Health Behavior Faculty and Staff

More than 20 faculty and 60 adjunct faculty members guide students, colleagues and communities from across the globe in scholarship, research and service. 

Our faculty are renowned as local and global leaders in various fields within public health. Their work and impact are enhanced by the diversity of their academic and professional backgrounds, volunteer service and experiences. If you are interested in more information about faculty members, please click on their name for their profiles, visit our research page or view the list of faculty research interests by topic.

Faculty
Clare Barrington Assistant Professor cbarring@email.unc.edu
Lynn White Blanchard Clinical Associate Professor blanchard@unc.edu
J. Michael Bowling Research Associate Professor jbowling@email.unc.edu
Noel Brewer Associate Professor ntb@unc.edu
Lori Carter-Edwards Research Associate Professor lori_carter-edwards@unc.edu
Carolyn Crump Research Associate Professor carolyn_crump@unc.edu
Jo Anne Earp Professor jearp@unc.edu
Geni Eng Professor eugenia_eng@unc.edu
Susan Ennett Professor sennett@email.unc.edu
Edwin Fisher Professor fishere@email.unc.edu
Vangie Foshee Professor foshee@email.unc.edu
Vivian Go Associate Professor vgo@email.unc.edu
Shelley Golden Clinical Assistant Professor sgolden@email.unc.edu
Carol Golin Associate Professor carol_golin@med.unc.edu
Meg E. Landfried Lecturer landfried@unc.edu
Laura Linnan Professor linnan@email.unc.edu
Leslie Lytle Professor and Chair llytle@email.unc.edu
Suzanne Maman Associate Professor maman@email.unc.edu
H. Luz McNaughton Reyes Research Assistant Professor mcnaught@email.unc.edu
Beth Moracco Research Associate Professor moracco@email.unc.edu
Kate Muessig Assistant Professor kate_muessig@med.unc.edu
Wizdom Powell Assistant Professor wizdomp@email.unc.edu
Kurt Ribisl Professor kurt_ribisl@unc.edu
Amanda Richardson Research Assistant Professor amanda.richardson@unc.edu
Barbara Rimer Dean and Alumni Distinguished Professor brimer@unc.edu
Christine Rini Research Associate Professor christine.rini@unc.edu
Jason Smith Clinical Associate Professor jbsmith@unc.edu
Deborah Tate Associate Professor dtate@unc.edu
Angela Thrasher Assistant Professor angela.thrasher@unc.edu

 

Adjunct Faculty
Mary Altpeter Adjunct Assistant Professor mary_altpeter@unc.edu
Susan Blalock Adjunct Professor s_blalock@unc.edu
Margaret Cannon Adjunct Instructor mcannon@email.unc.edu
Delesha M. Carpenter Adjunct Assistant Professor dmcarpenter@unc.edu
Mary Davis Adjunct Assistant Professor mary_davis@unc.edu
Robert DeVellis Adjunct Professor bob_devellis@unc.edu
Denise Dickinson Adjunct Instructor dmd@email.unc.edu
Robert Flewelling Adjunct Assistant Professor flewelling@pire.org
Kristie Foley Adjunct Associate Professor krfoley@davidson.edu
Robert Foss Adjunct Professor foss@hsrc.unc.edu
Elizabeth French Adjunct Instructor eafrench@unc.edu
Mariana Garrettson Adjunct Instructor marianag@email.unc.edu
Susan Gaylord Adjunct Associate Professor susan_gaylord@med.unc.edu
Jennifer M. Gierisch Adjunct Assistant Professor gierisch@email.unc.edu
Lisa Gilbert Adjunct Assistant Professor lkgilber@email.unc.edu
Bernard Glassman Adjunct Instructor bg@unc.edu
Moses Goldmon Adjunct Assistant Professor mgoldmon@shawu.edu
Debbie Grammer Adjunct Instructor deborah_grammer@med.unc.edu
Daniel Halperin Adjunct Professor dhalpe@email.unc.edu
Susan W. Haws Adjunct Assistant Professor haws@email.unc.edu
Sara Herndon Adjunct Instructor shmalek@aol.com
Christine Jackson Adjunct Associate Professor cjackson@rti.org
David Jolly Adjunct Associate Professor djolly@nccu.edu
Linda Kinsinger Adjunct Associate Professor linda_kinsinger@med.unc.edu
Megan Lewis Adjunct Assistant Professor megan.lewis@unc.edu
Alexandra Lightfoot Adjunct Assistant Professor alexandra_lightfoot@unc.edu
Kathleen MacQueen Adjunct Associate Professor kmacquee@email.unc.edu
David McCoy Adjunct Assistant Professor  contact the department
Meg Molloy Adjunct Assistant Professor mmolloy@email.unc.edu
Alexis Moore Adjunct Instructor alexis_moore@unc.edu
Ingrid Morris Adjunct Instructor ingrid@ncpreventionpartners.org
Melva Okun Adjunct Assistant Professor okun@unc.edu
Carol Patterson Adjunct Instructor carol_patterson@unc.edu
Krista Perreira Adjunct Associate Professor perreira@email.unc.edu
Michael Pignone Adjunct Professor michael_pignone@med.unc.edu
Robert Pleasants Adjunct Assistant Professor bpleas@email.unc.edu
Kathryn Pollak Adjunct Associate Professor kathryn.pollak@duke.edu
Elizabeth Randall-David Adjunct Assistant Professor randalld@email.unc.edu
Scott Rhodes Adjunct Associate Professor sdrhodes@email.unc.edu
Christopher Ringwalt Adjunct Professor cringwal@email.unc.edu
Marcia Roth Adjunct Instructor msroth@email.unc.edu
Carol Runyan Adjunct Professor crunyan@email.unc.edu
Michael Schulman Adjunct Professor michael_schulman@ncsu.edu
Paschal Sheeran Adjunct Professor psheeran@email.unc.edu
Arjumand Siddiqi Adjunct Assistant Professor asiddiqi@email.unc.edu
Celette Skinner Adjunct Associate Professor celette.skinner@utsouthwestern.edu
Paige Hall Smith Adjunct Associate Professor phsmith@uncg.edu
Brian Southwell Adjunct Associate Professor southwell@unc.edu
Elizabeth Stern Adjunct Instructor stern007@mc.duke.edu
Karen Strazza Adjunct Instructor karen_moore@unc.edu
Katherine Turner Adjunct Instructor katherineturner@unc.edu
Eugenia Upchurch Adjunct Instructor upchurch@email.unc.edu
Amy Vincus Adjunct Instructor avincus@unc.edu
Maihan Vu Adjunct Assistant Professor maihan.vu@unc.edu
Anna Waller Adjunct Associate Professor anna_waller@med.unc.edu
Karen Webb Adjunct Instructor kwebb7@bellsouth.net
Godfrey Woelk Adjunct Associate Professor gwoelk@pedaids.org
Michael Yonas Adjunct Associate Professor myonas@email.unc.edu

 

Emeritus Faculty
Karl Bauman Professor Emeritus
Brenda DeVellis Professor Emeritus
John W. Hatch Kenan Professor Emeritus
Ethel J.  Jackson Professor Emeritus
Elizabeth Mutran Professor Emeritus
James Sorenson Professor Emeritus
Allan Steckler Professor Emeritus



Amorelle Crossley
Grants Manager
365 Rosenau Hall
919-966-7021
crossley@email.unc.edu



Cheryl Gerringer
Business Manager
302C Rosenau Hall
919-966-3905
cheryl_gerringer@unc.edu



Da’Esha McPhaul
Student Services Assistant
359 Rosenau Hall
919-966-9208
daesha09@email.unc.edu



Demond Medlin
Student Services Manager
359 Rosenau Hall
919-966-5771
demondd@email.unc.edu



Helena Mullen
Assistant to Department Chair
302F Rosenau Hall
919-966-1131
hkm@unc.edu



Laura Pearson
Administrative Support Professional
302 Rosenau Hall
919-966-3762
laura_pearson@unc.edu



Robin Perkins
Accounting Manager
302D Rosenau Hall
919-966-0046
perkinsr@email.unc.edu



Mailing address
Department of Health Behavior
Campus Box 7440
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Chapel Hill NC 27599-7440

Peter Balvanz, MPH
Project Coordinator
HIV Risk Reduction in Tanzania

Maggy Coufal, MPH, MA
Senior Program Manager
Peers for Progress Development Center
919-966-7022

James Emery, MPH
Research Associate
DHPE Policy Curriculum/Exchange
919-966-7172

Ashley Leighton Feld, MPH
Project Director
Tobacco Marketing Study
919-966-6817

Megan Hall, MPH
Assistant Program Director
HPV vaccine research
919-843-8962

Robert Letourneau, MPH
Research Associate
American Indian/Alaska Native projects
919-966-3920

Rachel Page, MPH
Research Associate
Healthy Solutions
919-966-9768

Jennifer B. Robinette, MS
Associate Program Manager
Peers for Progress Development Center
919-966-3918

Teerada Sripaipan
Project Coordinator

Samuel Thompson, MSW
Evaluator
NC DPH
Community and Clinical Connections for Prevention and Health

Note: This list does not include current students working on research projects.

Postdoctoral Appointments

Donaldson Conserve, PhD Cynthia Khan, PhD NC Genes 919-843-6044 Jessica Pepper, PhD Cancer Research