Biostatistics News

School of Public Health students help bring fresh water to Cambodia

September 15, 2006 Four students and one alumnus from the School of Public Health recently returned from Cambodia, where they helped provide safer drinking water to 1200 students at a primary school outside Phnom Penh. Members of Engineers Without Borders, including Joe Brown, Josh Hunn, Reed Palmer, Jamie Perin and Angella Rinehold, worked with the… Read more »

Kosorok Awarded New Grant

Dr. Michael Kosorok, Chair and Professor of Biostatistics, has won a new grant from the National Cancer Institute titled “Semiparametric and Empirical Process Methods in Oncology.” This grant will be funded for three years. Total dollar amount for 3 years is $651,222. The long-term goal of the proposed project is to develop flexible semiparametric analysis… Read more »

Kosorok Elected ASA Fellow

Dr. Michael Kosorok, Chair and Professor of Biostatistics, has been elected as a Fellow of the American Statistical Association. He received the award at the Joint Statistical Meeting in Seattle, Washington in August. Dr. Kosorok was elected for theoretical and applied contributions to empirical processes and semiparametric methods, particularly in event-time analysis, clinical trials, and… Read more »

Cai and Stewart to Serve as Officers for ASA Section

The American Statistical Association has announced the results of the ASA 2006 Annual Election of Officers. Jianwen Cai and Paul Stewart of Biostatistics have been elected to serve. Dr. Cai, Ph.D., a Professor in Biostatistics, will serve as Secretary/Treasury for the Biometrics Section, while Dr. Stewart, Ph.D., also a Professor in Biostatistics, will serve as… Read more »

Alumni Reception held in Seattle

July 06, 2006 The Department of Biostatistics ASA Alumni Reception was held this year in Seattle, Washington. The Grand Hyatt Seattle hosted the event on Monday, August 7, 2006 in the H-Leonesa Ballroom I. This was an especially exciting time for the department. It gave the alumni an opportunity to visit and find out what… Read more »

Bios Announces the 2005 Student and Alumni Award Recipients

May 16, 2006 Dr. Doug Schaubel, Ph.D. 2002, is the 2005 recipient of the James E. Grizzle Distinguished Alumni Award. Dr. Jianwen Cai, Interim Biostatistics Chair and Professor, presented Dr. Schaubel with this award at the Bios Alumni Day held on Monday, April 3, 2006. Dr. Schaubel presented a lecture following the awards ceremony titled… Read more »

Zou Awarded New Grant

May 16, 2006 Dr. Fei Zou, Assistant Professor of Biostatistics, has won a new grant from the National Institutes of Health. This grant is titled “Robust Methods for Complex Trait Association Mapping” and will be funded for four years. Total dollar amount for 4 years is $817,600. The objectives of this research are to address… Read more »

2006 Biostatistics Award Winners

May 10, 2006 The Department of Biostatistics recently recognized staff members for achievements during the year through the Star Heels awards program. This program, sponsored by TIAA-CREF, allows departments to award a $25 gift certificate to a deserving employee. The following employees are our Star Heels winners: Anna Hoffmeyer, Calling Room Supervisor (SRU); Lisa Gravens-Mueller,… Read more »

Hae Young Kim Receives Award

May 10, 2006 Hae Young Kim has been selected to receive an honorable mention award, titled The GEAB Award, in the Graduate Eucation Advancement Board impact Award Competition for her research project on group testing. This award, sponsored by The Graduate School’s external advancement board of private citizens, recognizes outstanding graduate student research of particular… Read more »

Preisser leads stats on award-winning immigrant research

May 03, 2006 Research Associate Professor John Preisser was the lead biostatistician on an award-winning research project on migrant farm workers. The study “Reducing the Impact of Green Tobacco Sickness among Latino Farm workers” was the recipient of the 2006 National Occupational Research Agenda (NORA) Innovative Research Award ( The NORA Liaison Committee, in cooperation… Read more »