Contact Us

What we do

SPH Advancement is here for just that—advancement of the School’s mission to improve public health, promote individual well-being and eliminate health disparities across North Carolina and around the world.

How?

  • By connecting donors to the giving opportunities they are passionate about that help our students and our School lead the charge in solving our biggest public health problems; and
  • By creating a community where our alumni, friends, faculty and students can meet one another and collaborate on teaching, research and practice.

Need to reach us?
UNC Gillings School of Global Public Health
SPH Advancement
135 Dauer Drive
107 Rosenau Hall, CB #7400
Chapel Hill, NC 27599-7400
(919) 966-0198
giving.sph@unc.edu


For prospective students with admissions question, please contact the Office of Student Affairs
at sph-osa@unc.edu or 919-966-2499.


Who we are: 

Crystal Hinson Miller, MA, CFRE
Associate Dean for Advancement
107B Rosenau Hall
Campus Box 7400
135 Dauer Drive
(919) 966-0198
miller@unc.edu

  • Works with Dean, colleagues, and faculty on ideas for funding
  • Executive Director of the Public Health Foundation
  • Leads SPH Advancement
  • Liaison with SPH Advisory Council

Dixie Bloom
Administrative Manager for Advancement
124A Rosenau Hall
Campus Box 7400
135 Dauer Drive
(919) 843-6191
dixie_bloom@unc.edu

  • Manages office operations
  • Public Health Foundation and Advisory Council liaison
  • Web content management
  • Human Resources contact
  • Budget contact

Stephen Couch
Director of Development
107E Rosenau Hall
Campus Box 7400
135 Dauer Drive
(919) 966-0219
stephen_couch@unc.edu

  • Major Gifts
  • Program liaison for BIOS, EPID and ESE

Elizabeth Dunn, PhD
Campaign Director for the School of Public Health
107A Rosenau Hall
Campus Box 7400
(919) 962-4257
edunn@unc.edu

  • Manages campaign planning and priority
  • Setting activities for SPH

Sterling Frierson
Director of Development
107D Rosenau Hall
Campus Box 7400
(919) 966-8368
sterling_frierson@unc.edu

  • Builds relationships with alumni and friends to increase understanding and support of the School’s mission
  • Program liaison for HPM and HB

Sandy Moulton, JD, MPH
Consultant, SPH Advancement
110 Rosenau Hall
Campus Box 7400
135 Dauer Drive
(919) 966-0198
sandy_moulton@unc.edu

Jerry Salak
Director of Special Events and Campaign Projects
108A Rosenau Hall
Campus Box 7400
135 Dauer Drive
(919) 843-0661
jerry_salak@unc.edu

  • Manages special events and special projects for the School and SPH Advancement

Susie Smith
Stewardship & Donor Relations Manager
124 Rosenau Hall
Campus Box 7400
135 Dauer Drive
(919) 966-3722
susies@unc.edu

  • Gift acknowledgements
  • Gift processing
  • Donor relations contact
  • Web content management

Deanna Wilkie
Director of Annual Giving and Alumni Affairs
124B Rosenau Hall
Campus Box 7400
135 Dauer Drive
(919) 966-0218
dwilkie@unc.edu

  • Handles appeals, programs and recognition for annual unrestricted giving to the School and its departments
  • Liaison for alumni relations and the Alumni Association

(Vacant)
Director of Corporate/Foundation Relations
108 Rosenau Hall
Campus Box 7400

  • Corporate and foundation relations

(Vacant)
Director of Development
107 Rosenau Hall
Campus Box 7400

  • Program liaison for NUTR, MCH and PHLP