Environmental Sciences and Engineering News

Master’s Thesis Final Oral Defense-Matthew T. Richardson

March 18, 2005 Matthew T. Richardson presented his final oral defense Tuesday, March 22nd, 2005 at 3:30 PM in 2301 McGavran-Greenberg. Full details are as follows:How to Stretch Our Public Investments in Water and Sewer Services Further Commentary on the Efficacy of Public Funding for Water and Sewer Infrastructure from 2000 Through 2003 Case Study:… Read more »

Vanessa J. Pereira wins Best Paper Award

February 23, 2005 ESE Ph.D. Student, Vanessa J. Pereira’s (Weinberg Advisor) paper entitled, Temporal and Spatial Variability of DBPs in a Chloraminated Distribution System, has been selected for the 2005 AWWA Water Quality & Technology Division Best Paper Award. The AWWA Board of Directors unanimously approved this paper for the award at its winter meeting…. Read more »

James Swenberg appointed as Mary Lily Kenan Flagler Bingham Professor

February 07, 2005 The Department of Environmental Sciences and Engineering is delighted to report that the Board of Trustees has approved the appointment of Dr. James Swenberg as a Mary Lily Kenan Flagler Bingham Professor. This distinguished professorship is one of the most prestigious and visible honors The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill… Read more »

David Leith wins 2005 Distinguished Teaching Award for Post-Baccalaureate Instruction

February 04, 2005 The Department of Environmental Sciences and Engineering is extremely pleased to announce Professor David Leith is the recipient of a 2005 Distinguished Teaching Award for Post-Baccalaureate Instruction*. The committee was greatly impressed by the abundant evidence they found for his outstanding contributions to post-baccalaureate teaching on campus. Both students and faculty colleagues… Read more »

In Memoriam

January 31, 2005 Frances M. Lynn 1944-2005 Professor Frances M. Lynn passed away after a long battle with cancer on January 18, 2005. Fran joined the Department of Environmental Sciences and Engineering as a faculty member in 1983. Fran started the Environmental Resource Program which provided university expertise on environmental and public health issues to… Read more »

ESE Alumni, Terry Rolan, elected President of AWWA

January 24, 2005 ESE Alumni, Terry Rolan (MSPH, 1974), was recently elected president of the American Water Works Association, an organization of more than 50,000 members representing utilities, consulting engineers, regulators, and researchers involved in water supply. Please visit their website ( for more information.For further information please contact Rebecca Riggsbee Lloyd by email at… Read more »

ESE Alumni attend AWWA’s Conference

January 13, 2005 The following alumni attended AWWA’s recent (November 2004) Water Quality and Technology Conference in San Antonio, TX. Many gave papers, along with Dr. Philip Singer and current graduate students Aaron Archer and Brian Carrico.Alexa Obolensky (MS- 12/01/1994) Susan Teefy (MSENV-12/01/1998 Fu-Jhy Hsu (MSPH-12/01/94, PHD-8/01/97) David Battigelli (MSPH-8/01/93, PHD-5/01/02) Des Lawler (MSENV-8/01/75, PHD-5/01/80)… Read more »

Engineers Without Borders at UNC-Chapel Hill

A chapter of Engineers Without Borders was founded in the fall semester of 2004 at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill by students in the Department of Environmental Sciences and Engineering. Engineers Without Borders (EWB-USA) UNC-Chapel Hill Chapter is an association of students, practicing engineers and scientists who are dedicated to using their… Read more »

Nora Han defends her final MSEE Technical report

January 11, 2005 Nora Han’s final oral defense of her MSEE Technical report will be held Wednesday, January 12 at 9:00AM in 1304 McGavran-Greenberg. Full details are as follows:MSENV Technical Report Final Oral Defense Nora J. Han Compliance with the Stage 2 Disinfection By-Products Rule for Eleven Water Utilities in North Carolina Tuesday, January 11th,… Read more »

ESE Students win Poster Awards

January 10, 2005 Several ESE Students won poster awards at recent meetings. Tom Gallo (MS-Paerl Advisor) and Sara K. McMillan (PhD-Wetzel Advisor) each won Outstanding Student Poster Awards at the American Society of Limnology and Oceanography 2004 Summer Meeting held at the Savannah International Trade & Convention Center, in Savannah, Georgia on June 13-18, 2004…. Read more »