49th Annual Fred T. Foard Jr. Memorial Lecture

“Creating a Healthier Global Diet and Preventing Global Obesity: 

Our Global Food Research Programs’ Role and Impact” 

Dr. Barry Popkin (Photo by Linda Kastleman)

Dr. Barry Popkin

The Gillings School of Global Public Health is honored to present our 2017 Foard Lecture Speaker:

Barry M. Popkin, PhD

Barry M. Popkin, PhD, is the W. R. Kenan Jr. Distinguished Professor of nutrition at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill (UNC).  He has a PhD in agricultural economics and established the Division of Nutrition Epidemiology at UNC and later established and ran the UNC Interdisciplinary Obesity Center, funded by the National Institutes of Health (NIH).  He has developed the concept of the Nutrition Transition, the study of the dynamic shifts in dietary intake and physical activity patterns and trends and obesity and other nutrition-related noncommunicable diseases. His research program focuses globally on understanding the shifts in stages of the transition and programs and policies to improve the population health linked with this transition (see www.nutrans.org).

Read more about Dr. Popkin including his current and past projects.

Thursday, April 27, 2017

6:00 p.m.

Register HERE.

Event and Reception are free and open to the public.

5:30pm Registration
6:00pm Alumni Awards Presentation
6:15 – 6:45pm 49th Annual Fred T. Foard, Jr. Memorial Lecture: Barry M. Popkin, PhD
6:45pm Q&A
7:00pm Reception & Student Research Poster Display
Gillings School of Global Public Health

135 Dauer Drive, Chapel Hill, NC 27599
Additional details on room location to follow

Complimentary parking is available at the McCauley Deck (FedEx Global Education Building) starting at 5:00pm.  Additional parking will be available at the Dogwood Deck ($).

Address: 301 Pittsboro St, Chapel Hill, NC 27516

For more information or should you have any questions, please contact Amanda Law

Director of Special Events and Campaign Projects

(919) 843-0661   alaw@unc.edu

Alumni Association Awards

The Harriet Hylton Barr Distinguished Alumni Award and the Bernard G. Greenberg Alumni Endowment Award will be presented at the Foard Lecture.

Award winners announced.

CONGRATULATIONS to Suzanne Maman, PhD – recipient of the 2017 Greenberg Alumni Award.

CONGRATULATIONS to Sally Herndon, MPH – recipient of the 2017 Barr Alumni Award.

Should you have questions or want additional information regarding the alumni awards – please contact Deanna Wilkie, Director of Annual Giving and Alumni Affairs – (919) 966-0218 – dwilkie@unc.edu.

Additional information can be found here.

Student Research Poster Display

The Spotlight on Student Research Poster Event showcases original research by students at the Gillings School of Global Public Health.  The 2017 research posters will be on display during and after the Foard Lecture.  Students who present a poster for this event are competing for 1 of 2 awards:

Delta Omega – Theta Chapter Award ($750 toward travel to 2017 APHA meeting; new/original work not previously presented)

Gillings Student Poster Award ($500 toward travel to 2017 APHA meeting; can be work previously presented)

Additional information can be found here.

About Fred T. Foard Jr., MD (1889-1966)

The Fred T. Foard Jr. Memorial Lecture was established in 1969 by Elsie D. Foard, to honor her late husband whose work in public health spanned more than a half-century, much of it with the U.S. Public Health Service.

Hallmarks of Dr. Foard’s tenure included the development and strengthening of organized public health services in Alaska, Hawaii and the Rocky Mountain and Pacific Coast regions. His efforts spurred major improvements in health services for Native Americans and the transfer of the Indian Health Program from the U.S. Department of the Interior to the U.S. Public Health Service.

After retiring from the Public Health Service in 1952, Dr. Foard served until 1964 as director of the Division of Epidemiology for the N.C. Board of Health. Dr. Foard received an honorary degree from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill in 1962.