Harriet Hylton Barr Distinguished Alumni Award

Established in 1975, the Barr Award recognizes the achievements of alumni and their contributions to public health.
The award is presented to an outstanding alumnus who is working full-time in public health.
The selection criteria include demonstrated:
  • Commitment and service to public health through achievements in leadership, innovation, experimentation and collaboration within the profession.
  • Impact within the nominee’s practice arena.
  • Outstanding service beyond the requirements of the nominee’s employment.

The award carries the name of its 1980 recipient, the late Harriet Hylton Barr, to honor her contributions to public health. Barr, who earned her MPH from UNC in 1948, dedicated 28 years of service to the School. She was a clinical associate professor in the department of Health Behavior and she was the School’s first director of alumni affairs. More information about Harriett Hylton Barr.

Year Name Department
2015 Janice V. Bowie Health Behavior
2014 C. Marjorie Aelion Environmental Sciences & Engineering
2013 Wilbur Milhous Parasitology and Laboratory Practice
2012 William A. Rutala Parasitology and Laboratory Practice
2011 Peter J. Kolsky Environmental Sciences and Engineering
2010 Richard Brostrom Environmental Sciences and Engineering
2009 Rebecca S. King Health Policy and Administration
2008 Charles W. McGrew Health Policy and Administration
2007 Aaron E. Blair Epidemiology
2006 Allen J. Wilcox Maternal and Child Health, Epidemiology
2005 Jonathan Metsch Health Policy and Administration
2004 Margaret E. Molloy
Nutrition & Health Policy and Administration
2003 Margaret E. Layne
Environmental Sciences and Engineering
2002 Gary J. White Environmental Sciences and Engineering
2001 Clarence Pearson Health Behavior
2000 Stephen A. Morse Environmental Sciences and Engineering
1999 C. Earl Fox Maternal and Child Health
1998 R. Gary Rozier Health Policy and Administration
1997 Craig Turnbull Biostatistics
1996 Donald Francisco
Environmental Sciences and Engineering
1995 Sarah Brown Health Policy and Administration
1994 Raymond Greenberg Epidemiology
1993 Priscilla Guild Biostatistics
1992 Linda Little
Environmental Sciences and Engineering
1991 Howard Fitts Health Behavior
1990 Betty Jane Phillips Parasitology and Laboratory Practice
1989 Dan Blazer Epidemiology
1988 Geswaldo Verrone
Environmental Sciences and Engineering
1987 George Dudney Health Policy and Administration
1986 Sarah Morrow Maternal and Child Health
1985 Verna Barefoot Maternal and Child Health
1984 Elmer Spurrier Parasitology and Laboratory Practice
1983 Mary Suther Public Health Nursing
1982 Ronald Levine Health Policy and Administration
1981 Thomas Brooks Parasitology and Laboratory Practice
1980 Harriet H. Barr Health Behavior
1979 John G. Todd
Environmental Sciences and Engineering
1978 George Ponghis
Environmental Sciences and Engineering
1977 William Darity Health Behavior
1976 Elizabeth McMahan Health Behavior
1975 Mabel Johansson Public Health Nursing