Environmental Sciences and Engineering News

DiGiano wins 2006 AWWA Publications Award

April 26, 2006 Professor Francis A. DiGiano’s paper, and recent winner of the 2006 American Water Works Association (AWWA) Water Science & Research Division Best Paper Award, entitled Pipe Section Reactor to Evaluate Chlorine – Wall Reaction, has been selected for the 2006 AWWA Publications Award. This award recognizes the best paper chosen from among… Read more »

Students and alumni inducted into Theta Chapter of Delta Omega in 2006

April 26, 2006 The UNC School of Public Health Theta Chapter of Delta Omega, the honorary public health society, inducted two Environmental Sciences and Engineering students and four alumni into the organization this year. The student inductees were recognized at the annual ESE Spring Picnic held on April 21. Inductees this year were:ESE Students Melanie… Read more »

Muaz Khalil – MSPH Technical Report Final Defense – April 28, 2006

April 26, 2006 Muaz Khalil presents his MSPH Technical Report Final Defense on Friday, April 28th at 9:00AM in 2301 McGavran-Greenberg. Full details follow. Genomic Sequencing of F+RNA as a Foundation for Development of Real-Time RT-PCR Assays (Under the direction of Dr. Jan Vinji, PhD) Male-specific RNA (F+RNA) coliphages, members of the family Leviviridae, have… Read more »

Invention by ESE Professors obtains licensing by NGI

April 20, 2006 An invention, Real-time Assay for the Detection of PARP Activation, by Jun Nakamura and James A. Swenberg was recently licensed by the National Genetics Institute (a subsidiary of Laboratory Corporation of America). This invention was previously approved a US patent in 2005. The Executive Summary is included below.Executive Summary of Invention: Real-time… Read more »

David Pinksy Named President of Tighe & Bond

April 19, 2006 Westfield, MA, April 19, 2006. – At the firm’s recent Board of Director’s Meeting, David Pinsky (MSENV, ’83) was elected President and Chairman of the Board of Tighe & Bond, a civil/environmental engineering and consulting firm headquartered here. Pinsky assumed the role from retiring Chairman of the Board and President David G…. Read more »

Anna Cressman – Final Oral Defense – 4/18/06

April 19, 2006 Anna Cressman presented her final oral defense of her Master’s Thesis on Tuesday, April 18, 2006 at 2:00 PM in 2101G McGavran-Greenberg (EPID conference room). Full details are as follows:THE DEVELOPMENT OF A SEMI-QUANTITATIVE DECISION SUPPORT SYSTEM FOR THE ESTIMATION OF MICROBIAL LOADING IN THE NEUSE WATERSHED USING GEOGRAPHIC INFORMATION SYSTEMS Decision… Read more »

David Shoaf – BSPH Honor’s thesis – April 11, 2006

April 11, 2006 David Shoaf presents his BSPH Honor’s thesis on April 11, at 0015 Michael Hooker Research Center. Full details of the defense follow.An Analysis of Monitoring Data for the Stage 1 Disinfectants and Disinfection Byproducts Rule Abstract The monitoring requirements for the Stage 1 Disinfectants and Disinfection Byproduct Rule have provided the… Read more »

Jeffrey Deberardinis – Final Oral Defense – 3/30/06

April 05, 2006 Jeffrey Deberardinis presents his final oral defense on Thursday, March 30th at 3:00pm in 2304 McGavran-Greenberg. Full details follow.Nitrogen Mass Balance for Spray Fields Fertilized With Liquid Swine Waste (Under the direction of Dr. Stephen C. Whalen) The swine industry has expanded rapidly in North Carolina over the past decade. Animals are… Read more »

Maiysha Jones – Master’s Thesis final oral defense – 4/6/06

April 05, 2006 Maiysha Jones presents her Master’s Thesis final oral defense on Thursday, April 6th at 3:00pm in 331 Rosenau Hall. Full details follow.Effect of Incubation Conditions on the Enrichment of Pyrene Degrading Bacteria Identified By Stable Isotope Probing in a PAH Contaminated Soil Many high molecular weight PAH are known or suspected carcinogens… Read more »

ESE Students honored at Recognition Ceremony hosted by UNC Graduate School

March 30, 2006 Several ESE students who won awards, fellowships, and scholarships during the 2004-2005 academic calendar year will be honored on April 6, 2006 at a recognition ceremony hosted by the UNC Graduate School to be held at the Carolina Club/Alumni Center on campus. In addition, Alpha Epsilon Lambda honor society will induct new… Read more »