Advisory Council


The School of Public Health Advisory Council is a team of distinguished leaders, executives and friends from across North Carolina and the United States who provide strategic input to the leadership of the Gillings School of Global Public Health at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill.

Council members also provide insights, ideas and resources in developing collaborative initiatives and connecting the School to innovative public-private partnerships. In addition, council members serve as ambassadors of the UNC Gillings School of Global Public Heath and share its commitment to making a positive and significant impact on the lives and health of people across North Carolina, throughout the U.S. and around the world.


Donald A. Holzworth, MS, Chair
Executive in Residence
UNC Gillings School of Global Public Health

Chapel Hill, NC
James Rosen, MBA, MSPH
Public Health Foundation Board
Liaison to Advisory Council
Intersouth Partners

Marcia A. Angle, MD, MPH
Adjunct Professor
Nicholas School of the Environment

Duke University

Durham, NC


William K. Atkinson, PhD, MPH
Former President and Chief Executive Officer

Raleigh, NC

Gail H. Cassell, PhD, DSc (hon)

Retired Vice President, Scientific Affairs and

Distinguished Lilly Research Scholar

for Infectious Diseases

Eli Lilly and Company

Carmel, IN

Willard Cates, Jr., MD, MPH
Distinguished Scientist and President Emeritus
FHI 360

Research Triangle Park, NC

Michael J. Cucchiara

Managing Partner
Graypants, Inc. and Pangea Foods
Chapel Hill, NC
Leah Devlin, DDS, MPH
Gillings Professor of the Practice
UNC Gillings School of Global Public Health
Research and Innovation Solutions
Chapel Hill, NC
Jeffrey P. Engel, MD
Executive Director
Council of State and Territorial Epidemiologists
Atlanta, GA
Ken Eudy
Chief Executive Officer

Raleigh, NC


James R. Hendricks, Jr., MS
Duke Energy Vice President of

Environment, Health and Safety (Retired)

Pawleys Island, SC
E. Wayne Holden, PhD
President and Chief Executive Officer
RTI International
Research Triangle Park, NC


Michael E. Kafrissen, MD, MSPH
Research Scientist
Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Gladstone, NJ
John McConnell
Chief Executive Officer
McConnell Golf
Raleigh, NC

Jesse Milan, Jr., JD
Altarum Institute Fellow
Ellicott City, MD

James Patrick O’Connell, PhD, MPH

Retired Chief Executive Officer

Acea Biosciences, Incorporated

Solana Beach, CA


Jane Smith Patterson
Jane Patterson & Associates

Chapel Hill, NC
William G. Ross, Jr., JD
Visiting Professor and Attorney
Chapel Hill, NC
Virginia B. Sall
Co-Founder and Director
Sall Family Foundation
Cary, NC
Markus Wilhelm
Chief Executive Officer
Strata Solar, LLC
Chapel Hill, NC
Louise Winstanly, LLB, MSB
Attorney and Medical Ethicist
Chapel Hill, NC
Members Emeriti
Nancy A. Dreyer, PhD, MPH
Global Chief of Scientific Affairs
Senior Vice President
Quintiles Outcome
Cambridge, MA
Carmen Hooker Odom, MS
Former President
Milbank Memorial Fund
Manteo, NC



(back to top)