Faculty and staff

Administrative core

Career Development Program

Flexible Interdisciplinary Research Groups (FIRGs)


Facility cores


Community Outreach and Engagement Core

External Advsory Committee


Administrative Core

Director:
James A. Swenberg, DVM,PhD; Center for Environmental Health and Susceptibility, Environmental Sciences and Engineering, Nutrition, & Pathology and Laboratory Medicine, SPH and MED
Email: james_swenberg@unc.edu Phone: 966-6139

Deputy Director:
Marilie Gammon, PhD; Epidemiology, SPH
Email: gammon@email.unc.edu Phone: 966-7421

Director of Interdisciplinary Research:
William Kaufmann, PhD; Pathology and Laboratory Medicine, MED

Email: wkarlk@med.unc.edu Phone: 966-8209 / 966-8552

Scientific Coordinator:
Jorge N. Izquierdo, DDS, PhD; Center for Environmental Health and Susceptibility, SPH

Email: Jorge_Izquierdo@unc.edu Phone: 843-9506

Business Manager:
Rhonda Turner, BS; Center for Environmental Health and Susceptibility, SPH

Email: rhonda_turner@unc.edu Phone: 843-9484

Career Development Program

Director:
Marilie Gammon, PhD; Epidemiology, SPH
Email: gammon@email.unc.edu Phone: 966-7421

Pulmonary Disease FIRG

Leader:
David D. Peden, MD, MS; Pediatrics, and Center for Environmental Medicine, Asthma & Lung Biology, MED
Email: peden@med.unc.edu Phone: 966-0768

Elucidating and Reducing Risks from Superfund Chemicals FIRG

Leader:
James A. Swenberg, DVM, PhD; Center for Environmental Health and Susceptibility, Environmental Sciences and Engineering, Nutrition, & Pathology and Laboratory Medicine, SPH and MED
Email: james_swenberg@unc.edu Phone: 966-6139

Environmental Cancer FIRG

Leader:
William Kaufmann, PhD; Pathology and Laboratory Medicine, MED
Email: wkarlk@med.unc.edu Phone: 966-8209 / 966-8552

Metal-Induced Disease FIRG

Leader:
Rebecca Fry, PhD; Environmental Sciences and Engineering, SPH
Email: rfry@email.unc.edu Phone: 843-6864

Obesity and Metabolic Disease FIRG

Leader:
Penny Gordon-Larsen, PhD; Nutrition, SPH
Email: pglarsen@email.unc.edu Phone: 843-9966

Reproductive and Developmental Health FIRG

Leader:
Andrew F. Olshan, PhD; Epidemiology, SPH
Email: andy_olshan@unc.edu Phone: 966-7424

Biostatistics and Bioinformatics Facility Core (BBFC)

Core Director:
Wei Sun, PhD; Department of Biostatistics
Email: weisun@email.unc.edu Phone: 966-7266

Co-Director
Amy H. Herring, ScD; Biostatistics, SPH
Email: aherring@bios.unc.edu Phone: 843-6368

Scientific Personnel:
Eric Bair, PhD; Department of Biostatistics and School of Dentistry
Email: ebair@email.unc.edu Phone: 537-3276
 
Michael Wu, PhD; Department of Biostatistics
Email: mwu@bios.unc.edu Phone: 843-3656
 
Fei Zou, PhD; Department of Biostatistics
Email: fzou@bios.unc.edu Phone: 843-4822

Integrative Health Sciences Facility Core (IHSFC)

Core Director:
Melissa Troester, PhD, Epidemiology; SPH
Email: troester@email.unc.edu Phone: 966-7408

Biospecimen Processing Facility Sub-core Director:
Patricia Basta, PhD; Epidemiology, SPH
Email: patricia_basta@unc.edu Phone: 843-3860

DNA Sequencing, Co-Director:
Laura Livingstone, PhD; Lineberger Comprehensive Cancer Center
Email: LRL@med.unc.edu Phone: 966-3763

Mammalian Genotyping Facility Sub-core Director:
Jason Luo, LCC; Lineberger Comprehensive Cancer Center
Email: mgc@unc.edu Phone: 966-4772

Hendrik Dejong, Research Technician, BSP
Heena Mehta, Research Technician, BSP
Janae Simons, IT Database Programmer, BSP
Michael Andre, Research Technician, MGC
Amanda Floyd, Research Technician, MGC

Systems Biology Facility Core

Core Director:
Jeff MacDonald, PhD; Biomedical Imaging; BME
Email: jmacdona@med.unc.edu Phone: 843-5154

Genomics Sub-Core Director:
Michael Topal, PhD, Pathology and Lab Medicine; MED
Email: Michael_topal@med.unc.edu Phone: 966-8208

Genomics Sub-Core Lab Manager:
Yan Shi, PhD, Comprehensive Cancer Center

Email: yan_shi@med.unc.edu Phone: 843-7839

DNA Damage Sub-Core Director:
Jun Nakamura, DVM, PhD; DNA Repair Specialist
Email: ynakamur@email.unc.edu Phone: 966-6140

Biomarker Mass Spectrometry Facility Sub-Core Director:
Wanda Bodnar, PhD; Environmental Sciences and Engineering, SPH

Email: wanda_bodnar@unc.edu Phone: 966-2664

Biomarker Mass Spectrometry Facility Sub-Core Lab Manager:
Leonard Collins, Environmental Sciences and Engineering, SPH
Email: lbcollin@email.unc.edu Phone: 966-2664

Proteomics Sub-Core Director:
Lee Graves, PhD; Pharmacology, MED
Email: lmg@med.unc.edu Phone: 966-0915

Proteonomics Sub-Core Facility Director:
David Smalley, PhD; Pharmacology, MED
Email: dsmalley@med.unc.edu Phone: 966-8318

Metabolomics Sub-Core Director:
Jeff Macdonald, PhD; Biomedical Imaging, BME
Email: jmacdona@med.unc.edu Phone: 843-5154

Metabolomics Sub-Core Lab Manager:
Andrey Tikunov, PhD; Biomedical Engineering

Email: tikunov@email.unc.edu Phone: 260-7548

Anatomic Pathology Sub-Core Faculty Director:
C. Ryan Miller, MD, PhD; Pathology and Laboratory Medicine, MED
Email: Ryan_Miller@med.unc.edu Phone: 966-4333

Anatomic Pathology Sub-Core Facility Director:
Nana Nikolaishvili-Feinberg, PhD; Lineberger Comprehensive Cancer Center
Email: nanan@med.unc.edu Phone: (919) 966-9620

 

Community Outreach and Engagement Core

Director:
Kathleen Gray, MSPH; Environmental Resource Program, UNC Institute for the Environment
Email: kathleen_gray@unc.edu Phone: 966-9799

Personnel:
Neasha Graves, MPA; Environmental Resource Program, UNC Institute for the Environment
Email: neasha_graves@unc.edu Phone: 966-3746

Megan Hoert Hughes, MEM; Environmental Resource Program, UNC Institute for the Environment
Email: meganhughes@unc.edu Phone: 966-2463

Kelly Robinson, BA; Environmental Resource Program, UNC Institute for the Environment

Email: krobin@email.unc.edu Phone: 966-7238

External Advisory Committee

Leslie Bernstein, Ph.D; Beckman Research Institute, City of Hope
Email: lbernstein@coh.org Phone: (626) 471-7315, Ext. 67316 / Fax (626) 471-7308

F. Peter Guengerich, Ph.D;Vanderbilt University School of Medicine
Email: guengerich@toxicology.mc.vanderbilt.edu Phone: (615) 322-2261 / Fax (615) 322-3141

Thomas W. Kensler, Ph.D; Johns Hopkins School of Public Health and University of Pittsburg
Email: tkensler@jhsph.edu Phone: 410-955-4712 / Fax: 410-955-0116

Charlene A. McQueen, Ph.D; U.S. Environmental Protection Agency
Email: mcqueen.charlene@epa.gov Phone: 919-541-4950 / Fax: 919-541-0694

Martyn Smith, Ph.D; University of California
Email: martynts@berkeley.edu Phone: 510-642-8770 / Fax: 510-642-0427

Funded by NIEHS Grant # P30 ES010126