Health Behavior Faculty and Staff

The Department of Health Behavior has 30 regular faculty and 55 adjunct faculty members who guide students, colleagues and communities from across the globe in scholarship, research and service.

Our faculty are renowned as local and global leaders in various fields within public health. Their work and impact are enhanced by the diversity of their academic and professional backgrounds, volunteer service and experiences.

Select any faculty member’s name to see his or her profile.

Visit our research page to scroll through a list of faculty with education, teaching responsibilities, and research interests or visit the Gillings School Research page

Clare Barrington Associate Professor cbarring@email.unc.edu
Lynn White Blanchard Clinical Associate Professor blanchard@unc.edu
Marcella Boynton Research Assistant Professor mhb23@unc.edu
Noel Brewer Professor ntb@unc.edu
Lori Carter-Edwards Research Associate Professor lori_carter-edwards@unc.edu
Carolyn Crump Research Associate Professor carolyn_crump@unc.edu
Jo Anne Earp Professor jearp@unc.edu
Geni Eng Professor eugenia_eng@unc.edu
Susan Ennett Professor sennett@email.unc.edu
Edwin Fisher Professor fishere@email.unc.edu
Vivian Go Associate Professor vgo@email.unc.edu
Shelley Golden Clinical Assistant Professor sgolden@email.unc.edu
Carol Golin Associate Professor carol_golin@med.unc.edu
Nisha Gottfredson Assistant Professor gottfredson@unc.edu
Jim Herrington Professor of the Practice jimhsph@email.unc.edu
Meg E. Landfried Lecturer landfried@unc.edu
Alexandra Lightfoot Research Assistant Professor alexandra_lightfoot@unc.edu
Laura Linnan Professor linnan@email.unc.edu
Leslie Lytle Professor and Chair llytle@email.unc.edu
Suzanne Maman Associate Professor maman@email.unc.edu
Beth Moracco Research Associate Professor moracco@email.unc.edu
Kate Muessig Assistant Professor kate_muessig@med.unc.edu
Wizdom Powell Associate Professor wizdomp@email.unc.edu
H. Luz McNaughton Reyes Research Assistant Professor mcnaught@email.unc.edu
Kurt Ribisl Professor kurt_ribisl@unc.edu
Barbara Rimer Alumni Distinguished Professor/Dean brimer@unc.edu
Christine Rini Research Associate Professor christine.rini@unc.edu
Jason Smith Clinical Associate Professor jbsmith@unc.edu
Deborah Tate Professor dtate@unc.edu
Carmina Valle Research Assistant Professor carmina.valle@unc.edu

 

Adjunct Faculty

Mary Altpeter Adjunct Assistant Professor mary_altpeter@unc.edu
Johanna Birckmayer Adjunct Associate Professor jbirckmayer@msn.com
Molly Cannon Adjunct Instructor mcannon@email.unc.edu
Delesha M. Carpenter Adjunct Assistant Professor dmcarpenter@unc.edu
Ewan Cobran Adjunct Assistant Professor ecobran@uga.edu
Mary Davis Adjunct Assistant Professor mary_davis@unc.edu
Robert DeVellis Adjunct Professor bob_devellis@unc.edu
Denise Dickinson Adjunct Instructor dmd@email.unc.edu
Robert Flewelling Adjunct Assistant Professor flewelling@pire.org
Kristie Foley Adjunct Associate Professor kfoley@wakehealth.edu
Vangie Foshee Adjunct Professor foshee@email.unc.edu
Robert Foss Adjunct Professor foss@hsrc.unc.edu
Elizabeth French Adjunct Instructor eafrench@unc.edu
Mariana Garrettson Adjunct Instructor marianag@email.unc.edu
Susan Gaylord Adjunct Associate Professor susan_gaylord@med.unc.edu
Jennifer M. Gierisch Adjunct Assistant Professor gierisch@email.unc.edu
Lisa Gilbert Adjunct Assistant Professor lkgilber@email.unc.edu
Bernard Glassman Adjunct Instructor bg@unc.edu
Moses Goldmon Adjunct Assistant Professor mgoldmon@shawu.edu
Debbie Grammer Adjunct Instructor deborah_grammer@med.unc.edu
Daniel Halperin Adjunct Professor dhalpe@email.unc.edu
Susan W. Haws Adjunct Assistant Professor haws@email.unc.edu
Sally Herndon Adjunct Instructor sally.herndon@dhhs.nc.gov
Christine Jackson Adjunct Associate Professor cjackson@rti.org
David Jolly Adjunct Associate Professor djolly@nccu.edu
Megan Lewis Adjunct Assistant Professor megan.lewis@unc.edu
Kathleen MacQueen Adjunct Associate Professor kmacquee@email.unc.edu
David McCoy Adjunct Assistant Professor  contact the department
Meg Molloy Adjunct Assistant Professor mmolloy@email.unc.edu
Alexis Moore Adjunct Instructor alexis_moore@unc.edu
Ingrid Morris Adjunct Instructor Ingrid.Morris@bcbsnc.com
Melva Okun Adjunct Assistant Professor okun@unc.edu
Carol Patterson Adjunct Instructor carol_patterson@unc.edu
Krista Perreira Adjunct Associate Professor perreira@email.unc.edu
Robert Pleasants Adjunct Assistant Professor bpleas@email.unc.edu
Kathryn Pollak Adjunct Associate Professor kathryn.pollak@duke.edu
Scott Rhodes Adjunct Associate Professor sdrhodes@email.unc.edu
Christopher Ringwalt Adjunct Professor cringwal@email.unc.edu
Marcia Roth Adjunct Instructor msroth@email.unc.edu
Carol Runyan Adjunct Professor crunyan@email.unc.edu
Michael Schulman Adjunct Professor michael_schulman@ncsu.edu
Paschal Sheeran Adjunct Professor psheeran@email.unc.edu
Arjumand Siddiqi Adjunct Assistant Professor asiddiqi@email.unc.edu
Celette Sugg Skinner Adjunct Associate Professor celette.skinner@utsouthwestern.edu
Paige Hall Smith Adjunct Associate Professor phsmith@uncg.edu
Brian Southwell Adjunct Associate Professor southwell@unc.edu
Elizabeth Stern Adjunct Instructor lizstern100@gmail.com
Karen Strazza Adjunct Instructor karen_moore@unc.edu
Katherine Turner Adjunct Instructor katherineturner@unc.edu
Gina Upchurch Adjunct Instructor upchurch@email.unc.edu
Amy Vincus Adjunct Instructor avincus@unc.edu
Maihan Vu Adjunct Assistant Professor maihan.vu@unc.edu
Anna Waller Adjunct Associate Professor anna_waller@med.unc.edu
Karen Webb Adjunct Instructor kwebb7@bellsouth.net
Godfrey Woelk Adjunct Associate Professor gwoelk@pedaids.org
Michael Yonas Adjunct Associate Professor myonas@email.unc.edu

 

Emeritus Faculty
Karl Bauman Professor Emeritus
Brenda DeVellis Professor Emeritus
John W. Hatch Kenan Professor Emeritus
Ethel J.  Jackson Professor Emeritus
Elizabeth Mutran Professor Emeritus
James Sorenson Professor Emeritus
Allan Steckler Professor Emeritus



Amorelle Crossley
Grants Manager
365 Rosenau Hall
919-966-7021
crossley@email.unc.edu



Laura Pearson
Department Secretary
302 Rosenau Hall
919-966-3762
laura_pearson@unc.edu



Da’Esha McPhaul
Student Services Manager
358C Rosenau Hall
919-966-5771
daesha09@email.unc.edu



Robin Perkins
Accounting Manager
302D Rosenau Hall
919-966-0046
perkinsr@email.unc.edu



Helena Mullen
Assistant to Department Chair
302F Rosenau Hall
919-966-1131
hkm@unc.edu

Judith Winkler
Communications and Promotion Specialist
302E Rosenau Hall
winklerj@unc.edu

Peter Balvanz Project Coordinator balvanz@email.unc.edu
James Emery Research Associate jemery@email.unc.edu
Ashley Feld Project Director ashley.feld@unc.edu
Megan Elizabeth Hall Assistant Program Director meghall@email.unc.edu
Robert J.Letourneau Research Associate Robert_Letourneau@unc.edu
Elizabeth Moore Research Associate egm@email.unc.edu
Teerada Sripaipan Program Coordinator  teerada@email.unc.edu
Yao (Patrick) Tang Program Manager  yptang@email.unc.edu
Sam Thompson Evaluator  slthomps@email.unc.edu
Diana Urlaub Research Associate  diana_urlaub@med.unc.edu

 

Postdoctoral Appointments

Justin Byron, PhD – Cancer Research
Donaldson Conserve, PhD – HIV/AIDS research
Kia Davis, PhD – Cancer Health Disparities
Katrina Ellis, PhD – Cancer Health Disparities
Teri Malo, PhD – Cancer Research
Chantel Martin, PhD – Cancer Health Disparities
Sheri Mouw, MD – Cancer Research

Return to Health Behavior home

Save

Save

Save