Environmental Sciences and Engineering News

Dr. Mark Sobsey joins with NCSU to identify

July 28, 2005 Dr. Mark Sobsey and his researchers in the Environmental Microbiology laboratory have been engaged in work to identify “Environmentally Superior Technologies” for treating swine waste on CAFOs in eastern North Carolina. This work is funded through the Animal and Poultry Waste Management Center at NCSU by an agreement with Smithfield Foods, Premium… Read more »

Bree Ferguson presents Technical Report Final Oral Defense on 7/22

July 21, 2005 Bree Ferguson presents her Technical Report Final Oral Defense on Friday, July 22nd at 10:00am in 1305 McGavran-Greenberg. Full details follow.Impact of Temporary Switches from Chloramines to Free Chlorine on Water Quality in Distribution Systems Many drinking water utilities that apply chloramines for secondary disinfection temporarily convert to free chlorine. The purpose… Read more »

David Love wins NWRI Fellowship

July 20, 2005 David C. Love (MSPH, Sobsey Advisor) was selected, out of over 40 applicants, to receive a National Water Research Institute (NWRI) Fellowship Award for $10,000, for the 2005-2006 school year. Love’s exemplary undergraduate record and matriculation to the doctoral level of graduate study impressed the committee. The committee thought that his research… Read more »

Yo-Chan Jeong Doctoral Dissertation Final Oral Defense, 6/6

  July 12, 2005 Yo-Chan Jeong presented the final oral defense of his dissertation on June 6, 2005, at 2:00 P.M. in the Ibrahim Seminar Room (1301 McGavran-Greenberg). Full details are as follows:Formation, Repair, and Measurement of M1G, a Secondary DNA Lesion Produced by Reactive Oxygen Species The objective of this study is to comprehensively… Read more »

Dale Jobes presents Final Oral Defense on June 30

June 29, 2005 Dale Jobes presented his MS Thesis Final Oral Defense on June 30th at 10:00am in the Ibrahim Seminar room, 1301 McGavran-Greenberg. Full details follow.Analyzing the Spatiotemporal Relationships of Ozone Exceedances, Transient High Ozone Events and Meteorological Factors using GIS Ozone violations are complicated events in the Houston, Texas area that differ with… Read more »

Sacoby Wilson named Robert Wood Johnson Health & Society Scholar

June 23, 2005 Sacoby Wilson (Ph.D., Ball Advisor) has won a Robert Wood Johnson Health & Society Scholarship. This top honor supports up to 18 outstanding individuals who have completed doctoral training to engage in an intensive two-year interdisciplinary program in population health at one of six nationally prominent universities. Sacoby will receive annual stipend… Read more »

Sacoby Wilson wins ELP Fellowship

June 23, 2005 Sacoby Wilson (Ph.D., Ball Advisor) wins Environmental Leadership Program (ELP) Fellowship for 2005. The ELP Fellowship is an innovative national program designed to build the leadership capacity of the environmental field’s most promising emerging practitioners. This two-year fellowship provides training, project funding and a vibrant peer network to 20-25 individuals each year… Read more »

Sacoby Wilson Defends June 16

June 16, 2005 Sacoby Wilson presents his doctoral dissertation final oral defense on June 16 at 1:30 PM in the Ibrahim Seminar Room (1301 McGavran-Greenberg).Full details follow: Environmental Monitoring and Spatial Assessment of Atmospheric Ammonia Levels Near hog CAFOs and Human Receptor Sites in Eastern North Carolina (Under the direction of Dr. Louise M. Ball)… Read more »

Yoshihiko Koto presents Master’s Final Oral Defense on June 20th

June 16, 2005 Yoshihiko Koto presents his Master’s Final Oral Defense Monday, June 20th at 10:00am in 1305 McGavran-Greenberg. Full details follow.Aerosol Deposition Measurement on Surrogates of Human Hairy Arms (Under the direction of Dr. Michael Flynn) The risk of dermal exposure to toxic vapor and aerosol is increasingly gathering attention of epidemiologists, toxicologists and… Read more »

Steve Whalen featured in DTH

June 14, 2005 Steve Whalen, Associate Professor, was featured in an article in the June 9 edition of The Daily Tarheel regarding his summer research plans. In the article, Whalen discusses his plans to travel to Fairbanks Alaska to continue research of the area’s algae. The project examines the landscape and drainage ecosystems of arctic… Read more »