Alumni Association Awards

Nominations for the Harriet Hylton Barr Distinguished Alumni Award and the Bernard G. Greenberg Alumni Endowment Award are accepted every fall and the awards are presented each spring at the Foard Lecture.

About the Awards

Established in 1975, the Harriet Hylton Barr Distinguished Alumni Award recognizes the achievements of alumni and their contributions to public health. Each year, it honors a deserving graduate of the School working full-time in public health or in a related field. More information

The Bernard G. Greenberg Alumni Endowment Award is given to an outstanding full-time faculty member of the UNC Gillings School of Global Public Health for excellence in the areas of teaching, research and service. The award includes a cash prize of $12,000 annually for three years. More information

The 2015 Barr and Greenberg Award recipients will be announced in early April. The awards will be presented at the 47th Annual Foard Lecture on April 16 at the Friday Center. For more information about the awards ceremony, please visit

2014 Awards presented at 46th Annual Foard Lecture

Marjorie Aelion, PhD (ESE 1988), and David Jay Weber, MD, were honored with the UNC Gillings School of Global Public Health’s most prestigious awards for alumni and faculty at a ceremony preceding the annual Fred T. Foard Jr. Memorial Lecture on April 10.

The Barr Award
Dr. Marjorie Aelion

Dr. Marjorie Aelion

Alumna Marjorie Aelion, PhD (ESE 1988) was honored with the Harriet Hylton Barr Distinguished Alumni Award from the UNC Gillings School of Global Public Health at the Foard Lecture on April 10th. Aelion is currently Dean of the School of Public Health and Health Sciences at the University of Massachusetts at Amherst. Her recent research has focused on the study of heavy metals in residential soils, primarily arsenic, lead and mercury. [Complete article.]
The Greenberg Award
Dr. David Weber

Dr. David Weber

David Weber, MD, professor of epidemiology at the Gillings School, is the 2014 Greenberg awardee.  Weber, who has served on the UNC faculty since 1985, is also professor of medicine and pediatrics in the UNC School of Medicine and associate chief medical officer at UNC Health Care.  [Complete article.]