.unc.edu xxxxxxx
Edward F. Brooks Emeritus Professor brookse@email.unc.edu
Laurel A Files Emeritus Professor Laurel_Files@unc.edu
Sagar Jain Emeritus Professor jain1@email.unc.edu
Arnold D. Kaluzny Emeritus Professor kaluzny@live.unc.edu
Kerry Kilpatrick Emeritus Professor Kerry_Kilpatrick@unc.edu
Peggy Leatt Emeritus Professor leatt@email.unc.edu
James Veney Emeritus Professor veney@unc.edu
William N. Zelman Emeritus Professor wzelman@unc.edu

Research Staff

Catherine Rohweder Senior Investigator rohweder@email.unc.edu
Jennifer Scott Communication & Dissemination Specialist Jennifer_Scott@unc.edu
x
Staff
x
Paul Barrett Systems Programmer/Specialist paul_barrett@unc.edu
Nancy Beach Technical Support Analyst
nbeach@email.unc.edu
Karen Capps Human Resources Manager
Karen_Capps@unc.edu
Terri Gault Administrative Director terrigault@unc.edu
Tracey Gollwitzer Assistant to the Chair tracey@unc.edu
Valerie Hooker Administrative Assistant vhooker@email.unc.edu
Lynnette Jones Student Services Manager/Registrar Lynnette_Jones@unc.edu
Tina Lathia Accounting Technician lathia@email.unc.edu
Cathy M Padgett Career Services Coordinator cathy_padgett@unc.edu
Kim Sieler Assistant Registrar krsieler@email.unc.edu
Jacqueline M. Siler Assistant Registrar jsiler@email.unc.edu